You know what....

• Thread starter Thread starter Smokin

its bloody eerie!!

They dont just lift, they seem to have everything go their way. Decisions, bounce of the ball, arsey goals u name it!

Also, we just cant take a trick against em! 7 points in a row, 3 posters in about 10 mins!

we also seem to turn soft - today some players really stood out.

It was weird, the game was close, but for some reason I never thought we were gonna get up, even after camporeale made a meal of that kick.

we will get out of this rut tho, the past 4 weeks have probably been our worst since early 99 I guess.

Yeah nothing much went our way:

- 7 points in a row, including thre posters,
- Lappin's goal off the ground in the third quarter.
- They probably got the better of the umpiring, but that is part an parcel of the game.

We have still won 8 of the last 12 against them, and three of their 4 wins have been by 16, 7 and 1 point. They havn't had a legitimate "comforatable" win against us for years now, and I am confident we will turn it around. Today's match could have gone either way, and we did have more scoring shots.

Originally posted by Dan25
Yeah nothing much went our way:

and three of their 4 wins have been by 16, 7 and 1 point.

Sorry Dan, that is 17 , 7 and 1 point. ;)

I felt empty after todays loss. I didn't know what to feel. I wasn't happy (that's for sure), I wasn't mad, nor was i disappointed. I just felt a huge 'nothingness'. It was hard to put a finger on.

Well, at least these 'minor' issues are showing up now and not in 4 weeks time. There are quite a few issues that 'must' be addressed. Sheedy was outcoached today. Caracella is not a backman...Lucas is not a backman. I swear Lucas is a no-brainer. He has nothing from the shoulders up. He has a distinct lack of a football brain. If Sheedy thinks he is going to reinvent Lucas as a backman...

Okay...i am going to stop now. I still feel 'nothingness' and will for the remainder of the week.

This team will bounce back...they are above this.

Dan - after we peppered for 10 minutes for no return, and Lappin ar$ed that goal off the ground I thought "today I not our day! - somebody up there doesnt want us to win!".

I dont think we were outcoached, Sheedy made changes, and frankly, at quarter we were outplayed and we had to do something. We had the better of quarters 2 and 3, with the last even so it wasnt a case of being outcoached, I just dont think we had a real dip today.

Heffernan, Misiti and Caracella stood out today as pretty soft I thought. I know Misiti and Caracella arnt generally hard players, but I was suprised with Heff.

We seemed to let them do what they like - if I had a dollar for every marking contest they "won" without us having a real go Id be a rich man, ie Lappin in the last - he had to contest with Porter I think, while 3 of us sat there scratching themselves!!

It just felt like the players didnt believe we could win, or didnt want to win.

I dont think we had a go, but we will be back.

At the end of the day they couldnt do much wrong, played as well as they could, while we couldnt take a trick, looked flat, yet we lost by 7 points. I know who the better team is, the problem is it seems every time we play them I say this.

Are we cursed? Are we not allowed to play well against them?:confused:

I dont really care about the loss, but two things now 3 things now worry me:

Hird - could be out for the year! Phuuuuuuuuuuck!!!!!
Lloyd - if he misses a couple, he is gonna be under real pressure to kick 100, something we DONT need.
Carlscum - we had a chance to stuff their season up with a loss today, and stick it up Bradley in his 350th - the team he came over and signed with untill Collins stole him.

Ah well.

I didn't watch this game at all, since I'm currently home in the states, but I did follow
it online. What the hell happened? Did our kicking go into the toilet or what?

I'll tell you what....we better start preparing for Carlton again, because I GUARANTEE
that we will meet them in the finals at some point.

The 2001 premiership's gonna have to go through Carlton. Sheedy better figure
something out, and fast

G'day,

Another great Carlton v Essendon contest yesterday. A brilliant crowd (given the wet weather) and a match with plenty of twists and turns. I can understand if you guys don't have such good memories of the day, but I know your time will come....so i better enjoy ours now!

Interesting all the Essendon bagging that went on after it again, just like in round 3. But its always the neutral supporters and not the blues fans which is interesting....I must say, I feel a bit uneasy about having Collingwood supporters barracking for us in a game......

