List Mgmt. Should The Eagles Request A Priority Assistance Package at The End of This Year?

Should The Eagles Request A Priority Assistance Package at The End of This Year?

Absolutely make the request.
In a comp where:
  • better performing teams higher on the ladder have to play their home finals at opposition home grounds,
  • some clubs had ridiculous access to NGAs,
  • where the GF must be at the MCG,
  • basket-case beggar clubs get pick 2 for a mediocre defender, and
  • Tassie coming in to further compromise at least 2 drafts,
the club should take what it can with both fists.

And if AFLHQ decides the club doesnt deserve an outright assistance pick or two, then settle for pick 2 compensation for Rotham. Or Trew. The precedent has been set.

While we've ****ed a lot of things with some of our own internal decision making, for me the key points validating a request for priority assistance are:
  • Tight turnarounds during COVID-affected seasons inequitably impacted WA players due to higher travel requirements. It's either probability or Freo's younger list profile that meant they escaped as much harm, but imo it definitely contributed to compounding our injury crisis
  • As mentioned elsewhere, loss of Venables and Sheppard due to concussion damaged us in two key areas - mid-20s players in their prime, and senior player depth.
But most importantly, as laid out by Duff
  • The AFL has taken WC's financial success for granted for a long time. They don't have to support football development in WA because WAFC does it, via WC's financial success. The more time WC spends languishing, the poorer the state of WA football grows. At a certain point, they'll have to do the accounting calculation and realise they could end up damaging the entire competition. It'd be just desserts for how inequitable the competition currently is outside of VIC imo, but I obviously don't want to see that.

While we've ****ed a lot of things with some of our own internal decision making, for me the key points validating a request for priority assistance are:
  • Tight turnarounds during COVID-affected seasons inequitably impacted WA players due to higher travel requirements. It's either probability or Freo's younger list profile that meant they escaped as much harm, but imo it definitely contributed to compounding our injury crisis
  • As mentioned elsewhere, loss of Venables and Sheppard due to concussion damaged us in two key areas - mid-20s players in their prime, and senior player depth.
  • The AFL has taken WC's financial success for granted for a long time. They don't have to support football development in WA because WAFC does it, via WC's financial success. The more time WC spends languishing, the poorer the state of WA football grows. At a certain point, they'll have to do the accounting calculation and realise they could end up damaging the entire competition. It'd be just desserts for how inequitable the competition currently is outside of VIC imo, but I obviously don't want to see that.

The AFL doesn’t take any of these things into account when determining priority picks.

As a bare minimum the AFL should allow any bottom 3 sides to match bids on academy talent from pick 20. Not pick 40 as is currently the case.

Thats not much to ask for and doesnt effect other teams. It would also result in us using our 2nd round pick closer to pick 19 than pick 30. Which is more than fair all round.

Is any Vic club going to complaign if we use our 2nd round pick 19 pushed out to 30 to pay for a bid in the early 20's?

Its such an easy fix its ridiculous the AFL hasnt already done this simply to protect the bottom 3 sides from getting shafted by the better off clubs getting free agency and academy access.

The Vics will start wondering why the WA talent is drying up. Seeing Harley and other top level Vic kids drafted West. And not too many WA kids drafted East.

Apart from their kids heading West.....they wouldnt care.

If profits start falling the WAFL should increase the fraction of its dividend and push the profit under other clubs who get financial assistance. If the AFL want to kill the golden Eagle laying golden eggs well they can foot some of the consequences.

Money is all they focus on.

The Vics will start wondering why the WA talent is drying up. Seeing Harley and other top level Vic kids drafted West. And not too many WA kids drafted East.

Apart from their kids heading West.....they wouldnt care.

If profits start falling the WAFL should increase the fraction of its dividend and push the profit under other clubs who get financial assistance. If the AFL want to kill the golden Eagle laying golden eggs well they can foot some of the consequences.

Money is all they focus on.

This has come up numerous times in the past, including negotiating with WA Gov over the user agreements at Optus and the subsequent WAFC funding model.

The AFL’s position is there is plenty of money in WA football, if majority of it happens to be sitting in West Coast’s bank accounts and investment portfolio, that’s for the WAFC to work out with West Coast.

