Rumour Benny Gale

Why would Benny want a job in the unknown state of Australia? His whole professional football career and education has been in Victoria. People that know Gale should know that he doesn’t go backwards in life.

It's not out of the question for him to strongly consider it when you reflect on how much coin and corporate prestige he's already sacrificed to remain in the AFL industry when he could make a lot more elsewhere.

He's sacrificed millions to stay in the industry because he loves it, the Tassie job may well fit the same bill. Not to mention that getting Tassie successful is about as big a professional challenge as a man in his position could take on - even bigger than the seemingly insurmountable challenge he embraced when he took us on!

And finally, there's the potential reward. The one last chunk of football glory that would appeal enough for him to chase - a Tassie flag. I wouldn't underestimate what that means to him, because he knows how much it would mean for all Tasmanians.

When you've already overseen one impossible fairy tale coming true, perhaps the only genuinely appealing personal challenges left involve doing it all again from an even more impossible starting point? ;)

It's not out of the question for him to strongly consider it when you reflect on how much coin and corporate prestige he's already sacrificed to remain in the AFL industry when he could make a lot more elsewhere.

He's sacrificed millions to stay in the industry because he loves it, the Tassie job may well fit the same bill. Not to mention that getting Tassie successful is about as big a professional challenge as a man in his position could take on - even bigger than the seemingly insurmountable challenge he embraced when he took us on!

And finally, there's the potential reward. The one last chunk of football glory that would appeal enough for him to chase - a Tassie flag. I wouldn't underestimate what that means to him, because he knows how much it would mean for all Tasmanians.

When you've already overseen one impossible fairy tale coming true, perhaps the only genuinely appealing personal challenges left involve doing it all again from an even more impossible starting point? ;)
Sounds more like you pushing the dream than Benny RW? More wishes in your write up than a 5yo on their birthday.😉😇😃

Don’t think he will move to the AFL, agree with you he would love the opportunity to help Tasmania become Successful.

The job certainly looks likes it been shaped for him , would be staggered if he past it up , I expect his successor will be an internal placement
Yeah or at least someone from around the league but still has some ties to the club like what Gale was at the time

From memory he was head of the aflpa before taking on the role

Can’t really think of anyone off the top of my head bar maybe Wayne Campbell who has a decent resume

Why would Benny want a job in the unknown state of Australia? His whole professional football career and education has been in Victoria. People that know Gale should know that he doesn’t go backwards in life.
Yeah I reckon Benny could land a CEO position outside of football. He's a very good operator.

Yeah or at least someone from around the league but still has some ties to the club like what Gale was at the time

From memory he was head of the aflpa before taking on the role

Can’t really think of anyone off the top of my head bar maybe Wayne Campbell who has a decent resume
I reckon simon matthews who’s chief marketing officer will assume the role

He will be silly not to take it. Almost Guarantees him the senior job in a decade if he wants it.
In my view, he will be the biggest loss to RFC. An astute operator and all levels!
All the best Benny
Benny will be 64 years old in ten years. I think he may have missed his chance at being AFL CEO.

If he takes the job it will probably be because he's passionate about getting Tassie set up right. I don't think Benny's the type to be overly interested in sucking up to the boys club at AFL House to work his way up.

If he doesn't take the job I think he's almost certain to make the sideways move of being Tassie's first CEO.

More I think about it more I think Dan Jackson could be good candidate , very clever young bloke , has specialised in leadership dynamics, could have a commercial gap ,,, but so did gale coming from AFLPA and legal background
He’s clever enough that he’d quickly grow into the role ,,, get him back to Tigerland

More I think about it more I think Dan Jackson could be good candidate , very clever young bloke , has specialised in leadership dynamics, could have a commercial gap ,,, but so did gale coming from AFLPA and legal background
He’s clever enough that he’d quickly grow into the role ,,, get him back to Tigerland
Awesome candidate can’t believe he slipped my mind
If we are kicking tyres with prospects about the role he would definitely be a bloke we should be pushing to apply

tumblr_ovscnmAMZx1s9a9yjo1_500.gif

This was a week ago, he never said no to leaving Richmond but he never said yes either. It is interesting that he is focused on appointing a new coach and also the Punt Road redevelopment. (When does this start?) I think that might give us an answer as to when his time might be over at Richmond.

His time will come, Question is whenever that is who could replace him.

I think they’ve awarded the contract to a builder , start 4Q this year last I heard

Sounds more like you pushing the dream than Benny RW? More wishes in your write up than a 5yo on their birthday.😉😇😃

I'd love if it happened and I strongly suspect he does too. ;)

Don’t think he will move to the AFL, agree with you he would love the opportunity to help Tasmania become Successful.

He might take that couple of year establishing Tassie role the AFL has spoken of with the understanding that he'll be seeking a role with the actual club itself once it's established, but yeah, I agree, don't really see him wanting to be ringleader of the AFL House circus.

Anyone who doesn't think Benny has already accepted the AFL gig go listen to talking tigers about 3/4/5? Weeks ago. The one where Richo didn't give old perm head a clip instead talking him up for all the good work he's done since Hardwick left and how he spoke for Marion. He then slipped and said he's got a lot on his plate with all the work he's doing for the AFL and Tassie.

Richo's like that dymbass mate you tell you're Mrs is pregnant but keep it to yourself as we're not announcing until the right time, but due to limited brain cells let's the cat out of the bag. After losing the top job he'll end up with a huge portfolio including overseeing Tassie and be on huge coin cos he'll effectively be doing dual roles. The AFL would've announced someone else already if it wasn't Benny. Dillons had 14 months to fantasise about his dream team and Hardwicks replacement has delayed everything.

Nothing surer seasons over Benny jumps ship and in 10 years becomes dictator of the AFL cos his credentials will be impeccable they won't burn $1,000,000 scouting replacements it'll just be a handover. Besides Tassie will flop because kids will be Jason Horne Francissing it out of there well before FA. What young hot blooded footballer wants to holiday in Tassie let alone live there?

Anyone who doesn't think Benny has already accepted the AFL gig go listen to talking tigers about 3/4/5? Weeks ago. The one where Richo didn't give old perm head a clip instead talking him up for all the good work he's done since Hardwick left and how he spoke for Marion. He then slipped and said he's got a lot on his plate with all the work he's doing for the AFL and Tassie.

Richo's like that dymbass mate you tell you're Mrs is pregnant but keep it to yourself as we're not announcing until the right time, but due to limited brain cells let's the cat out of the bag. After losing the top job he'll end up with a huge portfolio including overseeing Tassie and be on huge coin cos he'll effectively be doing dual roles. The AFL would've announced someone else already if it wasn't Benny. Dillons had 14 months to fantasise about his dream team and Hardwicks replacement has delayed everything.

Nothing surer seasons over Benny jumps ship and in 10 years becomes dictator of the AFL cos his credentials will be impeccable they won't burn $1,000,000 scouting replacements it'll just be a handover. Besides Tassie will flop because kids will be Jason Horne Francissing it out of there well before FA. What young hot blooded footballer wants to holiday in Tassie let alone live there?
Probably the best post you have ever made and I absolutely agree with everything 100%

Please don’t make it a habit