CaptainDangerfield

Veteran 10k Posts
Glenelg
I read with interest this morning that Zantuck wants out of Richmond. I just hope the Crows have a crack at him. He is very aggressive and still only 22. He would be a handy addition to our second tier list. Imagine, a Crows side that included Roo, Waters, Thompson, Jecricho ( Ha, ha ) and Zantuck - ahhhhh if only.

SpringChoke said:
I read with interest this morning that Zantuck wants out of Richmond. I just hope the Crows have a crack at him. He is very aggressive and still only 22. He would be a handy addition to our second tier list. Imagine, a Crows side that included Roo, Waters, Thompson, Jecricho ( Ha, ha ) and Zantuck - ahhhhh if only.

I don't really rate Zantuck that highly. Having said that, he is only 22 and sometimes a change of club and/or state can sometimes work wonders. I can honestly say that I thought Peter Caven was a crap player before he came to us! :D

I actually thought Zantack was an OK defender until this year when Frawley tried to turn him into a forward. Given our defence is not our primary concern, I would only look at swapping him for one our HBF types. eg. Massie.

Also Ottens has been asked to take a pay cut !

This will renew speculation that he's headed home. Why would you want to
a) live in Victoria :eek:
b) play for Richmond :eek:
c) do it for less money. :mad:

could something not too pricey be done ?

I would have thought we have higher trade priorites than Zantuck. Would not want to commit draft picks or players that could be used for trades for other higher priorities like Thompson or Rivers ect.

Ty Zantuck
Born: 15/2/1982
Height: 188cm
Weight: 93kg
Honours: National AFL Rising Star nominee 2002.
Draft: 1999, 6th round selection (no.78 overall).

He got aggressiveness, which is something we lack, but I have doubts surrounding his pace and disposal under pressure, as well as his temperament.

And he's a defender too. I think we'll all agree we've got enough of those. :rolleyes:

Unless we can snare him at the cost of a mediocre draft pick or fringe-player, I don't think it would be worth the effort.

Stiffy_18 said:
We got more HBF than we can poke a finger at. We need midfielders and ruckman. He is not required. We have bigger holes to fill.

I disagree. But if we can swap one of our many 2nd tiers for him than why not. God knows one of the biggest holes we have in the side is the lack of players with aggression. I'll betcha Port will have a look at him.

McLeod23 said:
Zantuck <--> Bock.

Burton and Biglands for Ottens, otherwise no thanks.

Spot on McLeod23, I would only go for Zantuck if you could swap 2nd tier for 2nd tier. I hope The Crows don't even consider Ottens as he hasn't displayed any interest in playing for us in the past. We don't want players who are only at the club chasing the big dollars.

RooDog said:
bock>zantuck in my opinion!
IMO, Zantuck > Bock. Zantuck when in defence played some consistent football. Bock has yet to prove he can even make it at AFL level. Worth swapping for another fringe backman as would bring some hardness to the side.

Kane McGoodwin said:
IMO, Zantuck > Bock. Zantuck when in defence played some consistent football. Bock has yet to prove he can even make it at AFL level. Worth swapping for another fringe backman as would bring some hardness to the side.
possibly, but bock is taller and i know bock played in defence as that is where he prefers but i could see him making a reasonable 2-3 tall option in our forward lines, i think the game that really showed this was against the Dogs, i think it may have been Garys last game and he lead hard from a pocket or hff and took some nice marks around and outside the 50 to set up play for us and i liked that game. i think Zantuck is a good defender but at 188cm his height is questionable, not tall enough for KPP and maybe a little slow for a small forward so it leaves him in a bit of a bind on where to play him. Yes his attack is hard on the footy but he also does stupid things, like when he tried to kill shotgun ******(mind you who wouldnt). i would rather keep Bock but thats just my opinion;)

RooDog said:
possibly, but bock is taller and i know bock played in defence as that is where he prefers but i could see him making a reasonable 2-3 tall option in our forward lines, i think the game that really showed this was against the Dogs, i think it may have been Garys last game and he lead hard from a pocket or hff and took some nice marks around and outside the 50 to set up play for us and i liked that game. i think Zantuck is a good defender but at 188cm his height is questionable, not tall enough for KPP and maybe a little slow for a small forward so it leaves him in a bit of a bind on where to play him. Yes his attack is hard on the footy but he also does stupid things, like when he tried to kill shotgun ******(mind you who wouldnt). i would rather keep Bock but thats just my opinion;)
It says something about lack of strength of Bock, that Zantuck has done a better job as a key backman than Bock (played on the likes of Lloyd, Richo). However, I see him more as a flanker, but then I see Bock the same way.

