Opinion Ranking the Rioli's (who have played AFL).

1. Cyril
2. Maurice snr
3. Dean
4. Junior
5. Maurice jnr
6. Daniel
You don't rate 4 goals in a prelim?

I rate Daniel very highly

This is not an everyday list is it? It's like ranking supermodels.

OMG that is proper delusion, in no lifetime does Daniel ever go past Cyril. Daniel was a failed forward pocket player, couldn't get a kick and got dropped and has now reinvented himself to be an unaccountable half back flank, they are a dime a dozen in the league. Cyril (and Dean) had traits that can turn a game with one play, this cannot be categorised with stats but anyone with a basic understanding of footy who watched these players knows they just had 'it' Eddie Betts had 'it' Dusty has 'it' Daniel Rioli doesnt have it.
well done...So Dan Rioli is your definition of a three-premierships-'failed small forward'

when the literal 'one wood' of Richmond circa 2017 was small forwards applying manic pressure and turning the ball over up the ground.

But maybe you just startedwatching footy this year?
In that case, understandable.

Most talented
Most damaging
Most exciting
Most skilful

Cyril has won 4 flags, including a Norm.
He's comfortably above Dan in my book.
understand, totally, your list of 'the best players' looks like the list of Brownlow winners, right?
Come on..admit it. You are in the vast majority.

It's nearly 30 years since a defender (Wanganeen) won a Brownlow, and that has been internalised by newbies. At the time he was considered to have revolutionised the game as a mercurial rebounding defender.

Dan is not quite there yet, but he is developing into that sort of player. After winning 3 cups as a small forward.

But I get it...all about mids and forwards right? Defense is a step down + back. :rolleyes:

Cyril is certainly a great player but dont forget Maurice played 120 odd games with STh Fremantle before his VFL career where he carved it up when back in the day the wafl was in its heyday and a fantastic comp. Also his SOO career for WA was amazing. i saw him play for South Freo and he was untouchable. I reckon if those 120 WAFL games were converted into VFL he would be neck and neck with CYril.
Maurice’s own mother once said that Cyril had him covered.

Fair enough,

Maybe I'm biased considering I'm a Richmond supporter and West Aussie, but God damn I loved watching Maurice Snr play for South Freo & Richmond.

Cyril is right up there as well.
You're not biased
Maurice Rioli was one of the greatest players ever. He put teams on his shoulders, over and over, at the highest level. He was not only sublimely gifted with the ball, he brought an emphasis on two way running and pressure without the ball that was well before his time.
It isn't even close as to who the greatest Rioli is.

Maurice senior.
I still remember the G Tiger crowd ooohing at stuff he did back then,amazing player,
Cyril,was a freak player for Hawthorn when on song,fast,skillful and a tackling machine.
Daniel,a rock of gibraltar in defense,had a terrific start(kicked a freak goal against West Coast which marked his arrival on the footy stage),then went through a bit of a lull but now an incredible footballer in defense,very smart user.
Junior (Willie)Glad to see him back playing for Port as he was one of the Eagles best players and you can never have enough of the Rioli brilliance on the football field.
Dean Another prodigous talent ,he’s a Rioli,nuff said.
Junior,Junior has just started his career at Tigerland but I’m hoping he moves up this list,showing great signs so far,fun to watch his progress.

Senior was my hero at Tigerland,just an amazing footballer and the best of the lot imo.

It was the late 80’s early 90’s, in Melbournes inner North. On Weekends a group of us would often get together and play at the local park.

We were all pretty handy footballers, some of us went on to play at a decent level. Some of us could have gone on to play at the highest level but that’s another story.

It was a sunny winter Sunday afternoon, we all gathered once again to play a game of 10 on 10. It always changed as more kids would join in and we’d just make it up as we went along. Sometimes it was lob sided 8 on 10 or 11 on 13 or more, the numbers always varied depending on the quality of the boys playing, the score or who was around. We tried to even it up so there was always a last goal wins scenario no matter the score.

