dogbowl

I am going to watch the Doggies on Sunday at AAMI Stadium, and have heard it can be a pretty confronting affair. Any tips, suggestions, etc?

Don't drink the water

Use words with 2 syllables or less

Hold hands with your sister, you'll fit in.

Put S.A. Number plates on your car, Kym Koster can tell you why

I am going to watch the Doggies on Sunday at AAMI Stadium, and have heard it can be a pretty confronting affair. Any tips, suggestions, etc?

:rolleyes: It's exactly the same as any other ground. You're gonna get looks and someone might say a few words but is that different anywhere else?

Toughen up for god sake we're not gonna murder you

but is that different anywhere else

Yes.

Had 3 or 4 glass bottles thrown at my head(yes glass don't ask how they got it in) and was called an inbred Victorian. haha Actually Dad and i did have a laugh at the irony in that one.

This was in 2001 though..

:rolleyes: It's exactly the same as any other ground. You're gonna get looks and someone might say a few words but is that different anywhere else?

Toughen up for god sake we're not gonna murder you

Yeah I can say you get stared at funny at Football Park. I have been to most grounds in Australia and Football Park was the only one to show open hostility.

Oh careful on the Victorian plates as said above. I had a mate over there so we took his car to the ground. The Kym Koster incident made me wary to park there.

Yes.

Had 3 or 4 glass bottles thrown at my head(yes glass don't ask how they got it in) and was called an inbred Victorian. haha Actually Dad and i did have a laugh at the irony in that one.

This was in 2001 though..

Wow, one bad experience 6 years ago :thumbsu:

I've been to Melbourne about 8 times to watch the Crows play, about 2 or 3 of those times I've been yelled at and once someone threw a beer at me but you don't hear me complaining. Every supporter base has their ferals for crying out loud.

Having lived in Adelaide all my life I may be a bit biased, but in general I think the supporters are not as bad as they are made out to be. Sure there are some w***ers, as in all clubs. I have heard some bad stories, but then again have never seen anything. I don't think there is any animosity towards Doggie supporters. For those who have had bad experiences, I REALLY hope they are in the minority.

As for AAMI - You will need a ticket beforehand as most games are sold out (only 5000 available to the public). It is Mark Ricciuto's testimonial match, so hopefully there will be a big crowd, plus given the importance (say 42-45k). You can not drink alcohol at your seat. The bars are behind the stands so you can not watch the game from them either. The red coats (ground officials) can evict you for swearing - without warning. The biggest contingent of 'away' supporters are behind the goals at the northern end.

Hope you have a good time, regardless of the result. After the trip - could you summize your experiences? I am curious.

Have you run out of barrels to put the bodies in???

Funny considering the homicide numbers are higher in Melbourne than Adelaide :thumbsu: Oh and the barrel incident was in Snowtown, not Adelaide. Nice try though but the typical Victorian ignorance is shining thru again :thumbsu:

Having lived in Adelaide all my life I may be a bit biased, but in general I think the supporters are not as bad as they are made out to be. Sure there are some w***ers, as in all clubs. I have heard some bad stories, but then again have never seen anything. I don't think there is any animosity towards Doggie supporters. For those who have had bad experiences, I REALLY hope they are in the minority.

As for AAMI - You will need a ticket beforehand as most games are sold out (only 5000 available to the public). It is Mark Ricciuto's testimonial match, so hopefully there will be a big crowd, plus given the importance (say 42-45k). You can not drink alcohol at your seat. The bars are behind the stands so you can not watch the game from them either. The red coats (ground officials) can evict you for swearing - without warning. The biggest contingent of 'away' supporters are behind the goals at the northern end.

Hope you have a good time, regardless of the result. After the trip - could you summize your experiences? I am curious.

Good to see they have cleaned it up, because its reputation was pretty bad. Anyone remember that incident with the supporter bus, at the ground the Crows supporters where rocking it while everyone was still in it. Doesn't sound so bad but there were a few kids on the bus crying and it was up on 2 wheels. It was in the news, a really bad incident that could have been fatal. This was waaaaaaaaaay back though, maybe 91/92/93

You probably deserved it.

Oh but of course, and your Doggie supporting friends didn't provoke anything right? They were hit with beer bottles because Adelaide people are feral, but when I get hit in Victoria I "probably deserved it"

Do you think before you type?

