Recreational Riders: Rides, Events Anything

Haha, I'll have to have a look for them!

Thanks so much for all of that info. I've downloaded the app.

I'm in agony, but I really want to test the app.. so I might have to go tomorrow morning.

There is a cycling group up here. I see them now and then I think on a Saturday. But it's a bit intimidating. They are all fully decked out with the road bikes and gear, and look pretty fast.
I don't even have a helmet.

Here is my current ride! http://imgur.com/aq20Cmu

Helmets are required by law in most states - I'm surprised if not in NT, but that may be the case.

That bike is a mountain bike or at best some sort of urban hybrid bike. It's designed for going up and down hills, tight turns and riding over bumpy and loose sections of track or roadway. It will always be hard work and much slower than traditional road bikes on long stretches of sealed road or sealed bike trail. Is this your bike or did you get it 2nd hand?

I think you need to first decide what type of riding you want to do (e.g. how often, distance, terrain, road surface?) and what purpose you are trying to achieve (commuting, fitness, relaxation, racing, social interaction?). Then we can offer you better suggestions.

so. how did everyone go at 3P?

i did just over 12 hours (we really took it slowly after the falls 9 @ 9)

amazing ride, punishing, beautiful, it had everything.

would recommend to anyone looking for a challenge.

vic alps are so beautiful, i would love to go back for a week to do some more. we also snuck in the happy valley scenic drive (from myrtleford and back), that was a great use of an afternoon.

It was the most amazing scenery i have experienced (in between drooling on my handlebars). Especially up Hotham, and what a perfect day we got. Still staggered at the winners time of 7 and a half hours with Average speed of over 30. That is insane and they smoked 3 Drapac riders (although i dont think they went too hard looking at their finish times).

3 Peaks was awesome.

I cam 24th overall and did it in 8 hours 29. My Strava file is here. http://www.strava.com/activities/118911535

Anyone keen for a challenge should def tick this one off - i will be back next year to try and beat my time

great effort!

I missed out on 3P (never done it before either) so decided to do the inaugural Audax Hotham Challenge 200 from Dinner Plain to Buffalo Dingo Dell back to Dinner Plain.

Saw some of the 3P groups along the valley between Harrietville & Bright (we were going in the opposite direction) and they were motoring! That section heading towards Hotham is false on dead road, and I absolutely hated it in the AHC in the arvo with the head wind too. There had to be plenty who blew up on the south/east side of Falls in 3P which I've heard is a monster (never seen it myself) or they were just strong riders, and that's coming after the pinch up Tawonga & the long climb up Hotham.

For me, the Hotham Challenge was a great experience. I've never climbed Hotham and starting it with a climb up Buffalo and 160km already in the legs wasn't as bad as I thought it would be.....................until the two stings up CRB Hill & Diamentina. CRB was a challenge. Steep but short enough for me @1km and 11% with my gear ratio. Diamentina up to the highest point of any sealed pass in Australia overlooking Loch Pond was a campaigner if I may so, especially after the burn in the legs up CRB 3 mins earlier and the whole day itself. Longer than CRB (just over 2km i think) and just as steep or steeper (saw 15% on my Garmin at one stage) and just seemed to go on. Did it with a 39/29 which was fine for the Alpine Classic up Falls & Buffalo, but will definitely get a compact for the next time i do Hotham with kms already in the legs, or if a get into 3P..............or perhaps I'll just work on my big gear hill intervals between now and next year.

next challenge in the next month is a ride from Sydney's inner west down to the south coast town of berry via Macquarie Pass which is a first 9km around 8%, steepish climb in corners that levels out for the last three km's to 12km. Got a weekend function down there so am thinking, WTF - let's ride it............the scenic route!

http://goo.gl/maps/CkwTu

Argh! Anyone else here that signed up for the beechworth gran fondo? Email today that event has been cancelled due to lack of entries. Must have been a hard decision for organizers, but so frustrating when you have already booked accom, leave, ppl to cover shifts etc!!

Yes and annoyed about it. Would like to hear more about what went on behind scenes here. Claiming lack of entries is simplistic, given they haven't updated their website or been active on social media (except maybe facebook) for last 2 months. I sent them an email 2 weeks ago that was never answered, and the local tourist office didn't have any details about the event beyond what was released 6 months ago. It is a crowded market place for paid-participation cycling events, and charity rides, they have to be supported and promoted.

I suspect the problem here was commitment for closed roads for granfondo and closing main street for cyclocross. Closing roads costs money and requires support of local govt and local community. Support probably evaporated when it became clear the events weren't bringing many punters into the area to stimulate the local economy.

