Your First Tiger Game Attended

• Thread starter Thread starter Equus

Reminiscing the first game that I attended is always a good reminder of why I follow the Tigers. I'm not sure about everybody else, but I fell in love with the Tigers and I have entered a relationship where I just keep loving her and she just keep dishing out pain and never return any love back. :( It makes me depressed sometime.

Richmond vs Melbourne.
Round 1, 1986.
Tiges lost by 10 points.

Been a member for the last 24 years and will continue to be one regardless.

Used to go to 15+ games a year. Now it's 7-8 due to other commitments.

Haven't seen much success in that time but love the club and FINALLY believe we are heading in the right direction.

Patience is a virtue.

1980 Grand Final...
We moved up to Qld when I was very young and when we made the Granny in 80 we all flew down....
I was 7 years old and and little did I realise it would be the highlight of my support for the RFC

Carn Tiges

Bump

Same theory as block head, I was gonna start this thread but had a look and it already existed.

First game and any stories to go with it?

Richmond v Pies at Vic Park....Taylor killed us. Remember the old man (Norf Supporter) taking me. ....we parked in a side street, took the parking ticket off the car in front, stuck to our window and walked in.

ATM, the club is really giving me the shits but I've been through more crap years than good ones and I'm not about to give up now.
Took my son to his first 3 games this year for 3 wins. ...seeing him getting excited about singing the song at the end is what it's all about.....Go Tigers....

Round 4 1979 - Melbourne .vs. Richmond.

Tigers lost 119 to 109:(.

I was invited by a kid from Primary School if I wanted to go to the game with him and his Dad , I said yes and tagged along. Looked up the scores just before , didn't realise it was 1 of only 2 games on that day and it was Anzac Day:oops:.

The Saturday when Richmond next played , 9 days later (Round 5 )was my birthday and I convinced my mum to take me and a number other kids to see Richmond .vs. Hawthorn , the game where Roachy took that well known speccy.

Bad day apart from that highlight footy wise , Tigers lost 161 - 82 after being down by 5 points at half time.
1st 2 Richmond games = 2 Losses:'(. Should've #ECO'd after that start.

I think it might have been round 8, 1995. I was only 4 so I don't remember it, but my old man says my first game we got belted by Geelong.

Been going every week since I was 6.

Round 4 1979 - Melbourne .vs. Richmond.

Tigers lost 119 to 109:(.

I was invited by a kid from Primary School if I wanted to go to the game with him and his Dad , I said yes and tagged along. Looked up the scores just before , didn't realise it was 1 of only 2 games on that day and it was Anzac Day:oops:.

The Saturday when Richmond next played , 9 days later (Round 5 )was my birthday and I convinced my mum to take me and a number other kids to see Richmond .vs. Hawthorn , the game where Roachy took that well known speccy.

Bad day apart from that highlight footy wise , Tigers lost 161 - 82 after being down by 5 points at half time.
1st 2 Richmond games = 2 Losses:'(. Should've #ECO'd after that start.
Interesting you say your first games were losses and you remember that.

For years I always thought my first game was a loss to Carlton at Princess Park and my second game was a win against Freo at the G.

Anyway I did some research and it was the Princess Park thing that confused me. My first game was actually Richmond v Freo at the Princess Park round 4 1997 and we won, then my second game was Richmond v Carlton at the G round 7 1997 which was a loss. They were my two most special memories regarding being introduced to football. My father took me (who was a Melbourne supporter and the typical divorced dad you see every few weekends) and really opened my eyes to it. At home nobody gave a shit about sport or talked about it so it was a whole new world.

I don't remember my third game other than going with a mate and his brother with their dad. He had a tinny between his thighs while driving and when he finished one and through it in the tray of the ute we would shout 'goal'. I think it was a Hawthorn game.

Versus Melbourne in around '81 I think. My Dad got tickets through work in the "super box" which was pretty much a group of seats in the outer with some metal dividers around it. You got fed nuggets and chips in a cardboard tray. Roach kicked plenty and if I wasn't sure who kicked the goal I marked it against Roach in my footy record. Francis Bourke was playing and the Tigers won easily.

Im 28 now. I remember a game at some point in the late 90s that my dad planned to take me to. Short story, little did we know the hurstbridge train line was not operating going towards the city, so we watched 5 trains go by going away from the MCG while we also listened to the game on the radio. Richo kicked 6 or something and we got smashed as a team. Dad raged.

Sums up my football experience in a nutshell.