The AFL won’t increase funding for WAFC while West Coast has 50 million in cash/liquidity and 109 million in assets, they’ll say “go ask West Coast”.

This has come up numerous times in the past, including negotiating with WA Gov over the user agreements at Optus and the subsequent WAFC funding model.

The AFL’s position is there is plenty of money in WA football, if majority of it happens to be sitting in West Coast’s bank accounts and investment portfolio, that’s for the WAFC to work out with West Coast.

The AFL won’t increase funding for WAFC while West Coast has 50 million in cash/liquidity and 109 million in assets, they’ll say “go ask West Coast”.

Then over time the WAFC takes the money via dividends leaving the Eagles with basic working capital and a balance sheet similar to other clubs requiring additional distributions.

End result. AFL killed the golden goose.

AFL makes less money.

Less bonuses.

Thats the only way they will change. When their bonuses start getting reduced.

Then over time the WAFC takes the money via dividends leaving the Eagles with basic working capital and a balance sheet similar to other clubs requiring additional distributions.

End result. AFL killed the golden goose.

AFL makes less money.

Less bonuses.

Thats the only way they will change. When their bonuses start getting reduced.

Not really. There are several assumptions here I do not agree with.

From AFL perspective- West Coast made profits of 9 million (2019), 7 million, (2020), 5 million (2021), and 3.5 million (2022).

The AFL would say the royalty formula is broken when West Coast can make profits of those sizes after royalties, when their royalty payments are only around 3 million in those years.

The AFL would say- why is West Coast only contributing 3 million in a year they made
9 million dollars in profit after royalty? That royalty number should be 6-7 million.

The AFL position is why is WAFC letting Weat Coast bank 9 million dollars and then crying poor about lack of investment in WA football.

In our worst year we made 2 million dollar profit after royalty of 2 million dollars, while receiving minimum dividend from the AFL.

West Coast is so far away from requiring additional dividends from the AFL the scenario you envision is not a realistic one.

If the club ends up with 4 or less wins this year and a % under 70 and receives no priority pick support then I will stop following AFL.

Our second and third round picks just keep getting pushed further and further out and we have received no academy benefit at all. Picking up guys like Dewar, Baker, Livingstone etc after every single club has passed on them and they get through to being Cat B has given us nothing.

In reality even if this year it's just an end of first round priority pick (before other compensation picks) and an end of second round priority pick in reality that isn't real assistance. It is just making up for the huge inequality the club has received in pushing down the position of our picks over the last couple of years.

Say we finish last. That means with this our second pick is pick 19. With north already having received assistance plus even if it's say 2 end of first round FA picks in play plus 3 first round Academy/FS picks our second round pick is already 25. It's a never ending cycle where we the WCE gets ****ed over.

Lets go more with a dose of reality. As it stands after FA and FS we would currently end up with pick 1, 25 and by the time the fourth round comes in things are pretty close to accurate so 57. That 25 on draft night likely is pick 30 which everything actually being nominal would be the second round pick that a team finishing 7th would get in an undiluted draft position. Not really some high point for rebuilding.

A priority package of this low a magnitude would see us on actual drafts night using picks 1, 23, 30 and 44. It's not like is some silver bullet but it at least gives us a shot at building some quality talent moving forward.

At the end of this year after a Gaff retirement we will have a grand total of 4 top 20 draft picked players on our list. That's right, 4. Three under the age of 22 and one who will be a month off 30 before next season starts and has spent more than 50% of the time on the injury list. Those draft picks have been 1,9,11 and 14.

The afl comes back and says well you shouldn't have split pick 2 in 2022, well guess what we're down to a total of 3 picked in the top 20 and with Wardlaw, Sheezel and Tsatas (who I don't rate but that's irrelevant) manipulating the draft and not wanting to leave Victoria of players in the open draft pool the club before the split had a draft board of Cadman (again I didn't rate him that high), Jhye Clark and Ginbey. GWS had the draft collateral that they would have got pick 1 out of north anyway even if it meant giving up more to North. They had 3, 12, 15, 19, 21 and Richmond's future first. So West Coast even with pick 2 would have still been left with the option of Clark or Ginbey.

The club has been and continues to be royally ****ed over by the AFL and in 2022 our two wins came 1 with the same number of scoring shots as the opposition and the other with 7 less. A miraculous 14.3 game.