Yes and annoyed about it. Would like to hear more about what went on behind scenes here. Claiming lack of entries is simplistic, given they haven't updated their website or been active on social media (except maybe facebook) for last 2 months. I sent them an email 2 weeks ago that was never answered, and the local tourist office didn't have any details about the event beyond what was released 6 months ago. It is a crowded market place for paid-participation cycling events, and charity rides, they have to be supported and promoted.

I suspect the problem here was commitment for closed roads for granfondo and closing main street for cyclocross. Closing roads costs money and requires support of local govt and local community. Support probably evaporated when it became clear the events weren't bringing many punters into the area to stimulate the local economy.

Sadly I tend to agree with everything you've said. The closed roads was the main reason I decided to sign up. My accom deposit is non-refundable and already booked the mon off. So will still head up and do the ride regardless. Might be a few others there doing the same I reckon.

probably a s**t time of year considering 3P in the month as well and the Mansfield High Country Challenge next week as well as the NSW Ultimate Snowy Challenge.

Didn't know the beechworth event was on at all. Was it to be the inaugural edition? would've been great on closed roads too.

you vics are so lucky with all the great cycling events on offer.

Last year was first time. I didn't go, but think it was in early or mid April last year. March is probably best weather for cycling in the vic north east, but as you say it is crowded with competing events. From reports attendance last year wasn't huge (100s?) but everyone thought it was pretty good and expected it to grow as a regular event. Maybe organisers were too slack and just expected people to come back without having to do much promotion.

Last year they also had 2 fondo rides - about 170km I think and a medio about 65k. So they catered for both the good riders after something a bit epic, plus partners and friends who wanted to take it a bit easier. This year they just had 1 fondo ride 115km - which isn't challenging for many, and maybe too big for partners and friends. So that might be an issue to lessen attraction for potential travellers. Also someone suggested that it clashed with a Rapha Gentlemen's ride but I am not in the Rapha loop so don't know about that. I think a big RACV Otway ride is on next weekend as well.

Whatever the reason, the organisers made a complete hash of it. Cancelling 2 weeks before is an epic fail. They will probably find it difficult to get trust from travelling riders again given there are lots of alternative events.

Helmets are required by law in most states - I'm surprised if not in NT, but that may be the case.
It probably is. I've never looked in to it. Haven't been pulled over yet, or killed. Going to grab a helmet tomorrow.

That bike is a mountain bike or at best some sort of urban hybrid bike. It's designed for going up and down hills, tight turns and riding over bumpy and loose sections of track or roadway. It will always be hard work and much slower than traditional road bikes on long stretches of sealed road or sealed bike trail. Is this your bike or did you get it 2nd hand?
Yeah, I bought it about 8 years ago. I told them I was just after a bike for casual riding and exercise.
Showing my ignorance, I just didn't think there was that large a difference overall.

I think you need to first decide what type of riding you want to do (e.g. how often, distance, terrain, road surface?) and what purpose you are trying to achieve (commuting, fitness, relaxation, racing, social interaction?). Then we can offer you better suggestions.
Sorry.
I'm riding twice a day, footpath and road.
I'd like to do long distances, and speed. I wouldn't mind one day joining the local riding group.
It's mainly for fitness, but I really do enjoy riding.

I've done about 400ks in a week. My wrists are killing me.

I'm 110kg, so would I need to stick to mountain bikes like mine? Am I too heavy for the slimmer roadbikes?

Sorry again about knowing so little.
And thanks for your help.

Re: Beechworth, last year with the longer distance there was NRS teams like Drapac and AWS using it as a training ride with the closed roads, but they still only got 160 people start. Looks like they got the date wrong this year with the week before having a lot on at Buller and Mansfield with racing and the rec rides. Matt DeNeef and Hells 500 have tapped into the rec ride market a bit though with the 7 peaks rides being free of charge. The Lake Mountain Challenge numbers two weeks ago were well down on last year.

3 Peaks was awesome.

I cam 24th overall and did it in 8 hours 29. My Strava file is here. http://www.strava.com/activities/118911535

Anyone keen for a challenge should def tick this one off - i will be back next year to try and beat my time

8 and a half hours, big effort! :eek:

did you skip a few of the stops?

and did you have much of a group to ride with?

that's really an amazing time, chapeau! :thumbsu::thumbsu:

I'm 110kg, so would I need to stick to mountain bikes like mine? Am I too heavy for the slimmer roadbikes?

if you keep riding 400kms a week you won't be 110kgs for long, however i am sure you could find a slimmer road bike which could carry your frame in the meantime.

and i would dare say you'll find a bike with curved handlebars (road bike) would help you out with the sore wrists, the flatbar bikes really seem to do a number on people's wrists and shoulders when riding for prolonged periods.

if you keep riding 400kms a week you won't be 110kgs for long, however i am sure you could find a slimmer road bike which could carry your frame in the meantime.

and i would dare say you'll find a bike with curved handlebars (road bike) would help you out with the sore wrists, the flatbar bikes really seem to do a number on people's wrists and shoulders when riding for prolonged periods.
Haha, it's been a week! Why don't I have visible abs yet??

