Draft Watcher Young Talent Time 2014

Hi mate, cheers for your efforts it's amazing you find the time to put this all together!

Just wanted to know your thoughts on Ahern, Pickett and Laverde. Basically if you had that pick and all 3 were available who would you think is the best pure midfielder of the lot? and/or do you see any of them as more HF/HB types in an AFL team?

Are there any profiles that people actually want? Otherwise, I'll just keep picking players that nobody cares about.

I'm enjoying reading your profiles & write-ups of players very much Chris25....Very informative & the best thread to visit for info on the kids!

My requests are: Daniel Butler (Ballarat), Lukas Webb & Jordan Cunico (Gippsland) Jack Nelson (Geelong).....Cheers

I reckon you nailed the top 25 picks by the way. Although, I don't necessarily agree with the order....Surprised not to see Butler or Webb in your draft scenario. Both definites for mine.

Chris what can you tell me about Toby McLean from the Oakleigh Chargers heard in a few write ups that he has really good xfactor and has moved up the ground a little bit more in the last few weeks.

Pickett is bigger, stronger and a more powerful player than Smith. He's a better kick as well.

Smith impressed in the champs but was lacklustre in the Colts. Which I can't ignore.

Jarrod Garlett is underrated at the moment. A genuine line breaker for Souths in 2013 and exciting to watch.
Pickett is quicker , cleaner and smarter with the ball than smith . Garlett plays some good footy but is injury prone , reckon Anderson should get a look in there somewhere, has some real x factor and played 10 league games at Wafl level - winton has been dissappointing - dawson from qld also goes well

Love your work Chris - have you done a profile on Corey Ellis and where do you have him going?

Any chance to be around at Essendon's pick #19? Who do you rate highest out of Weller, Duggan and Ellis?

Hi mate, cheers for your efforts it's amazing you find the time to put this all together!

Just wanted to know your thoughts on Ahern, Pickett and Laverde. Basically if you had that pick and all 3 were available who would you think is the best pure midfielder of the lot? and/or do you see any of them as more HF/HB types in an AFL team?

It's a difficult one, with them all being so different.

If I had to choose, I'd take Pickett first. He might not be the best 'pure midfielder' of that trio, but he is simply the best of the lot. He offers a lot more than the others do in terms of just talent and match winning ability, and for West Coast in particular would be a much welcome addition. Laverde would be my second choice, I'm always partial to midfielders with size and he has shown a lot of versatility. But I'm not 100% sold on whether he is a permanent midfielder or a rotational player. Which makes Ahern number three, only because I view him more as a solid Dahlhaus type than a Prestia potential midfield gamechanger (maybe bad examples, but oh well).

I reckon you nailed the top 25 picks by the way. Although, I don't necessarily agree with the order....Surprised not to see Butler or Webb in your draft scenario. Both definites for mine.

I haven't updated my actual draft for a little while, and I've also cut some players out because I've done profiles of some players who I didn't have being picked. Webb was potentially one of those players I scrapped at random to fit guys like Ramsey and Glenn in. If I did update today, I'd have Webb inside the first three rounds. Butler would be 50/50 as to being third or fourth round.

Love your work Chris - have you done a profile on Corey Ellis and where do you have him going?

Any chance to be around at Essendon's pick #19? Who do you rate highest out of Weller, Duggan and Ellis?

Haven't done Ellis quite yet, I have him going anywhere from 10-20 though. Potentially could slip to Essendon, but you'd have to be lucky.

As for those three, I'd take them in the order you listed - Weller, Duggan, Ellis.

Jackson Nelson
Height: 187cm
Weight: 80kg
Position: Midfielder, Defender​

When you're talking about underrated players, it's not very often a member of the AIS/AFL Academy will be mentioned. But that's exactly the case with Jackson Nelson. Tall midfielders seems to be all the rage, but he isn't mentioned. Arguably one of the more consistent performers in this draft pool, Nelson just seems to do his thing every week and typically to not much fanfare. He reminds me a bit of Nick Vlastuin in that regard. Everyone knows he is a good player, yet they get distracted by whatever flashier player comes along. But at the end of the day, which player will remain standing? My money is on Nelson. The likes of Laverde and DeGoey are climbing the draft boards every week, but Nelson remains an afterthought.

