State Focus WA 2024 - Western Australia’s junior footy talent

2006 DOB/2024 Draft/WA 18's contenders in colts/PSA (First update for Pre 2024 season with WA summer squad announced and those players included - featuring Sage Clarke (EF) who I've never seen and never heard of before now)

1-Kayle Gerreyn (WP)
2-Bo Allan (PT)
3-Otis Harvey (SD)
4-Malakai Champion (S)
5-Austin Van Der Struyf (CL)
6-Cooper Moore (P)
7-Jesse Grant (PT)
8-Chayse Martinson (SD)
9-Hayden Windsor (S/Inj)
10-Hamish Davis (CL)
11-Lucas Ravenhill (CL)
12-Cody Angove (CL)
13-Caylon Seelander (S/PSA/Inj)
14-Deian Roberts (PT)
15-Darcy Petersen (PT)

16-Trent Hiscock (WP)
17-William Akec (EP/PSA)
18-Thomas Cathcart (SD)
19-Jaxon Douglas (CL)
20-Harrison Creighton (SD)
21-Luke Urquhart (EF/PSA)
22-Bailey Morgan (EF/PSA/Inj)

23-Will.Hayes (CL)
24-Andre Gulluni (EP)
25-Koopa Walsh (S)
26-Jaxon Artemis (SF/PSA)
27-Jack Wooden (WP)
28-Ali Al Shuweli (P)
29-Xavier Hickey (S)
30-Tyler Rowe (SF)
31-Clancy Dennis (CL/PSA)
32-Robert Warrell (P)
33-Zane Triscari (SF)
34-Ashton Warner (EF/PSA)
35-Declan Pauline (EF)

36-Anthony Hansen (SD)
37-Hugh Boxshall (CL/PSA)
38-Luke Cotellessa (SD/PSA)
39-Hudson Pivac (SF)
40-Elijah Huddlestone (SD)
41-Tore Nelson (S/PSA)
42-Kyelan Sanders (PT)
43-Rhyder James (SF)
44-Luke Bennett (PT)
45-Colby McDonald (SD)
46-Liam Cooley (P)
47-Kyle Brestovac (SF)
48-Nic Davidson (SF)

49-Lukas Jakovich (PT)
50-Aven Drewett (S)

Others to keep an eye on: Judd Ingleton (P/PSA), Orlando Keleman (SF), Jye Sander (EF), Sage Clarke (EF/PSA), Hayden Eades (SF), Leon Kickett (SD), Thomas Rooke (WP), Harry Jones (SD), Nick Campo (SF/PSA), Jayden Rigoll (WP), Will Thomas (CL), Jaxon Graham (EF), Kade Rafferty (SD), Tom Smedley (PT), Joel Brown (PT), Bronson Martin (PT), Lebron Foster-Lewis (SF), Riley Longson (EP/PSA), Loch MacTaggart (P), Yeabsera Fasil (S/PSA), Charlie Burke (S), Jarrod Donaldson (S)

Overagers to keep an eye on: (Potentially will play colts 2024)
1=Cuba Garlett (PT)
1=Oscar Dees (S)
1=Bailey.Banfield (CL)
2-Aiden Riddle (CL)
3-Kieren Douglas (S)
4-Sullivan Moody (CL)
5-Austin Crofts (WP)
6-Clayton Wood (P)
7-Judd Kelman (S)
8-Travis Shearer (S)
9-Jett Sibosado (CL)
10-Bailey Jokic (EP)
11-Nic Langsford (CL)
12-Kody Sharpes (PT)
13-Max York (SD)
14-Austin Chapman (WP)
15-Codey Stanley (EP)
16-Austin Polmear (PT)
17-Adam De Masi (EP)
18-Max Sarre (S)
19-Jy Bolton (PT)
20-Ezra Jones (EF)

Others overagers on the radar: Patrick Shaw (EF), Clay Michael (CL), Lucas Kemp (EP), Taj Forrest (EF), Tyson Nolan (EF), Byron McFarland (EF), Ashton Bryant (CL), Tom Taylor (SD), Jasper Peace (CL), Cooper Kelly (PT), Ben Steinmann (S)

Time to get this thread up and about.

Trying to look for positives in what looks to be a difficult year and I think there one clear strength and that's in the ruck department.

