Your First Tiger Game Attended

• Thread starter Thread starter Equus

Forget all this drafting and speculation talk of who we are going to pick up this coming draft, let's take a trip down memory's lane and remember your first ever Richmond Tigers match that you attended.

Since I only started to follow the Tigers religiously a few years ago, the first match that I've ever attended was Round 3, 2007 Collingwood vs Richmond.

It was loud, deafening at one stage, when the Tigers were up half time by 22 points. Everybody was excited, we haven't won a game so far into this season and yet here we are primed to smash the Pies.

How wrong was I... The Pies lifted their intensity and work rate and before you know it, they leveled us in the scoring and we were going into the fourth quarter with both team on 76 points.

I was nervous. I knew the Tigers have a history of not doing too well and I was afraid that we'll just fade out and lose the game. Well, my worst fear came true and we faded out. We lost by 25 points with Richard Tambling earning 1 Brownlow vote.

So the first game that I've ever attended was a loss. Since then I've attended 9 other losses, 1 draw and 4 wins. Not a very good win rate.

Your turn.

Round 16, 1998. I was 6 years old. I can remember the score quite well

Essendon 14.10.94
Richmond 10.15.75

I didn't stay until the end though. There was a massive crowd and when Essendon started pulling away in the last quarter I started crying, so Dad took me home.

1977 St Kilda vs Richmond at Moorabbin. I was 7.
My dad took me down and I got in for free. My old man thought it was because the guy on the turnstile thought I was playing in the Little League, but in the Footy Record it said kids got in for free if wearing a beanie or guernsey.
I don't recall a lot about it. We won. We stood in the outer and I loved every minute of it. The smell of pipe smoke, the feverish barracking, guys bringing eskies in, the muddy ground.
Mick Malthouse was playing for St Kilda. Dad called him Mick Shithouse. Was a long drive back to Murchison but we always stopped at the hamburger shack in Seymour (the freeway wasn't built) and to this day I still remember how good their burgers were. A plain burger, choc Big M and a White Knight.
Good days.:thumbsu:

1977 St Kilda vs Richmond at Moorabbin. I was 7.
My dad took me down and I got in for free. My old man thought it was because the guy on the turnstile thought I was playing in the Little League, but in the Footy Record it said kids got in for free if wearing a beanie or guernsey.
I don't recall a lot about it. We won. We stood in the outer and I loved every minute of it. The smell of pipe smoke, the feverish barracking, guys bringing eskies in, the muddy ground.
Mick Malthouse was playing for St Kilda. Dad called him Mick Shithouse. Was a long drive back to Murchison but we always stopped at the hamburger shack in Seymour (the freeway wasn't built) and to this day I still remember how good their burgers were. A plain burger, choc Big M and a White Knight.
Good days.:thumbsu:

Round: 11 Venue: Moorabbin Oval Date: 13-Jun-1977 2:10 PM Attendance: 23,979 (23,977 + a senior and a junior tugga)
St Kilda 7.4 8.7 13.7 13.10 88
Richmond 3.0 8.1 11.3 16.5 101

Round: 11 Venue: Moorabbin Oval Date: 13-Jun-1977 2:10 PM Attendance: 23,979 (23,977 + a senior and a junior tugga)
St Kilda 7.4 8.7 13.7 13.10 88
Richmond 3.0 8.1 11.3 16.5 101
Thanks for PJ.
Well there you go. I didn't realise we came from behind at 3 qtr time. All I remember was that we won.
PS: Where did you get those stats from? I doubt any game back started at the modern 2.10pm (made for TV) time. They usually started at 2pm on the dot.

Round 15 2004 vs Essendon.

Exploded out of the blocks in the first with Richo on fire. Slowed down a bit in the second but still hung onto the lead at half time. Absolutely capitulated in the 2nd half and got done by 13 odd goals. I wanted Lloyd dead. Good times:thumbsu:

Richmond 4.2 7.6 8.8 11.11 (77) Essendon 2.1 7.2 14.9 24.11 (155)GOALS: Richmond: M.Richardson 6, K.Moore, J.Bowden, M.Rogers, B.Ottens, T.Fleming
Essendon: M.Lloyd 9, J.Murphy 3, J.Misiti 2, J.Johnson 2, N.Lovett-Murray 2, J.Hird, M.Alvey, M.Johnson, A.McPhee, D.Hille, K.Bradley
BEST:Richmond: J.Bowden, K.Johnson, N.Brown, W.Campbell, K.Pettifer, M.Richardson
Essendon: J.Johnson, A.Ramanauskas, M.Johnson, A.McPhee, J.Misiti, M.McVeigh, B.Haynes, D.Solomon, M.Lloyd
Crowd: 48,286 at Melbourne Cricket Ground on Saturday, 10th July

I'd bet my house on them being wrong. No way it would have started at 2.10pm way back then.

gee i dunno tugga - 1977 first televised grand final - colour telly and all that, reckon it could have been the first year for the tv timed starts

MCG Round 8 1992

Richmond 15.12.102

Fitzroy 24.17.161

Forgot my richmond poster I made. The reason why we lost.
Was it a Friday night game?

Rnd 5 1971 according to PJ's link. Vs Bulldogs at the MCG. Tigers won. Tugga? Is that Hamburger place at seymour on the left as you drive in from Melb? Always a crowd there.

My First Richmond game 1977 at VFL Park Rich vs Esse, Tim Watsons first game as a 15 year old and it was a draw 116 each.

Rnd 5 1971 according to PJ's link. Vs Bulldogs at the MCG. Tigers won. Tugga? Is that Hamburger place at seymour on the left as you drive in from Melb? Always a crowd there.
Jeez I can't remember mate. I think it's still running. I haven';t been to Seymour for 10 years or so.

In the 70's Richmond came down and played Tasmania at the North Hobart oval. I remember Richmond won well. Can anyone help me with what year this might have been.I do remember the game but I was young. I do know the mighty tiges were impressive. any help?

1967 GF.

First time out of Tassie. First time on a plane - an Ansett Electra. Flew back on a TAA Fokker Friendship!

Apart from a great GF (and a win and Royce Hart's mark) the other memory is of an automatic car wash. Think they arrived in Tassie two years ago.

1967 GF.

First time out of Tassie. First time on a plane - an Ansett Electra. Flew back on a TAA Fokker Friendship!

Apart from a great GF (and a win and Royce Hart's mark) the other memory is of an automatic car wash. Think they arrived in Tassie two years ago.

Wow. I am so jealous. Your first game is the drought breaking GF?!

I am very jealous of you!!!

probly not the first i ever went to but the earliest i remember is the game where we had a massive comeback against hawthorn a few years back. I just remember cogs and johnson playing well and richo kicking a few:thumbsu: