Mega Thread The Adam Goodes Megathread - Now with Added Poll!

Why are crowds booing Goodes?

• Racism

Votes: 565 29.9%
  • He's perceived as a dirty player

Votes: 563 29.8%
  • He's perceived as making a team game all about himself

Votes: 758 40.1%
  • Because everyone else is booing, I thought I'd join in - like a Mexican wave thing

Votes: 268 14.2%
  • Because Gillon doesnt want them to

Votes: 135 7.2%
  • I have no idea

Votes: 74 3.9%
  • Other

Votes: 183 9.7%
  • His onfield message is at odds with his off field one

Votes: 233 12.3%
  • He can do no wrong with the MRP

Votes: 164 8.7%
  • I was saying Boo-Urns?

Votes: 61 3.2%
  • Jack Watts

Votes: 56 3.0%

When was the last time a member of a cheer squad threatened the assault of others through the media?

If it was identified, that member would be stripped of membership. Its "standing up for goodes" and its the sycophantic swans so its likely to get a pass. Two standards.

Now you're reaching the revelation of what the difference is between 'boooo' and 'cheat'. When a kid asks his mum and dad why people are calling Goodes a 'cheat' they can explain if they think he is one. If people are saying 'boooo', however, then there is any one of a hundred reasons why someone might boo, and plenty of them with Goodes are motivated by race.

So if you think he's a cheat, say that for a few weeks instead. You still get whatever thrill you're after and you don't sound like the current batch of racists. I'm assuming you don't want to sound like the racists, right?
So if someone boos Goodes whenever he gets near the ball, then they might be a racist. However a racist would only boo, but never yell cheat. Therefore if you yell cheat at Goodes whenever he gets near it, you are ok. I assume you are taking the piss here and I am just not getting your humour, but this is just colosally stupid. Well I'm out, good night.

Alright mate, point taken re tone. Let me try that again:

Goodes isn't booed every-time he touches the ball, week in week out, because he is a dirty player. There are many dirtier players who are not booed. Leigh Matthews was a thug. He broke a players jaw w/ a king hit 50 meters behind the play, and was even arrested for it. Yet he was cheered into retirement. So that claim is rubbish.

Goodes isn't booed every-time he touches the ball, week in week out, for staging. There are many, many players who do the same (Franklin milks kicks all the time, for example). They are not booed incessantly for this. So that claim is clearly false.

Goodes isn't booed every-time he touches the ball, week in week out, for not being a 'team player' or having too great of a public profile. Many players are and have been public figures and much more 'individualistic' than Goodes. These players are often loved for it, and get plum jobs on the 'Footy Show' acting like gits. So this claim, too, is false.

And Goodes isn't booed every-time he touches the ball, week in week out, for being an aboriginal. There are 71 players in the competition who are aboriginal, yet 70 of them aren't booed.

Thanks for the reply mate. On Adam Goodes playing for frees and being a dirty player etc... I dont really buy into it, But at the very least we must look at what PEOPLE get booed in the AFL arena. Me personally I am a pretty quiet spectator, but I do know quiet well (as most people remotely involved in AFL footy) that going to a game never involves not booing at something. Being a lions supporter in SA I'm pretty sure AKA was relentlessly booed EVERY time he gt the ball. It actually used to piss me off...but I was new to supporting the AFL and I soon got used to it

On the players that get plum jobs...players that get these plum jobs are in victorian teams plain and simple unless you are a superstar in interstate and try and get in the action when you team plays in melbourne. I like to watch the mangrook Footy show and Im pretty sure Goodes doesnt feature a lot on that show (when surely he would be well sort after). So we can put the discussion on who gets plum jobs out of it?

Adam Goodes is booed because he is a 'critical' or 'politicised' aboriginal. He is proud of his heritage, and 'outspoken' about racial inequality (both past and present) in a way that makes nationalistic white guys uncomfortable.

TBH this is the core point, and I understand why it divides people. Obviously the key issues involved are the 13 yr old girl & the whole spear throw saga. Now lets think of what is the base line of booing in the AFL to explain the "We booed because he is a diver...etc.." rational. How much more is Goodes booed the Jason Akermanis, Stevie Milne? Im suggesting maybe 10-20%??
So here are the key issues:
1) Goodes calls out a kid for "racism" and activity gets security to escort the kid out. Kid gets escorted out by herself and allegedly interrogated by herself (later denied). Aftermath the kid denies a racist meaning (grain of salt), and everyone moves on right?
* A lot of people find a grown man escort a child out on national TV quite disturbing, and especially when the kid is on TV and is quite obvious to what has happen to the degree of adults
* As a parent if my kid said something like that I would be pretty pissed and certainly sort it out. But if I was to see my kid dragged off at the request of a sports star by herself on national TV I would rage. I guess this is the passion some people are hanging onto?