Their current heights will be updated early next year, so I'd assume these guys might be a bit taller than their March 2023 listing.

To me WA has a real advantage with Kayle Gerreyn (WP) 198cm, Aiden Riddle (CL) 199cm, Lucas Ravenhill (CL) 199cm and Hudson Pivac (SF) 194cm all very capable rucks who can also slot into a key position.

Really hoping Cuba Garlett (S) who made the Goldfields Football League senior team of the year playing for Kalgoorlie City FC relocates to Perth and is included in the WA squad as a late DOB overager.

He traveled down to Perth for one match and got votes and then last week I watched him play for the WA Clontarf College aboriginal state team on kayo and he was one of the stars.

Also looking forward to following the progress of Sage Clarke (EF). But who is he? He's not even listed on the WAFL player database as a Shark or belonging to any club actually. A really mysterious and inspired state squad selection.

On the subject of ruckman is this age group, I see Albert Esterhuysen, who played football for WA 16's in the 2022 carnival is now representing WA U/19's in the national cricket championships which are currently taking place in Albury.

A loss for Peel and WA footy but a gain for Rockingham-Mandurah CC and WA cricket.

EDIT - Watching him now.....another tall WA seam bowling all-rounder. Could be very handy down the track and probably a wise decision to choose cricket.

Any advice/thoughts on a good Bo Allan game to make a video from Futbolista? Round 18 vs Claremont - 16 disposals, 8 marks and 2 goals... looks a strong performance on paper.

That looks like a good one mate and it will show a different side of him when he went forward. The state 18's did him a world of good. Before then I thought he might be a dour lockdown defender and that's all but maybe that's the role he was given. He came back to colts and It was around about this time I saw a "little" bit of Daniel Curtin in him. He even looked taller.

Yeah good call as always mate.....while you're watching and grabbing the key moments keep an eye on Jesse Grant, the (2023) below age Peel defender for the future. He won the Peel B&F and has moved 40 places up the WA list. Recently named in the WA 18's summer squad for 2024.

Is Gerreyn a key forward or back next year? If he can kick some goals as a forward (his marking is already pretty good) I reckon he can move up the draft order pretty rapidly. On the other hand if he plays as a ruck I am not sure the interest will be the same.

I'd play him both fwd and back depending on team need. Maybe the odd spell in the ruck.

I don't know if you saw the video of him that noobermensch uploaded but Gerreyn does show an ability as a ruckman to drop back and intercept. Maybe he could do the same thing as a defender.

However the opportunity to put him forward is tempting also with those strong hands and his kicking on both sides is A-grade. In fact the first time I saw him, I wasn't sure if he was a natural left or right footer, so his conversion rate should be sound and he's better than most 198cm players at ground level.

His dad kicked 90 goals in one WAFL season many years back, so good pedigree too.

Yeah I'm content with him being the WA number 1 on the list at this moment even if Malakai Champion and Bo Allan are the academy reps.

I'd play him both fwd and back depending on team need. Maybe the odd spell in the ruck.

I don't know if you saw the video of him that noobermensch uploaded but Gerreyn does show an ability as a ruckman to drop back and intercept. Maybe he could do the same thing as a defender.

However the opportunity to put him forward is tempting also with those strong hands and his kicking on both sides is A-grade. In fact the first time I saw him, I wasn't sure if he was a natural left or right footer, so his conversion rate should be sound and he's better than most 198cm players at ground level.

His dad kicked 90 goals in one WAFL season many years back, so good pedigree too.

Yeah I'm content with him being the WA number 1 on the list at this moment even if Malakai Champion and Bo Allan are the academy reps.
Considering how much he's grown over the last year, it'll be interesting to see how he measures in pre season. A 198cm ruckman might not be super exciting, but if he grows to 200+ and can play ruck with some pinch hitting forward and back he could end up being 2024's Ethan Read.

Yeah and his ruck craft is A-grade. He usually outcrafts bigger ruckmen just through knowhow and smarts. So I'd be loathe to remove him from the ruck completely.

