List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 7

Hello Tiger fans!

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

tugga you may like to sticky or merge this post, move it to the start of the thread (so the sticky post doesn't rotate if a post is deleted before it), or copy it to your draft thread.

If Baker ends up on the West Coast list then I think we need to start introducing Gardening leave to staff that have knowledge of our future plans.

They do it in F1 and by the way that Tiger71 talks about how our recruiting staff operate on a forward 2 year look then it has to be that someone like Clarke is forced to sit out for a year on Gardening leave then allowed to start working at West Coast in 2025 onwards.

Will Phillips a very good suggestion, could be realistic to pick him off from North's overflowing brigade of young star midfielders. He had a quietly good year last year with a pretty well rounded game, balanced between attack and defence, without starring. He is probably a bit similar to Prestia in some ways, nuggety little specialist midfielder who can run. I have noticed with Phillips he seems to have really good reaction speed. If we could sneak him away with a decent contract offer for a pick maybe in the 15+ range, that would be well worth the punt imo. Out of contract 2024. You probably wouldn't want to overpay draft picks wise because at this point he is unproven and tracking a bit behind where say Prestia was after 3 seasons. If you could turn the draft picks from trading Baker into someone like Will Phillips, even if you needed to sweeten it a little, I think the list benefits from that over the longer term.
2nd rounder

Baker yes you do everything to keep as his value is not just on the field it is the leadership and standards he sets with his attack.

Bolton however is not a player a rebuilding or refreshing side needs. He is a cream player that will only shine in a good side. He is not the type to sit down, shut up and put the grind in and be physical. For a side that is hovering around 2nd to 5th, he would be the perfect target as Bolton can rely on his team mates to get the hard ball.
Bolton is the the last player id want to lose. He’s our line breaking mid, that we need to compliment a one paced midfield. And our most dangerous forward. A match winner.
Still only 25, we’ve got to keep him .

Bolton is the the last player id want to lose. He’s our line breaking mid, that we need to compliment a one paced midfield. And our most dangerous forward. A match winner.
Of course you keep our best player , we will have enough draft pics that you don't need to be ridiculous, there’s just no precedent for that stupidity, and next person that suggests it warrants a 3 month ban

Trade some experienced players. But retain as much as you can whilst rebuilding. That way you shorten the rebuild and improve he development of the kids and transfer the successful culture.

No one is trading for Grimes or Prestia. Martin I really hope stays.

If we traded Baker, OK. Not happy but a good pick back and then fine.

Trade Broad, OK. can cover him and it will help our draft hand.

But that's it. Stay competitive as much as possible whilst rebuilding.

Yeah, just thinking about overall loss of experience. a couple retire, Prestia, Grimes. a couple move clubs. Baker and Broad would be good but prefer Graham.

Grimes AND Broad OUT. Will be a different looking backline.

TBH I reckon Martin stays too. 2 years with us, at $700 odd. He's been good not great last couple of years.

Yeah, just thinking about overall loss of experience. a couple retire, Prestia, Grimes. a couple move clubs. Baker and Broad would be good but prefer Graham.

TBH I reckon Martin stays too. 2 years with us, at $700 odd. He's been good not great last couple of years.
If he maintains the form he showed r1 there’ll be 10 clubs interested , moved as well as Ive seen since 2020 and touch was sublime

yeah. Maybe lose Graham as well. I really like Fridge. But he is just staying in the AFL now. Don't know why he hasn't kicked on.And we have lots of kids to play.

But you have to balance that with keeping experience and leadership.

yeah. Maybe lose Graham as well. I really like Fridge. But he is just staying in the AFL now. Don't know why he hasn't kicked on.And we have lots of kids to play.

But you have to balance that with keeping experience and leadership.
Graham had a good preseason and was primed to be selected by Yze. I'm sure he'll be straight IN as soon as available.

It'll be interesting to see what we do.

And of course with Tassie coming in (120K members!!). If our tassie boys do come on and want to go home they will have extra currency in 2027. We could end up with a serious draft pick rebuild without necessarily begin bottom 5 for years.

We've got to be careful we don't offload too much experience. Norf did that and look where they are. Need a good blend of experience and kids IMO.
Dawks topped up for too long & WCE held on too long. There are plenty of lessons to be learned by Clubs that have shown us how not to do it.

The league is a ******* joke if that happens

They deserve league assistance.
2021-9th
2022-17th
2023-18th
2024- odds on 18th

3 years on the bottom deserves assistance. Don't forget Deledio and Rance were priority picks that we urgently needed. My issue was North constantly getting picks through terrible mismanagement turfing out quality players again and again like Mason Wood, Shaun Higgins paying Polec $800k telling him to not show up when as bad as he was he's clearly best 22. They've clearly been tanking and have blown top draft picks so AFL keeps giving the more and more. If this 2021 Draft turns out average we're gonna be needing priority picks too and won't get any because Tassie will have the lion share.

There is nothing at all they could give us that would make me trade him (aside from Daicos, which they're obviously not going to do).

I think the Pies' list is in a world of trouble going forward. It was a great effort by them to win last year with the amount of holes they have.
It somehow gets overlooked but they have the oldest list this yr, even older than GeeLOL.