We would mark the ground about 90 to 100 meters apart. On one end was a huge tree that we used as a goal post along with our jumpers or whatever we could find. We didn’t bother with points it was only goals we counted. On occasions it got serious, kids would rock up with football boots, shin guards, mouth guards, and have a real crack, we loved it.

On this one day a young indigenous kid walked past and asked if he could join in and have a kick. Everyone got a run, we didn't care, the neighbourhood was full of kids and whoever wanted to play could play, young and old. I took a liking to this kid with a huge smile, we were roughly the same age, he was quick and had great skills so I wanted to compete with him. We went head to head for hours. After running around for several hours, 2 or 3 hours, we never really kept time, a lot of goals were kicked (say 40 or 50 each) we broke about even. We were all pretty exhausted , some of us got injured, the typical rolled ankles, bumps and bruises, or sore feet from wearing football boots that were either too big or too small.

At the end of the game we high fived one another and invited this young indigenous kid to come back next week. He smiled and said sure, thanks for the game it was fun. As he walked away, whilst we were all sitting on the grass capturing our breadth and attending to our injuries the usual banter started about who did what and general chat about the highlights of the game, the best goal, mark etc. Just taking the piss out of each other really.

I don’t remember who it was that said it, but we all stopped for a while and just smiled with amazement. “Hey guys, you do realise he did it all whilst running around bare footed for hours“.

I ended up playing over 200 games of senior football for several clubs at a decent level. Whilst it was just a fun, casual scratch match at a park I never saw a kid as good as him and able to do what he did, especially kicking the ball brilliantly bare footed for hours without flinching, until Cyril came along several decades later.

We never saw that kid again, for the next few weeks we would wonder and hope that he would turn up and play, but he never did - his name was Willie. We didn’t know nor realise he was drafted by Hawthorn. That was over 30 years ago and I remember it like it was yesterday.

So, for me, maybe it’s because I’m older now and feeling nostalgic and reminiscing, it is Cyril on top and Willie Rioli Snr (RIP) at number 2.

well done...So Dan Rioli is your definition of a three-premierships-'failed small forward'

when the literal 'one wood' of Richmond circa 2017 was small forwards applying manic pressure and turning the ball over up the ground.

But maybe you just startedwatching footy this year?
In that case, understandable.
Nah... Daniel Rioli hasn't exactly set the world on fire thus far in his career

Had a good season last year.

2016 Jack Dyer Medal
1st – Dustin Martin, 62 votes
2nd – Alex Rance, 61 votes
3rd – Trent Cotchin, 51 votes
4th – Jack Riewoldt, 43 votes
5th – Shaun Grigg, 35 votes
6th – Anthony Miles, 31 votes
7th – Dylan Grimes, Brandon Ellis, 30 votes
9th – Nick Vlastuin, 29 votes
10th – Brett Deledio, 28 votes
11th – David Astbury, 27 votes
12th – Shane Edwards, Sam Lloyd, Shaun Hampson, 26 votes
15th – Taylor Hunt, 25 votes
16th – Daniel Rioli, 21 votes
17th – Bachar Houli, 18 votes
18th – Ty Vickery, Steven Morris, 15 votes
20th – Ben Griffiths, 14 votes

2017 Jack Dyer Medal
1st – Dustin Martin, 89 votes
2nd – Alex Rance, 80 votes
3rd – Kane Lambert, 76 votes
4th – Trent Cotchin, 73 votes
5th – Dylan Grimes, 69 votes
6th – Shaun Grigg, 58 votes
7th – Jack Riewoldt, 57 votes
8th – Bachar Houli, Dan Butler, 56 votes
10th – Dion Prestia, 52 votes
11th – Brandon Ellis, 50 votes
12th – Daniel Rioli, 49 votes
13th – Shane Edwards, Toby Nankervis, 45 votes
15th – David Astbury, 44 votes
16th – Jason Castagna, 41 votes
17th – Nick Vlastuin, 40 votes
18th – Kamdyn McIntosh, 34 votes
19th – Josh Caddy, 31 votes
20th – Nathan Broad, 19 votes

