Delisted #36: Garrett McDonagh - Delisted, thank you for your service - 23/8

My problem with the pick is I don’t reckon he was on anyones radar and dodoro stated he was selected to play senior footy straight away
miles off it
at least they delisted him straight away which is in essendon like
no way he was better than Dylan Clarke granted different type of player

My problem with the pick is I don’t reckon he was on anyones radar and dodoro stated he was selected to play senior footy straight away
miles off it
at least they delisted him straight away which is in essendon like
no way he was better than Dylan Clarke granted different type of player
They should not have picked Clarke either.

Heard from someone who is related to him by marriage:

He was given counselling sessions by the club. Not sure if it was due to his performance or other reasons.
Anyway, he confided some personal struggles to the club psych which were then passed on to Rutten without Garrett's knowledge. Rutten then used that info in front of the playing group. From that point on he wanted out of the club.

He was given counselling sessions by the club. Not sure if it was due to his performance or other reasons.
Anyway, he confided some personal struggles to the club psych which were then passed on to Rutten without Garrett's knowledge. Rutten then used that info in front of the playing group. From that point on he wanted out of the club.
I really hope that’s not true, that’s just not on.

if the club psych was an actual psychologist and divulged patient info without consent they could be professionally ****ed. like proper ****ed, never to practice again.

that’s if the club psych was an actual psychologist of course.

Well, Rutten did play for Adelaide...

No idea. A counsellor of some sort nonetheless, and not good either way.
oh yeah it’s awful. also an indictment on the club for still seemingly employing pseudo-qualified quacks

You do know that anything the club psych hears from the players is covered by doctor - patient privilege . The psych is a professional appointment.

You can take the boy out of Adelaide...

You do know that anything the club psych hears from the players is covered by doctor - patient privilege . The psych is a professional appointment.

Nothing to do with the game. The psychologist would be in breach of confidentiality at common law.
I think someone has already covered this above, and inferred that maybe the club hasn’t made a professional appointment with their “psychs”.

to be fair - the club has form in that regard.

also - a psychologist isn’t a doctor. Also Pyschologists don’t have patients, they have clients.

McDonagh: "Hey Doc the pressure of being an AFL player is pushing me close to the edge, constant negative feedback is wearing me down."
Club psych to coaching staff: "Guys I'm worried about McDonagh just watch what you say."
Coaching staff: "McDonagh, you did this and this wrong on the weekend and no amount of sooking to the pysch is going to absolve you of criticism."

Not that big of a stretch and not illegal.

I think someone has already covered this above, and inferred that maybe the club hasn’t made a professional appointment with their “psychs”.

to be fair - the club has form in that regard.

also - a psychologist isn’t a doctor. Also Pyschologists don’t have patients, they have clients.
Doctor Patient privilege is covered under psychologists I believe. But they can break it if they have genuine concerns for someone's health. Such as what I've said above.

7A5C5B88-D97E-4B0C-AEE8-6C543BBA0430.jpeg
“allied health”
From the CBA, Annexure C (p. 109)
Doctor Patient privilege is covered under psychologists I believe. But they can break it if they have genuine concerns for someone's health. Such as what I've said above.
They can break it but that’s like to call 000 for risk of immediate harm, not talking to the coach.

Sports psychology is a different specialism to mental health though. Working with healthy people to understand how their psychology affects their performance and vice versa. The risk of “immediate harm” as relates to that wouldn’t be particularly high I think, MH issues would usually be referred to a suitably specialised psych.

Reminds me, Collingwood’s board has a whole thread dedicated to their sport psych, I think they’re crediting her with their red time winning streak 🤔

nah - psychologists arent doctors so doctor patient privilege is not a thing here. psychologists are bound by their professional code of ethics but you are probably thinking of the legal requirement for them to be compelled to disclose if a client is at risk of harming themselves or others, but they are only duty bound to disclose this to law enforcement or other qualified HCPs (i.e. for hospitalisation in the risk of self harm) but this definitely does not extend to a clients manager, and absolutely not to their football coach

McDonagh: "Hey Doc the pressure of being an AFL player is pushing me close to the edge, constant negative feedback is wearing me down."
Club psych to coaching staff: "Guys I'm worried about McDonagh just watch what you say."
this could not (should not) happen without out McDonagh’s express consent