Young guns report

hobart cat

Didnt see this posted anywhere.

good read on the progress of the up and coming players at VFL level.

Cats yet to make their AFL debuts – Tudor says
Jason Davenport – 2007 rookie elevation
“Jason’s been one of our better players this year in the VFL. He’s consistently working on his defensive side of his game. He has played half-back flank, wing and half forward. He had 32 possessions on a half-forward flank last week and he keeps developing well.”
Nathan Djerrkura – 2006 NAB AFL Draft pick 25
“His last two weeks have been the first time we’ve been able to get some decent game time into him as he’s had some quad injuries that have really interrupted his progress … but his last two weeks have been great. He’s a magnificent tackler, a real ball-getter and is very competitive. His marking this year has been outstanding this year too, for a small forward.”
Adam Donohue – father/son selection – 2007 NAB AFL Draft pick 60
“Adam’s played most of the year as a back pocket and has had some big jobs on small forwards. He’s been in our best a few times and shown that he’s a smart young player. We’ve also played him as a forward the last couple of weeks just to change things up a bit. I think he’s the second-youngest player on an AFL list, so he’s done really well and proven to be really durable for us.”
Simon Hogan - 2006 NAB AFL Draft pick 57
“Simon has really stepped us this year. He’s put on weight, got a lot stronger and to be an emergency for the seniors earlier in the year is a great effort, The best thing about Simon is that he’s gone from being a wingman/forward pocket last year to getting right in the guts this year and he’s been our rover and our ruck rover, being right in among the action winning his own ball. Also he makes the right decisions when he gets it.”
Dan McKenna - 2007 NAB AFL Draft pick 50
“Dan’s played as a forward and as a defender for us and has showed a lot of poise under pressure for a young man and he’s also a very good decision-maker. He’s working really hard on putting weight on. For a first-year player he’s shown every reason why he should be at the Geelong Footy Club.”
Dawson Simpson - 2007 NAB AFL Draft pick 34
“Dawson’s missed the last few weeks with a quad injury but we’re really looking forward to getting him back. He’s a big man, and with Trent West and Shane Mumford in the VFL side now we’d like to think we’d be able to get an advantage in the ruck and hopefully we can use Dawson up forward a bit. The players really enjoy having him around as he’s a real clubman.”
Scott Simpson - 2007 NAB AFL Draft pick 44
“Scott kicked eight goals in a game earlier this year which for a first-year player is a really good effort. He’s got a fantastic workrate and a real passion to improve. He does a lot of extra work on his kicking and marking. He missed three or four weeks with a knee injury and, although he’s only a first-year player, we really missed him when he was out.”

http://gfc.com.au/tabid/3933/Default.aspx?newsid=62293

Thanks mate. I don't get to see the cats youth very often so this is good to here. All of these players are still very young and will need at least another year or so to show what they can do.:thumbsu:

Cheers for the update, its good to see Djerrkura back from his injury. Hopefully we see him and a few others in the snrs for their debuts in this season sometime

Can anyone else give a report on those players that see them often??

Obviously Tudor is not going to say 'Player A is a dud and I doubt Geelong will keep him on.' So if anyone could give an honest answer to if any of the above mentioned players isnt all that great..?

As said above, would love to see are more realistic post regarding the development of these guys. I'd expect Davenport and Djekurra will push for senior selection in 09?

Djerkurra - Tough as nails, brutal tackler who never gives up with solid though not exceptional skills, a mini Rooke with perhaps a bit more X factor. His weakness is definitely his height. I would expect him to follow a similar path of development to Stokes eventually making the team as a consistent performer first as a forward and then rotating into the middle.

Davenport - Uses his massive motor and is very creative running forward of the ball. Can cut up the opposition when not tagged. Like the 2008 Robert Harvey he is not great at winning hardball ball gets and kicks floaters but seems to always choose the right options.

Hogan - One of the best runners in the AFL and has improved on last year in his ability to win contested ball. Solid across the board in all areas of the game however is still too light to be considered for AFL selection. Has the capacity to play as a poor man's Ryan O'keefe IMO. lot to like about him and I'd prefer to hold him than take a kid in the 3rd round but with spots on the cats list at a premium he might struggle to stay on the list.