At TAC Cup and U18 Championship level, Nelson has proven himself as a quality half back and inside midfielder. There is a strong argument to make in regards to him being the best half back in the draft in fact. But back to 2013 for now, and Nelson was a strong performer for both Geelong Falcons and Vic Country as a 17 year old. Playing in 12 TAC Cup games, he averaged around 17 disposals - particularly strong in terms of handball receives and uncontested marking. Playing off half back he provided a lot of run, working up the ground to link up with his inside midfielders. Nelson looked good doing so, and continued on with that form for Vic Country in four matches. Not quite as many possessions, but a disposal efficiency of around 76% highlighted the impact he could have. But as you'd hope, Nelson has taken the next step in 2014 and has stamped himself as one of the best players at the talented Geelong Falcons. Consistently winning 20+ disposals a match, Nelson has become a bigger part of the midfield rotations while still remaining in his customary half back position. Again, he is taking lots of marks in defence and running hard up the ground. His tackling pressure has been really good too, he tackles hard and had a massive 12 tackles just this weekend. For Vic Country this year, he was perhaps more solid than spectacular. His best game came against South Australia with 21 disposals, 5 tackles, 2 clearances and a goal. While other players may have caught the eyes of viewers, Nelson did nothing to hurt his draft stocks at all.

And as I said before, Nelson may well be the best half back in the draft - and that should not be underestimated when it comes to draft day. Every club is looking for that position. And Nelson ticks a lot of boxes. From his size and versatility to play either tall or small, to his disposal and work rate. He's a good clean player, and a smart one at that. He seems to read the play well, and knows when to attack and when to defend. A lot of the time he is probably the type of player you wont notice much, and that's a good thing. His kicking is neat over a distance, although not elite. And the same can be said for his speed, he might not burn off players chasing him but he in turn wont get burnt off by the smaller forwards either. His versatility to play in the midfield is another positive. It's possible that teams may consider developing him as a midfielder first and foremost, but personally I'd be happy just with having him part of the rotations.

If he were to play more in the midfield though, his offensive game will need to improve quite a bit. The modern midfielder needs to kick goals, and Nelson has only kicked about 3 in two years - and that's TAC Cup and U18 Championships combined. He is good at setting play up offensively from the back lines, but hasn't really shown much in terms of finishing off plays himself. But otherwise, it's just a case of developing his inside midfield game and continuing to improve defensively. He is a good rebounder, but hasn't been forced to play one on one quite as much in the TAC Cup as he will at AFL level.

So where does he sit in terms of draft range? Personally, I'd be surprised to see him drop out of the first round. But conservatively, I'd put a 10-25 range on Jackson Nelson. The likes of Nick Vlastuin and David Myers are two players I'd consider to be similar to Nelson in style. And while he might not be getting a lot of attention by phantom drafters, I don't expect the same would be true when it comes to the professionals.

Are there any profiles that people actually want? Otherwise, I'll just keep picking players that nobody cares about.

I'm loving the profiles and warming to Port picking up Josh Glenn and Keenan Ramsey (maybe James Rose) late in the draft. I'm interested in Peter Bampton, Jack Hayes and Tom Read v Peter Spurling!

Jackson Nelson
Height: 187cm
Position: Midfielder, Defender​

Nice write up, guy on the Carlton boards likes this kid so I paid special attention to him when they came to WA. I think I managed to see his worst game yet when I got the stats sheet he had around 16 touches and a heap of tackles. He did fumble a little and played mostly in midfield and backwards of centre.

Still I watched him closely in the other televised games and he does a lot of work in close that is sometimes hard to see live at the ground. Freo oval was not the best viewing ground compared to leederville as well, so I may have missed his better work. It is the size and tackling that really stands out for me and maybe has a little Joel Corey feel about him?

Nice write up, guy on the Carlton boards likes this kid so I paid special attention to him when they came to WA. I think I managed to see his worst game yet when I got the stats sheet he had around 16 touches and a heap of tackles. He did fumble a little and played mostly in midfield and backwards of centre.

Still I watched him closely in the other televised games and he does a lot of work in close that is sometimes hard to see live at the ground. Freo oval was not the best viewing ground compared to leederville as well, so I may have missed his better work. It is the size and tackling that really stands out for me and maybe has a little Joel Corey feel about him?

I have done my first draft of the top 100 and I have him back a bit as well. I've seen him 3-4 times now and I dont have him as high as others do. He needs a strong finish to the TAC year.

They guys I was really keen on going into champs have shot up the order like Laverde and DeGoey. I think they both have real AFL attributes and the former highly likely top 10 for me. I've had him circa 10-15 for a while but he'll push up I reckon even further. DeGoey is a talent but still more likely circa 20 or so.