Dan - I heard you sat in level 3 of the GSS. What bay can I ask (I was p27)?

We were terrible yesterday.

I thought Lloyd's "no hunger" article in the 'Hun last week may have been a bit of "reverse psyhcology". Maybe it had an element of truth in it, our tackling was almost non-existant and we were flogged outta the guts and around the packs. A couple of guys stopped when they shoulda kept going late yesterday.

We are not the side we were. Are we "satisfied"?
Good teams don't....or shouldn't...continually give away "starts" to quality opposition as we have in the last few weeks. Nor should they lose games when 2 goals up late in a match. Something which has happened twice this year, against the same team. A mental problem, perhaps?

Whichever way you look at it, it makes for an interesting run home to the finals.

where's wally?

Originally posted by windyhill
Simple...they lift,and we play alessio,simple.

Hey windy/Johng, I think I was standing near you guys at one point. Arsenal scarf? I forgot it was you until I went to the bar to get me mate a beer at half time. When I got back, you weren't there and my mate didn't like standing up so we had to leave. Next time I'll introduce myself. I dunno if you'll remember who I was, but I was bagging Bolton. So thats about half of the essendon supporters near us. Cheers mate.

Blues2001,

Yes, you may ask. ;) I was in P24.

I hope you weren't one of those Blues fans that was cheering Hird when he was injured. There were some guys near me cheering it, and that made me mad. Morons. :mad:

Some of your fans were also waiting near the Essendon race hurlng abuse at our players, as they left the ground. Haven't your fans got better things to do......like celebrate YOUR teams win, rather than the oppositions demise. That kind of thing can come back to haunt you.

I'm sure you werne't like that. I'm hoping anway.

We had this conversation for about a week after round 3 Dan. Do you honestly think Bomber fans are totally respectable and don't celebrate other teams demise? Be careful with your answer along the lines of "well all Bomber fans I know ...etc" You refer to the 1,000,000 Bomber fans Australia wide and my guess is that you probably don't know all of them.

I think that in the heat of battle or the pain of a loss against one of your biggest rivals, it would be natural to notice negatives about the opposition that fuels the hatred. I mean, when you are celebrating a victory, you are hardly going to pick out negatives about your own fellow fans are you?

It's amazing what a bit of balance and clarity can show you ...

Blues2001,

Some of your fans were also waiting near the Essendon race hurlng abuse at our players, as they left the ground. Haven't your fans got better things to do......like celebrate YOUR teams win, rather than the oppositions demise. That kind of thing can come back to haunt you.

I tell you what came back to haunt you - Four Essendon players (Soloman, Moorcroft, Rama and McVeigh) all gave Camporeale a big spray and/or pats on the bag when he mucked up to seemingly give you guys the game. Its funny, but from then on you guys seemed to take your eye off the ball a bit. Reminded me of the 99 prelim when the same happened to Bradley.

When you taunt like those players did, you'd want to be pretty damn certain of victory I reckon.

ODN's,

I won't say that all of our supportrs are angels, but I will say as a "collective" we are better than Carlton.

I would estimate, that of all the 16 clubs Carlton get more enjoyment from the oppositions demise (as compared to their own team's win) than any other side.

I can honestly say, that when we beat Carlton, the last thing I want to do is stand by the Carlton race and hurl abuse at them. Instead I will be singing and clapping my own team off the ground.

I'm not saying ALL Carlton fans are like that, but you have more of that "type" of fan, than other teams, IMHO. A lot of Carltons fans get some sick sort of pleasure from watching us lose. I'm sure that feeling is reciprocated by our fans towards you, but I have noticed that Blues fans are more vocal and sneering in their denigrating (and dismissing) of the opposition than other teams supporters.

Originally posted by Blues2001
I tell you what came back to haunt you - Four Essendon players (Soloman, Moorcroft, Rama and McVeigh) all gave Camporeale a big spray and/or pats on the bag when he mucked up to seemingly give you guys the game. Its funny, but from then on you guys seemed to take your eye off the ball a bit. Reminded me of the 99 prelim when the same happened to Bradley.

