Mod. Notice Depressed? Anxious? Call Beyond Blue (1300 224636), Lifeline (131114), resources in OP

At the moment I am struggling. With my mum’s recent death, My workplace has not been pleasant. 2 weeks ago I took a mental health day off. I’m taking another mental health day off today as well.

After my mum died, I took 2 days off for bereavement and I only went in on the third day, as work made sure that I was aware that I was only entitled to 2 days bereavement leave and anything else would be taken off my annual leave or without pay. When I told them I would be travelling down for my mother’s funeral the following week, once again I was informed that I was no longer entitled to bereavement leave and it would be taken as an annual leave day. So I flew down to Tassie on the Thursday, we had the service on the Friday, then I flew back on the Saturday, so I could be back at work on the Monday. On the Wednesday before I flew down, I finally managed to get a week of annual leave changed to personal leave, as I had a doctor’s certificate from one of my trips. Basically I had to inform them, that by not honouring a doctors certificate they are breaking the law.

I get back on the Monday after the funeral, where I’m handed a form, saying that they want the leave loading and Super that they paid me for changing it from annual leave to personal leave returned. So my attitude at work has been mediocre as I don’t want to be there. Where I was told last week that I have been unnecessary angry and I should use the EAP program, which I do agree with, as I am looking at receiving grief counselling, but seeing I’m leaving I do not want to use the company’s program, so looking independently. As I haven’t really been able to properly grieve, as work has increased my stress levels. I went to my doctor 2 weeks ago, as I needed a certificate for the day off, and explained to him what had been going on, he recommended counselling, and to go back and see him, so that he could organise a mental health program, so I don’t have to pay. He also wanted to give me more time off from work, which I stupidly refused. The past 2 weeks has been terrible at work, and I’m not coping. I tried to make another appointment with my doctor today, only to find out that he is leave until the end of the month and the next available appointment isn’t until next Tuesday. So I have made another doctors appointment with another surgery for tomorrow, where once again I will have to explain my current situation. So hopefully I can get a certificate for today, and I’m also hoping for next week as well.

I have a job interview tomorrow, I’m fairly confident I will get it, which means I can close the door, on my current work, that has proven to be quite toxic

I hope you get the new job.

Sometimes a change in environment can be a breath of fresh air. You deserve some care and compassion.

At the moment I am struggling. With my mum’s recent death, My workplace has not been pleasant. 2 weeks ago I took a mental health day off. I’m taking another mental health day off today as well.

After my mum died, I took 2 days off for bereavement and I only went in on the third day, as work made sure that I was aware that I was only entitled to 2 days bereavement leave and anything else would be taken off my annual leave or without pay. When I told them I would be travelling down for my mother’s funeral the following week, once again I was informed that I was no longer entitled to bereavement leave and it would be taken as an annual leave day. So I flew down to Tassie on the Thursday, we had the service on the Friday, then I flew back on the Saturday, so I could be back at work on the Monday. On the Wednesday before I flew down, I finally managed to get a week of annual leave changed to personal leave, as I had a doctor’s certificate from one of my trips. Basically I had to inform them, that by not honouring a doctors certificate they are breaking the law.

I get back on the Monday after the funeral, where I’m handed a form, saying that they want the leave loading and Super that they paid me for changing it from annual leave to personal leave returned. So my attitude at work has been mediocre as I don’t want to be there. Where I was told last week that I have been unnecessary angry and I should use the EAP program, which I do agree with, as I am looking at receiving grief counselling, but seeing I’m leaving I do not want to use the company’s program, so looking independently. As I haven’t really been able to properly grieve, as work has increased my stress levels. I went to my doctor 2 weeks ago, as I needed a certificate for the day off, and explained to him what had been going on, he recommended counselling, and to go back and see him, so that he could organise a mental health program, so I don’t have to pay. He also wanted to give me more time off from work, which I stupidly refused. The past 2 weeks has been terrible at work, and I’m not coping. I tried to make another appointment with my doctor today, only to find out that he is leave until the end of the month and the next available appointment isn’t until next Tuesday. So I have made another doctors appointment with another surgery for tomorrow, where once again I will have to explain my current situation. So hopefully I can get a certificate for today, and I’m also hoping for next week as well.