Rating the SA kids is hard. I think you have to rate champs formline but a few of them are very 'meat and spuds' and so I think they will fill the 20-40 bracket in the draft. I think only 2-3 of their guys will make top 20.

Josh Fox
Height: 197cm
Weight: 90kg
Position: Forward, Ruck​

Time to go in a completely different direction, and we're heading south to have a look at Josh Fox from Tasmania. The 19 year old returned as an overaged player to take part in the U18 Championships for Tasmania this year, after obviously going undrafted in 2013. He was an unlikely rookie selection at best last year, but some strong performances this year will see him in with a better chance.

I'll start with his best position at the top level, and it's as a forward that he would get drafted. Although, a forward who can pinch hit in the ruck if needed. Fox has taken on most of the ruck duties for Tasmania both at the U18 Championships and in the TAC Cup this year, but it's more case of him being one of the only options. He has the height and a relatively strong frame given him being a 19 year old. He also moves well for someone as tall as he is, so he could almost be considered as another midfielder when the ball hits the ground - he did win 26 possessions in one game at the Championships this year. But it's up forward where he does look his most dangerous, it's just a shame that he only got three matches at the Championships - and all against the other Division 2 sides, as it would have been interesting to see how he went against better opposition. But nonetheless, he is a very good mark and particularly so on the lead - at the U18 Championships this year, 10 of his 17 marks were contested. At times it looks like he has quite sticky hands, as he leads straight at the ball and just pulls it down at it's highest point.

But as I said, he wasn't considered much of a chance last year at draft time and it was probably for a few reasons. A lack of consistency in his play can really hurt a Division 2 prospect. He wasn't quite as physically developed as he is this season, having put on 5kg in the past year. But the biggest issue was his kicking. It was hugely inconsistent, ranging anywhere from good to down right poor. And for a forward, the same could be said for his goal kicking. However in all fairness, from what he showed at the U18 Championships, he has greatly improved in this regard - and went at a disposal efficiency of over 80% across his three matches. Although I do think that is a little inflated for how good it really is.

In terms of performances, he has definitely flashed potential and has become more consistent this year too. But one thing is for sure, and it's that Fox loves playing against the smaller NT bodies. Last year he finished with 15 disposals, 11 marks and 5 goals against them. And in 2014, Fox had 26 disposals, 9 marks, 3 clearances, 20 hitouts and a goal. But he is more than just an NT specialist, having averaged 14 disposals, 4 marks and a goal against each of NSW/ACT and Queensland. And also recording some similar games in the TAC Cup, where he has again showed off his marking ability.

The best comparison for him in terms of the draft, is without a doubt Alex Pearce from Fremantle. He was drafted as a tall utility type, and was also a 19 year old playing for Tasmania. Pearce received very little attention from BigFooty, but was drafted at the end of the second round and nearly made his AFL debut last weekend having settled into the back lines in the WAFL. In terms of playing style, you could make a case for fellow mature aged Tasmanian Ben Brown as a comparison - although Fox being a slightly more athletic version. I still don't think Fox is even guaranteed to be a rookie selection, but it's not out of the question for clubs to start discussing him near the end of the third round. So I'll put a conservative 50+ draft range on him.

I have done my first draft of the top 100 and I have him back a bit as well. I've seen him 3-4 times now and I dont have him as high as others do. He needs a strong finish to the TAC year.

They guys I was really keen on going into champs have shot up the order like Laverde and DeGoey. I think they both have real AFL attributes and the former highly likely top 10 for me. I've had him circa 10-15 for a while but he'll push up I reckon even further. DeGoey is a talent but still more likely circa 20 or so.

Rating the SA kids is hard. I think you have to rate champs formline but a few of them are very 'meat and spuds' and so I think they will fill the 20-40 bracket in the draft. I think only 2-3 of their guys will make top 20.
Hey mate, when are you thinking of putting it up? I'd like to see who you think Essendon will take.

Dean Gore
Height: 183cm
Weight: 86kg
Position: Midfielder​

I wrote about a couple of non South Australians in my last profiles, so that means it's well past time to look at another Croweater. And with Peter Bampton missing the entire U18 Championships and Caleb Daniel missing the early matches, someone really needed to step up in the midfield. And two players did just that; Alex Neal-Bullen and Dean Gore from Sturt. Proving himself as a strong inside midfielder, Gore had a very consistent if underrated Championships and should be a sought after player come November for any team looking for immediate help in their midfield.

