Yarra Valley-Mountain District FL Discussion Forum 3

After reading the above post I am taking Cagga played for Monbulk and rip it up played for Warby on Sunday. As for Yankydoodle's comments on physical play he must have been watching a different game. How dare a team come out fired up in a football Grand Final? I have a feeling Yankydoodle could be one of two things; an umpire or a netballer. He could even be the umpire involved in the waterboy incident. If he thinks that game was physical i know why he would have sent the players off. What a joke!

Did you just work that out.... Funny that maybe I was the Playing coach for Monny!
Anyway I think it was a cracking game (of course we won) - a few niggles, a few big hits & a few stuff ups all round - Thats footy, thats finals & thats a what you expect from a GF.

the main game must of been a treat, cause the 2nds get a big workout here.

As it happens the main game was one of the best div 1 GF's in years. Physical, fast, intense and skilled. Just that there were no controversial incidents to speak of. Compliments to the umps really for having good control all day, and to both sides for the spirit in which it was played.:thumbsu:

Cagga interesting comments which I dont necessarily agree with but to give some balance to the discussion. The last 3 years Div 1 GF gates 2008 Sat $20,774 2009 Sun $28,306 2010 Sun $27,946. At $12 per head equates to 1,731 , 2,359 and 2,328 respectively. That is a big difference in numbers not just 10 or 20. This increase in revenues goes in to the continued improvement of our league such as big screen and valley vision and is serious money in anyone's terms. Other issue, we couldnt get the big screen on the Saturday and everyone has given it the thumbs up . We took a chance but it really added something to the day. Not sure what you may be implying about accuracy of past figures. Control of finals is paramount and we have a strict control on it. Personally having played in 3 winning GF and having coached u18 premiership in 2006 I couldn't have cared if it was played on a wednesday such is the joy winning the premiership brings. We will have a review of the season with the clubs to get their feedback. Enjoy the celebrations and thanks for taking the time to share your comments and thoughts. Doesnt mean I will always agree but we have to have frank and honest communication if we want to continue to improve our competition.

Graeme Tuplin

Might have also been cos Silvan played in 2008 and everyone knew they were going to win....

Moin def prefers the Saturday option.... easier to get a leave pass on a Saturday.

(and they tell me we're probably going to be playing cricket mainly on Sunday's this season. FTGDCA = debacle)

Gees I would hate to see any side not be physical in a grand final.

Healthy numbers through the gate and personally I would love to go back to Saturday GF's. The venue at Woori is easily the best in the league and whilst there is a slight advantage to Woori if they make it I personally do not believe it would warrant moving it to a less suitable neutral venue. Super surface for all the rain we had in the last month which allowed good footy rather than the sloshing slog at Gembrook a fortnight earlier.

I also don't think outside factors would detract from the gate enough to warrant playing on a Sunday, but then realistically it is the morning after which is harder with the Sunday game.

I would have loved to have kicked on at the cabin premiership night but work commitments on the Monday beckon (even dusty as I was) - a Saturday final would have left me the opportunity to get elegantly maggoted with all of Sunday to recover :D

So what your saying is that if Monbulk play in finals next year. Youd be happy for the oppistion to send waterboys out to Monbulk players and rough them up? By the way it was a fair bit more than slight contact.

Shit, I'm after a gig as waterboy next year...I was born to raise shit! :)

Might have also been cos Silvan played in 2008 and everyone knew they were going to win....

Moin def prefers the Saturday option.... easier to get a leave pass on a Saturday.

(and they tell me we're probably going to be playing cricket mainly on Sunday's this season. FTGDCA = debacle)

This week is being played on sunday due to the grandfinal, but every other game is played on saturday, unless you're reffering to one of the low one day grades

Spot on sport Moin is a legend on Fair Park 2nds ground, The bluebirds number 2, The B - the list goes on....

Nah - Givo's got me covered at Dobson No.2 with his 200, but I may be some of the reason they brought in compulsory retirement after a few seasons at the "B" with Damo Howard and Johnny Hassall.

Humpa & his alter ego Nochance have been bagging umpires for years, they just don't get it, without umpires there are no games, how many times has our hero wacked a young bloke behind play, or snuck in a nice little cheap shot in and got away with it? Plenty!! And don't forget the Vets GF a few years ago when we thought the best way to play footy is to belt blokes! I call it karma, Humpchance, and thats God giving you a nice little wack back!! Oh and you'll be sooking on Sat arvo after the Pies do a demolition job on the team that plays the worst style of non scoreing football in history!!!!Yuk
It took one week longer then expected, but i told ya:D I just love "Saints Footy";)

Coming from someone who apparenlty supports Western Sydney????
Yes didget, i do support GWS, i was just stating the fact that because Stkilda play the worst,most boring brand of football in the history of the game they don't deserve to win a GF, and the Pies would smash them with thier high scoring, high pressure, and most of all, highly entertaining brand of football, like Geelong before them they are saving our great game from the crap (we will score 6 goals and keep them to 5) mentality that "Saints Football" is all about!! And for one love it, So its GO PIES!!!! for me:D

Sad day when a Collingwood supporter hasnt got the swingers to declare him, her self as one.