Very much agree
I see him as a forward more than ruck though when he leads really jumps at the footy
exciting too watch

Yeah and his ruck craft is A-grade. He usually outcrafts bigger ruckmen just through knowhow and smarts. So I'd be loathe to remove him from the ruck completely.
Very good summary Futbolista, I've got very huge wraps on this young man, as I see it, in todays football, the ruck is not as important as it once was, I mean its important, but look at West Coast, won the flag without Nick Nat, Geelong had Rhys Stanley with help from Mark Blicavs, both good footballers but hardly superstars and Collingwood won their premiership with no Brody Grundy who ended up at Melbourne only for him to go to the Swans.

This young man I'm sure, if given the opportunity, can really shake up the 2024 A.F.L. Draft which at the moment is full of mids and mids/forwards. Recruiters love players that are versatile and we know he can ruck, even as an undersized ruck{he could grow even more, which is frightening} its as a key forward where I really see him make a name for himself. If the coaches play him as a key forward and maybe pinch hitting in the ruck, next years Nationals are going to be very exciting viewing.

In your post you said he outcrafts bigger players{ruckmen} through knowhow and smarts, that's what I've seen as well, now imagine a full season as a key forward using that. I've posted on our forum of how high he can set the bar next year, and its very high, I've also said he still has to do it, he has the potential{the skills are getting there} but I believe if played in that role and his confidence goes up he'll be unstoppable in his draft year!

You know, one name comes to mind when I watch him and the player in question, I watched a lot of, and that player is Paul Salmon. "Fish" as he was known, made his debut in 1983 and while he didn't set the world on fire, twelve months later it seemed no fullback could contain him, Kelvin Moore a great fullback got ripped to shreds by him and he wasn't the only one. A knee injury and Kevin Sheedy playing him in the ruck curtailed his career but he played on to be a great player for Essendon and Hawthorn.

If not for that knee injury a lot of people at the time were calling him the next John Coleman, fullbacks were trying to find ways of stopping him, such was his dominance as a 20 year old. Futbolista do you think they{his coaches in the colts} will play him forward next year and show everybody what he can do? Will they keep playing him, as part of their structure in their team, as a ruck?

I'll be keeping a very close eye on this young lad more so than others : To see where they play him and if played forward how he adapts to the close checking of key backs. It will be a shame if his coaches don't or can't see his growth and potential and play him ruck for the whole year when he could be so much more. I can see 17 recruiters at the Nationals next year very excited, if he does what I think he'll do.

Very good summary Futbolista, I've got very huge wraps on this young man, as I see it, in todays football, the ruck is not as important as it once was, I mean its important, but look at West Coast, won the flag without Nick Nat, Geelong had Rhys Stanley with help from Mark Blicavs, both good footballers but hardly superstars and Collingwood won their premiership with no Brody Grundy who ended up at Melbourne only for him to go to the Swans.

This young man I'm sure, if given the opportunity, can really shake up the 2024 A.F.L. Draft which at the moment is full of mids and mids/forwards. Recruiters love players that are versatile and we know he can ruck, even as an undersized ruck{he could grow even more, which is frightening} its as a key forward where I really see him make a name for himself. If the coaches play him as a key forward and maybe pinch hitting in the ruck, next years Nationals are going to be very exciting viewing.

In your post you said he outcrafts bigger players{ruckmen} through knowhow and smarts, that's what I've seen as well, now imagine a full season as a key forward using that. I've posted on our forum of how high he can set the bar next year, and its very high, I've also said he still has to do it, he has the potential{the skills are getting there} but I believe if played in that role and his confidence goes up he'll be unstoppable in his draft year!

You know, one name comes to mind when I watch him and the player in question, I watched a lot of, and that player is Paul Salmon. "Fish" as he was known, made his debut in 1983 and while he didn't set the world on fire, twelve months later it seemed no fullback could contain him, Kelvin Moore a great fullback got ripped to shreds by him and he wasn't the only one. A knee injury and Kevin Sheedy playing him in the ruck curtailed his career but he played on to be a great player for Essendon and Hawthorn.

If not for that knee injury a lot of people at the time were calling him the next John Coleman, fullbacks were trying to find ways of stopping him, such was his dominance as a 20 year old. Futbolista do you think they{his coaches in the colts} will play him forward next year and show everybody what he can do? Will they keep playing him, as part of their structure in their team, as a ruck?

I'll be keeping a very close eye on this young lad more so than others : To see where they play him and if played forward how he adapts to the close checking of key backs. It will be a shame if his coaches don't or can't see his growth and potential and play him ruck for the whole year when he could be so much more. I can see 17 recruiters at the Nationals next year very excited, if he does what I think he'll do.
Awesome write up mate.