When you taunt like those players did, you'd want to be pretty damn certain of victory I reckon.

That's just gamesmanship and all teams do it. Can you tell me a team that doesn't let an opposition player know that they have made a mistake?

ODN's,

I won't say that all of our supportrs are angels, but I will say as a "collective" we are better than Carlton.

I would estimate, that of all the 16 clubs Carlton get more enjoyment from the oppositions demise (as compared to their own team's win) than any other side.

I can honestly say, that when we beat Carlton, the last thing I want to do is stand by the Carlton race and hurl abuse at them. Instead I will be singing and clapping my own team off the ground.

I'm not saying ALL Carlton fans are like that, but you have more of that "type" of fan, than other teams, IMHO. A lot of Carltons fans get some sick sort of pleasure from watching us lose. I'm sure that feeling is reciprocated by our fans towards you, but I have noticed that Blues fans are more vocal and sneering in their denigrating (and dismissing) of the opposition than other teams supporters.

What an absolute crock. You have no hope of being subjective when you openly admit you hate Carlton and their supporters more than any other team. It is only natural that any verbal exchange with a Blues supporter will burn deeper because you dislike them more.

Geez Dan, for somebody with a reasonable grasp on the English language and an aptitude for informed debate, you are a poor judge of human nature.

Thanks anyway, I have not been around enough of late to get a decent dose of provocation. You have not disappointed me. LOL

Oh for heck's sake ODN's.....do you honestly think that all the 16 supporter groups in the league are all the same and are all indentical in their fanaticism, passions and personalities?

All 16 clubs have different "types" of supporters. Richmond supporters are different to Melbourne fans, who are different to St.Kilda fans who are different to Carlton fans etc etc.

Now, I didn't get into any verbal stoushes with Carlton fans, and I never have (I stay away from that sort of stuff at the footy), but I can honestly tell you, that Carlton fans are "different" from Essendon fans in their dismissive nature of the opposition.

This is not so much a criticism as it is a trait of your supporter type. As I said, all teams have different types of fans, and Carlton fans, have their own unique personality, just as Bomber fans do.

Part of that personality is that utter dismissive attitude given to opposition teams (surely you have heard of this before) and their arrogant attitude. Part of the personality is Carlton fans enjoyment of the oppositions loss.

Oh but I forgot, I barrack for Essendon, so any description I give of Carlton supporters must instantaneoulsy be wrong, because I am bias. :rolleyes: What a load of rubbish ODN's. I hate Collingwood too, but that doens't mean I am unaware of their "personality" Pies fans for example, are very one-eyed and very loyal. They see their club as the biggest, and are largely concerned with Collingwood and Collingwood only. Now, because I hate Cllingwood, does this make that description wrong? No, it doesn't.

Carlton are a unique club, and have their own personality, just as Essendon do, and I would appreciate if you at least acknowledge this personaity of your club, instead of insulting me, by calling my post a crock of sh*t.

If you disagree so much, maybe you could tell me, just what traits and characteristics define a typical Blues fan? You might find that I am not as wrong as you think.

Firstly, I didn't say crock of sh*t, I said crock! Inaccurate, Unfair, Generalisation.

Secondly, I have been to many matches in Brisbane and Melbourne since 1979 and have not noted Blues supporters that bag the opposition more than celebrate their own teams success. That is true and you can not take that away from me. That leaves us even in our observations.

One of my pet hates when we lose is having to put up with the taunting, abuse, insulting jokes, screaming out of passing car windows I have to put up with from ALL opposition fans. I would particularly hate that against teams that have the greatest rivalries or success against us (Essendon, Collingwood and Richmond). I accept it as part and parcel of the game and know that the celebrations will be short lived and the Blues will have their day again. I choose not to rub it in to opposition fans too much as I know it will return to me sooner or later.

I spent a few childhood years around the club, players and officials and never found the bulk of supporters to be as you say. On average Dan, most supporters ARE the same. You can't tell me the supporter groups in Melbourne are indicative of the suburb and their ethnic backgrounds any more. There is no overriding religious overtones in AFL clubs. There is no reason for them to be different as you say.