Trade some experienced players. But retain as much as you can whilst rebuilding. That way you shorten the rebuild and improve he development of the kids and transfer the successful culture.

No one is trading for Grimes or Prestia. Martin I really hope stays.

If we traded Baker, OK. Not happy but a good pick back and then fine.

Trade Broad, OK. can cover him and it will help our draft hand.

But that's it. Stay competitive as much as possible whilst rebuilding.
Agree here, but they sign on for an extra yr knowing that they aren't guaranteed games & they have a role developing our younger players, be it on field if their form warrants selection or of it if it doesn't. I agree we can't just let them all go, go full Norf & we'll end up like Norf. it's a long way back as we have seen & they still have some way to go yet. it also allows us to develope the younger guys while still being competitive instead of doing so while getting smashed off the park every week.

Too much baggage around Tarryn Thomas, and nothing suggests that he can/will change.

If anything, think we should target someone like Will Phillips from North (former pick 3, regarded as one of the best midfielders of his draft year). Interrupted first couple of seasons in the system due to injury, before being behind the likes of LDU, Cunnington, Greenwood, more recently, Wardlaw, Sheezel, Powell, and eventually, McKercher.

Draft someone like Jagga Smith (already trained with us, and seems to have a nice balance of an inside and outside game as a midfielder), and see if you can pickup a player like Phillips.
Bloke can't get a game at Norf. I'd rather we hit the Draft. That'd be a Richmond '12-'16 move.

2021-9th
2022-17th
2023-18th
2024- odds on 18th

3 years on the bottom deserves assistance. Don't forget Deledio and Rance were priority picks that we urgently needed. My issue was North constantly getting picks through terrible mismanagement turfing out quality players again and again like Mason Wood, Shaun Higgins paying Polec $800k telling him to not show up when as bad as he was he's clearly best 22. They've clearly been tanking and have blown top draft picks so AFL keeps giving the more and more. If this 2021 Draft turns out average we're gonna be needing priority picks too and won't get any because Tassie will have the lion share.
Clubs end up in that spot due to their own poor decisions, if you reward mediocrity that becomes the standard ala Norf. Makes clubs accountable & they'll start making better calls as they'll know they can't just put the hand out when it inevitably backfires.

2021-9th
2022-17th
2023-18th
2024- odds on 18th

Diagree

They won a flag 5 years ago. Give some assistance to StKilda. They have won 1 in 100+ years, and that was 60 years ago

Winning a flag 5 years ago and the then making the finals for 2 years after that, followed by 1 x 9th & 2 or even 3 bottom 3 finishes does not mean you need charity that compromises the system it created in the name of "fairness" - the league is draft tampering constantly. Rebuilding just takes time & you need to just eat it

If Geelong ever actually fell to s**t and ended up having 3 bottom 3 years in a row, after a whole decade of trading for the oldest bloke available to stay at the top and totally ignore balancing "staying relevant & "rebuilding", is a choice you made. The system hurts the teams that do that by rewarding the teams that choose not to

Who has the Eagles traded so far to get themselves more picks? Tom Hickey? a drug smugglin' Jnr Rioli? A team must at least show some level of accountability of trying to speed up their own rebuild before a handout is given.

They should have traded Darling, Yeo, McGovern by now = but they havent. Like settling someones debts when they have 5 cars in the driveway

Short memory much? Last year he was in the All Australian squad and every single expert agreed it was a farce he wasn't in the actual team. The previous year his Dad died, he came back looking like he'd been on the Thai Burma railway after battling a split kidney, took a sabbatical away from footy to get his head right then couldn't shake an ongoing leg injury.

He was amazing in 22, carried us to finals with Lynch. Hes dropped off a fair bit since then. As a match winner, it was there to win last week, his late fumble was awful. But with our best young player now done, Bolton is one of the few reasons to go to the footy this season.

But if we consider trading Bolton and Bakers leaving, it means its complete rebuild time. If Balta continues his form, surely North would be offering their first??? They are desperate for a player like him and have too many mids. That would be a better trade than Bolton.

He was amazing in 22, carried us to finals with Lynch. Hes dropped off a fair bit since then. As a match winner, it was there to win last week, his late fumble was awful. But with our best young player now done, Bolton is one of the few reasons to go to the footy this season.

But if we consider trading Bolton and Bakers leaving, it means its complete rebuild time. If Balta continues his form, surely North would be offering their first??? They are desperate for a player like him and have too many mids. That would be a better trade than Bolton.
Not sure I can agree with you regarding Balta. He’s the player we can least afford to lose.

More stupid ideas , I’m glad crackpots like you aren’t managing our list , tell me one club that’s been successful going that route . It’s a recipe for league assistance after winning 8 games in 5 years. We will have plenty of draft capital without getting rid of any remaining assets , kids need qty around then to develop otherwise it’s just a spiraling pit of guano and none develop like when we had early pics in Shultz and tambling et al that didn’t fire
Spare us from any more stupidity , Balta will be our no 1 re signing , there’d be a dozen clubs after him right now , if lachie Schultz could draw a r1 trade me finks Balta currency would exceed that , but we need qty players <25