Donohue - Smart, strong, versitile small with good skills and good decision making, he can lock down on his man and has shown an ability to run off his opponent and create. To be honest I don't really see a weakness, he just needs to further develop across the board. IMO plays a similar game to Adcock.

D.Simpson - Giant, big bodied ruckmen who has above average skills for someone his size and can take a mark. IMO has struggled to adapt to the VFL and looks slow and lumbers around the field a little lost. Looks a little like Sandilands did in his first year and needs another preseason to improve his athleticism and gain some confidence before you can really judge him.

B.Moles - Mature aged rookie who can play forward or in the middle. Stand out as a player that can pick up the ball at full tilt and break tackles. He has an eye for a goal and shows flashes of brilliance. Has a tendency to fade in and out of games which could indicate a poor motor. At 23 years of age he's not getting any younger but I would definitely promote him at the end of the year onto the senior list.

Scott Simpson - Very hard working on the field, he continually presents an option. with clean hands overhead. A CHF option in the vain of Ashley Hansen (minus the injuries). A good future prospect

Those are the players I like and a comparison in style (not ability) to a current AFL player.

Nice summary Dan, can see us only drafting minimum allowed with young Ranga on the Rookie list.
Have to disagree - this draft is vital. the next 2-3 being lost to Western Sydney and the Gold Coast. we wont get access to top younger tlaent for the next half a decade!!!
If ever we need Wellsy and his brilliant work its for the next 3-5 years.......

Cheers danA, was a good reading an unbias few about them. I'm going to agree with you a.f.k.a.y.o.p. defiantly need to get some new young players on our list instead of list fillers. How long have we had wellsy?? Where was he before joining the cats??

Well I definitely think Ranga will go on the main list. You can't expect a guy who would otherwise be expected to go late 1st round to accept a spot on the rookie list. I'd turn over most of the rookies remembering we get one less due to scarlett going on the veteran list.
I think D.J & Tenace will get traded or delisted. Hogan is 50/50 to get delisted while Prismall & Byrnes are also possible trades. So I think between 4 & 6 spots will be available.

Moles I think should be promoted but it might be smart to wait a year. We will take Range with our last pick. That would leave use with between 2 & 5 picks in the draft (excluding Ranga) even if we did trade 4 players (unlikely).

Hi guys,

Long time reader - first time poster...

I wonder whether we will keep five ruckmen on our list next season?

Perhaps, we might opt to only keep one of West and Mumford. And at this stage, I'd be inclined to keep the big man from Bunyip.

Therefore my chnacges would be:
OUT: David Johnston, Kane Tenace, Shannon Byrnes, Trent West

IN: Ranga and three picks.

Retain Mumford and Moles as rookies.

And if salary cap pressure was really a problem, then I would be prepared to parcel Enright and Varcoe to Port for Travis Boak.

Hi guys,

Long time reader - first time poster...

I wonder whether we will keep five ruckmen on our list next season?

Perhaps, we might opt to only keep one of West and Mumford. And at this stage, I'd be inclined to keep the big man from Bunyip.

Therefore my chnacges would be:
OUT: David Johnston, Kane Tenace, Shannon Byrnes, Trent West

IN: Ranga and three picks.

Retain Mumford and Moles as rookies.

And if salary cap pressure was really a problem, then I would be prepared to parcel Enright and Varcoe to Port for Travis Boak.

Hi El ... a few points.

1) Enright has re-signed long-term, so he aint going anywhere thank goodness

2) Port wouldn't give up Boak for quids. He adds a little class alongside the blue-collars like Cassisi and K Cornes.

3) Sure, Boak's a gun, but how do you squeeze him into our midfield along side Gaz, Bartel, Corey, Selwood, Ling, Kelly, etc, etc ????

4) You've ditched Tenace, are prepared to ditch Byrnesy, but then if push came to shove also Varcoe? Dunno about you but I reckon we might need a lil dash - especially up forward.