I have a job interview tomorrow, I’m fairly confident I will get it, which means I can close the door, on my current work, that has proven to be quite toxic
That’s rough. Grieving is hard at the best of times. Good luck with the new job. I hope it helps you to move forward.

Not sure if I've shared my story before but I will again. Give it a read if you like.

Hospitality was my career. It's all I ever knew. Study was never my thing when I was younger.
In July of 2018 I made the extremely hard, emotional, decision to end my full time career in hospitality.

Full time hospitality put me in a huge hole, not only mentally, but physically (lack of free time to exercice), socially (lack of free time to socialise) and emotionally (lack of free time in establishing an intimate relationship). I had several tough conversations with my family and close ones, as I was at a cross roads in life. I was 29 and the constant words I kept saying to myself was "I'm almost 30, wtf am I going to do with my life". I put on a Beyond Blue wristband and haven't take it off since (a quick changeover from an old one to a new one).

I spontaneously signed up to a short course at RMIT in Interior Design as it's always been an interest, and lasted all of a month before calling it quits. Study still wasn't for me.

I had 2 sessions with a careers counsellor. Life changing. We laid everything out on the table. Interests in life, right down to my favourite foods and holiday destinations, to non-interests. Sussed out career options then explored the reality of them and how long it would take to get there. The topic of animals came up. He asked if I had a pet, a dog. I said no. Little bit off topic but he said I should explore that, given 1. my interests we talked about and 2. the entire current state of mind. The study path we explored was going to involve a year of Outdoor Education at Vic Uni, then crossing over to Deakin and enrolling in a Bachelor of Environmental Science (Wildlife and Conservation). In total it would be 4 years at Uni. Whilst this still holds a very high interest, back then, and now, it's not something I wanted to take on. The interest of animals lingered.

I picked up a bartending job at a pub at the back end of 2018. Contradictory right? Not really. The pub had been bought, renovated and opened 12 months before, and they needed someone with a bit of experience behind the bar, but with no responsibility. I took on the job, 5 nights a week.
I picked up my 8 week old puppy (Koby) sometime in February of 2019. This is when my life changed. I took some time off to train my new puppy (more on this later). I went on Mad Paws in the hunt for a friend for Koby. I founda couple that had just moved to the area and had a puppy of the same age they needed walking twice a week. Rory and Koby became best of friends. They then had a friend get a dog, so I walked all 3 at the same time, a couple of times a week. This goes okay.

My Pa passed away in April of 2019. It shook me. I had 2 grandparents pass away but I was way too young to remember. So this was the closest death to me and I was 30 years old. We came away with a little bit of unexpected inheritance and I was itching to do something with my life with it. So I did.

In 2019 I started Man's Best Friend Melbourne. A dog walking, sitting, and puppy training business. I put the inheritance money into making it fully above board, insurance, website, social media, uniform, everything. It was a slow build. And then covid happened. The rules were pretty blurry to begin with, but eventually we were told we weren't allowed to operate. I was on Job Keeper as I was still at the pub, and I made Airtasker a side hustle (till that then became clear it wasn't allowed). I was a 5 day a week regular at the dog park, which became the social place to be during lockdowns. This is where I met my best mates, Mike and Tony, who follow the same footy team, and have the same breed of dog. They later introduced me to their best mate Theo, again, same footy team, same breed of dog, also owns 5 vetinaries (handy).

We fast forward to today;

- I am still at the pub, but 3 nights a week. I choose when I work, and it's no issue when I can't, or if I want to do an extra shift. The understanding is there. I have been there for 5 years and have helped build it to one of Melbourne's busiest pubs today.

- I still do Airtasker work. It's a side hustle. I aim for about 2 to 3 jobs a week, amounting to about $300. Comes down to what is my time worth?

- I still have those same mates I met during covid. We have done several footy trips together and have become quite close. The vet, I'm about to go into business with.

- I have also re-connected with some mates from the past. We did a full triathlon season in 2021.

- My business is busy. I've built it to be a 4 figure a week business, and it's still growing.

By no means have I come full circle. I'm still a work in progress. I'm socially healthy, I'm mentally healthy, physically, I'm working on being better. Emotionally? Still got a way to go. Holding out for the right girl for me, which I'm sure will come.

I am absolutely here if anyone ever wants to talk. More then happy to pass on my number, email, facebook. I've dug myself out of a deep, dark hole and made myself a better person, and understand any troubles anyone is ever going through.

Not sure if I've shared my story before but I will again. Give it a read if you like.

Hospitality was my career. It's all I ever knew. Study was never my thing when I was younger.
In July of 2018 I made the extremely hard, emotional, decision to end my full time career in hospitality.

Full time hospitality put me in a huge hole, not only mentally, but physically (lack of free time to exercice), socially (lack of free time to socialise) and emotionally (lack of free time in establishing an intimate relationship). I had several tough conversations with my family and close ones, as I was at a cross roads in life. I was 29 and the constant words I kept saying to myself was "I'm almost 30, wtf am I going to do with my life". I put on a Beyond Blue wristband and haven't take it off since (a quick changeover from an old one to a new one).

I spontaneously signed up to a short course at RMIT in Interior Design as it's always been an interest, and lasted all of a month before calling it quits. Study still wasn't for me.

I had 2 sessions with a careers counsellor. Life changing. We laid everything out on the table. Interests in life, right down to my favourite foods and holiday destinations, to non-interests. Sussed out career options then explored the reality of them and how long it would take to get there. The topic of animals came up. He asked if I had a pet, a dog. I said no. Little bit off topic but he said I should explore that, given 1. my interests we talked about and 2. the entire current state of mind. The study path we explored was going to involve a year of Outdoor Education at Vic Uni, then crossing over to Deakin and enrolling in a Bachelor of Environmental Science (Wildlife and Conservation). In total it would be 4 years at Uni. Whilst this still holds a very high interest, back then, and now, it's not something I wanted to take on. The interest of animals lingered.

I picked up a bartending job at a pub at the back end of 2018. Contradictory right? Not really. The pub had been bought, renovated and opened 12 months before, and they needed someone with a bit of experience behind the bar, but with no responsibility. I took on the job, 5 nights a week.
I picked up my 8 week old puppy (Koby) sometime in February of 2019. This is when my life changed. I took some time off to train my new puppy (more on this later). I went on Mad Paws in the hunt for a friend for Koby. I founda couple that had just moved to the area and had a puppy of the same age they needed walking twice a week. Rory and Koby became best of friends. They then had a friend get a dog, so I walked all 3 at the same time, a couple of times a week. This goes okay.

My Pa passed away in April of 2019. It shook me. I had 2 grandparents pass away but I was way too young to remember. So this was the closest death to me and I was 30 years old. We came away with a little bit of unexpected inheritance and I was itching to do something with my life with it. So I did.

In 2019 I started Man's Best Friend Melbourne. A dog walking, sitting, and puppy training business. I put the inheritance money into making it fully above board, insurance, website, social media, uniform, everything. It was a slow build. And then covid happened. The rules were pretty blurry to begin with, but eventually we were told we weren't allowed to operate. I was on Job Keeper as I was still at the pub, and I made Airtasker a side hustle (till that then became clear it wasn't allowed). I was a 5 day a week regular at the dog park, which became the social place to be during lockdowns. This is where I met my best mates, Mike and Tony, who follow the same footy team, and have the same breed of dog. They later introduced me to their best mate Theo, again, same footy team, same breed of dog, also owns 5 vetinaries (handy).

