freo1

Jul 19, 2006
perth
Hi all,

just wondering if you could fill me in how Dennis Armfield and Dave Ellard went?

They're locals from where i am. I played a bit with armfield a couple years ago and Dave Ellard's old man coached me for a few seasons recently.

Dennis is going to be a star for you guys i reckon - great pickup, always used dominate for us (even though he'd only played footy for a yr or two then having always played rugby) and then at swan districts when he got his chance.

As for Dave Ellard, great young talent and if breeding stocks have anything to do with it, he'll go a long way. His dad was a great player in the local Sunday League here in Perth for many years back before the Eagles were formed and when Sunday League rivaled the WAFL in stature. He won several association best and fairests as a tough midfielder.

I think both will go far, and from what i've heard, Rats is giving them both a go which is great

Have you guys got any long term injuries which could see Dave Ellard elevated?

Loved DA's work yesterday. Along with Pfieffer he was the real standout for mine. Will jump into a pack head down which shows he has great courage and tenacity. Tackles and harasses wonderfully well. Like his foot skills but like a lot of our blokes could use some work on his delivery. Gutsy, pacey and ready-made for our team, what more could we ask?

Ellard's size worries me. To succeed at that height you really need to be something special a la Libba. Apparently a goal sneak but he must love them on the run because he choked an easy set shot.

Early days but doubt either could have done much more in putting their names forward yesterday.

Out of the new blokes, Pfeiffer was the most impressive. His attack on the ball is ferocious and his tackling commitment the best I have seen at the club in a long time.

Armfield linked up well and ran hard, while I thought Ellard was very good in tight, a tenacious little bugger. Like them all.

If he keeps showing what he did yesterday, Armfield is a certainty to play all year. He is always involved and his decision making is spot on.

Ellard is on the small side, but didn't look out-classed. Looked alright, will be better for the experience. Hard to say if he brings anything special.

Yeah, he looked good did Armfield, was quite impressed. Ellard was OK.

What did people make of Jake Edwards' game? Did a couple of great things, strong marks, but seemed to lack some intensity and probably could have got to a few more contests.

To tell you the truth he looks like he lacks confidence. He reminds me a bit of Josh Kennedy. He has a great build for a pack-crashing forward but after a promising start he drifted right out of it.

Jake looked pretty good yesterday I thought. Took a couple of nice marks, and competed well. Could be in line to debut early in the year.

To tell you the truth he looks like he lacks confidence. He reminds me a bit of Josh Kennedy. He has a great build for a pack-crashing forward but after a promising start he drifted right out of it.

He did drift out of the game, but after his game against Freo, it'll hopefully give him some confidence. His mark in the last quarter was very strong and impressive.

Yeah. There was one marking opportunity near the boundary line that he could have made if he'd gone for it, but chose to jog the contest out instead. He'll have to learn to make the most of those chances.

Other than that when he was in the right position to do something he did. He'll be better for the experience and I expect he'll get more.

He did drift out of the game, but after his game against Freo, it'll hopefully give him some confidence. His mark in the last quarter was very strong and impressive.

Showed more than he did in Freo, second game, is about all you can ask at this stage, presented well and took a strong grab or two....i think that effort will inject him with a bit of confidence to be honest.

Nothing like JK IMO. Jake is a different sort of KP forward. He is very strong over-head, but a lot lot faster than JK on the lead. In fact Edwards is blistering on the lead, and a lot better at ground level as well. Rate him highly. He's still finding his way, but that fantastic contested mark showed his talent. Also did a few nice handballs, and other one percents. He'll get better with time, and his development is on the right track now under Ratten. Really impressed with the support Fev gave him during the game as well. Jake will be a star. And I think his style of play will complement Fev and Hartlett's styles as well. Hartlett is more of your 195-196cm crash and bash CHF with a booming kick, Edwards is the 192-193cm fast leading forward, brilliant at ground level. Jake is probably closer to Fisher in style, although will hit packs harder. :)

I think Edwards could have been given a bit more game time, can only recall seeing him in the 1st and last quarters, but he could have just been out of view for a while. Liked what I saw, but really should have converted that goal from 20m out. Of the others I thought Pfeiffer was the most impressive, despite a few wayward kicks.