I'm quite happy to let the boys inside the Skilled Stadium walls look after list management. They're doing a decent job at the minute ...

Hi El ... a few points.

1) Enright has re-signed long-term, so he aint going anywhere thank goodness

2) Port wouldn't give up Boak for quids. He adds a little class alongside the blue-collars like Cassisi and K Cornes.

3) Sure, Boak's a gun, but how do you squeeze him into our midfield along side Gaz, Bartel, Corey, Selwood, Ling, Kelly, etc, etc ????

4) You've ditched Tenace, are prepared to ditch Byrnesy, but then if push came to shove also Varcoe? Dunno about you but I reckon we might need a lil dash - especially up forward.

I'm quite happy to let the boys inside the Skilled Stadium walls look after list management. They're doing a decent job at the minute ...

Not keen on the idea either and loathe the idea of messing with our line up but if we are forced to make changes due to salary cap pressure I think it's something the cats could consider. I think I suggested the same trade last year for the same reasons.

If it were me in charge. I would retain Mumford and Moles on the rookie list. Trade Tenace and DJ for any upgrade of our first two picks we could get, put Scarlett on the Veteran list and shop Byrnes around in trade week.

That give us 2 -3 picks in the draft + Ranga and one Rokkie draft pick I think.

I believe it's an advantage having 5 ruckmen on our list for the simple reason that we can wait and see who develops and trade the lesser ruckmen to Southport when the new team enters the league.

Sounds sensible Dan.

My understanding is that we need to free up at least three senior list places for the draft. I think Tenace, DJ and Hogan are the three obvious ones. Tenace and DJ have had plenty of opportunity and their chance has passed - gawn. Hogan to me still looks a fair way off it, and if we had the luxury of more development time I would be very happy to keep him, but not ahead of anyone else on the list. The next tier is probably Davenport and West, but they have both shown enough to suggest they could be very good players in time, so I would really not want to get rid of them unless forced to. FWIW, I would like to put Byrnes in there as well because I just don't rate him, but unfortunately I can't see the club delisting or trading him at this stage.

Prismall may want to go, especially if he doesn't get a lot of senior time in the second half of the season, in which case we should trade him for as high a draft pick or upgrade as we can.

Remember too that Harley will be eligible for a veterans spot, which I think is not counted in the 38 (can anyone confirm?), and there must be a decent chance that NAblett decides not to come back, both of which will free up an extra spot.

Rookie list - I think this is Bedford's second year, so we need to either upgrade or delist him, and from what I've seen I suspect it will be the latter. All the other rookies are first year so I think we can leave them there, which is what we should do - with our list so tight and none of them pushing hard for senior selection there is no need to upgrade them.

So overall, with a very young and developing VFL side and a senior side on top of the ladder, I can't see us clearing out much more than we are forced to. That means, depending on the Prismall/NAblett situations, no more than 3 delistings and probably only 1-2. Tenace and DJ are my guesses, with Hogan the third if it comes to that.

Oh, and I think Ranga has got to go on the senior list for sure. My understanding - and I am not an expert so please correct me if I am wrong - is that this is a very strong draft at the top end and remains strong down to about 25-30, but is not necessarily so good after that, in which case having 2-3 decent picks in the first two rounds and then snaring a guy who would otherwise be a first rounder in Ranga with our last pick would be a great outcome.

Guys, Ranga might be a player but we don't know yet. Let's not get too caught up in the hype of a guy who's never played genuine senior footy. He isn't that tall or super-quick, while his skills have a lil way to go from reports.

If we rookie him, we can develop him for a year or so and then see if he's worth elevating. Pretty sure you'll find that's what we'll do. That way we keep others' mits off him but keep him at the Cattery.

We can then draft others - after all, this is the last good crack at a draft for a bit.

As for de-listing Hogan, that is an absurd suggestion. Word is he is a real keeper.

It's only his second year and he was an emergency earlier this year. Sheez, cut the kid some slack. He's trying to break into the best team in the country.

