A League Offseason Talk 2015/16

Damn, not good.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/footbal...ne-roar-wound-up/story-e6frf4hc-1227457384789

BRISBANE Roar’s financial crisis looks set to come to a head after the Queensland Rugby Union filed an application to have the A-League club wound up.

The QRU are one of the many creditors allegedly owed money by the Roar and on Friday submitted documents in the Queensland Supreme Court in relation to nearly 12 months of outstanding rent payments at Ballymore, the club’s former training base.

DESPERATION: Locals make bid to rescue Roar

The application gives the Roar and their financially-stricken owners, The Bakrie Group, until August 19 to settle the debt or else liquidators will move in and the company, Brisbane Roar Football Club Pty Ltd, will be wound up. A hearing has been set for the same date.

“It is disappointing that, not for the first time, the QRU is owed money by the Brisbane Roar,” said QRU chief executive Jim Carmichael.

DIFFERENT WORLDS: Henderson’s salary makes Roar skipper’s look like small change

“Maybe the FFA need to examine the ownership model of their A League franchises and now provide some level of comfort to organisations who have supported this franchise over a number of years and through their difficult times off the field.” It’s understood the QRU was poised to file the documents last week but decided to wait so as to not overshadow the Roar’s friendly against Liverpool.

However, Carmichael wrote to Football Federation Australia chief executive David Gallop last week asking the governing body to intervene.

It is not the first time the Roar has been in debt to rugby union. The QRU has previously written off unpaid rent cheques in the past but has grown fed up with waiting.

A Brisbane Roar spokesperson said the club has not yet received any legal documents and therefore would make no comment on the matter.

The Roar moved into Ballymore in 2008 and their agreement to use the QRU’s facilities only expired last month.

Ballymore was Liverpool’s temporary home during the lead-up to their exhibition match at Suncorp Stadium under a generous arrangement that poured much-needed funds into rugby’s coffers. The development comes two weeks after chairman Chris Fong declared the club would be sold after reaching an agreement with a new buyer that would see “all creditors paid and stability restored.” Fong did not name the interested party and while there was initial skepticism over the validity of his claims - including from Roar patron Gary Wilkins - it’s believed talks with the mystery buyer are progressing and an announcement the club has changed hands could be made as early next week.

Geez, that's really worrying about Brisbane. Hopefully something can be sorted out - surely the FFA won't let them go under? The game needs a presence in QLD.

You would think that they would do all they could to stop it from happening. It would be a shame to see the end of the most successful (or 2nd most?) club in A-League history.

Definitely mate - wouldn't be a good look with a former multi time premiership club folding, especially after what happened to both Gold Coast and the Fury (think I read the demise of both left a bad taste in the mouths of QLD football fans).

Eli Babalj is a classic case of going to a big European club straight away instead of building up where he can get 1st team games.

I maintain that he's Australia's long term answer to our striker woes however.

2nd most thanks to Victory I assume.
Equal most. I think BR have more Champions Plates though (not 100% on that).

rumors going around that Muscat is heavy on trying to sign Troisi as our Aussie Marquee.

Not sure how he replaces Milligan but boy that attacking lineup if he does sign with Archie coming off the bench too.

Feeling the rise in my pants just thinking about it! :)

Eli Babalj is a classic case of going to a big European club straight away instead of building up where he can get 1st team games.

I maintain that he's Australia's long term answer to our striker woes however.

He's another Bernard Tomic heaps of potential and talent, but to interested about being a party boy and living the good life instead of doing the hard yards.

Apart from a a little two months spell he had at Heart back in season 11/12 where he was probably one of the best players in the league he hasn't really shown anything.

rumors going around that Muscat is heavy on trying to sign Troisi as our Aussie Marquee.

Not sure how he replaces Milligan but boy that attacking lineup if he does sign with Archie coming off the bench too.

Feeling the rise in pants just thinking about it! :)

Have heard that Troisi doesn't want to come back, then again who knows how reliable the 442 rumour file is :p.

Adelaide losing Mabil is massive as it means the team is deprived of any pace and teams will compress the game like they did against us last season and more often than not we struggled with this tactic when we didn't have a speedy outlet (Mabil).

Need to sign some pace that get in behind a high line, if we don't we'll experience the same frustrations as last season.

Adelaide losing Mabil is massive as it means the team is deprived of any pace and teams will compress the game like they did against us last season and more often than not we struggled with this tactic when we didn't have a speedy outlet (Mabil).

Need to sign some pace that get in behind a high line, if we don't we'll experience the same frustrations as last season.
But losing Boogaard should save us a goal or two per game

Boogs was by far and away our best defender last year. Cops an unnecessarily bad rap at times but he saved our bacon almost as often as Eugene.

Gives away far too many stupid scoring chances from rash challenges and not tracking back. Being our best defender doesnt make him a good defender, very ordinary footballer

Agree to disagree I reckon, he's a huge loss IMO.

He's another Bernard Tomic heaps of potential and talent, but to interested about being a party boy and living the good life instead of doing the hard yards.

Apart from a a little two months spell he had at Heart back in season 11/12 where he was probably one of the best players in the league he hasn't really shown anything.

Wow since the 11/12 season at Heat Eli Babalj has managed 19 games of football for two goals (and 9 games 1 goal was on a loan spell back to Heart in the end of 12/13 season). in the words of Paul Simon "slip sliding away" at 23 he can Improve on that at a season long loan spell at Adelaide United. Makes you wonder why AZ don't sell him. We see that with so many young players who go overseas and seem to not get any senior game time as mentioned hasn't really shown anything in three season in Europe.

Kamau will be given more game-time this season is how I see it. Apart from Cirio we do lack speed in the starting 11. Elrich and Marrone are no slugs though. Apart from that we don't have much else speed wise.

Goodwins not exactly slow either

wonder the real reason Gombau left?
Ive heard from my sources that when he arrived and had all these big plans he was told there was more money available than was actually the case. Was also disappointed in regards to the level of off field professinalism in SA.

Loved the players and the fans, let down by the club.