- I am still at the pub, but 3 nights a week. I choose when I work, and it's no issue when I can't, or if I want to do an extra shift. The understanding is there. I have been there for 5 years and have helped build it to one of Melbourne's busiest pubs today.

- I still do Airtasker work. It's a side hustle. I aim for about 2 to 3 jobs a week, amounting to about $300. Comes down to what is my time worth?

- I still have those same mates I met during covid. We have done several footy trips together and have become quite close. The vet, I'm about to go into business with.

- I have also re-connected with some mates from the past. We did a full triathlon season in 2021.

- My business is busy. I've built it to be a 4 figure a week business, and it's still growing.

By no means have I come full circle. I'm still a work in progress. I'm socially healthy, I'm mentally healthy, physically, I'm working on being better. Emotionally? Still got a way to go. Holding out for the right girl for me, which I'm sure will come.

I am absolutely here if anyone ever wants to talk. More then happy to pass on my number, email, facebook. I've dug myself out of a deep, dark hole and made myself a better person, and understand any troubles anyone is ever going through.
Story is amazing, truly 🙏

That’s a great story. Credit to you for getting to where you are. It takes an incredible amount of work to get through the dark times, we’ll done.

Honestly, it’s stories like this that make me completely understand why people in America walk into their workplace with a loaded gun.

Your workplace and colleagues sound inhuman and downright nasty. You need a new start, which I hope you’ll get.

Good luck.

Does anyone know the best way to commit suicide?

I am genuinely at the end of my tether. Need out. Done. Pointless day after day after day existence. It’s all an arbitrary grind. I genuinely hate people, I hate the way the world operates, the consumer growth focus on everything, the desire to grow and suppress those that don’t keep up, the ruining of the planet, the self motivated greed and insulated interests, the narcissistic mentality of our online world.

This whole existence is a grim journey to the end. Why protract it?

Eventually the whole planet will implode, either by our own hands or by natural means. It’s all a giant nothing. We all die in the end. What’s the point? It’s a massive deadline we’ll all meet so my philosophy is getting there first is probably ideal.

I am genuinely at the end of my tether. Need out. Done. Pointless day after day after day existence. It’s all an arbitrary grind. I genuinely hate people, I hate the way the world operates, the consumer growth focus on everything, the desire to grow and suppress those that don’t keep up, the ruining of the planet, the self motivated greed and insulated interests, the narcissistic mentality of our online world.

Eventually the whole planet will implode, either by our own hands or by natural means. It’s all a giant nothing. We all die in the end. What’s the point? It’s a massive deadline we’ll all meet so my philosophy is getting there first is probably ideal.
Spend less (none) time online, there's nothing beneficial to be found. Since social media took hold around 2010, there's been a huge spike in mental health issues and suicide. Keep off it. Do things you can get some pleasure from. Simple things. Swim at the beach. Walk with your dog if you have one (or get one). Make something - woodwork, paint a wall, a picture, take photos of scenery, keep a diary and write one positive thing a day.

Do what you reasonably can to help the environment but don't stress about it. You can't save the world by yourself. You can only do what you can do - recycle, don't waste food, keep yourself well-presented, be nice to people. Life is a gift. And we live in the best place on the planet.

Honestly, it’s stories like this that make me completely understand why people in America walk into their workplace with a loaded gun.

Your workplace and colleagues sound inhuman and downright nasty. You need a new start, which I hope you’ll get.

Good luck.

I have left that job, fortunately and doing something else, which is a lot more pleasant

I should have said FIRST,and I apologise for not saying, please go and talk to your GP first of all. Good luck.

Mate …this is called
nihilism
/ˈnʌɪ(h)ɪlɪz(ə)m/

noun
  1. the rejection of all religious and moral principles, in the belief that life is meaningless.
More so the second part which I think about every day of the week.

It’s quite normal behaviour for some.

But we grind it out and push on and focus on the people we love.