1974. The famous windy hill brawl. Little guru was 9 years old .Grew up a few torpedo punts from windy hill . everyone in the street and suburb were essendon about 8 of us would jump in the back of Mr Egans ute. ( Matthew Egans grandfather )..remember standing on steel cans behind the Essendon race. Half time brawl fighting everywhere. So glad i had no richmond jumper or beanie .the smell of smoke and hot dogs. .get the pass out go to milk bar for a pie and coke. Then back and watch us win . remember running on the ground after the game patting kb and sheeds on the back. Fell in love with the yellow and black that day

P
Round 16, 1998. I was 6 years old. I can remember the score quite well

Essendon 14.10.94
Richmond 10.15.75

I didn't stay until the end though. There was a massive crowd and when Essendon started pulling away in the last quarter I started crying, so Dad took me home.
Pretty sure that was
Round 16, 1998. I was 6 years old. I can remember the score quite well

Essendon 14.10.94
Richmond 10.15.75

I didn't stay until the end though. There was a massive crowd and when Essendon started pulling away in the last quarter I started crying, so Dad took me home.
Pretty sure that was sheeds 400th game as a coach. Remember massive crowd over 80.000..

P

Pretty sure that was

Pretty sure that was sheeds 400th game as a coach. Remember massive crowd over 80.000..
The Sheedy 400th game as coach was definitely 1997, I cant tell you the round but it was near the end of the season and sunny.

You are correct i was thinking the day he broke dick Reynolds 416 games as coach

Elimination Final 1975

Beat Collingwood by 4 points I think

Up by 4 or 5 goal at quater time on a very rainy day at Waverley

Bucth Edwards was going to kick a goal down my throat from the goal square but hit the post .

Remember thinking .. wow people sit in the rain all day and watch this game!

It was the first year that I really followed it but didn"t realise how people feared us after going back to back in 73 - 74 .

They still thought we were a chance to win the flag after that game . It seems like a thousand years ago considering no one rates us now.

Whenever it rains I dream about a Tiges premiership!!!!!!!!!!

First Richmond game I attended was in 1975 at the M.C.G against Essendon which we won and I was hooked.
Luckily I missed the first game I was going to attend the week before when we got smashed by Carlton at Princess Park. It was during school a teacher asked if anyone was interested in attending the Carlton-Richmond game as there were two Tigers membership that one can borrow and I said yes. My dad and I arrived a little late and the ground was fully packed and we got turned down at the gates. Phew!

I attended the Richmond vs Carlton game later that year, which we won in a thriller. Remembering it was the greatest game I seen. Wouldn't mind seeing a replay of it again if there is any footage out there...

I actually for some reason followed Footscray as a little kid and so my first ever Richmond game was 1975 Richmond V Footscray at the MCG.
I do have vivid memories however of mum and dad putting my sister and I in the car for reasons unknown and taking us to Richmond V Hawthorn for the last quarter and a half at the G round 2, 1977.
Mum is North Melb and Dad South Melb/Sydney so I've never been able to figure it out. Mum reckons we must have been playing up so it shut us up.
I'll never forget the crowd noise and the finish where jimmy Jess marked very late and scored to give Richmond a one point win over the reigning premiers and that was me hooked. I have bled black and yellow ever since and my sister brown and gold... I wonder who got the better of that deal!
So my first Richmond match as a full on Tiger was I think Round 6 or maybe 8 but I remember very clearly it was a Draw at Waverly against Essendon in what was Tim Watson and Paul Van Der Haars first games for the Bombers.
Luckily I had a great Dad who every second week would take me to Richmond games no matter where they were, we always went to Souths home games at Lakeside Oval.

1980 Grand Final...
We moved up to Qld when I was very young and when we made the Granny in 80 we all flew down....
I was 7 years old and and little did I realise it would be the highlight of my support for the RFC

Carn Tiges
From this to #ECO:D

Forget all this drafting and speculation talk of who we are going to pick up this coming draft, let's take a trip down memory's lane and remember your first ever Richmond Tigers match that you attended.

Since I only started to follow the Tigers religiously a few years ago, the first match that I've ever attended was Round 3, 2007 Collingwood vs Richmond.

It was loud, deafening at one stage, when the Tigers were up half time by 22 points. Everybody was excited, we haven't won a game so far into this season and yet here we are primed to smash the Pies.

How wrong was I... The Pies lifted their intensity and work rate and before you know it, they leveled us in the scoring and we were going into the fourth quarter with both team on 76 points.

I was nervous. I knew the Tigers have a history of not doing too well and I was afraid that we'll just fade out and lose the game. Well, my worst fear came true and we faded out. We lost by 25 points with Richard Tambling earning 1 Brownlow vote.

So the first game that I've ever attended was a loss. Since then I've attended 9 other losses, 1 draw and 4 wins. Not a very good win rate.

Your turn.
heck you Equus what have you done. I'm so old and i have tried hard but i can't remember the first live game i went too involving rfc. I do remember the first game i went to my friend was a south melb supporter and his dad took us to windy hill to watch them play essendon. Stuart gull ronny andrews simon madden were playing so on. Gosh they were monsters compared to today's heroes.

Can't remember my first Richmond game either. Would have been at VFL park most probably as we lived near there. Remember going to Princes Park and it was chockas ...wasnt my first game though.