Your Adelaide spectator experience?

• Thread starter Thread starter dogbowl

Snowtown, Adelaide, Whyalla, Port Lincoln, Coober Pedy who really cares, its all one and the same. They're all small towns in South Australia.......

You guys are the most creative with your murders though and the disposal of bodies......:thumbsu:

2 can play at that game too clever man, your typical South Australian stereotyping of Victorians is shining through :thumbsu: (You can dress yourself but can you spot the irony in my comment???)

Can't really have a crack at the intellect of South Australians for the Snowtown incident.. Putting the bodies in barrels in an abandon bank was ingenious. Seriously, to get away with that many murders and put them in acid in a barrel in a vault. I can't think of a better way to dispose of a body.

You're right as usual Butane, I cannot be derogatory of the ingenious line of thought that lead to bodies being disposed of in barrels full of acid in an abandoned bank.

Funny though how Snowtown isn't in Adelaide (ownership denied) yet a certain Crows fan keeps stating "Victoria" and "Victorians". Last I checked, Adelaide and Snowtown are both in South Australia. Us as Victorians have to concede ownership of places like Moe, yet Adelaide fans (supporters of the first AFL side in South Australia) disown Snowtown........hmmmmmmmmm

If you want to keep addressing us as Victorians then we have every right to call you a South Australian and that includes your Snowtown :thumbsu: ;)

Reminds me of VFL park 20 years ago.

One thing that stuck in my mind was the way the supporters carried on.
I had my 2 young kids with me and they were just hooking in with the snide comments from all sides.

I could understand if I was making a goose of myself but I was sitting quietly:confused:

I know that it sounds one eyed. But i've been to Subi, SCG and Football park. And without a doubt its 10 times scarier then going to dome or G. And i know people can dispute this, but its because these places are one or two team towns. Basically every single week you go to the footy in Victoria you sit amongst supporters from the other teams so its not as hostile and you carry that to the next game and so on. But interstate the crowds would be 90% supporting one team. Over time this builds a very patriotic and biased and even hostile crowd. You can even see it in Victorian teams like Collingwood, where they constantly out number other supporters. Its not the people, clearly they are same everywhere...its just human nature i guess. Mob mentality.
The majority of games that most 'interstate' supporters go to are very one sided. This insulated environment may not be the best for when they do experience opposition supporters. Maybe we are out of practice? I still do think it is a minority.

It is also human nature to feel uncomfortable or even scared when facing overwhelming numbers. So this with the mob mentatily can add up to an uncomfortable situation.
I can remember going in the Crows first year and almost being scared. I had a sign which read 'Stone the Crows' which was pelted with food, drink and ice each time I raised it. The mini bus we travelled in was rocked by a group of ferals as we left and the bus was followed by a group of hoons who shouted abuse at us all the way back to our accomodation.

I have been back since and they aren't that bad anymore, but in the early days the mentality of the Crows supporters was pretty poor to say the least.
Back then (when I was a boy...) the anti-Vic attitude was strong. Actually it probably got out of hand. This also then reflected back in Vic with the anti-SA attitude.

I dont think this is the case anymore. The Kick-a-Vic jibes are still there, but more in banter.

I am going to watch the Doggies on Sunday at AAMI Stadium, and have heard it can be a pretty confronting affair. Any tips, suggestions, etc?

get to the Grand in Glenelg sunday night after the game - trust me when i tell you you will NOT be disappointed you did! :thumbsu:

Leave your Dogs gear at home. :thumbsu:

Why would that be required. Your you guys that pathetic? South Australians need to get over it. We love your state. Peaceful, pretty town, lovely river running through the middle......Clare Valley, Barossa, McLarevale, Adelaide Hills only a short drive to explore....All these things let down only by a small percentage of unbalanced individuals. Chips the size of Chad Cornes' ego.....

I'll be there, with my 9 yo son, i'm sitting in and around the cheer squad I think.

I would be disappointed if any dogs fans went and did NOT wear there colours.:mad:

I've been to many Crows/Dogs game @ AAMI.

• I was hit once, from behind, unprovoked. No damage. Other Crows fans told him to go home.
  • It was the only "hassle" i've ever had, and i'm a loud supporter. Honestly there is nothing to fear unless u look for trouble
  • The best bit is joining in when the Crows Fans "bag" their own players. They are really good at it, and annoys the carp out of them when you agree. You're hopeless Perrie will always get a chorus of agreement. (But my spies tell me he may not be playing)
  • You will bump into a few other doggies fans coming into and leaving the ground. Make sure you have a quick "hello", that's always fun
  • Be prepared, at least 576,452 Crows fans will tell you that they were at both the 97 and 98 prelim finals. Humour them by asking if they also enjoyed being at the tied test match in Brisbane.
  • It is one of the worst stadiums for viewing in Adelaide, equal to Subiaco. Crows fans are starting to realise this.
  • Be prepared to listen to the many crows fans, predominantly female, who clearly do not have any idea. About anything. Don't bother arguing, under the fish and barrel thing.
  • Also be prepared to be asked why or if you are a Cental Districts (SANFL) fan.
  • Enjoy, may see you there!

Oh but of course, and your Doggie supporting friends didn't provoke anything right? They were hit with beer bottles because Adelaide people are feral, but when I get hit in Victoria I "probably deserved it"

Do you think before you type?

well you're from adelaide, you do deserve it....

Leave your Dogs gear at home. :thumbsu:

I've sat in GA in my Bulldogs singlet for almost every pre-season and regular game at AAMI since 2003. Never had too much trouble. Won last year for once, that was nice :)

Wear your colours! Show your support! If kids with crows flags jab when, drop them when their parents are getting hot food at half time. Drown your sorrows in the bay that night. All good fun.

SA people in general are more feral. Probably the most of any other state, but other peoples' experiences may differ. Don't drink the water, or the beer for that matter.

If they're anything like Adelaide United supporters (and from my experience, they are), expect to have rocks, pint glasses etc thrown at you as you leave the ground.

All harmless fun in the manner of 'kick a vic' though, no doubt.

MATE. Melbourne Victory fans came to Adelaide (you'd hardly have known, no one really cares about soccer). But after they beat us, they ran through rundle mall lighting flares and screaming at people. My family from America were abused. It was a joke, what sort of loser would do that. "VIICCCTOOORRYYYY"....??? No one cares

I have been to the footy all my life. And I have not ONCE seen anyone abused physically (I've seen Port supporters abuse Crows supporters at our games). So maybe the people who are getting beer thrown at them ect have provoked it in the first place.

I wouldnt expect any trouble...it was just a jibe there fellas. ;) I dont want any of you going home hurt incase we do happen to have the ferals I keep hearing about on BF (that I never ever see..and Im at every Crows home game!).

FWIW, i wear my Centrals (the local SANFL team - Bulldogs) guernsey to Port-WB games at AAMi and never have had trouble doing that.

Shouldnt have any drama I wouldnt think, unless you go out after it by acting like total tossers, in which case, you dig your own grave.

Have a good time here, but leave us the points. :) :thumbsu: ;)

Never been at AAMI, but at the Gabba last year a guy started having a go at me because I was...wait for it...clapping!

So of course, I upped the anti and started whistling and screaming. Bunch of friggin opera fans up there...

• The best bit is joining in when the Crows Fans "bag" their own players. They are really good at it, and annoys the carp out of them when you agree. You're hopeless Perrie will always get a chorus of agreement. (But my spies tell me he may not be playing)

LOL :thumbsu:

Never been to a Crows game, but been to a Power match there. It was awful. We got flogged:thumbsd:, it poured with rain:thumbsd: and the Port supporters piffed oranges at us all night:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd: Once was enough for me - if I'm not wanted in their cute little village then I'm more than happy to stay at home. :D

One thing you must do, is when Perrie stuffs up join in the great Adelaide Crows Crowd 'Moan'.

The lastest craze however is the 'Gill' reaction. Thats a ripper, whenever Gill takes a mark, join in the "OH GOD I CAN'T WATCH". Then if (or when) he misses a shot at goal simply smack yourself on the forehead and sigh.

You will blend in perfectly.:thumbsu:

If you aren't a d*ckhead you'll be fine.

Does anyone else find it ironic that Footscray fans are labeling others feral/bogans?

If you aren't a d*ckhead you'll be fine.

Does anyone else find it ironic that Footscray fans are labeling others feral/bogans?

Prime example of Footscray used with a negative connotation. **** it gives me the shits. Ever noticed how Footscray struggle to make money yet the Western Bulldogs are on the rise, or how Footscray struggle to get a crowd to go to matches but the Western Bulldogs members are increasing. 2 different names, same club seen in two different lights. Western Bulldogs fans are well behaved but Footscray fans are feral, there are many more example of this. If you ever want to troll the doggies just write Footscray, its like calling African Americans, Negroes. Its true and politically correct, but it's a loaded word.

:rolleyes: It's exactly the same as any other ground. You're gonna get looks and someone might say a few words but is that different anywhere else?

Toughen up for god sake we're not gonna murder you
Just don't get the footy Xpress to Snowtown... :p

In all seriousness, there are rarely incidents at showdowns & you know our "love" for Port supporters, so enjoy the game as you have nothing to worry about.

Last year or the year before, I bagged members tickets from someone and was sitting near the front of the grandstand, behind a few of the WB faithfull. (Players wives etc)

Perrie finally took a mark, about 25 metres from us, and was greated by an ironical cheer. The crowd went silent (he was about 55 metres from goal) so i jumped to my feet and yelled something like "YOU CAN KICK IT PERRIE! SHUT THESE FERAL DOGGY FANS UP! COME ON, YOU CAN SHOW THEM! STICK THEM UP THE DOGS" etc. Funnily, the crowd was really quiet, and as i was wearing our team colours people didn't know what to say. he took AGES to kick the ball, so i kept yelling and yelling (I have a loud voice)

And then beautifully, he completely shanked the kick and it went about 45 degrees off the boat and about 25 metres in length. The Crows fans around us actually gave me a well done. :thumbsu: My Crows mate still laughs about it whenever he sees Perrie take a mark.

MATE. Melbourne Victory fans came to Adelaide (you'd hardly have known, no one really cares about soccer). But after they beat us, they ran through rundle mall lighting flares and screaming at people. My family from America were abused. It was a joke, what sort of loser would do that. "VIICCCTOOORRYYYY"....??? No one cares

I have been to the footy all my life. And I have not ONCE seen anyone abused physically (I've seen Port supporters abuse Crows supporters at our games). So maybe the people who are getting beer thrown at them ect have provoked it in the first place.

Soccer fans are feral, the game is so boring they need to amuse themselves