I guess it depends on what West Perth have in the way of big blokes. It's always a delicate balance between player development and winning matches.

WAFL clubs have a small pool to choose from. Far too small for a state with the population that WA has. But truth be told footy isn't as popular as it once was here or should be now.....I wonder if it ever had the footy culture that VIC and SA had when I look back at old footage from those states and compare it to the old WAFL...... and now big players are going to basketball or playing no sport at all.

Colts lists are just this week beginning to be updated slowly. I don't see many big players on the WP list yet. I mean overager Austin Crofts, who I think will be on draft radars at the end of the season, can pinch hit but he too is more of a key position player. Kayle is only listed as 192cm on the old WP list but his more recent measurement was 198cm during the 16's championships. but who knows.

I feel sure though that in the national championships Gerreyn will play key forward with so far Hamish Davis (CL) and Malakai Champion (S) as likely to join him around the sticks and others to make a claim as the season starts. Aiden Riddle (CL) and Lucas Ravenhill (CL) can handle the WA ruck duties and both are promising in their own right and that will free up Kayle to go forward.

Pleasingly, most if not all of the national draft list makers here have him ranked fairly highly - some in the 20's - which is bold seeing as he's not Victorian nor an AFL Academy member and didn't even make the WA 18's squad as a below ager.

I think he can push for the top 10 but as usual the national championships can make or break a player.

But as you say, a very exciting player to watch in 2024. He's probably the player I'm most excited to watch next season in WA and his PSA has finished so he'll be a full time WAFL footballer.

Finley Henderson i think might be a name worth keeping an eye on

Ill be surprised if he isnt on an AFL list. Not sure by looking at him if hes got bigger than 195cm, it appears so, hes still super young. A december bday i believe

Koopah Walsh also looking good but he was more expected

Finley Henderson i think might be a name keeping an eye on

Ill be surprised if he isnt on an AFL list. Mot sure by looking at him if hes got bigger than 195cm, it appears so, hes still super young. A december bday i believe

Koopah Walsh also looking good but he was more expected
Keystone agony, haven't heard of Finley, Is he 17 or 18 this year? What position does he play? What state is he playing in at the moment?
Koopa Walsh has been on recruiters radars for years it seems, although last year dropped off a little bit but that sometimes happens, he's still only 17. If you could answer my questions would be much appreciated. :thumbsu:

Keystone agony, haven't heard of Finley, Is he 17 or 18 this year? What position does he play? What state is he playing in at the moment?
Koopa Walsh has been on recruiters radars for years it seems, although last year dropped off a little bit but that sometimes happens, he's still only 17. If you could answer my questions would be much appreciated. :thumbsu:

All these simple questions can be answered here

Hes a late bday, 17 at the moment turning 18 like most draftees for this year

Ruck/Fwd but could play back imo

Im more impressed with Finley, his aerobic althougg from very limited viewing and a hard one to guage may be the small issue/thing he needs to work on. Also as i said not sure in his size now, hes just turned 17 so he could well have grown a fair bit from 16-17 from that 195cm size. With his size i dont think hes ever going to be an aerobic beast....similar to S.Darcy not being one

Good to see Rhama Evans name on EF colts playing list for 2024......talented Geraldton youngster who hopefully plays some colts footy this year in the WAFL to showcase his talent.

Champion shows glimpses of brilliance but at 175cm he's going to have to be extremely dominant to make it to WA 18's next year. Is exciting with ball in hand though because he takes on traffic.

I need to see more of Warner. He looks good but is also quite short but will surely grow taller one feels.

I think Ezekiel is the brother of Elijah but so far a very different style of player. Smaller, zippy. Maybe a forward pocket specialist for now. Early days for these guys.

I wonder how many of the top 40 now will still be in the top 40 by season's end?

The 2023 list was so much easier and even though there will still be changes between now and September, there are just so many really good 2023 players to choose from. The 2024 WA is a real challenge for observers I reckon.
Would love to see what Jakovich is going to bring to the table this year after some time off last season. Posted some excellent results in the latest combine.

Watched the state 18's scratch match last night at Cockburn, and whoever reckons WA's cohort is not worth watching doesn't do football very well.
Plenty of talent