GWS look to Pokie machines for non footy revenue

Jul 2, 2010
Source: http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/gw...-fund-operations/story-fnelctok-1226888977676

GWS looking to become the 12th club in the league to embrace pokies as a source of revenue.

“It’s obvious that football clubs do better if they have a non-football source of revenue, and that is something certainly that we are considering,” Shepherd told the Herald Sun.

“Gaming is one of the options but we would be concerned about the social implications of that, because we are a family club. We are still in deliberations. We haven’t got any deals or proposals. Over the next few months we will bring things to a head.”

I would suspect that some people will be outraged, some happy and the bulk including me are in the middle and fail to see what all the fuss is about.

No one makes people play the poker machines, although i have a bash when in the East, just as when you go to the footy no-one makes you eat junk food or drink copious amounts of alcohol.

The vast majority of people manage to transverse the relatively narrow road of gambling, eating crap and drinking booze without destroying their lives or others around them, the fact that some fall by the wayside is a fact of life.

If in Sydney and GWS had a decent club, i would go and have a squiz, a meal and a beer and possibly throw $20-50 bucks in one of their machines, i suspect the majority of their fans would do so as well.

I would suspect that some people will be outraged, some happy and the bulk including me are in the middle and fail to see what all the fuss is about.

No one makes people play the poker machines, although i have a bash when in the East, just as when you go to the footy no-one makes you eat junk food or drink copious amounts of alcohol.

The vast majority of people manage to transverse the relatively narrow road of gambling, eating crap and drinking booze without destroying their lives or others around them, the fact that some fall by the wayside is a fact of life.

If in Sydney and GWS had a decent club, i would go and have a squiz, a meal and a beer and possibly throw $20-50 bucks in one of their machines, i suspect the majority of their fans would do so as well.

Yeah agreed. I'd prefer if people weren't addicted to the machines, and prefer AFL clubs didn't profit off of them.

But they exist, and the people who own them are probably rich flogs anyway, so it's not a huge issue imo if GWS goes down the same path as nearly all the other clubs.

TBH though all this rhetoric about looking at social implications etc is nonsense. I'd guess GWS will buy pokies if it's going to allow them to increase their revenue by a lot.

Good business move. So not including GWS, the teams that don't rely on pokies should be WCE, Freo, Adelaide, North, Sydney and Gold Coast.

Pokies & clubs go together in NSW, part of the landscape.
No NSW style poker palaces in Vic, smaller clubs & pubs.

Many club business models rely on pokies income, i.e their footy ops dont produce a viable income.

Will the equalisation tax/surcharge be levied on footy income only?

From what I understand as it is today - no, but can clubs avoid it by structuring like they do in the NRL (have the social club own the pokies and give an annual grant to the footy club)?

Yes, that is how it is done.

Interesting to note that WA ( besides the casino) does not have poker machines, but has the highest rate of lotto spend per capita in the world, what is the chances of winning lotto compared to poker machines ?, and would it be better value for West Australians in general to get cheap meals and grog by having poker machines.

Obviously, considering the amount we spend on lotto, the money is in the family budget etc to spend.

Western Australia Number One for Lotto Players
Mark Anderson, 16 Oct 2013

If you live in Western Australia, you may be one of the most prolific Lotto players in the world, according to Lotterywest’s figures
Western Australia has managed to keep a firm grip on its #1 spot for the most Lotto sales per capita in the world, after spending a record $820 million on lottery tickets in the last fiscal year.

Lotterywest posted record annual sales this year, for the second year running, as ticket demand rose by 7.6 percent to increase by $58 million over the fiscal year prior, breaking the $800 million barrier for the first time.
Individuals Buying More Tickets
Although population growth may have in some way to contributed towards the increase in sales, it is the overall demand from each resident which has really pushed the figures up as the average consumption increased by $2 annually to $424 per adult in Western Australia, according to the Lotterywest report.

Personally i would rather play poker machines than lotto, head to a club and get subsidized meals and grog for myself and my family, and see the money go to my football club, or club of choice.

This might actually be difficult. Sydney is at saturation point for big clubs and I think they're doing a thing where for transferred licenses some also have to be handed back.

That said, the Swans should buy the currently closed Hopetoun. Perfect location for matchdays.

This might actually be difficult. Sydney is at saturation point for big clubs and I think they're doing a thing where for transferred licenses some also have to be handed back.

That said, the Swans should buy the currently closed Hopetoun. Perfect location for matchdays.

Is it a Pub or Club ?.

0c2DD0Pr6PInv6R.jpg

Nice, classic corner Australian pub, hope whatever happens, the place is not torn down.

I think you'll find that a major sponsor of the Suns is the massive Sharks pokie empire. I think you could argue that the Suns do rely on Pokies, at least to some extent.

On that basis, GWS have Eastlake football club as a platinum sponsor, and could be said to rely on pokies. Woolworths is also a platinum partner, and they are one of the largest owners of pokie machines in the country.

While on that tangent, West Coast are sponsored by Crown perth. .....

I think known Mafia associates have bought shares in BHP and Woolworths and Crown, and i think i saw some bad guys at Crown.

Obviously my super is now tainted, should i still take it.

Yes, that is how it is done.

Interesting to note that WA ( besides the casino) does not have poker machines, but has the highest rate of lotto spend per capita in the world, what is the chances of winning lotto compared to poker machines ?, and would it be better value for West Australians in general to get cheap meals and grog by having poker machines.

Obviously, considering the amount we spend on lotto, the money is in the family budget etc to spend.

Except that Lotterywest is a government run organisation that returns all its revenue as either winnings or grants to community groups - unlike Tatts (who basically run lotto around the country except for WA), Tabcorp and licensed RSL clubs.