Your medical staff?

Man U, Canucks and 49ers
Must say, I was sad to see Cuz go down with a hammy. I'm a fan of the bloke and wanted him to have a good season and in particular, flog Judd.

I also appreciate, having watched Dew in and out of our team last year, how difficult it is for players to return to AFL footy after some time out, without continually breaking down.

So I ask, why would your medicos let him go back on in the fourth quarter when the game was shot and CuZ was complaining of hamstring tightness or soreness?

:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Perhaps the thinking was the game was shot and the fans needed to see that there was hope to come with Cousins lest there be a fan-led bloodbath at Punt Rd tomorrow. (let's hope it wasn't the case)

It was a poor decision with hindsight, but you know the saying... 20-20 etc. I'm sure in the coming days if not week there'll be plenty of questions asked and reasons given.

mate we're all asking the same question.

and element it wasnt just in hindsight, blind freddy would tell you, dont play him anymore if his hammy is tightening ffs

Sorry to hear about Cousins...

I am not his biggest fan, but to go down like that is a shocker for Richmond.

Hopefully it isnt as bad as his last hamstring injury and he will recover quickly.

From the interview with TW, Ben was complaining about soreness behind the knee. The docs checked him out and said he was fine to go back on the ground.

Apperantly it's just a normal hammy tear and should only be around 4-5 weeks. Hope the poor bloke gets back soon, My heart really felt for him when he went off the ground.

From the interview with TW, Ben was complaining about soreness behind the knee. The docs checked him out and said he was fine to go back on the ground.

But if you're so far down with a bloke coming back from ages out and having a history of recent hamstring problems, why even risk it?

It's just crazy.

Apperantly it's just a normal hammy tear and should only be around 4-5 weeks.
I don't think the issue here is whether or not he was actually right to go back on, the problem is he WAS sent back on.

Think about it, you have a guy 30+ years old, history of hamstring problems, has already played a decent amount of game time coming back from 1 and a half years out of footy complaining of soreness in his leg, not to mention the team is DOWN BY 10 GOALS! When there is nothing to gain out of sending a 30+ year old onto the ground after complaining of soreness, you don't ****ing do it! Why he was sent back on anyway regardless of complaining of soreness is ****ing astounding in itself, I was astounded when I saw Richo go back on the ground at the 15 minute mark of the last quarter, just rest the bloke, FFS!

We did the same thing with Nathan Brown in 2007 IIRC, he complained of soreness(Pretty sure it was hammy soreness too), was sent back on, then 'ping' hammy goes, end of season.

Whoever is the medico down there needs his arse ****en handed to him!

I don't think the issue here is whether or not he was actually right to go back on, the problem is he WAS sent back on.

Think about it, you have a guy 30+ years old, history of hamstring problems, has already played a decent amount of game time coming back from 1 and a half years out of footy complaining of soreness in his leg, not to mention the team is DOWN BY 10 GOALS! When there is nothing to gain out of sending a 30+ year old onto the ground after complaining of soreness, you don't ****ing do it! Why he was sent back on anyway regardless of complaining of soreness is ****ing astounding in itself, I was astounded when I saw Richo go back on the ground at the 15 minute mark of the last quarter, just rest the bloke, FFS!

We did the same thing with Nathan Brown in 2007 IIRC, he complained of soreness(Pretty sure it was hammy soreness too), was sent back on, then 'ping' hammy goes, end of season.

Whoever is the medico down there needs his arse ****en handed to him!

could not have said it better, i honestly think that most footy fans are baffled and thinkning the same thing right now mate... honestly if the dockers did that to pavlich i would be demanding explanasions

Must say, I was sad to see Cuz go down with a hammy. I'm a fan of the bloke and wanted him to have a good season and in particular, flog Judd.

I also appreciate, having watched Dew in and out of our team last year, how difficult it is for players to return to AFL footy after some time out, without continually breaking down.

So I ask, why would your medicos let him go back on in the fourth quarter when the game was shot and CuZ was complaining of hamstring tightness or soreness?

:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

There was no excuse for it. We've driven several players into the ground over the years playing them injured due to lack of depth, but tonight was disgraceful, there was nothing at all to be gained.

I was downright ashamed that anyone associated with the club could be that stupid, and that Wallace didn't have the common sense to take no risks considering the circumstances.

Don't see why everyone is so upset, can't say it wasn't expected. Ben Cousins is not our savior.
It's not about anything other than stupidity, if it was any other player we would be just as pissed, it was a dumb move and certainly one that shouldn't have been taken on a high injury risk player like Cousins in the first place, it really doesn't have a lot to do with Cousins, more the fact that the medico's/coach willingly let a player on the ground with nothing to gain after complaining of 'soreness', just wrong, it could really be considered gross negligence.

The whole squad including Terrence should be lined up facing a wall at Punt Road. Then the medico should be paraded past them blindfolded pushed roughly up against the wall and summarily shot! Then someone should scream out: "This is what happens when you make stupid mistakes"!. I was there and couldn't believe it when Cuz came back onto the field after his knee problem. Every RFC supporter around me was saying the same thing, then 'Ping'!!!:mad:

If Cousins was indeed complaining of tightness, then the medicos need to be fired asap.

However if he wasn't complaining, I think it was a good idea to leave him out there, he needs some more AFL game time.

**** could last night have been any worse?