Nothing like JK IMO. Jake is a different sort of KP forward. He is very strong over-head, but a lot lot faster than JK on the lead. In fact Edwards is blistering on the lead, and a lot better at ground level as well. Rate him highly. He's still finding his way, but that fantastic contested mark showed his talent. Also did a few nice handballs, and other one percents. He'll get better with time, and his development is on the right track now under Ratten. Really impressed with the support Fev gave him during the game as well. Jake will be a star. And I think his style of play will complement Fev and Hartlett's styles as well. Hartlett is more of your 195-196cm crash and bash CHF with a booming kick, Edwards is the 192-193cm fast leading forward, brilliant at ground level. Jake is probably closer to Fisher in style, although will hit packs harder. :)

Come on mate... if all this were true he'd have been a regular since he got to the club. Fact is he couldn't get a run in arguably the worst team in the comp.

Don't rate your wraps on Hartlett either... he has shown bugger all.

Ellard is too small.

You really can be an annoying prick. He reminds me of JK in that he looks to be lacking in confidence. Probably could have been worded better. Please don't let your exalted status as board attack dog spoil your otherwise laudable talents. And what's with the half-assed "sorry smiley" on every post?

Come on mate... if all this were true he'd have been a regular since he got to the club. Fact is he couldn't get a run in arguably the worst team in the comp.

Ellard is too small.

lol. Almost sounds as though we've been watching 2 different players over the past few years. A diversity of opinion is always a good thing. :)

Not sure about watching them... I don't get to watch a lot of 2nds footy.

Should bookmark this thread and come back to it in a few years. I'm tipping that either or both of Edwards and Hartlett won't be on an AFL list. Without researching, both of them would be 21-22(?), should have played a lot more footy than they have at AFL level... if they haven't made some kind of meaningful contribution to date, then it's not likely they will.:)

I'm basing my comments on Edwards primarily on what I've seen at VFL level over the past few years. The guy does have talent, and a lot of it. But many gifted footballers haven't made it at AFL level for many reasons. Even at VFL level was very inconsistent. Some games he looked awesome, and others he went missing. But when he got his game together he showed he had the attributes to succeed at AFL level i.e. excellent overhead, very fast lead (one of the fastest over 20m at draft camp), and very skilfull at ground level. He did tend to loose concentration at times, and try to do too much. This year Jake seems a lot more focused., a much better preseason, and he looks pretty determined to succeed at this level. He's hardly set the world on fire in the past 2 games, but he has shown glimpses of his natural ability I have seen at VFL level, and more importantly his application and concentration on the team-oriented stuff i.e following the gameplan, and doing the one-percenters, is a mile ahead of what it was last year. These are early signs admittedly, but promising ones. :)

Ha if we went by what you thought we would ditch our entire squad.

Anyways Edwards is 20 and Hartlett 21. How many KPP make a 'meaningful contribution' by this stage?

Jake Edwards
Fast Facts
Jumper No 37
Height 192
Weight 82
DOB 1988-01-06
Recruited From MeltonWestern U18

Adam Hartlett
Fast Facts
Jumper No: 23
Height: 195
Weight: 88
DOB: 1986-04-22
Recruited From: West Adelaide (SA)

Edwards just turned 20. still very young.

Ellard is too small.
Ellard might be too small, but, he had shown alot yesterday. Size does not matter. A few more games under his belt and im sure he will be a very handy pick up for us. Betts will teach him some tricks!:thumbsu:

ellard was good yesterday HOWEVER he must learn how to tackle. on a few occasions yesterday when an oppostition player would run past him, he tried to hip'n'shoulder the player, which is difficult to do when a player is on the run, instead of tackling the player and bringing him down.

Youngsters - Armfield and Ellard