Anyway... regardless of what you think of the Goodes v Kid saga, no matter what "Side" you sit on NO ONE can say leading up to the indigenous round there is a sensitivity surrounding crowd interaction and Adam Goodes...Especially when Goodes Pre-Indigenous round highlights racism against indigenous footballers (no problem with that)... so we have issue #2
2) Goodes makes his "Traditional Spear throw" in a goal celebration towards a bewildered crowd thinking they were the latest to be accused of being racist towards Goodes. For the remaining of the game cameras were panned down frequently to find the next racist, and with that security were down in very high numbers questioning people.
* Now the AFL (which I believe influences majority of media...another debate?) comes out and say the security were there for an unrelated matter... now surely no one believes that??? My take on that is the AFL thought they had another Goodes racist and took appropriate action ... but once Goodes said na it was just a War Dance the AFL unconditionally politically correct backed goodes 100%
* This "Traditional" dance is actually not traditional and turns out Goodes saw some kids doing something similar in the week prior? People are carrying on like this act is some sort of indigenous ritual when clearly it isn't more then a bit of Goodes "Me Time"
* I actually don't mind the idea of DEVELOPING an indigenous "War Dance", but clearly Goodes has gone about it wrong? Look at the Haka which is the inspiration for aboriginals, and they never individually aim it at the crowds...and especially not after drumming up anti-racism allegations pre-game
* Overall the response from Goodes and some media that the "War Dance" was at the very least lacking an understanding on how this Sensitive issue could be recieve. It is serious when they want it.... but just a bit of fun at other times. What a recipe for confusion

On the boarder thought that outspoken indigenous people aren't tolerated etcc... I don't buy that. There have been many active pro-indigenous players who actively campaign and there will be many after. Not sure we need to break down the past & present players that are active on indigenous rights? Adam Goodes aint the first and wont be the last

Might have missed a few points I intended to say, but I think I got most haha

A finally, a few other points that neither the right wing nut jobs - Bolt, Jones, Devine, et al - mention in their politically motivated attacks, nor the chorus of haters on BF:

Ive read Bolt articles a few times when the paper is sitting there at work and I have nothing to do. The Others I have never read anything from (depsite knowing Bonds name)... not sure what to say to that comment mate. I will say I actually dont know the different between Right & Left Wing...hope that doesnt make me look bad haha

He does. However he was actually chosen as Australian of the Year to speak out about racism and to start a conversation in Australian life.

Just as Rosie Batty has done with domestic violence.

Just as Geoffrey Rush did with the arts.

Just as something something that nobel prize guy did with the science. (Typical Strayan, I can't remember the science guy) (barry marshall?)

Good comments. Just to add part of the criteria for AOTY is
  • Availability and commitment to promote national pride and active citizenship though the year of the recipient's appointment
I think in hind site Adams approach to this point has not been good. He did actually say "Utopia has shown me how, over 225 years, the Europeans, and now the governments that run our country, have raped, killed and stolen from my people for their own benefit. The total injustices that have been played out since colonisation are absolutely shameful, and I now find it hard to say I am proud to be Australian."

I wish he would take this back some how. He is half Euorpean as well and also my mum was born in Asia so I'm not sure who here family raped or killed. I know what he was trying to say but bringing up a past that we are all ashamed of doesn't lead itself to a commitment to promote national pride does it.

He could have been such a powerful person of pulling Australians together if he hadn't of been so decvisive...... To late now I suppose. He used to be my Dads favourite player and my dad is an Anglo Saxon farmer, he can't stand him now because he just likes footy and not all the them vs us crap

anyone interested in anothers idiginous persons point of view of this topic should read Dallas Scott's blog the "Black Steamtrain" .
I found it to be a very interesting read .
Dallas Scott is the grandson of aboriginal activist charlie carter

He said Melbourne-based cheer squad members travelling to Sydney for the match against Adelaide would also hoist flags saying, “If you boo you’re racist’’.

This is the same group of supporters who booed James Hird every time his face appeared on the big screen in Round 1, yeah?

Putting aside the race issue for a moment, and speaking exclusively about the effects that fan abuse can have on their recipients, were those Swans fans who spewed vitriol in Round 1 as embarrassed and apologetic to Hird afterwards as the Goodes booers are now expected to be towards Adam?

In modern society we can now only say politically correct things. Speaking your mind about politics, religion, gender equality, class, race and so forth is very dangerous as you run the
So;

Racism - of course
Sexism - check
Homophobia - pretty sure I saw some discussion about 50 pages ago
Nazis - check

Have ANZAC Day and Good Friday had a run yet?

I don't think we have covered Fat shaming yet?

Maybe instead of booing hodge this weekend we could tell him to go back to SeaWorld.

What a psycho.

1438275476679.png

Sam Newmans comments are blinded by his clear racial cloud. He's always been a racist, and he always will be. He's a self-entitled, delusional flog whose views are so terribly, terribly wrong. The fact that people listen and draw ideas from him is only what is going to make this countries racist nature worse than it already is. Here's the proof:

The quicker people like this flog get out of the country or die, the better our future will be.

you too can buy the Richmond jumper for $119.99

Bit of a pointless PR exercise you're not even playing Sydney this week!
Funny how many post there are about a pointless issue. Why would you bother to post if it was nonsense? Seem to be contradicting yourself.

Interesting...this year he wasn't boo'd untill the Hawthorn game in Round 8 (which they were then called out to be racists by that fat pig named Robinson), the following game they played Carlton, he did his little spear routine at the Carlton cheer squad.) and from then what we had was WW3 against Goodes. Everyone turned on him.
Funny thing is..if it wasn't for the media....it would never have got to this in the first place.

l dont think anything adam has done justifies 17 wks of constant booing .
however i think their is one question he needs to ask himself , does he want to be an activist or a spokes person for his people .