Let's talk Ports! Part 3

The Black and White Noise nails it again, in his blog article today.

If you finish top 4 you need to win 3 in a row against other top 4 sides, starting with winning the QF to give yourself the best chance to win a flag against other top 4 sides. Occasionally a top 4 side losses the QF and makes it to the GF.

The triple heavy weight champions in Brisbane in 2003, Hawthorn in 2015 and Richmond in 2020, lost the QF and then won a flag under the current finals system that started in 2000.

In 2005 and 2006 when Sydney and West Coast were in that 10 game run of tight finishes, the side that lost the QF won the GF rematch, by the same margin, ie Sydney 4pts in 2005 and WCE by 1pt in 2006.

We are none of the above.

If you finish 5th to 8th then you will face a top 4 side in the SF, win that, then again in the PF and so far since 2000, you have a 100% chance in the GF of playing a top 4 side.

Stuff Rucci and co banging on about Hinkley's great minor round win record of 60%. If you can't win 3 in a row against top 4 sides in the minor round, for over a decade, you aren't all of a sudden going to start doing it in September.

And given a 22% winning record against top 4 teams over Hinkley’s tenure, and the fact that 3 such wins in a row are required to win a premiership, the lack of belief is perhaps not surprising. In fact if you do the maths on winning 3 of those games in a row, with a 22% win rate, it works out to a roughly 2% chance of winning a flag, even after finishing in the top 4 at the end of the minor round.

Once again this is not new. We spoke about it at the end of 2023 in our article “the games that mean a thing”.

Current club President David Koch has been quoted as saying “We don’t want players who are living their dream just by playing AFL footy, we want players who want to win a premiership. If they’re not prepared… they’re not players that we want”.

Let’s hope this thinking extends to the coaches, board members and presidents, because as previously stated it takes 3 wins in a row against top 4 quality teams to win a flag.
Just did a quick check on the status of this. Records for the following 'contenders' against top 4 sides between 2020 and 2023:
Brisbane: 8-9
Melbourne: 6-10
Geelong: 8-9
Collingwood: 6-12
Port: 4-12

So even Collingwood, who finished 17th in 2021 have a better record against top 4 sides than we have in that time. Only other side of note is Melbourne who went 0-4 in both 2022 and 2020.

C4 on the main board says Port

"need more accountability on the board from certain members"

When asked which ones he said

"The ones that are there only for their CV (not even Port people!) and then leak media to Caro whenever they want to score points."

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

C4 on the main board says Port

"need more accountability on the board from certain members"

When asked which ones he said

"The ones that are there only for their CV (not even Port people!) and then leak media to Caro whenever they want to score points."

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Being a barnacle on the Board of an organisation that treads water and is going to fail dismally at its 5 year plan is not the CV highlight some might think it is

Heads up for future TV coverage this year.

Crows game today is on a 3 hour delay. Its all part of the last 7 years TV deal, where the 2 SA and 2 WA teams will each have 3 of their Fox Footy produced games delayed by 3 hours.

Its usually a Saturday arvo game, odd occasion its been a Saturday twlight game shown after the news, I can't remember a Sunday early game been shown from 4 pm, but the odd Sunday 4pm game has been shown at 7pm.

Our Rd 9 game is against North in Tassie and start time is 1.15pm SA time and then Rd 15 is Brisbane at AO at 1.15pm and they will probably both be on a 3 hour delay. At least 1 will be.

Rd 14 GWS in Sydney is a Sunday 4pm game, so given the broadcasters don't know what the fixture will be after Rd 15, that too could be on 3 hour delay, to make sure that is Port's 3 games on delay locked in.

Apologies if it’s already been mentioned, but anyone else notice that pyramid image put up on the wall of the race which featured a series of images and labels, two of which I could see were “family” (bottom right) and “marginal gains” (at the peak).

Looked very ‘now’.

Apologies if it’s already been mentioned, but anyone else notice that pyramid image put up on the wall of the race which featured a series of images and labels, two of which I could see were “family” (bottom right) and “marginal gains” (at the peak).

Looked very ‘now’.
images - 2024-04-27T142043.227.jpeg

Looked very ‘now’.
Marginal gains, energy, family, belief, courage, and trust.

Looked very ‘now’.
Yep, managed to take a picture of it

IMG_7315.jpeg

Looked very ‘now’.
Family.
Marginal gains, energy, family, belief, courage, and trust.
At least those four nicely fit in with something like this. :smirk: