Would Nafan Had Made The Difference?

He's 34 and we need to get as much out of him as possible.

If he is sore, give him a spell.

FuManchu said:
all of the hawks were injured tonite, that egg truck that rolled on the M1 near shailer park yesterday, had Hawthorn written all over them

HA HA lost by 40 points, glad you posted, living in perth I wouldn't have known for a few hours. :thumbsu:

romanwfw said:
it would be hilarious if bucks got injured next week, wouldn't mick get egg on his face then

You'd think it hilarious that a footballer gets injured? Wow whatever credibility you had left vanished with that one.

eddiesmith said:
Swap Nathan for Tarrant and we win

Swap Nathan for Maxwell and we win

DOnt try and say Clokey cost us that game in his 1 and a half qtrs on the ground :rolleyes: Saved a couple of goals but no one ever gives him credit for them :rolleyes:

Fact was this game will mean nothing come finals time and was not worth the risk of injury, teams have gone to Perth with older players and players under injury clouds, been pumped, lost players for weeks afterwards and their season has gone downhill, others rest players and win flags

It would be pretty funny if Collingwood were to miss the finals by one game :D

eddiesmith said:
Not a chance in hell

If we dont finish top 4 then we honestly suck with our draw, still got the 5 easy beats again, Richmond, Lions, Swans, Eagles in Melbourne, theres 14 wins

Quoting for future reference just in case the chance in hell happens :p

Seth said:
Keeping him right for September, where's ypur pathetic excuse for a side gonna be? Maybe taking how to counsel a team mate lessons.

What you think your going to make the finals already??? Remember you played the first decent side last night and lossed. Wouldn't get cocky yet buddy. You have got the Cats next week and i reckon they would be rating there chances.

VANDA said:
I'd like to think so. :)

If Nafan played the losing margin would have doubled. The other players tend to stand back and wait for Bucks to do the job for them.

Smart psychological move by Malthouse. He seems to be back to his scheming best this season and coaching with plenty of confidence again.

eddiesmith said:
Fact was this game will mean nothing come finals time and was not worth the risk of injury, teams have gone to Perth with older players and players under injury clouds, been pumped, lost players for weeks afterwards and their season has gone downhill, others rest players and win flags
What if you miss the finals, or the top 4, by one game. If Collingwood had one more quality midfield/forward rotation in their side (ie: a 100% fit Buckley, which he was acording to Collingwood) they would have beaten the Coasters on their patch and made a significant statement to the competition. The only thing that can be surmised is that Bucks is either carrying something or Mick and the coaching staff got too smart by half and flirted with their form.

The 3 hr plane trip excuse is a load of old bollocks. Cashed-up Collingwood could have flown him in earlier, got him a bed in 1st class, had constant physio. That is a furphy. They gained nothing from the weekend that they would not have gained anyway with Buckley in the side. All the decision did was contribute to losing a H&A game that was there for the taking. The Pies have paid a price for this decision, and the cost will not be known until the end of the season.

Sedat! said:
What if you miss the finals, or the top 4, by one game. If Collingwood had one more quality midfield/forward rotation in their side (ie: a 100% fit Buckley, which he was acording to Collingwood) they would have beaten the Coasters on their patch and made a significant statement to the competition. The only thing that can be surmised is that Bucks is either carrying something or Mick and the coaching staff got too smart by half and flirted with their form.

The 3 hr plane trip excuse is a load of old bollocks. Cashed-up Collingwood could have flown him in earlier, got him a bed in 1st class, had constant physio. That is a furphy. They gained nothing from the weekend that they would not have gained anyway with Buckley in the side. All the decision did was contribute to losing a H&A game that was there for the taking. The Pies have paid a price for this decision, and the cost will not be known until the end of the season.
What if Bucks did his hammy and was out for 4 weeks? Or he was so burnt out by that game he couldnt play this week against Geelong?

We have 18 games in Melbourne and realistically should win 15 of them, we want him playing every one of those games and a trip to Perth means nothing if we cant win the games we should.

Fact is a couple of years back a top side took a few players to Perth with niggles, a couple of older players as well, they were flying, got done, lost a few to injury and their season was :D:D:D:Ded, we werent going to take that risk

eddiesmith said:
What if Bucks did his hammy and was out for 4 weeks? Or he was so burnt out by that game he couldnt play this week against Geelong?
He was 100% fit according to the club. He would be just as likely to do a hammy this week, or any future week of the season. That's of course if he is actually 100% fit. Mick and the coaching staff would never deliberately try to mislead the football public would they :rolleyes:

eddiesmith said:
We have 18 games in Melbourne and realistically should win 15 of them, we want him playing every one of those games and a trip to Perth means nothing if we cant win the games we should.
If 'resting' him is so important to his well-being, you should have done it in the wet last week against Carlton (a game that you would have won easily regardless of Buckley's appearance in the team) and had him cherry ripe for the crucial clash with West Coast. A significant win was there for the taking against West Coast in hostile territory that would have given you vital momentum towards securing a top 4 finish.

Sedat! said:
He was 100% fit according to the club. He would be just as likely to do a hammy this week, or any future week of the season. That's of course if he is actually 100% fit. Mick and the coaching staff would never deliberately try to mislead the football public would they :rolleyes:

If 'resting' him is so important to his well-being, you should have done it in the wet last week against Carlton (a game that you would have won easily regardless of Buckley's appearance in the team) and had him cherry ripe for the crucial clash with West Coast. A significant win was there for the taking against West Coast in hostile territory that would have given you vital momentum towards securing a top 4 finish.
No, better to rest him from the toughest trip and have him fresh for Geelong

What do you actually gain from resting a player from a home game?

It was the right decision to rest him. Winning a flag requries good player management as much as anything else.

Would Nafan Had Made The Difference?