2018 Jack Dyer Medal
1st – Jack Riewoldt, 81 votes
2nd – Kane Lambert, 68 votes
3rd – Dustin Martin, 66 votes
4th – Shane Edwards, 65 votes
5th – Dylan Grimes, 64 votes
6th – Alex Rance, 63 votes
7th – Trent Cotchin, 58 votes
8th – Nick Vlastuin, 51 votes
9th – Jayden Short, 47 votes
10th – Josh Caddy, 45 votes
11th – Dion Prestia, 43 votes
12th – David Astbury, 42 votes
13th – Toby Nankervis, 40 votes
14th – Kamdyn McIntosh, Jason Castagna, 39 votes
16th – Jack Higgins, 38 votes
17th – Shaun Grigg, 36 votes
18th – Dan Butler, 33 votes
19th – Nathan Broad, 31 votes
20th – Daniel Rioli, Reece Conca, 28 votes

2019 Jack Dyer Medal
1st – Dion Prestia, 91 votes
2nd – Shane Edwards, 79 votes
3rd – Dylan Grimes, 75 votes
4th – Nick Vlastuin, 70 votes
5th – Tom Lynch, 69 votes
6th – Dustin Martin, 67 votes
7th – Bachar Houli, 64 votes
8th – Kane Lambert, 63 votes
9th – David Astbury, 55 votes
10th – Daniel Rioli, Jason Castagna, 47 votes
12th – Brandon Ellis, 45 votes
13th – Liam Baker, Sydney Stack, 41 votes
15th – Kamdyn McIntosh, 34 votes
16th – Nathan Broad, Jack Graham, 31 votes
18th – Shai Bolton, 29 votes
19th – Trent Cotchin, 26 votes
20th – Josh Caddy, 24 votes

2020 Jack Dyer Medal
1st – Jayden Short, 53 votes
2nd – Dustin Martin, 50
3rd – Nick Vlastuin, 49
4th – Shai Bolton, 44
5th – Kamdyn McIntosh, 43
6th – Liam Baker, 42
7th – Dylan Grimes, 41
8th – Noah Balta, 40
9th – Kane Lambert, 39
10th – Trent Cotchin, 37
11th – Jack Graham, 34
12th – Tom Lynch, 33
13th – Jason Castagna, 32
14th – Daniel Rioli, Jack Riewoldt, 29
16th – Jake Aarts, Toby Nankervis, 28
18th – Marlion Pickett, 26
19th – Shane Edwards, 22
20th – Bachar Houli, 19

2021 Jack Dyer Medal
1st – Dylan Grimes, 51 votes
2nd – Jack Graham, Liam Baker, 46
4th – Shai Bolton, 45
5th – Dustin Martin, Jack Riewoldt, 40
7th – Jayden Short, 39
8th – Tom Lynch, 38
9th – Kane Lambert, 35
10th – Trent Cotchin, Nathan Broad, 33
12th – Toby Nankervis, 32
13th – Daniel Rioli, Marlion Pickett, Jake Aarts, 28
16th – Kamdyn McIntosh, Jason Castagna, 27
18th – Dion Prestia, David Astbury, 26
20th – Shane Edwards, Nick Vlastuin, 25

2022 Jack Dyer Medal
1st – Tom Lynch, 60
2nd – Daniel Rioli, 59
3rd – Dion Prestia, 56
4th – Shai Bolton, Liam Baker, 53
6th – Trent Cotchin, Jayden Short, 52
8th – Toby Nankervis, Marlion Pickett, 47
10th – Nathan Broad, 46
11th – Nick Vlastuin, Robbie Tarrant, 44
13th – Dylan Grimes, Kamdyn McIntosh, 39
15th – Jack Riewoldt, 34
16th – Jack Graham, 32
17th – Shane Edwards, Maurice Rioli Jr, 23
19th – Dustin Martin, Noah Cumberland, 19

Nah... Daniel Rioli hasn't exactly set the world on fire thus far in his career

Had a good season last year.

