Your thoughts?

Essendon Bombers
Just wanted to raise some thoughts I have for next year and see how the rest of you feel

Mark Johnson! Can he have a similar year? He seems to be at his peak. I think he'd be best playing on the wing as his good at getting down back and also runing forward and kicking goals? Where you think would be the best place to play him?

Ricky Dyson, if our full team is fit, is he a certain starter? I think his gonna be a gun and needs to play every game that his available. His exactly what we need in our midfield, but obviously a little more size wouldnt hurt

Jobe Watson, if his fit, is he a certain starter? Id like to see him played across half back, or even half forward when we play a tall defence, but he still has a lot to prove to me as a player

James Hird, arent u so happy he plays for us. Do you think he will be a permanent forward pocket or will he be used the same way he has throughout his career, that being anywhere we need him. He would take one of the oppositions top three defenders and would keep them honest.

Angus Monfires, this kid, his got so much heart. Is he a certain starter? He still needs size and polish, but the mindset is certainly there. His like a Sydney player.

Dean Solomon, can he stay healthy? Id play him in a back pocket or across half back and keep him there but not on the #1 forward. Is the best of him still to come?

Jason Winderlich, his quick. Is he a certain starter? He has talent. Obviously also needs size. He would only benefit from playing every game, but so do so many others on the team.

Adam Ramanauskas, what does the future hold. In 2000, he was such a gun. Was a midfielder in recent times but has struggled with the exclusion of our final against Geelong last year. Will he come back better than ever?

Mark McVeigh, I feel is very underrated. He impressed me a lot this year. Sure he gave away a few silly free kicks, he was always competitive, and had good moments during the link up of play, the few speccies he took along with that goal he kicked shrugging off two tacklers was a great indication of the kind of player he could be. Is he a certain starter? Where would you play him?

Damian Peverill, I know a lot of you rate him, his a decent tagger but I dont think his damaging enough to play ahead of Dyson, Winderlich, Monfries, Slattery, Peverill, McVeigh or Thomas

Andrew Welsh, his got a lot of potential. I think Sheeds has him in the right spot in the back pocket but can he play elsewhere? Does he have the tank to play in the midfield or the ability to take contested marks and kick goals?

Damian Cupido, will he be with us? I want him to stay, get his head right and be a superstar for us. Is it possible? I don't know. But I dont wanna see him let go and some other club grab him and he stars.

Jason Johnson, solid player. Can he stay healthy? Can someone refresh my memory as to where he played in 2000. I could have sworn he played in the backline and was real good. But I guess if his winning Best & Fairests in the midfield we dont really need to move him. Should we play him in spurts, kinda like Ricciuto or should we just let him go and see what he does?

Mark Alvey, will we see him again? If so does he have anyting to offer the team?

Kepler Bradley, everything about him says his gonna become a gun. He wants to be 4kgs heavier so he can be the same as Dustin Fletcher. Not a bad prototype. What position should this guy play. He'd be great as a relief ruckman but does he have the abilty to play on a KP forward. He got carved up by several this year. Can he be a key forward? Will he stay with us once his contracts up?

Paul Thomas, I think can be a very good player for us. His got the ability to play well in a back pocket or in the midfield? Can he become a certain starter?

Matthew Lloyd, will he return to his best? Will he remain healthy? He should get a lot more inside 50's wite our quicker midfield. If he, Lucas, Laycock and Hird are all down there, with Lovett and Rioli at their feet, we will trouble any defence.

David Hille, the time is now. His got the size, his got the ability but does he have the determination to become a champion ruckman. Can he go forward and kick goals. Can he get down and help the defence? Can he become a good tap ruckman? Can he remain healthy?

Ted Richards, hopefully we keep him. His got the potential to be a good 3 rd tall but needs the game time. Will he play ahead of Lovett-Murray, Welsh, McPhee, Solly or even Hunt. Can he play anywhere else? Can he take over Boltons role as a tagger on the big midfielder, like Kouta or Goodes?

Courtney Johns, his big, should we expect anything? Will he get a game? Can he kick 30 goals for us? Can he play elsewhere besides the forward line? CHB?

Tristian Cartledge, looks like his got talent. Definitely has a hell of a leap. Can we play three ruckman like west coast with Hille and Laycock. Can he play elsewhere? CHB? CHF?

Mark Bolton, I dont wanna see him take up a spot but his got one more year and you know Sheedys gonna give him that chance. Hell he brought the Fish out of retirement, his gonna give Bolton a chance. Does he have anything to offer us?

Brent Stanton, what can we expect? He can run. He can get the ball. A bit more size and improvement on the disposal could see him become one of the best midfielders in the league.

Scott Lucas, he needs to play CHF but I prefer him so much more at CHB. If Laycock, Cartledge or Johns can become a presenting CHF, Lucas could play down back in his preferred position which won him a best and fairest.

