Heat, Victory, Man Utd, Redskins
How do you reckon this horse would have done in the Cup if it ran?

I don't know what posessed me to back it some 4 starts ago coming off a 9th and 8th I think...it has since won 4 straight, and funded my alcohol supplies every weekend for the last month, including this weekend. ;)

It's shooting for number 5 on the trot this Saturday...would truly be a remarkable achievement if it won again!

I got on it after I saw it at Geelong ......

It just keeps going and going... I reckon it could go around again and still Win.

That geelong form held up in the Cup with She's archie and I couldn't believe that it drifted out in betting on Sat.

To me it was a monty even before Legible was scratched

Originally posted by Lockyer24
How do you reckon this horse would have done in the Cup if it ran?

Impossible to tell really. Depends all on the run, I don't doubt that it would've ran the two miles.

However, in terms of speculation, I would think Mummify would've won the cup if it ran fit. Would've sat beautifully off them (just like Makybe Diva) and probably would've out sprinted the Diva.

Who knows!! It's harder to pick a winner with the 24 starters, let alone a couple of speculative runners as well.

My best mate's missus's father owns a few horses. One of the more famous he has raced was called Marstic, got horse of the year at the valley. He also owned Zazzman with his mates and pulled out of the partnership a while back after being told by the trainer it's legs were ****ed and that it wouldn't amount to much. He is now absolutely spewing.

I got on Melb Cup day, mainly because of the really weak field .... didn't back him on Stakes day but he didn't cost me really either .... so I have no knock for the horse

Geelong Cup day however should not be overrated as a form race ..... sure he ran well but he used the bias to its fullest advantage that day ..... and it was one hell of a bias .... therefore She's Archie in my mind comes out lengths and I mean lengths ! in front of him on that run alone. Once again I'm certainly not knocking the horse, just trying to put things in perspective - there is no doubt he is in a purple patch of form and has improved out of sight.

If he ran in the Melb Cup, I think he would have copped more attacks than General Custer. Think about how the race was run ... I realise he took a sit on Melb Cup day but was against much weaker opposition, and there were a few close to him at the finish at the finish ....... then in the Melb Cup - Millstreet taking off and outa here, Mamool annoying leaders, Frightening sitting right on his hammer, Zagalia annoying him early in the race, Hugs taking off at about the 700m .... I just can't help but think he may have run a super race .... but if he could stay settled after all that - would have been a miracle. Seemed to be run to suit a swooper imho. Then lets suppose my form analysis of the Geelong Cup is correct (could be farcicly wrong though :rolleyes: ) .... I couldn't see him troubling the first 2 but could have possibly been not far behind.

Good luck to anybody who has milked this fine stayer for everything over the last 17 days .... but lets assess the Sandown Cup at WFA i might add when we see the final field.

Oink !

Credit to the horse himself and to Tony Vasil for keeping him going so well. 6 starts over the past month or so and he is still performing at his peak and with big weights.

It does make you wonder how he would have gone in the cup. Would have finished in the first 5 easily.

Originally posted by Deej
My best mate's missus's father owns a few horses. One of the more famous he has raced was called Marstic, got horse of the year at the valley. He also owned Zazzman with his mates and pulled out of the partnership a while back after being told by the trainer it's legs were ****ed and that it wouldn't amount to much. He is now absolutely spewing.

There was a small piece in Ed's columm on Saturday about that, the previous owners got rid of it for $6K and it has gone onto win win something like $250K(Probably over the $300K mark after Saturdays win). One of the hard luck stories which is common in racing.

Tough, iron horse definately would have been a real contender if it had been run in the Melbourne Cup with a reasonable weight on the back.

Actually i spoke to his daughter saturday night after it won again, and she clarified the story for me. The bloke owned it outright only with his missus, there weren't any mates involved. Vasil tried hard to talk him into selling Zazzman saying it's legs were no good, and the horse was sold for 6grand - get this - to one of Vasil's best mates(!!!) who co-incidently has had horses with him since about when Vasil started.

Smell a fish?

Ok get this...when Marstic was a young horse Vasil tried his best to convince the 3 of them to sell him back then also. The reason he gave? Dodgy legs!!!

Vasil sounds very much like a crook to me. The bloke who sold Zazzman is bleeding.

Nice guy's in racing eh!

Originally posted by Dunstall_Jr
Will win the cup next year. Easily
Possibly the silliest statement I've seen on this board.
There's 50 weeks to go????

Seth.

Originally posted by Deej
Actually i spoke to his daughter saturday night after it won again, and she clarified the story for me. The bloke owned it outright only with his missus, there weren't any mates involved. Vasil tried hard to talk him into selling Zazzman saying it's legs were no good, and the horse was sold for 6grand - get this - to one of Vasil's best mates(!!!) who co-incidently has had horses with him since about when Vasil started.

Smell a fish?

Ok get this...when Marstic was a young horse Vasil tried his best to convince the 3 of them to sell him back then also. The reason he gave? Dodgy legs!!!

Vasil sounds very much like a crook to me. The bloke who sold Zazzman is bleeding.

Nice guy's in racing eh!

What a riesel, unfortuantely racing seems to have its fair share of these scumbags Deej, my Brother and Cousin have been in three horses and have dealt with three different trainers and have learnt the hard way in reality, they were getting charged full fees when the horse was apparently in work all the while it was out in a paddock getting fat, the first horse was purchased from NZ and had a few previous runs went to a mudtrack one day asked the trainer how the horse has faired in the past on rain affected tracks, the trainer just gave a b;lank stare and didn't know. My uncle who also had shares in it also got fed up with the bills rolling in and rang up asking if the next time he sends a bill could he slip in a message on how the horse is going/looking, future plans etc Anyway the Kiwi prick unloaded on my uncle and made out he was the bad guy, eventually led to my uncle, cousin and brother being payed out. Oddly enough a couple of months later the sheep shagger left the club, turns out he owed them heaps in unpayed rent for using the track and stables, they were willing to write off the debt just as long as he leaves. Lets not get started on the Jockey's............. :p

In fairness theres heaps of decent hard working people and plenty of great stories but still its a bit of mugs game at times.