Yoga

Remove this Banner Ad

RW

Cancelled
10k Posts Sydney Forum Service Medal Sydney Swans - Jake Lloyd 2020 Player Sponsor BeanCoiNFT Investor Sydney Swans - Harry Cunningham 2019 Player Sponsor Ex-Moderator Sydney Swans - Gary Rohan Player Sponsor 2018 Sydney Swans - George Hewett Player Sponsor 2017 Sydney Swans - Callum Mills Player Sponsor 2016 Podcaster
Jan 11, 2003
AFL Club
Sydney
Does anyone on here practice it?

I have been doing it once a week for about six months now. The main reason I started was to help with my breathing, balance and flexibility. Our instructor uses a mixture of styles, but predominantly hatha yoga, I feel quite energised immediately after the class, but often get lethargic/tired the next day (though it doesn't last). It's been really helpful in uncluttering the mind, I have been using it in conjunction with mindfulness breathing/meditation as a treatment for mild anxiety.

Share your experiences/tips here!

I've been doing it for a couple of months now. Got a few DVDs and I just do it at home in the mornings, anywhere from 3 to 6 days a week. They're only about 25 minute sessions though.

Usually get up, have a coffee, then do yoga before breakfast. Like you're saying I find it energizes me and gets me going in the morning. Always feel nice and calm afterwards too.

Physically speaking I mainly do it for flexibility benefits. Helps get any stiff and sore muscles moving after the night before's weights too.

I've read that for advanced lifters yoga can actually decrease your deadlift. Don't know if that's broscience bullshit or not and don't really care - I'd rather be flexible and deadlift less anyway.

I think it's slowly helping me with with my squat technique. There's a lot of hamstring stretching work in the yoga I do.