Unofficial Preview Interstater's Survival Guide to Adelaide - [Finals Edition]

And monster burgers with a coupla nice chicks behind the bar. I miss the brunette bar chick at the Oxford.
There was a chick with massive cans at the union back in the day who I basically fell in love with every time I ordered a beer.

That's another thing, say what you like about Adelaide, the girls here are pretty bloody good.

If you're after taking someone home, should have quality pickings.

I would start off at one of:
Austral (Will have Coopers), Exeter (Will have Coopers), Belgium Beer Cafe, Street ADL, Hotel Richmond (Will have Coopers) or the Stag (Will have Coopers).
They are all fairly relaxed pubs/diners with a good chill atmosphere and all have a good view of taking in the surroundings.

From there, I would probably go to the Strathmore which is opposite the Casino and a 5-10 minute walk to the Oval.

imo the best pub pre-game is the Curious Squire at North Adelaide, but if you're already in the city may as well stay there.
What about the Dog & Duck for pregame for a while? Austrel and Union are closed Sundays.

There was a chick with massive cans at the union back in the day who I basically fell in love with every time I ordered a beer.

That's another thing, say what you like about Adelaide, the girls here are pretty bloody good.

Yeah, same as the chick at the Oxford, huge cans and perfect body, just gorgeous. Even my missus said she was hard to take your eyes off of and would nearly turn for her. Went in for lunch a few weeks ago and found out she's moved on. The Union has a lovely blonde when we were there. We had a 40th up stairs a few months ago too, private function deal. Was killer.

What about the Dog & Duck for pregame for a while? Austrel and Union are closed Sundays.
The Austral is 100% open on Sundays man, it's one of the more popular spots to get a casual beer while looking out to Rundle St.

Dog and Duck is alright I guess, there isn't a view of anything unless you get the one section near the DJ Decks, which is usually either taken - or has some wanky DJ gear.

I would honestly consider the white marquee bar for a little while before a game, its $5 beers so its pretty bloody decent. It aint hard to sneak in a couple to the game as well. Not that I would ever do that.

The Austral is 100% open on Sundays man, it's one of the more popular spots to get a casual beer while looking out to Rundle St.

Dog and Duck is alright I guess, there isn't a view of anything unless you get the one section near the DJ Decks, which is usually either taken - or has some wanky DJ gear.

I would honestly consider the white marquee bar for a little while before a game, its $5 beers so its pretty bloody decent. It aint hard to sneak in a couple to the game as well. Not that I would ever do that.
Will have a few in the CBD first and then head to the white marquee. * knows what will happen after the game, but win lose draw, it will be big.

Will have a few in the CBD first and then head to the white marquee. **** knows what will happen after the game, but win lose draw, it will be big.
There will be an after match thing somewhere, then head into town somewhere I reckon.

How old are you mate, happy to suggest a few pubs/clubs that suit your taste. I get to Melbourne a bit, so if you have a fav over there I can compare

Yeah. i would never go to Dan Murphy's at the Norwood Hotel before a game at the Parade and sneak a 6 pack of JW and Coke in the Mrs hand bag. I love paying $9 a can lol.

There will be an after match thing somewhere, then head into town somewhere I reckon.

How old are you mate, happy to suggest a few pubs/clubs that suit your taste. I get to Melbourne a bit, so if you have a fav over there I can compare
early 40s.
Happy for you to suggest a reputable 'house of ill repute' for much later :D:eek::oops:

early 40s.
Happy for you to suggest a reputable 'house of ill repute' for much later :D:eek::oops:
Strathmore is pretty good for a brew, that could work well as a starting point after the game.
The Palace is probably the best strip club in Adelaide, my ex misses's sister works there - and she's pretty smokin'.
But if you cbf walking that far, there is a place opposite the Casino called "The Firm" which supposedly goes alright.

If you want more than a strip, I wouldn't have a clue sorry mate.

Strathmore is pretty good for a brew, that could work well as a starting point after the game.
The Palace is probably the best strip club in Adelaide, my ex misses's sister works there - and she's pretty smokin'.
But if you cbf walking that far, there is a place opposite the Casino called "The Firm" which supposedly goes alright.

If you want more than a strip, I wouldn't have a clue sorry mate.
Was joking mate. The money I am spending on this trip means I will be ordering Maccas for dinner and probably drinking others leftovers as they leave them on the table.

