Review Dogs down Blues 79-59

This was genuinely infuriating, Pittonet did it all night - you have to allow the opposition ruck to attend the drop of the ball ffs. There was at least 5 times neither ruckmen actually got hands to the ball as that big * was more focused on keeping Timmy away from it. He could have been done for 10 blocking infringements last night but he didn’t get a single one, The only time they called a ruck free was against Tim for holding as he tried to scrag his way to the ******* ball.

There was a just a blatant disrespect for the rules last night, I genuinely think the umps out there didn’t know the rules. How about McKays 50 in the last qtr, the free kick was hard up on the boundary - yet they moved the mark to directly in front 60m from goal.

Am I ******ed here or is that just plain wrong? Since when have we started centering guys for 50m penalties? It should be on the direct line of the free 50m up the ground.

And yeah I think we got our first holding the ball late in the last qtr when we had them dead to rights at least 10 times prior. Pay holding the ball ffs. The missed chopped arms at both ends, it was really really lopsided last night
They just don't call blocks in the ruck even when they're hilariously blatant. The commentary even seems to celebrate it. Hawkins in the forward line ruck is another one that just throws his guy out of the way before the ball has even left the umpire's hand. A ruck contest isnt meant to be the WWE. It's meant to be two guys jumping into each other to tap the ball.

Pittonet was basically stiff-arming his opponent with two outstretched arms when the ball drop was 3 metres behind him.

I was critical of Weightman last night. 4th quarter lift aside he was non influential for the majority of the game. Whether it’s him being played out of position or confidence he needs to have an impact
Weightman is not always there when you call, but he is always on time.

Agree. That's why I left early. Glad they proved me wrong. I promised before the game I would stay & cheer them off no matter what - very Caaarrlton like performance from myself. I hang my head in shame.....but I took my negativity out of the stadium which obviously helped the cause.
You're very self deprecating and humble in reference to the influence your early departure had on the game. To me, you're an Australian hero and I thank you for your service.

If he has a rib issue makes sense we are keeping him out of CBA"s until it resolves too have him fully fit. Obviously last night was decided the reward was worth the risk.
Like to see him get get back to his best to keep up the quality midfield rotations
It is really good to know that we can still win a game of footy with two of our best mids unsighted at CB.

Similiar to how we are benefiting from guys like Bont and JJ playing in their best position, I actually think we are benefiting from not having to squeeze in extra mids each game like we did the last two years.

For the first time in Bevo’s tenure we generally have specialist players in almost every position.

You might have missed them but over the last 15 hours quite a few suggested Buku was the most obvious (and best qualified especially after kicking 4 last week) if the aim was to release Lobb further upfield.

I’m happy for JOD and had low expectations … as we should with any debutant. He’ll be better for the experience and looks like a real find.

However it’s not correct to say that nobody had any alternative suggestions.
Not sure where alternative suggestions comes from!!! Plan B was there.

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Letting Carlton kick 6 in a row was not good for the heart, but it made the win all the more special after seeing those arrogant Carlton supports come to life thinking they were going to win, only for Libba The Legend to stick a dagger in the heart.
I’ve heard this said a few times now…I know Libba’s goal was HUGE in that it broke their run, but we did go behind again afterwards. It was probably the most important goal of the game but it didn’t clinch anything for us.

I was critical of Weightman last night. 4th quarter lift aside he was non influential for the majority of the game. Whether it’s him being played out of position or confidence he needs to have an impact
He needs a plan B when he's not getting in the game.

Too often gets a bag one week then 4 touches the next.

Hopefully we found a plan for him like last night running him through the centre.

After seeing their supporters last night, I can't believe I felt even slightly sorry for them after finishing 9th last year. F*ck em. one bloke called the woman next to me who was a doggie a "bitch" after she celebrated after Smiths goal.
How can a team have so many fans that are so fair weather? There was honestly two kicks in it with 3-4 minutes left, still a totally winnable game for them and their fans were streaming out. Was pathetic.

Bucks has a very good football brain, I don't think he was a great coach but he'd be great to have as a second in command.
I'm not sure about that. Yes a very good football brain but I wonder if it doesn't suck the life out of his charges. I like the free spiritedness of the members our forward line. They need shaping but perhaps the minutia obsessed Bucks type might kill the free spirits.

Agree. That's why I left early. Glad they proved me wrong. I promised before the game I would stay & cheer them off no matter what - very Caaarrlton like performance from myself. I hang my head in shame.....but I took my negativity out of the stadium which obviously helped the cause.
Don’t worry about it. Sometimes the stress is better left alone and knowing when to remove yourself from the situation is the best thing.

I reckon Jamarra is simply gassed when he makes most of his errors. Straight out fatigued. Give him a couple more preseasons and he will be an absolute beast.

That was a much improved effort from Keath too. Our backline looked more cohesive and he is very instructive down there.

We need to develop some more medium to small defensive options and I hope vdm or Gallagher can fill the bill.

It’s 50m on a line drawn to the centre of the goal isn’t it? So always ‘centred’ but maybe not by as much as we saw in that instance.
Wouldn’t all 50m that take you inside 50 put you directly in front then?

I dunno maybe I’m wrong about this haha very possible, just never seen it like that before

The thing I find really annoying about the commentary for the Jones goal from the TV crew is that instead of talking about how good of a goal it was by Jones they were instead talking up Saad and how he stopped it from being a certain goal running in.

Like seriously? Just talk about the kid kicking his fourth career goal with a ripper.

Are we a little too sensitive at times?

I saw the replay of that goal and Buck’s mention of Saad seemed to be for the purpose of pointing out that Saad had turned a regulation goal for Arty into something much harder - which he had the ability to convert still