Tasmania AFL failed Tasmania

Have to say I have just spent a very enjoyable week in Hobart. For AFL it is a challenge because the small population is split between Hobart in the South and Launceston etc in the North . neither are big enough to support team and they are to distant to be treated as one. The interest is great generally.

sad to say but once GWS are established I think even Canberra would be more viable as it is the capital of the Riverina. (Unofficially)

Economically alone, the AFL would have to look at WA for a third team given population projections as a first step.

This sort of expansion for what gain mentality has zip to do with the a team in Tas other than to take the discussion off on some tangent, see the mind numbing use of population as a measure.

Have to say I have just spent a very enjoyable week in Hobart. For AFL it is a challenge because the small population is split between Hobart in the South and Launceston etc in the North . neither are big enough to support team and they are to distant to be treated as one. The interest is great generally.

sad to say but once GWS are established I think even Canberra would be more viable as it is the capital of the Riverina. (Unofficially)

Economically alone, the AFL would have to look at WA for a third team given population projections as a first step.

From my understanding by speaking to some ACT people over the years, the ACT was Aussie Rules territory until the NRL put the Raiders in their in 1988. I & others were critical that the VFL didnt get in their first. Now they insult them by putting a few GWS games on for the plebs.

Starting a new team now would be difficult with the Raiders & Brumbies now in the place. But never say never.

With 2million people, Perth is ripe for a new team now.

Tassie as a whole will be fine with a team. Given one game a month in Hobart & in Launceston, that will maximise interest & attendance. With our own team many people will travel to games which ever ground they are at. The Gument see the value for unity & economic activity it would generate.

From my understanding by speaking to some ACT people over the years, the ACT was Aussie Rules territory until the NRL put the Raiders in their in 1988. I & others were critical that the VFL didnt get in their first. Now they insult them by putting a few GWS games on for the plebs.

Starting a new team now would be difficult with the Raiders & Brumbies now in the place. But never say never.

Tassie as a whole will be fine with a team. Given one game a month in Hobart & in Launceston, that will maximise interest & attendance. With our own team many people will travel to games which ever ground they are at. The Gument see the value for unity & economic activity it would generate.

Edit. Raiders 1981:p

People say 'oh there is 500k people there, that could support a team'. But people from Launceston wont support a Hobart based team and vice versa. I can see nothing but a monumental s**t fight between the two if they decide to to divide games between them.
Do people in launceston support the hurricanes or do they ignore cricket to spite Hobart?

Why do people keep asking for a third team in Perth? Two teams may not be enough, but three is too many.

I was going to post exactly this. A relocated team won't work. I live 5 minutes walk from Aurora, but am not in the slightest bit interested going to see Hawthorn play. A new Tasmanian team wearing the green jumper and having a local academy (i.e. local players); I'd buy a membership and go to every game (but still be a Geelong supporter first and foremost).

Ironically if all of the people like yourself did go to every Launceston match then the venue would probably have been enlarged to 25,000 people years ago and might already have a Tassie team by now

People say 'oh there is 500k people there, that could support a team'. But people from Launceston wont support a Hobart based team and vice versa. I can see nothing but a monumental s**t fight between the two if they decide to to divide games between them.

Here's a tip: Yes they will. A majority of people under 25 have no idea a north vs south rivalry ever existed.

You think Launceston is going to get the team. What if/when they don't?

I don't think Launceston is going to get the team, exclusively. It's a s**t hole and I hate the ******* place. Hobart is much nicer, but I'd be very surprised if home games weren't split between York Park and Bellerive.

Be heading up to Lonny for a few games then?

(BTW I deleted my previous post because I had you mixed up with someone else ;))

Be heading up to Lonny for a few games then?

(BTW I deleted my previous post because I had you mixed up with someone else ;))

Yeah, I live 30-40 minutes away from Launceston so I'd head up for every game that a poor uni student can afford. :)

Ironically if all of the people like yourself did go to every Launceston match then the venue would probably have been enlarged to 25,000 people years ago and might already have a Tassie team by now

Rubbish. If we support the games, then we dont need our own team, if we dont support the games, then we dont deserve our own team. So we cant win & Its just AFL BS.

Here's a tip: Yes they will. A majority of people under 25 have no idea a north vs south rivalry ever existed.

Exactly. People will support our own team & it will play in both stadiums to maximise interest & access & attendances.

Rubbish. If we support the games, then we dont need our own team, if we dont support the games, then we dont deserve our own team. So we cant win & Its just AFL BS.

No I think if the games were supported better then the case would be overwhelming for a Tasmanian side

The upcoming Hawthorn v Fremantle match really should be a complete sellout

Understandable that Hawks v Suns didn't pull much of a crowd

One of the worries of introducing a Tasmanian side is not the support it would get in its initial year, but 5-10 years on. It's all very well for someone in Hobart to say they'd buy an 11 game reserved seat membership and attend all matches. Whereas in all likelihood the novelty of travelling 5-6 times a year for the footy will wear off and they'll end up buying a 6 game Hobart membership

Were Tassie to get its own side I think they'd need to enlarge one of the stadiums to at least 30,000 and play the 5 biggest matches there

I'd be more than happy for Hawthorn to sign a contract to play 9 home matches at the MCG and 2 at Etihad with guarantees of the number of quality matches - say at least 6 matches against other Victorian clubs & at least 4 home matches against (Pies, Cats, Swans, Bombers, Blues, Tigers)

i'm not sure that Hawthorn could do any more for the Tasmanian relationship than they have been doing

Largely agree. The thing that would be most likely to gain a team would be having 10-20K turn up outside the ground for each game with signs/etc calling for a Tas team, and not entering the ground. Prove the demand without supporting what is currently delivered.