Jason Laycock, also has a leap, and impressed on Anzac day. Can he be the player he was on that day? He needs size, but is he a certain starter?

Justin Murphy, how glad are you that his gone?

Sam Hunt, i heard all the hype and then saw him give away that goal against west coast and thought that was it. But then in that game against Carlton, I think Robert Walls, the king of stating the obvious, mentioned that Hunt reminded him a lot of Solomon. He played very well and I think has the potential to be a good player for us. His got the ability, just needs the game time. I think he'd start in a lot of other teams, why not ours? His not gonna prove anything until his given sufficient game time. Hennemans played over 50 games.

Fletch, champion, my favourite player of all time. Legend!

Adam McPhee, can he stay injury free? Should we play him elsewhere besides half back. He can certainly read the play. Can he be All Australian again? He could become a superstar of the competition. We just need him fit.

Henry Slattery, he looks good. Can he be a certain starter? What can we expect from him?

Ty Zantuck, I really dont wanna see him play again. Some stuff he has impressed me with, but that bump into Lynch or Cox, along with offield problems and the fact that Id prefer so many others before him kind of seals his fate. But you may feel different?

Andrew Lovett, what can we expect from him? How many goals can he kick? Will he play much in the midfield?

Nathan Lovett-Murray, is lookin great across half back. Just needs to improve his contested marking. Can he go into the midfield or forward and kick goals? What kind of year can we expect from him? His got agression, has kicked goals and has created run from half back. I think he could be All-Australian

Dean Rioli, can he lose the damn weight and play every game. His such a champion. He can kick goals, can get clearances, can take marks across half back. Could he have his greatest year ever?

Adrian Wilson, is he gone? He seemed to be pretty good. Worthy of a chance at least. Can we hold onto him in place of another? Could he add to the team?

Andrew Lee, Jay Nash, Jay Neagle, the draft picks, can we expect anything from here?

Kevin Sheedy? Is he on the brink of another run or has he lost it? Seemed he was outcoached several times throughout the year. But he did a good job of getting the youngsters ready. I really think he can get us a premiership next year or the year after. But it all depends on injuries and how the youngsters stand up. I think our list is as good as any in the competition they just haven't proven it yet. Everyone becomes such a better player in a winning team and our players have the talent to do very well. Look at Adelaide who were minor premiers from 14th spot. What do you think? If we have a good run with injuries and the youngsters improve a lot from last year, can we win a premiership? How far can we get?

Whats your ideal team?

Heres mine, assuming everyone is fit

B Welsh Fletcher Solomon

HB McPhee Lucas Lovett Murray

C MJ J Johnson McVeigh

HF Lovett Laycock Rioli

F Hird Lloyd Bradley

R Hille Dyson Stanton

INT

Cupido/Watson, Hunt/Richards, Rama/Peverill, Monfries/Winderlich/Slattery

EMERG

Cartledge, Thomas, Johns, Wilson,

I think we have a lot to look forward to....... and yes.... I was bored

yeh that team looks really good it will be important though that the team stays settled and we don't have lots of injuries if we can get our ruckman right and try to develop our youngsters we should have a ripper season.

my team would be

B Welsh Fletcher Solomon

HB McPhee Richards Lovett Murray

C MJ J Johnson McVeigh

HF Lovett Lucas Rioli

F Hird Lloyd Cupido

R Hille Dyson Stanton

INT

Laycock, Bradley, Monfries , Ramanauskas

A - EMERG

Winderlich, Zantuck, Watson

Z - EMERG

Henneman, Reynolds, Bolton (can bet they will all be there next year, espeically Reynolds))

Only a few changes, but still a good team hopefully. If we can nab maybe a 4-star midfielder int rade period, or PSD, or pick up a young gun at pick 7, then otherwise i doubt it would be a whole heap different to my team above.

To answer some of your questions:

I see Dyson playing most games, Monfires about 14, and Watson anywhere between 2 and 22, depending on injuries and when they occur. I think Slattery will get a decent amount of games, and looks good.

Solomon should stay healthy, we usually get every 2nd season out of him. As to Rama, who knows? The same with Riolli. If you got a full season out of him, you'd play off in the grand final. Odds are you'll never get more than 12, but boy will he have impact in some of them.

Winderlich, Thomas, Hunt, Henneman, Zantuck and Alvey are not up to it.

Why do people knock Pevs. I think he is a decent midfielder, having to play as our 2nd/3rd midfielder. With more depth to play around, he should get better.

McVeigh is not up to the midfield. I thought he was at the end of last season, but in what was make or break he failed in virtually every game he got played in the middle. Plays his best footy in the back pocket, where he is very good. But can we play McVeigh, Welsh and LM all in the same backline.

In my view Lucas should play CHB. He is just so damaging there, and with Neagle, Johns, Laycock, Hille, Richards and Bradley we have a lot of forward options.

Ants said:
McVeigh is not up to the midfield. I thought he was at the end of last season, but in what was make or break he failed in virtually every game he got played in the middle. Plays his best footy in the back pocket, where he is very good. But can we play McVeigh, Welsh and LM all in the same backline.

I disagree.
I reckon he plays his best footy forward.
He's an attacking player, with great goal sense and can make an impact in the midfield in small doses. Rotate him with Mark Johnson between half forward and the midfield.

Ants said:
In my view Lucas should play CHB.

Disagree again. 50 goal forwards are very hard to find. Don't rob Peter to pay Paul. We've only had 4 under Sheedy (Lloyd, Lucas, Salmon, Daniher).

Try Johns at CHB, give Bradley more exposure there. But leave Lucas where he can win us games of footy.

I don't think there is any evidence McVeigh is any good in the midfield. Otherwise why isn't he a permanent fixture there? Given he has speed and we've lacked that for ages, and he's been on the list 6 years, its not like he hasn't had opportunity. He hasn't taken it, because he just ain't a midfielder.
And given our issues with pace in the forward line and no small goal kicker, the same can be said there.

As to Lucas, yes, I think he is a top forward. But I think he plays most consistently at CHB, or FF. And Lloyd has FF. At CHB, he fills a glaring hole, gives us huge drive, and if you recall won a Crichton medal playing there.

Also, I don't rate Bradley, Laycock, Hille or Johns as backs. But they can play forward. (Actually I think Bradley will be best on a HFF/Wing). So since we have the players to play forward, but not back, why not go that way?

I think Lucas is slightly better in defence, and the other tall options are a lot worse there. So I'd play Lucas CHB.

Ants said:
I don't think there is any evidence McVeigh is any good in the midfield. Otherwise why isn't he a permanent fixture there? Given he has speed and we've lacked that for ages, and he's been on the list 6 years, its not like he hasn't had opportunity.

Second half of 2004.

Ants said:
And given our issues with pace in the forward line and no small goal kicker, the same can be said there.

v. Sydney at Stadium Australia 2005. His only game forward this season.

Ants said:
I think Lucas is slightly better in defence, and the other tall options are a lot worse there. So I'd play Lucas CHB.

Scott Lucas is a match winner, leave him where he plays his best. Find a CHB, don't rob our forward line to find one.

Ants said:
Also, I don't rate Bradley, Laycock, Hille or Johns as backs. But they can play forward. (Actually I think Bradley will be best on a HFF/Wing). So since we have the players to play forward, but not back, why not go that way?

None of those guys can play CHF like lucas can. Not only can he win games off his own boot but his ability to push hard up the ground to provide a target for our backs and provide space for Lloyd to lead into is as good as any CHF going around. Any athletic mug can play CHB, but put him at CHF and he becomes lost. Longy is spot on the mark when he says leave Lucas where he is.

Longy413 said:
Second half of 2004.

v. Sydney at Stadium Australia 2005. His only game forward this season.

Scott Lucas is a match winner, leave him where he plays his best. Find a CHB, don't rob our forward line to find one.
Couldn't agree more. We won some games this year because unlike most teams, we don't rely on the one forward, we have two highly gifted ones. So this year, when one was clearly down on confidence, and form, Scotty took the role as our main forward. I'm sure Lloydy would do the same thing given the situation was reversed. We can find a CHB, but why fix or change something that is working fine at the moment. I think Kepler Bradley was doing a fine job at CHB, for someone in their second year in the AFL. We are especially lucky, that given any circumstance, we could throw KB anywhere. That is a bonus, but not at all something, unless this circumstance arises, we should change.

Bradley i think is a natural backman, lucas is more handy forward and mcveigh i wouldnt mind playing on the wing so he has a bit of a go back and forward, my team would be..

FB: Welsh Fletcher Solomon
HB: Mcphee Bradley Lovett-Murray
C: Mcveigh J.Johnson Lovett
HF: Hird Lucas Rioli
FF: Dyson Lloyd M.Johnson
R: Hille Peverill Stanton
INT: Monfries Ramanaskaus Laycock (???)

I would still like to see lovett and dyson and MJ and those types get into the midfield but this is roughly how i see the starting line up, exluding and draftpicks and trade pickups/losses

I agree with all your thoughts as to why Lucas should stay at CHF, but if Laycock, Bradley, Johns, Cartledge or even Neagle can emerge as a decent CHF we could play him there. Richards isnt big enough to play there, same with Hunt and I dont think Johns, Bradley, Cartledge or Laycock could keep up with the top CHF's of the competion, but who knows.