Cohuna GC​
Huntingdale-Cranbourne GC​
18​
Golden Beach GC​

Last edited by a moderator:
You could be on the verge of greatness

Swap day at Metro. Par comp.
Greatness? Shitness.
Metro in ripper condition. Tees way back, pins tucked. Whoever set that up is a campaigner. Average score was - plenty.
Not a huge fan of the course but maybe need to play it for a month to understand where to not hit it.

Swap day at Metro. Par comp.
Greatness? Shitness.
Metro in ripper condition. Tees way back, pins tucked. Whoever set that up is a campaigner. Average score was - plenty.
Not a huge fan of the course but maybe need to play it for a month to understand where to not hit it.
Back tees and tucked pins on a par comp swap day is next level campaignerism. Way to cut short the enjoyment of the course by ending holes early.

Just logged my 4th consecutive sub-30 stableford round. Very ordinary

My last Saturday Comp at my course before moving to Phillip Island. Disastrous front nine hitting a 51 off the stick. Came back with a 39 on back nine which is my equal best for nine holes. I'm hopeless when cold, explains my 51. Also bung shoulder, took an hour before the anti-inflammatorys kicked in. Anyway, that's my excuses, I'm sticking to them.

Yesterday was a great day for golf weather wise. We had very slow dewy greens for the early hitoff and I couldn't adjust leaving a bunch of straight putts short. Lost my grade on a countback with a square round. Bummer.

hate countbacks. Would prefer it if it was something like most net birdies rather than the back 9 score

Random question/discussion point;

Strong chance I'll be getting made redundant at work soon (very frustrating, shitty situation, but will get a very tidy package).

IF this happens, until I get another gig, I plan to play quite a bit of weekday golf which has never really been a regular option for me.

Problem is all my regular golf buddies are not available most weekdays.

So... playing solo. I'm sure it'll be fine (and I'm personally comfortable with it). But anything I should know going into it in terms of etiquette or unwritten rules of golf, as someone still new to the game?

I assume that for a lot of sessions I may get paired up with someone else, especially if it's a comp day. I'm fine with that. But since this is new to me, I guess I just wanted to check and see if there is anything I should know.

Strong chance I'll be getting made redundant at work soon (very frustrating, shitty situation, but will get a very tidy package).

IF this happens, until I get another gig, I plan to play quite a bit of weekday golf which has never really been a regular option for me.

So... playing solo. I'm sure it'll be fine (and I'm personally comfortable with it). But anything I should know going into it in terms of etiquette or unwritten rules of golf, as someone still new to the game?

I assume that for a lot of sessions I may get paired up with someone else, especially if it's a comp day. I'm fine with that. But since this is new to me, I guess I just wanted to check and see if there is anything I should know.
Chaddo - that’s a bad situation, hope it works out for you - in the meantime(based entirely on your enthusiastic posting), I reckon that if you can find an acceptably priced option, join a club. Any club. They’d love you.

Or maybe just speak to a few pros at courses you play at - maybe get a lesson - and they will surely have a few groups they know who would love to welcome someone looking for golf.

Chaddo - that’s a bad situation, hope it works out for you - in the meantime(based entirely on your enthusiastic posting), I reckon that if you can find an acceptably priced option, join a club. Any club. They’d love you.

Or maybe just speak to a few pros at courses you play at - maybe get a lesson - and they will surely have a few groups they know who would love to welcome someone looking for golf.

Cheers mate.

I already have lessons at Mt Derrimut and yeah I'll reckon I'll become a 5-day member there should I get made redundant and get the golden handshake.

Congratulations on the redundancy. I've been made redundant twice, it's s great pay day.
A few general etiquette rules.
Don't move or talk when someone else is hitting/putting. Just stop.
Rake the bunkers like you're the next to hit from there. Footprints, everything.
Fill divots with sand, repair pitch marks. Even other people's.
Ask if people want flag in/out when putting.
If you're scoring someone else in a comp, watch their ball like it's yours, you're a 2nd pair of eyes for their ball.
Don't walk on others line on the green, walk around/behind them.
Don't give unsolicited advice ever.

Heaps more I'm sure.

Congratulations on the redundancy. I've been made redundant twice, it's s great pay day.
A few general etiquette rules.
Don't move or talk when someone else is hitting/putting. Just stop.
Rake the bunkers like you're the next to hit from there. Footprints, everything.
Fill divots with sand, repair pitch marks. Even other people's.
Ask if people want flag in/out when putting.
If you're scoring someone else in a comp, watch their ball like it's yours, you're a 2nd pair of eyes for their ball.
Don't walk on others line on the green, walk around/behind them.
Don't give unsolicited advice ever.

Heaps more I'm sure.

Haha appreciate it - all the regular golf etiquette stuff I feel pretty confident on.
I meant is there anything specific to playing solo.

The point about watching someone else's ball in the comp is a good one though!

Haha appreciate it - all the regular golf etiquette stuff I feel pretty confident on.
I meant is there anything specific to playing solo.

The point about watching someone else's ball in the comp is a good one though!
Be very aware of what's going on in the groups (plural) in front of you. You might be catchup to a pair in front, but they may have 4 infront if them. It may mean you hit a couple of balls, practice putting on the green etc to give them time. Or you can ask to join them. There's no point playing through if you're going to run up a bigger groups arse. Same deal if someone is catching you and there's nowhere for them to go.
Playing two balls is ok, playing 4 is not. If someone behind is playing one ball and catching you, stop playing two and move ahead or let them through.
You aren't the only person who wants to finish before dark.

Cheers mate.

I already have lessons at Mt Derrimut and yeah I'll reckon I'll become a 5-day member there should I get made redundant and get the golden handshake.
The pro will take care of you and set you up with some players who will welcome you aboard.

Only thing I reckon all golfers need to do is make sure their game doesn’t bring down others, ie. play fast, pick up once you can’t score and don’t be a downer. Everyone has played a worse shot than the one you just played. But if you act angry or surprised about it, you’re being a dickhead.

Played very poor today...but...

Had 2 chip ins today. A third lipped out to 1cm. And 4 or 5 other up and downs.

Been using 60 on everything high and everything else been using P wedge played a technique that one of my kids showed me. He described it as a T-Rex shot. Been working on it a bit and I am getting really good feel and unbelievable direction...almost better than putter TBH.

28 putts as a result! last round was 42 lol.

Played very poor today...but...

Had 2 chip ins today. A third lipped out to 1cm. And 4 or 5 other up and downs.

Been using 60 on everything high and everything else been using P wedge played a technique that one of my kids showed me. He described it as a T-Rex shot. Been working on it a bit and I am getting really good feel and unbelievable direction...almost better than putter TBH.

28 putts as a result! last round was 42 lol.

There’s two words for chipping in twice, let alone once.
These words start with T & C 😂

Everyone gets angry occasionally or you’re not normal.
Of course - but I wrote “act angry”. Was talking about the type of player who carries on to the point of affecting others in the group.

Paddy Harrington has a great line(it’s really a put down) where he asks amateurs whether they think are a good enough player that getting angry with themselves will improve their play.