It's hard not to notice the 183cm/86kg frame of Gore out on the ground, so it's no surprise that back home in the SANFL he hasn't spent a lot of time in the U18s. Last year he made his Reserves debut, and he played the opening 6 rounds of the 2014 season in the senior Sturt side. And just in case there were any doubts, his strong performances cemented his spot in the South Australian U18 side. In the SANFL season, his best game came in Round 2 against the Adelaide Crows' Reserves in which he won a Rising Star nomination on the back of a 19 disposal, 4 mark, 3 tackle, 3 clearance game - with 7 inside 50s and 2 rebound 50s as well. Otherwise, he's been consistently averaging around 15 disposals playing primarily in the midfield and across half forward. Although he'd probably like a bit more midfield time in the SANFL, the pleasing thing is that he is showing off his versatility in playing a more outside flanker role. In one game he finished with 15 disposals but a huge 11 marks, as he used his run to spread across the field. At the U18 Championships for South Australia though, it was inside that he saw a lot playing time. He was a bull at the contest, getting in and under to win the hard ball. But it was his tackling pressure which was the highlight - with 39 tackles in just 6 games, including four matches in which he finished with over 7 tackles. He's such a strong player in at the contests, and he isn't afraid to throw his body around.

From a purely athletics standpoint, you typically have to worry about these players and whether they are good enough to match it with the gut runners and elite speed of the opposition. But, Gore is surprisingly fit for someone with his frame - with a 14+ beep test, and sub 3 second 20m sprint. And he has proven in the SANFL that he can cover enough ground on the outside. His real strength though is no doubt in his readiness to play AFL football. He hasn't looked out of place at all in the SANFL, competing well against AFL listed players. And he has shown enough versatility to suggest he could play across either half forward or half back if needed - half forward in particular, having typically been good for about a goal a game. In terms of his inside game, he is more along the lines of a Brad Crouch or Josh Kennedy in that he just goes in hard and wins the ball. As opposed to say a David Mundy or Scott Pendlebury who rely more on positioning and smarts. But he still gets results.

As I seem to be saying with most of the South Australians, Gore is not considered to be a real early pick despite all the positives. And I tend to think one reason is in terms of his ceiling as a player. I probably don't see him being a guy who will develop into a real elite midfielder, more one who will be an important part of rotations. When he has time and space on the outside, particularly having marked the ball, his kicking is good. It looks neat and he gets good distance on it, it's a large part of why he has already played senior football in the SANFL and across half forward when he has. But, in the midfield and under a bit more pressure his kicking can be a bit rushed. I think that can be forgiven though, because of all the other work he does in close.

When it comes to a player comparison, I would look towards Adelaide's Mitch Grigg. A similar sized midfielder, he had a very good U18 Championships in his draft year and shares a few of the same traits with Gore. Hopefully Gore is able to cement a spot in the best 22 a little quicker than Grigg, but I feel like they'll both reach a similar level. And for draft position, I would say anywhere between Mitch Grigg (#41 in 2011) and Matthew Crouch (#23 in 2013) would be about right. So basically, somewhere in the second round and he could be a good value selection for that price.

Hey mate, when are you thinking of putting it up? I'd like to see who you think Essendon will take.

nah I typically wait til towwards year end. I dont really want to have to update a thread all year as requires much more time than what I have. I also reckon it moves pretty constantly. I have got my top 100 or so listed but havent really done club needs. As for Essendon I've said for a while list is in good shape I think the issue is more that you need inside ball winners to feed it out a bit more.

I would Neal-Bullen, De Goey, Gore could all be players available and possibly even Blakely. Tom Lamb is the next generational Goddard type player but there are a few ? marks on young Tom that have to be assessed over remaining months.

What do you reckon the need is at present.

Jack Hayes
Height: 191cm
Weight: 88kg
Position: Forward, Defender​

Jack Hayes from Woodville West Torrens in South Australia has had a really interesting 2014 season so far, on BigFooty at least. Coming into the season, there were people talking about him as a top 15 draft prospect and one of the best key forwards on offer. Fast forward a few months, and he isn't considered a top 60 prospect by those same people. So what happened? Has he had an awful season? Not at all, he's arguably been better and more consistent than in 2013. I think it's more a case of those people finally having seen him play, and they realised he isn't the type of player that reading the stats may make him appear to be. I wrote about it earlier in the season. Hayes had one massive game in the SANFL U18s last year playing up forward - 34 disposals, 17 marks and 7 inside 50s. I think some draft watchers developed a few misconceptions from that game. But, that just means that Hayes has gone from overrated to severely underrated. So lets fix that.