Since the start of the 2022 season we have lost 19 games by 60 points (10 goal equivalent) or more. 19 times out of 47 the club has been absolutely annihilated. A lot would consider that a competitive game is where you lose by less than 30 points. In that time we have lost 31 out of 47 games by that or more. There were also losses of 28,27 and 24 points in there as well.

So if you want a true breakdown of the clubs on field performances it goes like this over the past 2 seasons plus the start to this one.
5 wins. (one of which was by 5 points against a team that received a dodgy pick 3 compo) plus 3 end of first round compensation picks, as well as a second and third round compo tied to their position and 3 extra rookie list spots.
The other 4 wins were by 19,13,10 and 7 points.
We have been annihilated 19 times losing by 60 points or more
Have lost a further 12 times by 30 or more points
The other 10 losses have been by less than 30 points with only 4 of those by less than 10 points.

5 wins, 42 losses and people don't consider even an incredibly mild form of draft assistance acceptable to get us an 1 extra pick inside the top 25 and one inside the top 45 acceptable? * off.

If the club ends up with 4 or less wins this year and a % under 70 and receives no priority pick support then I will stop following AFL.

Our second and third round picks just keep getting pushed further and further out and we have received no academy benefit at all. Picking up guys like Dewar, Baker, Livingstone etc after every single club has passed on them and they get through to being Cat B has given us nothing.

In reality even if this year it's just an end of first round priority pick (before other compensation picks) and an end of second round priority pick in reality that isn't real assistance. It is just making up for the huge inequality the club has received in pushing down the position of our picks over the last couple of years.

Say we finish last. That means with this our second pick is pick 19. With north already having received assistance plus even if it's say 2 end of first round FA picks in play plus 3 first round Academy/FS picks our second round pick is already 25. It's a never ending cycle where we the WCE gets ****ed over.

Lets go more with a dose of reality. As it stands after FA and FS we would currently end up with pick 1, 25 and by the time the fourth round comes in things are pretty close to accurate so 57. That 25 on draft night likely is pick 30 which everything actually being nominal would be the second round pick that a team finishing 7th would get in an undiluted draft position. Not really some high point for rebuilding.

A priority package of this low a magnitude would see us on actual drafts night using picks 1, 23, 30 and 44. It's not like is some silver bullet but it at least gives us a shot at building some quality talent moving forward.

At the end of this year after a Gaff retirement we will have a grand total of 4 top 20 draft picked players on our list. That's right, 4. Three under the age of 22 and one who will be a month off 30 before next season starts and has spent more than 50% of the time on the injury list. Those draft picks have been 1,9,11 and 14.

The afl comes back and says well you shouldn't have split pick 2 in 2022, well guess what we're down to a total of 3 picked in the top 20 and with Wardlaw, Sheezel and Tsatas (who I don't rate but that's irrelevant) manipulating the draft and not wanting to leave Victoria of players in the open draft pool the club before the split had a draft board of Cadman (again I didn't rate him that high), Jhye Clark and Ginbey. GWS had the draft collateral that they would have got pick 1 out of north anyway even if it meant giving up more to North. They had 3, 12, 15, 19, 21 and Richmond's future first. So West Coast even with pick 2 would have still been left with the option of Clark or Ginbey.

The club has been and continues to be royally ****ed over by the AFL and in 2022 our two wins came 1 with the same number of scoring shots as the opposition and the other with 7 less. A miraculous 14.3 game.

Since the start of the 2022 season we have lost 19 games by 60 points (10 goal equivalent) or more. 19 times out of 47 the club has been absolutely annihilated. A lot would consider that a competitive game is where you lose by less than 30 points. In that time we have lost 31 out of 47 games by that or more. There were also losses of 28,27 and 24 points in there as well.

So if you want a true breakdown of the clubs on field performances it goes like this over the past 2 seasons plus the start to this one.
5 wins. (one of which was by 5 points against a team that received a dodgy pick 3 compo) plus 3 end of first round compensation picks, as well as a second and third round compo tied to their position and 3 extra rookie list spots.
The other 10 losses have been by less than 30 points with only 4 of those by less than 10 points.