Not the people we don’t know.

And yes the world and humans will end one day. But not for a few thousand years at least.

You and I and everyone else on this forsaken rock will be long dead by then.

Suicide is not the answer. Even if you have a turtle or a stupid cat who loves and depends on you..that alone is a massive reason to live.

Don’t get worked up on being nihilistic. 95% of the population thinks it quite frequently 💁‍♂️

Mate i share some of those views as well, but you have friends and family who care about you. I could never commit suicide because it would hurt and destroy those i love the most. This planet is a crazy/cruel place but you've just got to blank it all out, and focus on the things and people that bring joy and happiness to you. Live while you can mate and die when you can't help it.

Awesome story 👏

I'll brief share.

Have always had anxiety/depression issues since I was a child. Undiagnosed.
Got better with medication and counselling in early 20s and by mid 20s was a high functioning, fit worker in construction as an engineer.

Unfortunately a few things happened in my life around 2017-2018 onwards which sent me down a spiral:
  • heartbreak in 2017
  • glandular fever in 2018
  • torn pectoral muscle and bulging disc in back (extreme pain)
  • covid in 2020 resulting in 9 weeks in hotel quarantine
  • long covid, weight gain

All things above culminated in not being in a good place.

Then in 2021 I was bullied and treated like crap at my new job. Manager was quite honestly and evil person.
She even one day said I couldn't take an hour to have an appointment, they should be after hours - this was a psychologist appointment which can only be done during work hours..

So I finally quit.
Joined government.
Got paid basically 20 percent more, working basically 60 percent of the hours I was.

Has dramatically changed my fortunes in mental health - ran a half marathon after losing 10kg, time to do other things like gardening, walking dogs, play piano, gym, socialise etc which wasn't a part of my life in construction.

Point of my story - if work is stopping you from being happy.
Find something else.

Folks, just wanted to wish everyone a safe and merry christmas.
These can be tough times over the next few days as we cruise through Christmas and the New year period. Please do make use of the resources listed in the OP.

Ill be on deck throughout the holidays if anyone needs to chat.

When you come from a dysfunctional family and have severe anxiety, Christmas day really does suck. It is mine, and several people I knows most hated day of the year. Just waiting for it to be over.
The neighbours go mad, get drunk and scream a lot, there's utter crap on tv and there's been no footy for 3 months.
Apparently it's pouring rain in Melbourne, but stinking hot here in Brisbane.
Anyhoo, only a few more hours to go, and some cricket on the telly tomorrow.
All the best everyone.

When you come from a dysfunctional family and have severe anxiety, Christmas day really does suck. It is mine, and several people I knows most hated day of the year. Just waiting for it to be over.
The neighbours go mad, get drunk and scream a lot, there's utter crap on tv and there's been no footy for 3 months.
Apparently it's pouring rain in Melbourne, but stinking hot here in Brisbane.
Anyhoo, only a few more hours to go, and some cricket on the telly tomorrow.
All the best everyone.
I hope you enjoy the boxing day test

I'll be watching it

Hi guys, been awhile since I’ve posted on here. Just a quick update, I work in the health field and have a special interest in mental health. In the recent years with the pandemic, I’ve suffered from several burnouts and depressive episodes so I’ve cut back my work hours significantly in the recent few months. I’m tired of all the government changes to the health sector, I’m sick of the Medicare changes, Centrelink also ticking me off, NDIS forms are a pain in the ass, so many things that are putting me off (and I’m sure other health professionals) with so many changes.

The good news is that I really can’t give a stuff anymore. I just focus on doing what I can do, with what my mental and physical health allows me to do. I’ve been having nearly daily cold showers this summer and doing a heck of a lot more running and racquet sports. I went to Timezone by myself yesterday and spent a few hours just playing arcades and ticket-winning machines. Just being a kid again, and doing the things I missed doing as a kid.