In every club you will find, upper class, middle class, poverty stricken, lawyers, doctors, labourers, minorities. They may take on the clubs traditions such as most hated opposition and pride in your success or loyalty in the face of adversity etc, but they are essentially made up of the same walks of life. Sure, you can say that Melbourne are of predominantly upper class origins because of the MCC Members but I'd wager a few Demons around here wouldn't want you to pidgeon hole them. I also hate the Blues politics and am not a Liberal voter. I do not come from money or from academic circles. I am a real person, and no amount of census taking will pidgeon hole me.

Blues fans I know are confident. Success breeds confidence. Bomber fans are also confident. Everytime you open your mouth and suggest that the bulk or the 'identity' of Blues fans is that of a supporter who would prefer to bag other clubs than enjoy their own success, don't you think we would take offense to that?

So Blues fans are arrogant and dismissive and Bomber fans are passionate? Oh, of course. Silly me. I'm supposed to just roll over and die to appease the Bombers view of Blues fans.

All clubs have their share of good and bad, arrogant and humble, accepting and aggressive. Two of the most openly or self-proclaimed arrogant people on the boards IMO are you and Bee. Now you claim you stay out of that sort of happening at the footy, do you think Bee as an openly arrogant Blues supporter would find fault with the opposition more than care about a Blues victory?

In fact, check out the boards both here and on the Rivals network I publish for and look at the type of person that trolls the boards heaping crap on certain teams. You yourself have said that the Blues supporters on here are not the same as your opinion of the Blues supporters you see at the footy. Well, in my experience Blues fans don't care too much about the other team at all. I openly admit, I hardly notice the other team out there. If James Hird has the ball, I am looking at the Blues defender trying to make the tackle. This is indicative of many of my regular posters. We are real fans and we DON'T fit your stereotype.

It occurs to me that we can't be both dismissive and give opposition supporters crap over their losses. If we are dismissive, it is because we are totally immersed in our own club and don't give two fine damns what other teams are up to. We are hardly going to turn around and show more interest in others losses than our own wins. Doesn't add up.

Out of respect for Stealth and other Bombers users, I will NOT start a war with you on the Bomber board. We can take it on the main board anytime.

Judging by the way you began your last post, you've resorted to your old bully boy tactics but being a dismissive Blues fans, I couldn't care less about your opinion in this instance.

Dan, you have to command respect, not demand it! You can have a million times more posts than anyone else and you will still be no closer to convincing those with minds of their own about your agenda. Awaiting the predictable ...............

That's just gamesmanship and all teams do it. Can you tell me a team that doesn't let an opposition player know that they have made a mistake?

Dan, you are defending from the Essendon players what you are criticising in the Carlton fans.

Your're both as bad as each other and the rest of us think, your clubs, and your culture absolutely stink to high heaven.

You both cheat

You both have swaggering fat drunk idiots as presidents

You both are self delusional to the point where the rest of us wonder if we are actually playing the same code of football as you.

You both benefit from a gerrymandered draw - every single time.

You both seem to think it is your right to be successful.

You both have supporters bases notable for their gormless arrogance

You are both not nearly as good as you think you are.

You both seem to think the footballing universe revolves around you.

However, on a brighter note - I love your jumpers:D

cheers

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel

You both cheat
Don't remember those fines back in 1992 for "irregularities" in your player payments? Thought not.

:rolleyes: Could be worse. We could all be theatre goers.

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel
Your're both as bad as each other and the rest of us think, your clubs, and your culture absolutely stink to high heaven.

You both cheat

You both have swaggering fat drunk idiots as presidents

You both are self delusional to the point where the rest of us wonder if we are actually playing the same code of football as you.

You both benefit from a gerrymandered draw - every single time.

You both seem to think it is your right to be successful.

You are both not nearly as good as you think you are.

You both seem to think the footballing universe revolves around you.

However, on a brighter note - I love your jumpers:D

And you my boy,bend over

cheers