Thanks.
Yeah, my shoulders and neck are bloody sore as well. I'm not sure if it's the right size for me, as I ride with a bit of a curved back to reach the handlebar.

I did originally buy it at a specialist bike store, and they measured me and put it together as the perfect fit. I didn't question it at the time.

Might stick with this bike for another month, make sure it's not a fad.

But riding is addicting!

8 and a half hours, big effort! :eek:

did you skip a few of the stops?

and did you have much of a group to ride with?

that's really an amazing time, chapeau! :thumbsu::thumbsu:

I got caught out by not getting to start early enough, so whilst i was in the fist wave to be let out i was towards the back. I descended front of Falls pretty quick and woul dhave been probably in the second group on the road.

I debated whether to go hard up Tawonga to get on to the front group but in the end sat in and was with what ended up being a group of guys that finished between 12th and 25th, so it was a pretty fast group and we all worked hard together. I think i did a bit too much work and suffered up the back of falls. However, i think everyone suffers up there. Its the hardest climb ive done and i have done some tough ones.

Stoked to finish in the top 25. Will aim for closer to 8 next year.

I stopped at Dinner Plain, Anglers Rest as well as Trapyard Gap to refill bottles (all up about 9 mins of stopping).

I've moved from Perth to Vancouver recently to undertake a Masters program at UBC and I'm doing a study about the involvement and commitment people give to their primary interests. My love for cycling took on a whole new level while in Australia so hoped that some of you might have an interest in taking part in my study. All responses are confidential and for my own learning only.

All other info is in the link. No offense taken if you kick me out for interrupting your discussion but would be really grateful if you could help a student out ( complete my short survey and share with others who have your interest...)

People who have taken it so far have told me they enjoyed taking it so hope you do to:

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/11eShR-miwdRjqGWxL6uZQyd61dcV-S3sxRFiXP9y2C0/viewform

Lots of bike events up at Mansfield this weekend. Scody High Country Challenge, Crits on Saturday afternoon / evening, Mt.Buller Road Race today. All very well organised.

It probably is. I've never looked in to it. Haven't been pulled over yet, or killed. Going to grab a helmet tomorrow.

Yeah, I bought it about 8 years ago. I told them I was just after a bike for casual riding and exercise.
Showing my ignorance, I just didn't think there was that large a difference overall.

I'm riding twice a day, footpath and road.
I'd like to do long distances, and speed. I wouldn't mind one day joining the local riding group.
It's mainly for fitness, but I really do enjoy riding.

OK a few suggestions. Basically if you want to ride long distances on roads, and ride fast, and get fit - you'll love a road bike.

A road bike will take your weight no probs. But if you are in habit of bumping over kerbs or through deep potholes with the front suspension fork of your current bike you will have to stop that - road bike wheel rims don't like that stuff and there is no suspension.

Sore wrists, neck etc isn't a good thing. I suspect you are gripping handle bar too tight and thrashing around trying to go faster. If so, you should try to be more like a duck swimming - upper body still and relaxed, but below water legs going around like crazy. Also riding a road bike in proper position will turn your wrists around, bend your elbows and tuck them into your sides - this should take stress off muscles across your shoulders.

My suggestion would be to go to local bike shop and try a modern road bike (doesn't have to be top of range). Make sure you get person serving you to show you how to ride "on the hoods" - i.e. braking with fingers over top of the brakes, and also how to change the gears from that position. It will be pretty different to your bike I think. Being bent over so much will probably feel strange in the shop, and a bit unstable - but it will feel much better when you get moving, and even better the faster you go.

Whatever you buy now you will probably want to change in a year. So an idea would be to try to find a 2nd hand road bike to use as a start. Even an old steel frame will do the job if it is right size for you - but make sure you get one with combined aero brakes / gear shifters.

I entered Ironman Melbourne 2015 eeek

we
I entered Ironman Melbourne 2015 eeek
well done mate
Wife and I are toying with grabbing an entry down the track through insider means. Toss up between that and NZ depending on how Cairns and Busso IM both go this year. Wifey has a chance to win an entry at the Worlds 70.3 in Canada so need to keep a few coins spare
After watching this years it seems a inviting race type.
They recently changed Cairns swim from in front of the marina to this horrible looking place
slide2.jpg