I don't blame Tassie folk for not supporting whatever Victorian team decides to whore themselves out to the AFL for revenue.

So for 3 years they buy Saints merchandise then when that arrangement ends its Hawk clobber, then North gear.

They deserve a team they can call their own, moreso than GWS and GCS, but the numbers didn't crunch favourably for AFL house.

Give them a team and watch the people come

I'd be more than happy for Hawthorn to sign a contract to play 9 home matches at the MCG and 2 at Etihad with guarantees of the number of quality matches - say at least 6 matches against other Victorian clubs & at least 4 home matches against (Pies, Cats, Swans, Bombers, Blues, Tigers)

Why would you get such guarantees?

i'm not sure that Hawthorn could do any more for the Tasmanian relationship than they have been doing

Become Tasmanian...

I don't blame Tassie folk for not supporting whatever Victorian team decides to whore themselves out to the AFL for revenue.

So for 3 years they buy Saints merchandise then when that arrangement ends its Hawk clobber, then North gear.

They deserve a team they can call their own, moreso than GWS and GCS, but the numbers didn't crunch favourably for AFL house.

Give them a team and watch the people come

and watch the people of WA complaining about having to pay more equalisation money to support a club for whom 'the numbers didn't crunch favorably'?

No I think if the games were supported better then the case would be overwhelming for a Tasmanian side

1) Cow Poo! We've supported the game for 160 years. What more do you want, Blood?

2) Yes, Leave. Just close the door quietly, goodbye.

Its a soft term used to make old suburban clubs feel less embarrassed about sticking their hands out for money.

They pretend they are economically viable businesses so they cant say its footy socialism:rolleyes:

It's exactly what a Tas team would need, so what would you call it then?

So what is actually happening down in Tas to get the ball rolling for a possible team? Has anyone actually put up their hand and said, right this is what needs to to be done in Tasmanian if we want to be represented in the national game. With Hawthron and North's deals both ending in 2016 along with the broadcast rights you'd think now would be a good time to be having some serious discussion about having a team for the start of 2017 season.

Good question. One can only go by what is said in the media. Comments in the paper & on talk back radio, what pollies say, what AFL Tas say. Its definitely a talking point. Clearly many are against paying FIFO clubs. Pollies dont want upset anyone but plenty have said we should be pushing for a plan for the future. In that many say it should be a Tassie team. Some stick to the line of keeping what we have. I think given the benefits of having our own team it wouldnt take much for popular & political support to really take off.

I think we will start getting answers fairly soon. A plan, a timeline or similar. The pressure is on the AFL. Gil has said the situation in Tassie has to be resolved. I doubt we will be waiting 10 years. More likely a plan by next year, an extension of the Hawthorn/North thing, then, well, who knows. I think another mess like the Hawthorn/North fiasco wont continue. Perhaps only one club? I cant see any other solution than our own Tassie team. I mean what club will agree to play 7 of its home games in Tassie each year? It makes no sense to me.

So hopefully within 5 years we will have our own team. But who knows. It is a political decision. Tasmanians & Gument will support it. A major sponsor will, as has already happened. I think work would have already been done on a plan & structure by Gument & AFL Tas. Once a decision is made it wont take long to get it going. maybe it will follow something like the GWS model of playing VFL then AFL.

Its anyone's guess, but a plan will happen.

If I'm let down again, I can only accept the politics of the Vic-Afl is too strong. I hope out pollies can show some nubs & demand a sensible progression over a sensible time line towards a Tassie team. Vic clubs have sucked enough out of us already. Its Time for that to stop.

Why would you get such guarantees?
Why would we want the guarantees?
Its hard for any Victorian club to make $$$ from games at the MCG and Etihad unless there are 3 or 4 matches that are drawcards for their supporter base

Currently a Victorian team can play against 9 other Victorian sides and 8 non-Vic sides. So an expected fixture would be 6/9 Vic and 5/8 non Vic

However in 2011 when the AFL were sh!ty with Jeff we managed to get 3/9 Vic and 8/8 non Vic - an incredibly financially challenging fixture

If it was all random then so be it... but the number of home matches we've had against Essendon and Carlton in the last decade is a joke

If you look at how the AFL fixture Collingwoods away matches... 5 interstate so 6 Vic clubs get a home game against the Pies and 6/9 is a reasonable strike rate. However if Carlton, Essendon and Melbourne always get one then it's really only 3/6 chance of getting a home game against the Pies

The AFL also have a propensity to ensure Collingwood, Carlton, Essendon and Richmond all play each other in the first few weeks of the year so the chance of getting a valuable early season home match against a drawcard is reduced further

We would be mad to leave Tassie to be at the mercy of the AFL FIXture

Why would we get some guarantees?

Currently Hawthorn and the Tassie Govt are happy with the current arrangement. The AFL would prefer Hawthorn played 11 matches in Melbourne and North played 4-7 in Tassie as Hawthorn is more capable of drawing a crowd in Melbourne. For the AFL to entice Hawthorn to end the relationship with Tassie then there has to be some encouragement to end it