Is lennies in glenelg still going or Jules on Hindley st, couple of great niteclubs might be worth kicking onto

Haha, now you're talking my era. Nah, sadly they are no more. Jules is now the Woolshed and Lennys is the Watermark. Too many Fri/Sat nights there with David Day and House Master W.

I didn't think so, mate my late grandmother lived a block away from the bay's home ground. My roots run very deep in SA , love glenelg

Yeah was killer Lenny's Tavern. Saw some killer bands there too. Use to see Magic Dirt back in the day there and saw Silver Chairs first Adelaide gig, was awesome plus all the usuals like the Angels.

The Watermark isn't a bad place, and the Holdy is a good spot - just opposite Glenelg Oval.

Yea well that was kinda the reason we kept going to Lenny's * knows what music was playing,

So me and a mate are staying at the meridian hotel. Where should i be looking for a good pub with a good feed and bar deals? Whats around?

as a guess, I think you're talking about that strange looking motel thing on Melbourne St, North Adelaide. If it is there is a bar/pub next door called the Lord Melbourne and as you walk towards the Oval, one of the most famous North Ad pubs - The Lion is on the left. If you walk 1 street back away from the city, one of the best hidden pubs in Adelaide, on Stanley St - The Kentish Arms, is a nice place, infact it would be a 1 min walk

So me and a mate are staying at the meridian hotel. Where should i be looking for a good pub with a good feed and bar deals? Whats around?
Map1.png
To the Right of the Screen: Hackney Hotel - Good bar, but out of the way if you're only around for a day or two.
Black Circle: Lord Melbourne Hotel - simple bar, but fairly cheap beers and a good place for a casual brew.
Red Circle: Butterfingers - Adelaides best pies, delish desserts and stuff like that.
Orange Circle: The Lion Hotel - Really good pub food, especially in the restaraunt. Good choice of beers as well. Goes alright on a weekend night also. Generally some pretty bangin' girls there. A little upperclass though sometimes (North Adelaide is a bit poshy in some places). Nice bar though.
Blue Circle: The Curious Squire - my choice of bars. 50 cent wings two hours before the game as well, and $5 pints of James Squire beers. Wicked outdoor area aswell. Get there early though for a table.
Purple Circle: Burgerstronomy - one of the better burger places in Adelaide. Their BBQ Bacon Chicken Burger is amazing. It's like KFC on crack.
Pink Circle: Queens Head Hotel - good place for a brew on the way to the oval if you decide to stop past the Curious Squire. As you can see, its a minute walk to the oval from there.

as a guess, I think you're talking about that strange looking motel thing on Melbourne St, North Adelaide. If it is there is a bar/pub next door called the Lord Melbourne and as you walk towards the Oval, one of the most famous North Ad pubs - The Lion is on the left. If you walk 1 street back away from the city, one of the best hidden pubs in Adelaide, on Stanley St - The Kentish Arms, is a nice place, infact it would be a 1 min walk
Yep thats it. Cool all sounds good.. appreciate it

View attachment 77212
To the Right of the Screen: Hackney Hotel - Good bar, but out of the way if you're only around for a day or two.
Black Circle: Lord Melbourne Hotel - simple bar, but fairly cheap beers and a good place for a casual brew.
Red Circle: Butterfingers - Adelaides best pies, delish desserts and stuff like that.
Orange Circle: The Lion Hotel - Really good pub food, especially in the restaraunt. Good choice of beers as well. Goes alright on a weekend night also. Generally some pretty bangin' girls there. A little upperclass though sometimes (North Adelaide is a bit poshy in some places). Nice bar though.
Blue Circle: The Curious Squire - my choice of bars. 50 cent wings two hours before the game as well, and $5 pints of James Squire beers. Wicked outdoor area aswell. Get there early though for a table.
Purple Circle: Burgerstronomy - one of the better burger places in Adelaide. Their BBQ Bacon Chicken Burger is amazing. It's like KFC on crack.
Pink Circle: Queens Head Hotel - good place for a brew on the way to the oval if you decide to stop past the Curious Squire. As you can see, its a minute walk to the oval from there.
Ahhh fantastic, the lion seems the go-er. Write up is much appreciated mate. Although 50c wings... good lord i could do some damage.