Oh but of course, and your Doggie supporting friends didn't provoke anything right? They were hit with beer bottles because Adelaide people are feral, but when I get hit in Victoria I "probably deserved it"

Do you think before you type?

I think Astro was just stirring.

I went over to AAMI stadium in '03 when the dogs ended up getting the wooden spoon and we struggled all season. Well, we were up at 3/4 time by 4 goals and were loving it. Needless to say we let the rest of the stadium know we were having a good time. We were sitting in the very back row and had the stadium wall behind us (which was probably a good thing). When the the crows got in front in the last quarter the whole of the stadium turned around and let us know. By the end of the game we lost by 2 goals and hardly anyone was facing the footy ground, they seemed to be mostly facing us. They certainly let us know about their win! I did enjoy the day though it was great to be in foreign territory, however would have been better if we won.

Also don't expect anything to be mentioned about the dogs on the local radio, all you hear about is Adelaide. For all they know they could have been playing anyone that day if you'd gone off the broadcast.

Enjoy the experience dogbowl!!! Lets hope we win.

I went over to AAMI stadium in '03 when the dogs ended up getting the wooden spoon and we struggled all season. Well, we were up at 3/4 time by 4 goals and were loving it. Needless to say we let the rest of the stadium know we were having a good time. We were sitting in the very back row and had the stadium wall behind us (which was probably a good thing). When the the crows got in front in the last quarter the whole of the stadium turned around and let us know. By the end of the game we lost by 2 goals and hardly anyone was facing the footy ground, they seemed to be mostly facing us. I did enjoy the day though it was great to be in foreign territory, however would have been better if we won.

Also don't expect anything to be mentioned about the dogs on the local radio, all you hear about is Adelaide. For all they know they could have been playing anyone that day if you'd gone off the broadcast.

Enjoy the experience dogbowl!!! Lets hope we win.

Yeah exactly, if you have a crack at our fans when you're up, gotta be prepared to take it when you're down. If you're nice to the Crows fans thru out the game they'll be nice back. It's the same for everywhere but for some reason always gets exaggerated when something minor happens in Adelaide.

Thanks all. Have booked my ticket, contacted local police, have Hells Angels on standby, am not taking my sister, will not even look at any buses, and am leaving the 'Roo is a load of Poo' banner in Melbourne.

Should be fun...

I know that it sounds one eyed. But i've been to Subi, SCG and Football park. And without a doubt its 10 times scarier then going to dome or G. And i know people can dispute this, but its because these places are one or two team towns. Basically every single week you go to the footy in Victoria you sit amongst supporters from the other teams so its not as hostile and you carry that to the next game and so on. But interstate the crowds would be 90% supporting one team. Over time this builds a very patriotic and biased and even hostile crowd. You can even see it in Victorian teams like Collingwood, where they constantly out number other supporters. Its not the people, clearly they are same everywhere...its just human nature i guess. Mob mentality.

South Australian seem to have a massive inferiority complex. Chips on Shoulders and all that.....

Take care over there.....

Mind you Port fans are feral......Crows fans are just cocky......

Wait for it.........Remember 97 and 98....they love it.....

It is all in good fun I am sure.

I can remember going in the Crows first year and almost being scared. I had a sign which read 'Stone the Crows' which was pelted with food, drink and ice each time I raised it. The mini bus we travelled in was rocked by a group of ferals as we left and the bus was followed by a group of hoons who shouted abuse at us all the way back to our accomodation.

I have been back since and they aren't that bad anymore, but in the early days the mentality of the Crows supporters was pretty poor to say the least.

Funny considering the homicide numbers are higher in Melbourne than Adelaide :thumbsu: Oh and the barrel incident was in Snowtown, not Adelaide. Nice try though but the typical Victorian ignorance is shining thru again :thumbsu:

Snowtown, Adelaide, Whyalla, Port Lincoln, Coober Pedy who really cares, its all one and the same. They're all small towns in South Australia.......

You guys are the most creative with your murders though and the disposal of bodies......:thumbsu:

2 can play at that game too clever man, your typical South Australian stereotyping of Victorians is shining through :thumbsu: (You can dress yourself but can you spot the irony in my comment???)

SA people in general are more feral. Probably the most of any other state, but other peoples' experiences may differ. Don't drink the water, or the beer for that matter.

If they're anything like Adelaide United supporters (and from my experience, they are), expect to have rocks, pint glasses etc thrown at you as you leave the ground.

All harmless fun in the manner of 'kick a vic' though, no doubt.