5 wins, 42 losses and people don't consider even an incredibly mild form of draft assistance acceptable to get us an 1 extra pick inside the top 25 and one inside the top 45 acceptable? * off.
This is our case right here. Just send this to the AFL and make sure it is public so everyone is aware just how full of sh*t they are if we don't receive at least a small amount of assistance. Even bloody Eddy was saying last year that we should receive something.

The other part of the discussion that seems BS is the proximity of the 2018 premiership. On one hand we get told that West Coast supporters live in the past and that our premiership was six years ago, move on! But in the same breath will be told that we need to be in the wilderness for a while and don't deserve any assistance because we only very recently won a flag... I'd like to know what the statute of limitations is on premierships.

At the end of this year after a Gaff retirement we will have a grand total of 4 top 20 draft picked players on our list. That's right, 4.
Not that it changes your point at all but it’s actually 5 players.
Reid, Ginbey, Hewett, Chesser and Duggan.
Duggan turns 28 in December.

Been a little unlucky losing two players to concussion that were 1st round picks.
Brad Shepard is 32 yes old now so probably would be close to retirement anyway.
The big loss was Venables who would be 25 yrs old and probably at his peak and would bolster our midfield depth considerably.

100% make the request.

AFL is the most comprised league in the world.

NGAs, Father Sons, Home GFs when you didn’t earn them, Marquee match up that players want to play, extra home games.

We have also had 2 players retire from concussion earlier then expected and one of those was a first rounder who retired 10 years earlier then expected.

WA teams are the only ones who don’t get bay milk from the afl. Time to collect when in need

Been a little unlucky losing two players to concussion that were 1st round picks.
The big loss was Venables who would be 25 yrs old and probably at his peak and would bolster our midfield depth considerably.

I think he was referring to Sheed, meaning it's actually 6.

Reid, Hewett, Ginbey, Chesser, Duggan, Sheed.

Sheed also.

My mistake was actually forgetting Duggan. Everything else is 100% correct. Home office, 3 monitors, real time data analysis across multiple platforms and multiple countries using an algorithm to set and process currency, stock and commodity trades in real time. Sometimes things can be missed and I make mistakes.

I should just be retired but I can't help myself and keep working (at least it's for myself)

I am 100% serious however in stating that if the eagles have a similar performance result to last year and don't apply for a priority pick package I will almost completely stop following footy and I certainly won't be doing anything more for West Coast.

Bring on the 10th of June so I can go back to the warm weather, islands and beaches I love.

Of course they should.
I'm sick of the hypocrisy of the VFL and the beggar clubs and their media sycophants.

Ask for what GC got over 2018-19.
Ask for what Norf has received lately.
It's not as if we haven't been worse over the past 2-3 years than they were when they received their compo.

We should get more then what north got.. we are only asking for assistance once.

If they don't give us more then north got we come back until we get as much as north got in their 3 years of assistance.

They went to the AFL twice for two assistance package we are going once

Rhino and Xavier Ellis were talking about this on the hardball gets mailbag.

Rhino said he had previously spoken to a person high up at West Coast and they would NEVER apply for a priority pick.

I guess that’s, that.
Just caught up with this ep.

Rhino did say he spoke to someone years ago.

I reckon that stance should shift now.

My mistake was actually forgetting Duggan. Everything else is 100% correct. Home office, 3 monitors, real time data analysis across multiple platforms and multiple countries using an algorithm to set and process currency, stock and commodity trades in real time. Sometimes things can be missed and I make mistakes.

I should just be retired but I can't help myself and keep working (at least it's for myself)

I am 100% serious however in stating that if the eagles have a similar performance result to last year and don't apply for a priority pick package I will almost completely stop following footy and I certainly won't be doing anything more for West Coast.

Bring on the 10th of June so I can go back to the warm weather, islands and beaches I love.

Do you think eagles have a confirmed type A bullish divergence?

We should get more then what north got.. we are only asking for assistance once.

If they don't give us more then north got we come back until we get as much as north got in their 3 years of assistance.

They went to the AFL twice for two assistance package we are going once
I seriously doubt we'd get anywhere close to what north got. when gill received their compo he went on AFL360 and said they are a perennially ****ed club and we need to 'fix them right, do it once and do it properly'. Because they need to get North out of the red they get the picks they get. no way they'll view us the same way as they view north