Gay Supporter Group

Can you please put on your Agenda for this week the return of l u b instead of meh?

9f8gT1vCv9cukjUCl3x5In6o1pLXa5j60bmGifRPa0f-ZR0bDqwN4tI3K8TyOny2Iur-R3C2x9o-LhDpeJWsQuhNJh3gS5rAx7KsQnnEBlY-OOXRtHsSlHoCzIMTViGuApNIf18Jftppd7zNhLu5R1Zwpln32G5m=w450-h327-nc

That's the point I was actually trying to make, we are all North supporters. The way that people choose to express their support is entirely up to them.
How is there more than 1 way to support your side? We all pay our hard earned cash, want to see the 22 that run out each week play hard, fair footy and at the end of the day walk off victorious more often than defeated. To be honest, if you refuse to join or distance yourself from the NMFC member family, you can't call yourself a North person in my opinion.

DarwinRoo made the point very well early in this thread when he compared the value of a gay supporter group with KNOW or the Kangaroo Network of Women, which has morphed into the Northern Lights, also a women's supporter group. For those who argue that a gay supporter group creates division in the membership, presumably you would close down the women's supporter group too?
I don't have a problem with supporter groups as long as they don't try and distance themselves from something they apart of. As I said earlier, we are 1 big family of North members. Supporter groups, being overseas or interstate doesn't change that. When you sign up as a member, you sign up on the club's terms, not your own.

How is there more than 1 way to support your side? We all pay our hard earned cash, want to see the 22 that run out each week play hard, fair footy and at the end of the day walk off victorious more often than defeated. To be honest, if you refuse to join or distance yourself from the NMFC member family, you can't call yourself a North person in my opinion.

I don't want to see fair... I want us to be dirty and disgusting and win at any cost.

I think you support the wrong team Arjen. If you want to see dirty, disgusting and cowardly footy to win at all costs, Hawthorn is your mob. Hodge must be your idol.

Who said anything about distancing themselves? It's implicit in the very concept of support that there is no distance.

However, it's a fact that people choose to support in different ways e.g. some go to games, some like to watch on TV, some like to sit on level 2, some like to sit behind the goals, some like to catch up in the social club with flogs they met through BigFooty etc. At the end of the day, they're all supporters of NMFC.

Who said anything about distancing themselves? It's implicit in the very concept of support that there is no distance.

However, it's a fact that people choose to support in different ways e.g. some go to games, some like to watch on TV, some like to sit on level 2, some like to sit behind the goals, some like to catch up in the social club with flogs they met through BigFooty etc. At the end of the day, they're all supporters of NMFC.
By (possibly) introducing a gay or other type of supporter group, isn't that distancing or dividing from the actual supporter/member base? It is if you ask me. We are on the same page and at the end of the day, being gay and part of a seperate group shouldn't even be up for discussion.

These topics incite a lot of reaction that often amounts to an open-minded pissing contest. I hope the topic isn't getting confused here.

The concept of a particular group of supporters based on a common factor was never offensive or an issue.

But on this particular topic, I know a plenty of club supporters who identify with the common factor singled out in this thread who partake in every aspect of football support. That might be because they're club supporters and members like everyone else.

Not once have I ever heard any of these people bemoan the lack of a specialised supporter sub-group for them, that things like travelling to interstate games to watch their team.. or buying reserved seats .. or attending club functions.. or being part of cheer squads etc was in any way hampered or could've been improved based on their orientation. I'd speculate to say it actively wasn't the case.

Maybe there's a disenfranchised budding football supporter group out there I'm unaware of who need this kind of avenue to become involved but honestly I've never met any.

Did the Kangayroos ever take off?
It's a snappy name, I'll give you that.

Seriously though, I reckon support groups such as these exist to include, not divide. It's not about one lot saying "Nah, we're over here mate. Steer clear". Completely the opposite. It's about registering a commonality within a dedicated group of supporters (eg: Northern Lights, Peninsula Supporters, et cetera).

Although I've never had any homophobic drivel hurled my way during any game (mainly cause I leave my tutu at home on match days) I have had to endure a lifetime of such abuse thrown at players and umpires. Most of it flew over my head in the 80's, and in the 90's I was celebrating our victories too much to care. As time went on, though, it got more tiresome and thankfully now it is seen as crass, and (mostly) stamped out.

I love supporting this club. I sing the song with gusto with the best of them. Some of my happiest memories are of the Shinboners doing me proud, both at the game and watching from home). Should the club not be doing the very most it can to ensure all members of our community can feel and experience the same thing?

Which, as it all turns out, they have. Listed amongst the groups on the North Supporter Groups webpage are the Blue Roos (https://www.facebook.com/nmfcblueroos?_rdr).

NTTAWWT, naturally.

I think you support the wrong team Arjen. If you want to see dirty, disgusting and cowardly footy to win at all costs, Hawthorn is your mob. Hodge must be your idol.

I admire them.

