Arsenal
How was it?

Mine was pretty solid, with no major negative events occurring. Bought an apartment in January with my girlfriend, got my contract renewed at work, celebrated my two year anniversary with my girlfriend. Acquired tickets to the four Springsteen shows I wanted. Saved a boatload of money too, while still managing to get things for our place.

Friendships grew stronger, and I became closer with work colleagues and made more friends at work.

No deaths in the family, and both remaining grandparents turned 91.

A good year all round, 2017 will be even better!

How was it?

Mine was pretty solid, with no major negative events occurring. Bought an apartment in January with my girlfriend, got my contract renewed at work, celebrated my two year anniversary with my girlfriend. Acquired tickets to the four Springsteen shows I wanted. Saved a boatload of money too, while still managing to get things for our place.

Friendships grew stronger, and I became closer with work colleagues and made more friends at work.

No deaths in the family, and both remaining grandparents turned 91.

A good year all round, 2017 will be even better!

What would've been wrong with renting an apartment? You've only been with her for 2 years, that's a risk in itself. The 'boatload of money' which you've saved is essentially now offset by Melbourne's slowing property growth/money you owe to the bank.

Rent money is dead money to me. I would not give someone else my money, when I can save it for myself and use it toward something I can buy.

There is no risk, I'll marry her.

Rent money is dead money to me. I would not give someone else my money, when I can save it for myself and use it toward something I can buy.

There is no risk, I'll marry her.

No such thing as risk free. But it is what life is about otherwise you'd never do anything.

Rent money gives you somewhere to live and flexibility to move. But I agree pound for pound buying is better. (Current state of the financial system not withstanding).

OK. Had great times and some bad ones. Start, middle and finish were OK but parts of the rest sucked. Extreme in may ways. When most people say that just flew by where did time go? 2016 really dragged. Was one of the longest years of my life. Not all bad but just seemed to go forever and be tiring. Feels like a lifetime a go sine NYD 2016.

Although I lost two grandparents, it was probably the best year I've had for a while. Made a heap of worthy new friends and a had a great time all round. My VCE was absolutely shithouse, but that wasn't through any fault apart from my own, but that's over now so no worries.

Worst 12 months of my life by a country mile (30yo), lucky to still be alive, what ever could go wrong did, I literally lost everything.
Im now starting my entire life again from scratch.

The one and only upside, in the last two weeks of the year I found a new job that im enjoying.
F*** 2016 and everything about it.

Worst 12 months of my life by a country mile (30yo), lucky to still be alive, what ever could go wrong did, I literally lost everything.

The one and only upside, in the last two weeks of the year I found a new job that im enjoying.
I hope 2017 is much better for you

Been a pretty good and eventful year for me.

Graduated from uni, landed my first full time job, spent 6 weeks in Europe and ended a toxic 3 year relationship.

The best part was clearly the Doggies winning the flag which to this day still brings me an unbelievable amount of happiness.

This was me circa 2014. Simply put just stay positive and keep going. Amazing the gains you can make. And I literally have drank more and done more in the last 3 years than is good for me and I frankly care to remember or would ever have thought possible. Simply put stay positive and live your life.

Go for gold with the job. Nothing worse than working a job you hate. Enjoy each day and week however tiring and the rest will take care of itself.

1) went on 2 great holidays, PNG and Darwin/Kakadu.
2) went to the gabba 11 times to watch my team get flogged most weeks.
3) enjoyed getting involved with my 3 delightful grand children, IMO the years of innocence and wide eyed curiosity are a blessing to behold.
4) enjoyed life/retirement in general eg. vege garden/chooks/futsal/BF.
5) and no one close died which made a pleasant change from the previous few years.

thumbs up to 2016 for me.

Hmm..I worked up until April but then unfortunately couldn't find much during winter other than a day or two here and there, then started working again in November and saw through until the end of the year working. There was a 3 week course course at Crown in Melbourne that I did which filled in a bit of time.

Port had a pretty average season so footy wasn't so great for me this year.

I started going out a bit more often so my social life did improve a little.

I did something I always wanted to do and visited Perth (when Port lost to Freo :tired: ) + I saw one of my favourite bands live, Asking Alexandria. I was also meant to see Bring Me The Horizon but they cancelled which was shattering.

A girl came into my life...without going into to too much detail, I thought that she could have been the real deal, but unfortunately not. I was in a pretty bad place over her for a while and had to spend a bit of time trying to get over her. 

Not too great...not too bad, could have been better, could have been worse.