2016 Jack Dyer Medal
1st – Dustin Martin, 62 votes
2nd – Alex Rance, 61 votes
3rd – Trent Cotchin, 51 votes
4th – Jack Riewoldt, 43 votes
5th – Shaun Grigg, 35 votes
6th – Anthony Miles, 31 votes
7th – Dylan Grimes, Brandon Ellis, 30 votes
9th – Nick Vlastuin, 29 votes
10th – Brett Deledio, 28 votes
11th – David Astbury, 27 votes
12th – Shane Edwards, Sam Lloyd, Shaun Hampson, 26 votes
15th – Taylor Hunt, 25 votes
16th – Daniel Rioli, 21 votes
17th – Bachar Houli, 18 votes
18th – Ty Vickery, Steven Morris, 15 votes
20th – Ben Griffiths, 14 votes

2017 Jack Dyer Medal
1st – Dustin Martin, 89 votes
2nd – Alex Rance, 80 votes
3rd – Kane Lambert, 76 votes
4th – Trent Cotchin, 73 votes
5th – Dylan Grimes, 69 votes
6th – Shaun Grigg, 58 votes
7th – Jack Riewoldt, 57 votes
8th – Bachar Houli, Dan Butler, 56 votes
10th – Dion Prestia, 52 votes
11th – Brandon Ellis, 50 votes
12th – Daniel Rioli, 49 votes
13th – Shane Edwards, Toby Nankervis, 45 votes
15th – David Astbury, 44 votes
16th – Jason Castagna, 41 votes
17th – Nick Vlastuin, 40 votes
18th – Kamdyn McIntosh, 34 votes
19th – Josh Caddy, 31 votes
20th – Nathan Broad, 19 votes

2018 Jack Dyer Medal
1st – Jack Riewoldt, 81 votes
2nd – Kane Lambert, 68 votes
3rd – Dustin Martin, 66 votes
4th – Shane Edwards, 65 votes
5th – Dylan Grimes, 64 votes
6th – Alex Rance, 63 votes
7th – Trent Cotchin, 58 votes
8th – Nick Vlastuin, 51 votes
9th – Jayden Short, 47 votes
10th – Josh Caddy, 45 votes
11th – Dion Prestia, 43 votes
12th – David Astbury, 42 votes
13th – Toby Nankervis, 40 votes
14th – Kamdyn McIntosh, Jason Castagna, 39 votes
16th – Jack Higgins, 38 votes
17th – Shaun Grigg, 36 votes
18th – Dan Butler, 33 votes
19th – Nathan Broad, 31 votes
20th – Daniel Rioli, Reece Conca, 28 votes

2019 Jack Dyer Medal
1st – Dion Prestia, 91 votes
2nd – Shane Edwards, 79 votes
3rd – Dylan Grimes, 75 votes
4th – Nick Vlastuin, 70 votes
5th – Tom Lynch, 69 votes
6th – Dustin Martin, 67 votes
7th – Bachar Houli, 64 votes
8th – Kane Lambert, 63 votes
9th – David Astbury, 55 votes
10th – Daniel Rioli, Jason Castagna, 47 votes
12th – Brandon Ellis, 45 votes
13th – Liam Baker, Sydney Stack, 41 votes
15th – Kamdyn McIntosh, 34 votes
16th – Nathan Broad, Jack Graham, 31 votes
18th – Shai Bolton, 29 votes
19th – Trent Cotchin, 26 votes
20th – Josh Caddy, 24 votes