The short of it is, I hope you guys can understand we all share the sentiments on here “I don’t give a stuff anymore”. If you really want to get out of that negative spiral though, unfortunately, you’re the one to have to do the main body of work to dig yourself out. Don’t rely on anyone else to fix things for you. GPs, psychologists, medications are mainly to help assist but not fix you. We all need to figure out what needs to be done in order to see some light at the end of the tunnel. Lower our life expectations, get healthy, lessen the toxic interactions (online/offline) are general things I can think of.

Take care guys!

Hi guys, been awhile since I’ve posted on here. Just a quick update, I work in the health field and have a special interest in mental health. In the recent years with the pandemic, I’ve suffered from several burnouts and depressive episodes so I’ve cut back my work hours significantly in the recent few months. I’m tired of all the government changes to the health sector, I’m sick of the Medicare changes, Centrelink also ticking me off, NDIS forms are a pain in the ass, so many things that are putting me off (and I’m sure other health professionals) with so many changes.

The good news is that I really can’t give a stuff anymore. I just focus on doing what I can do, with what my mental and physical health allows me to do. I’ve been having nearly daily cold showers this summer and doing a heck of a lot more running and racquet sports. I went to Timezone by myself yesterday and spent a few hours just playing arcades and ticket-winning machines. Just being a kid again, and doing the things I missed doing as a kid.

The short of it is, I hope you guys can understand we all share the sentiments on here “I don’t give a stuff anymore”. If you really want to get out of that negative spiral though, unfortunately, you’re the one to have to do the main body of work to dig yourself out. Don’t rely on anyone else to fix things for you. GPs, psychologists, medications are mainly to help assist but not fix you. We all need to figure out what needs to be done in order to see some light at the end of the tunnel. Lower our life expectations, get healthy, lessen the toxic interactions (online/offline) are general things I can think of.

Take care guys!
Thanks for sharing JW. You make some really good points. It took me a long time to get to the point where I just said ‘stuff it, I don’t care what other people think, it’s my life and I’m going to do the things I want to do’
Nothing harmful to me ir others but just stuff that I enjoy. Life’s too short. I retired 18 months ago and am just enjoying each day as it comes.
Look after yourselves and don’t be afraid to share here or with someone you know if you need to.

Divorce been dragging on 2 years now

Ex Wife wants to leave me with nothing

Thought myself this s**t has gotten out of hand so sent her a msg in good faith wanting to to mend some fences and try sorry this out so I can see my dogs

Even allowed her to keep some of the assets that were mine for herself

At the same time organised with her lawyers to send me in the post what they need me to sign

The day before the paperwork arrived she has me arrested

Sent en email to her lawyer forgot about me signing anything now do not contact me again

We were getting along fine until I refused to sign the initial agreement I continued to pay the mortgage for 8 months after I moved out of the house as well

So now I’ve got a court date at some point

Divorce been dragging on 2 years now

Ex Wife wants to leave me with nothing

Thought myself this s**t has gotten out of hand so sent her a msg in good faith wanting to to mend some fences and try sorry this out so I can see my dogs

Even allowed her to keep some of the assets that were mine for herself

At the same time organised with her lawyers to send me in the post what they need me to sign

The day before the paperwork arrived she has me arrested

Sent en email to her lawyer forgot about me signing anything now do not contact me again

We were getting along fine until I refused to sign the initial agreement I continued to pay the mortgage for 8 months after I moved out of the house as well

So now I’ve got a court date at some point

Don’t have time right now to post a full reply to this but I have been in a similar spot and have had a very similar experience. Reach out if you need, I have been there mate and it f**king sucks

I've been in a dark place the last few days. I struggled to drive down the road to my cricket game today.

I almost cried while I was batting. Not sure how I batted so well. I ended up retiring as I got to the point that I felt i needed to sit down.

I've spoken to my partner about how I could quit my job and hope I can find something else. It may not pay the bills though and I need to support my two children.

I hope someone reads this. I feel lonely in the head and I'm so negative to myself.