SpringChoke said:
I disagree. But if we can swap one of our many 2nd tiers for him than why not. God knows one of the biggest holes we have in the side is the lack of players with aggression. I'll betcha Port will have a look at him.
Fair enough but who would he replace in our back 6?????? Bassett???? No!!!!!! Rutten????? No!!!!!! McGregor?????? No!!!!!! Hart?????? No!!!!!! Torney?????? No!!!!! Begley????? No!!!!!!

I just can't see him cementing a place in our best 6. He might fight it out with Begley but Begley will beat him for a spot because he would be a better fit in the back 6 because he can play on smalls and talls. Can't see Zantuck standing someone like Stephen Milne or Jeff Farmer and doing a good job.

I think Zantuck's an alright player, actually. Worth having a look at- as someone mentioned he can play on someone like a Lloyd, so why not have a go at him? I watched one of the Richond games a couple of weeks ago when Frawley moved him forward and he kicked a couple of goals, so I guess he could go forward at some stages if required. And he is a tough player too, something which we NEED here!

Stiffy_18 said:
Fair enough but who would he replace in our back 6?????? Bassett???? No!!!!!! Rutten????? No!!!!!! McGregor?????? No!!!!!! Hart?????? No!!!!!! Torney?????? No!!!!! Begley????? No!!!!!!

I just can't see him cementing a place in our best 6. He might fight it out with Begley but Begley will beat him for a spot because he would be a better fit in the back 6 because he can play on smalls and talls. Can't see Zantuck standing someone like Stephen Milne or Jeff Farmer and doing a good job.

He could be a stand in for Begley when Begley misses the standard two thirds of the year with injury. How much did Thorney miss this last year through injury???and Hart ????
Just a thought mate, just throwing around ideas...

Kane McGoodwin said:

I agree with you on Bock. I have been watching this guy closely and have yet to see anything to warrant the AFC's labelling of him as a "promising youngster". Granted he had a shocker on the weekend, but I have yet to see him play a dominating game even for the Eagles. Let's be realistic, this guy is 2nd tier at best...I hope he makes me eat my words, but i doubt it......

SpringChoke said:
He could be a stand in for Begley when Begley misses the standard two thirds of the year with injury. How much did Thorney miss this last year through injury???and Hart ????
Just a thought mate, just throwing around ideas...
No having a go just trying to generate some debate:)

Prior to this year both Hart and Torney have hardly missed a game and their injury riddled seasons can be traced back to poor pre-seasons. We still have Massie, Mattner and a few others to fill in.

I think we should get players who are capable of being premiership players not fill ins that are likely to be delisted in a couple of years.

I guess we will agree to disagree on this one:p. I think he is surplus to our needs.

Stiffy_18 said:
We got more HBF than we can poke a finger at. We need midfielders and ruckman. He is not required. We have bigger holes to fill.
Perfectly put;) - not a required player!

Craig has stated his objective - get more skills into the side, and improve existing skills.

Zantuck does not fill the bill, has played mainly as KP and I agree is too short (I know he's 188cm, but he plays small IMO) and too slow for flank.

Probably has been told he will struggle for gametime from Wallace, hence the request for a trade.

Much much better opportunities out there, and I would favour drafting kids over this option.

Stiffy_18 said:
No having a go just trying to generate some debate:)

Prior to this year both Hart and Torney have hardly missed a game and their injury riddled seasons can be traced back to poor pre-seasons. We still have Massie, Mattner and a few others to fill in.

I think we should get players who are capable of being premiership players not fill ins that are likely to be delisted in a couple of years.

I guess we will agree to disagree on this one:p. I think he is surplus to our needs.

No worries mate...

Jars458 said:
You see more in him than me then.
I see them in the same sort of a role Jars - defensive flankers, as neither really suited as a KPP. Given that I'm far convinced on Bock & that Zantuck has played some decent footy, I would do a trade swap.

Stiffy_18 said:

Agreed on all counts.

We've got enough right now in the backline. We need to focus on the future of our midfield. Once the likes of Roo, McLeod, Edwards and Goodwin retire we can't afford to be left stranded.

Hence why we are after much more suitable options such as Thompson, Waters, etc.