But no, Glenn Archer, Byron Pickett, Michael Martyn, Wayne Carey, Anthony Stevens and Wayne Schwass will do me just fine. Oh, and Jack Ziebell.

Guys who would die and kill for the jumper.

I admire them.

But no, Glenn Archer, Byron Pickett, Michael Martyn, Wayne Carey, Anthony Stevens and Wayne Schwass will do me just fine. Oh, and Jack Ziebell.

Guys who would die and kill for the jumper.
I admire them too but some of the things they do are absolutely cowardly (e.g. Hodge's hit on Swallow and Lewis on Goldstein). How dare you put players like Archer and those you mentioned were and are (Ziebell) tough footballers in the scum class of Lewis and Hodge! Real hardness is summed up perfectly by Arch himself at the end of his Open Mike interview so do yourself a favour and watch or re-watch it.

You clearly never saw Archer punch every opponent in the kidney after they took a mark on him. Or him rag dolling Hird every opportunity he got.

And may have missed what Mickey did to Simon Blacks eye socket in the '99 prelim.

Or Byron running past the ball to put Krummel into orbit.

Or Duck accidently punching Peter Satori's head at Whitten Oval or elbowing Ben Hart at Princess park.

Schwass punching Troy Luff in the 96 Grand Final or knocking Peter Dean out in the 95 prelim.

And I for one loved Ziebell knocking out Riewoldt. It made my day.

Mate, they were all dog acts and l loved every single second of it.

You clearly never saw Archer punch every opponent in the kidney after they took a mark on him. Or him rag dolling Hird every opportunity he got.

And may have missed what Mickey did to Simon Blacks eye socket in the '99 prelim.

Or Byron running past the ball to put Krummel into orbit.

Or Duck accidently punching Peter Satori's head at Whitten Oval or elbowing Ben Hart at Princess park.

Schwass punching Troy Luff in the 96 Grand Final or knocking Peter Dean out in the 95 prelim.

And I for one loved Ziebell knocking out Riewoldt. It made my day.

Mate, they were all dog acts and l loved every single second of it.
Want to know why Arch and co. did what they did? Because they could get away with it or only get a small penalty compared to today! If they were playing today, they would miss more games than they played. You and I have different definitions of toughness, you seem like the kind of guy who thinks cowards punches are tough.

You claim that Hawthorns champions are cowards, I then say our champions of our last great era were no different, I must therefore like coward punches of all things. Ummm OK.

1. I've never been in a fight in my life.
2. I think football is a contact sport and what happens on a field is fine by me as long as it isn't cowardly. And no I don't think what they did was cowardly, more a statement that we won't cop losing to GWS again.
3. You obviously didn't attend any games in the '90s when we were the toughest, hardest mofos in the AFL... You never got to experience what its like to be feared and to attend games knowing that your boys would turn up and fight and do anything for that beautiful jumper of ours.

Its called playing on the edge.

Jack does it, boomer does it, Jamie is finding it.... Its the shinboner way.

You claim that Hawthorns champions are cowards, I then say our champions of our last great era were no different, I must therefore like coward punches of all things. Ummm OK.

1. I've never been in a fight in my life.
2. I think football is a contact sport and what happens on a field is fine by me as long as it isn't cowardly. And no I don't think what they did was cowardly, more a statement that we won't cop losing to GWS again.
3. You obviously didn't attend any games in the '90s when we were the toughest, hardest mofos in the AFL... You never got to experience what its like to be feared and to attend games knowing that your boys would turn up and fight and do anything for that beautiful jumper of ours.

Its called playing on the edge.

Jack does it, boomer does it, Jamie is finding it.... Its the shinboner way.
I read your number 1 point and dismissed you. If you don't know what it's like to be involved in a fight, hit someone or get hit then shut the hell up! Guys like Hodge are cowards! He is a 4 time premiership player and gun footballer but is still a little punk bitch. We aren't in the 90's anymore so it's time to stop reminiscing about our golden years like they are still relevant today, I know it's nice to look back but we need to attempt to create new history. Ziebell is my kind of player, puts his body on the line for his team mates and club and in the past has done some stupid s**t (the Riewoldt incident wasn't as pretty as you think it was). Boomer gives as good as he gets which is part of being a legend like he is. I have never seen JMac go out of his way and hit someone or something like that.

I've made it 33 years without a fight because I'm a good talker and I don't look for trouble. I'm also very beautiful and I wanna keep it that way.

I also don't drink that much as my job is 24/5. And money never sleeps.

Ziebell is a dog, like it or not, he is no different to them and that's why we love him.

Stop derailing this very important thread with your vaginaness. If you don't like the violence, go watch the ******* tennis.

I've made it 33 years without a fight because I'm a good talker and I don't look for trouble. I'm also very beautiful and I wanna keep it that way.

Stop derailing this very important thread with your vaginaness. If you don't like the violence, go watch the ******* tennis.

Lol