2020 Jack Dyer Medal
1st – Jayden Short, 53 votes
2nd – Dustin Martin, 50
3rd – Nick Vlastuin, 49
4th – Shai Bolton, 44
5th – Kamdyn McIntosh, 43
6th – Liam Baker, 42
7th – Dylan Grimes, 41
8th – Noah Balta, 40
9th – Kane Lambert, 39
10th – Trent Cotchin, 37
11th – Jack Graham, 34
12th – Tom Lynch, 33
13th – Jason Castagna, 32
14th – Daniel Rioli, Jack Riewoldt, 29
16th – Jake Aarts, Toby Nankervis, 28
18th – Marlion Pickett, 26
19th – Shane Edwards, 22
20th – Bachar Houli, 19

2021 Jack Dyer Medal
1st – Dylan Grimes, 51 votes
2nd – Jack Graham, Liam Baker, 46
4th – Shai Bolton, 45
5th – Dustin Martin, Jack Riewoldt, 40
7th – Jayden Short, 39
8th – Tom Lynch, 38
9th – Kane Lambert, 35
10th – Trent Cotchin, Nathan Broad, 33
12th – Toby Nankervis, 32
13th – Daniel Rioli, Marlion Pickett, Jake Aarts, 28
16th – Kamdyn McIntosh, Jason Castagna, 27
18th – Dion Prestia, David Astbury, 26
20th – Shane Edwards, Nick Vlastuin, 25

2022 Jack Dyer Medal
1st – Tom Lynch, 60
2nd – Daniel Rioli, 59
3rd – Dion Prestia, 56
4th – Shai Bolton, Liam Baker, 53
6th – Trent Cotchin, Jayden Short, 52
8th – Toby Nankervis, Marlion Pickett, 47
10th – Nathan Broad, 46
11th – Nick Vlastuin, Robbie Tarrant, 44
13th – Dylan Grimes, Kamdyn McIntosh, 39
15th – Jack Riewoldt, 34
16th – Jack Graham, 32
17th – Shane Edwards, Maurice Rioli Jr, 23
19th – Dustin Martin, Noah Cumberland, 19
He did knock maybe GWS’ all time best side out of a prelim

That’s prob his greatest single contribution, good but not great in The grand finals

Side bar... A mate of mine who was a handy footballer, went to live in Darwin for a year or so to play footy.

In his first game, one of the Rioli's was playing. My mate, in his first play in his first game tackled him, and ground him into turf. Nothing illegal or nasty, just normal tough footy. But hard. Dumped him.

He got up, then Rioli got up. My mate was proud of himself, and almost half expected that he'd earnt the respect of Rioli, by playing the game hard and being physical. He almost, naively, thought he'd be acknowledged and sort of build some camaraderie with him, whilst also impressing his new teammates....

...but no.

Rioli got up and punched him square in the face. Put him on his arse. Then ran off to the next play.

Maurice was good very good, but a couple of his former team mates at Souths were his equal or better.Stephen Michael and his Maurices cousin Benny Vigona.
Stephen Michael probably the best West Aussie of that era not to play in the VFL from what i heard. Michael Aish of Norwood probably the SANFL player of same era that did not play in this league that was a shame he did not spend a year or two.

yep, for now, but Daniel might go past Cyril in a couple of years, one cup less, but transformation to elite rebounding defender puts Dan in a different class to the rest in terms of versatility

Cyril 'cost' himself possibly with early retirement

but as if any of them care

Daniel has exactly no chance of going past Cyril.

Maurice, Cyril.......daylight......Daniel....and then who cares?

That's no slight on Daniel by the way. He's top quality. It's just that the other two are genuine footballing freaks.

Stephen Michael probably the best West Aussie of that era not to play in the VFL from what i heard. Michael Aish of Norwood probably the SANFL player of same era that did not play in this league that was a shame he did not spend a year or two.

People who would know reckon that Stephen Michael is amongst the greatest footballers of all time, despite never having played in the VFL.

I wish I had seen him play.