Zantuck went to Essendon

Johnson and Zantuck - two pshycos in the backline. How many free kicks will they give away/how many times reported/how many times in a punch up at a nightclub?. Sheeds has lost the plot.

marcuz said:
A very sad day for the essendon football club...to say that im ********ing angry right now is an understatement.

I really feel sorry for you marcuz. Zantuck is a tosspot and a bad influence on the team. It's a shame cause he does have some ability. Sadly, he's a classic chip off the old block just like his old man. Sheedy was dead keen on him for reasons I can't understand so maybe he can turn him around somewhat.

Zannex wont even try and pull that schit under Sheedy.

Personally i'll be interested to see how or if he matures in a PROFESSIONAL environment,if not I'll agree with all the baggers.

Zantuck will make us pay.. no doubt about it..

Just like Barry Young did and Ben Haynes...

Essendon have a feeding frenzy off of us..

I reckon he would knock stafford out if it came down to it.

Have to thank the spud dud again. He really messed up our list.

tigertime said:

:confused: :confused:

tigertime said:

Surely you jest. Ben Haynes has made us pay??? In what way? And I hardly think Barry Young was a great loss.

Maybe you should have watched Barry Young play.

He was a good contributor to Essendon. Played 76 games.

Ben Haynes is a very talented footballer. He played 9 games last year after overcoming an injury. He won the bombers a couple of games.

When you consider that we are wooden spooners, it makes a mockery of our football department when we give away players who play finals at other clubs. Remember Wilson played in those premierships for WC Eagles. Need I mention Maxfield, Lambert etc. The list is long....

Quote from Sheeds today.

"We have been pretty fortunate with some of the players we have got from Richmond over the last 20 years - Barry Young was good for us and Bryan Wood was terrific and Ben Haynes has been quite good for us recently so we are happy to give him (Zantuck) another opportunity."

itsintheblood said:
Surely you jest. Ben Haynes has made us pay??? In what way? And I hardly think Barry Young was a great loss.

tigertime said:

Ben Haynes is a very talented footballer. He played 9 games last year after overcoming an injury. He won the bombers a couple of games.

When you consider that we are wooden spooners, it makes a mockery of our football department when we give away players who play finals at other clubs. Remember Wilson played in those premierships for WC Eagles. Need I mention Maxfield, Lambert etc. The list is long....

Quote from Sheeds today.

"We have been pretty fortunate with some of the players we have got from Richmond over the last 20 years - Barry Young was good for us and Bryan Wood was terrific and Ben Haynes has been quite good for us recently so we are happy to give him (Zantuck) another opportunity."

I still don't rate any of them except for Brian Wood.

No great losses.

tigertime said:

Quote from Sheeds today.

we have lacked the ability to really develop players ourselves (hopefully that will now change) and in zantucks case the horse had bolted before plough got to the scene. he might turn into something good at essendon, but there was nothing we could do about it now. blame spud i say.

As I said a couple of months back, there are quite a few similarities between Zantuck and Barry Young. Both were undisciplined, lacked team focus and were unpopular with team-mates while at Richmond, but showed some signs of talent. Young went on to play some good footy with Essendon, before moving on to Hawthorn where he reverted to his old form. Wouldn't surprise if Zantuck becomes a three club player by the end of his career, but I imagine Hawthorn has already crossed his name off any future trades based on the Young experience.

I don't understand all this bagging of zantuck. I've seen a few richmond games this year, and he played pretty well forward and back, and considering his age, could still offer alot at AFL level? I wouldn't mind him if he gets his head into gear... think you guys who are bagging him now, would have surely seen that he has ability at some stage.

tigertime said:

Quote from Sheeds today.

LMAO @ Ben Haynes winning games off his own boot ......... fair dinkum

And as for giving away Wilson , Maxfield and Lambert , that is just not true .

Wilson was uncontracted and wanted to return to Perth to play for the fledgling Eagles side , someone may be able to confirm this but i think he had free passage to go there due to concessions handed to the eagles in thier early years .

Maxfield was targeted by the Swans during the summer of 95` when they were given the right to claim 2 uncontracted players due to thier shyteness during this period . The Swans offered a figure almost double what punt rd. were able to offer so off he went .

As for Lambert , well i think he was pretty disenchanted and was made a big offer to go to Bris who were able , once again , to pick him up with concessions they were given .

None of these players were " given " away by our footy dept. TT

Barry Young made a pretty handy 15 - 25 ranked player in a top side but when he was expected to be around the 6 - 10 type player in lower sides he struggled with the responsibility due to his limited talent and mental toughness. How do you think a Tivendale would go running around at Brisbane or Port Adelaide ? With the ball that would be fed out to him he would probably win a Brownlow .

As for Sheedy`s quote ....... well ......... he has us there dosen`t he , with the likes of " Wally " Eustice , Underwood , Michael Thompson and the scintilating couple of years Blumfield , he has certainly got the better of us

I am always very sceptical of Sheedys' "I love Richmond - I played 250 games there and am a life member " spiel.

I have sensed contempt for Richmond too may times. Didnt like being cut durring the season, Denied the chance to play District Cricket, Other players being put before him as coach.

Read his book and you pick up that he has quite a few beefs with the club.

IDGAF said:
Wilson was uncontracted and wanted to return to Perth to play for the fledgling Eagles side , someone may be able to confirm this but i think he had free passage to go there due to concessions handed to the eagles in thier early years .

We got pick 18 and pick 32 for him. So a first and second round pick.

IDGAF said:
Maxfield was targeted by the Swans during the summer of 95` when they were given the right to claim 2 uncontracted players due to thier shyteness during this period . The Swans offered a figure almost double what punt rd. were able to offer so off he went .

As compensation for losing him we got the PSD pick we used for Darren Gaspar. We basically gave the contract Maxfield wanted to Gaspar. Effectively a trade, and we came out ahead.

IDGAF said:
As for Lambert , well i think he was pretty disenchanted and was made a big offer to go to Bris who were able , once again , to pick him up with concessions they were given .

Richmond had no cash and told players they had to tightern the belt. We then went out and made a big play for Lockett. Hogg and Lambert got upset that there was money for Lockett and not for them. Lambert declared he wanted to go to Carlton, we decided to play tough and said that if he wanted to leave we would force him to go to Brisbane.

IDGAF said:
Barry Young made a pretty handy 15 - 25 ranked player in a top side ...

And he got found out when he went to the Hawks. He only played in 2 finals for Essendon. Only played 76 of a possable 130. Close to half. Definition of a fringe player in my book.

As for Sheedy`s quote ....... well ......... he has us there dosen`t he , with the likes of " Wally " Eustice , Underwood , Michael Thompson and the scintilating couple of years Blumfield , he has certainly got the better of us

Yeah but he took Paul Morrish and Brendan Bower too.

Zantuck went to Essendon