Sounds sensible Dan.

My understanding is that we need to free up at least three senior list places for the draft. I think Tenace, DJ and Hogan are the three obvious ones. Tenace and DJ have had plenty of opportunity and their chance has passed - gawn. Hogan to me still looks a fair way off it, and if we had the luxury of more development time I would be very happy to keep him, but not ahead of anyone else on the list. The next tier is probably Davenport and West, but they have both shown enough to suggest they could be very good players in time, so I would really not want to get rid of them unless forced to. FWIW, I would like to put Byrnes in there as well because I just don't rate him, but unfortunately I can't see the club delisting or trading him at this stage.

Prismall may want to go, especially if he doesn't get a lot of senior time in the second half of the season, in which case we should trade him for as high a draft pick or upgrade as we can.

Remember too that Harley will be eligible for a veterans spot, which I think is not counted in the 38 (can anyone confirm?), and there must be a decent chance that NAblett decides not to come back, both of which will free up an extra spot.

Rookie list - I think this is Bedford's second year, so we need to either upgrade or delist him, and from what I've seen I suspect it will be the latter. All the other rookies are first year so I think we can leave them there, which is what we should do - with our list so tight and none of them pushing hard for senior selection there is no need to upgrade them.

So overall, with a very young and developing VFL side and a senior side on top of the ladder, I can't see us clearing out much more than we are forced to. That means, depending on the Prismall/NAblett situations, no more than 3 delistings and probably only 1-2. Tenace and DJ are my guesses, with Hogan the third if it comes to that.

Oh, and I think Ranga has got to go on the senior list for sure. My understanding - and I am not an expert so please correct me if I am wrong - is that this is a very strong draft at the top end and remains strong down to about 25-30, but is not necessarily so good after that, in which case having 2-3 decent picks in the first two rounds and then snaring a guy who would otherwise be a first rounder in Ranga with our last pick would be a great outcome.

I tend to agree with you there. I think Hogan is line ball but I am leaning toward keeping him. Just one detail which is important. My understanding is that if Scarlett goes on the veteran list he replaces a rookie and that frees up a space on our main list, means we only have to delist two more players.

As for de-listing Hogan, that is an absurd suggestion. Word is he is a real keeper.

I tend to agree, if tenace and byrnes go (which they should) then hogan would not be cut. Actually he won't be cut if they stay, the boys in charge at the cattery always let the young ones take time and i think myself that we may have something special here. He has terrific skills and speed and not to forget endurance! (remember the draft camp?) Hogan is certain to be at the cat's next year, and dont be surprised if he slots straight into the ones after another preseason!
:thumbsu:

I tend to agree with you there. I think Hogan is line ball but I am leaning toward keeping him. Just one detail which is important. My understanding is that if Scarlett goes on the veteran list he replaces a rookie and that frees up a space on our main list, means we only have to delist two more players.
My understanding is that a minimum of 3 players must be drafted in the National draft each year.
Scarlett being on the veterans list means we will have one less Rookie.

My understanding is that a minimum of 3 players must be drafted in the National draft each year.
Scarlett being on the veterans list means we will have one less Rookie.

I could be wrong but I thought Scarlett being on the veterans list means that he is not included on the main list but rather replaces a rookie.

Therefore two delisting (Tenace & D.J) and Scarlett moving onto the veterans list makes room for three players to be drafted.

It's only his second year and he was an emergency earlier this year. Sheez, cut the kid some slack. He's trying to break into the best team in the country.

He was an emergency because they want to have a look at him in the AFL sometime this year before making a decision on him.

Tenace, DJ, Prismall (trade looks likely), Nablett. 4 picks.

I could be wrong but I thought Scarlett being on the veterans list means that he is not included on the main list but rather replaces a rookie.

Therefore two delisting (Tenace & D.J) and Scarlett moving onto the veterans list makes room for three players to be drafted.
Now I'm more confused :confused: but I don't think it works that way otherwise we wouldn't have to delist anyone with Milburn, Harley and Scarlett all on the Veterans list. But I really don't know now.