After mentioning that game, it's only right that I start with his form back home in the SANFL. That 34 disposal and 17 mark game was certainly his best, but just because he posted key forward numbers it doesn't mean he is a key forward. Last year, Hayes typically across half forward with some stints in both the midfield and the ruck. He was typically getting 15-20 touches and plenty of marks, but kicked just the 14 goals in his 11 games - with season highs of 3 goals in two matches. In 2014, Hayes has split his time between SANFL U18s, SANFL Reserves and the U18 Championships. In the U18s for Woodville, Hayes has again been playing across half forward and through the ruck. I'm not a big fan of him doing ruck work, because it's not something he'll be doing in the AFL so really it doesn't help his cause in terms of getting drafted. But, it does get him into the midfield and that I like. Just this weekend in his first game back after the Championships, Hayes finished the match with 24 disposals, 12 marks (6 of which were contested), 4 tackles, 12 hitouts, 7 inside 50s and 2 behinds. In the Reserves though, he has gotten to play his more customary half forward role though and his best game came against Port Adelaide with 12 touches, 8 marks (3 contested) and 2 goals. And I do think that is his best position, being able to roam around the half forward line - particularly with his contested marking game being so strong.

But for South Australia at the U18 Championships, things certainly changed for Hayes as he was moved into the back lines - and not as a rebounder. Partnering with the likes of Ramsey, Durdin and at times Wilkie, they were given the job of playing on the opposition key forwards. It was an interesting move, but it ended up being a good one. It probably didn't help Hayes' standing on BigFooty, as he only averaged 10 disposals across his games. But it added another string to his bow, and it was a position he certainly grew into as the Championships progressed.

Without a doubt in my mind, Hayes' biggest strength is his marking. He's probably one of the best contested marks in the draft, and it's why I prefer him across half forward. He is smart on the lead, and just has those sticky hands that you love to see. His vertical leap is also impressive, and no doubt helps him clunk these marks. That and his tackling game is why I think clubs will also like him as a forward. The likes of Chris Mayne and Tyson Goldsack might not touch the ball very often, but a third or fourth tall who can apply pressure and tackle hard is really valuable and it's almost becoming a specialised position. And just the overall versatility that Hayes offers is another big positive. Coming into the season, I was really keen on seeing him play as a big bodied midfielder - not in the ruck. He's got a good size to him, and has shown the ability to rack up the touches. It's still not out of the question that a club doesn't go down that path with him.

A big factor in his draft position this year, will be in regards to his testing at the Draft Combine. He doesn't have the big engine that you'd ideally want from someone like him, and he doesn't possess great top line speed or anything. Last year, he was probably average at best in both regards. I do think he has improved this year from what I've seen, the minutes in the ruck have probably helped. But there is still room to improve. Absolute best case as a half forward, you'd be looking at someone like Ryan O'Keefe - but the thing that made him so good was his work rate and endurance. And really, you need something to separate you from the pack when you're a strong marking third tall. There have been plenty of similar players who go undrafted, to late round prospects who can't quite break through like Brett O'Hanlon at Richmond. It may well end up being his versatility and no real 'football weaknesses' that is Hayes' saving grace.

I don't expect Jack Hayes to jump back into first round calculations, but anything from the third round and about pick 40/50 onwards should see him come into the mix. And in terms of comparisons, I'll throw out Andy Otten from Adelaide as the player. Similar sized, he is also sort of a third tall swingman who can go through the middle.

nah I typically wait til towwards year end. I dont really want to have to update a thread all year as requires much more time than what I have. I also reckon it moves pretty constantly. I have got my top 100 or so listed but havent really done club needs. As for Essendon I've said for a while list is in good shape I think the issue is more that you need inside ball winners to feed it out a bit more.

I would Neal-Bullen, De Goey, Gore could all be players available and possibly even Blakely. Tom Lamb is the next generational Goddard type player but there are a few ? marks on young Tom that have to be assessed over remaining months.

What do you reckon the need is at present.
Desperate for a CHF. I see Carlisle as a defender and Ambrose as a Monfries type forward, except taller. Daniher and Bellchambers are good as deep forwards.

The next issue would probably be depth rucks tbh

Lukas Webb
Height: 186cm
Position: Midfielder, Forward​

It's not very often you can call a Victorian draft prospect underrated and actually mean it. Usually they are all talked up as being the best of the best, but maybe that's just Vic Metro players. Because Vic Country's Lukas Webb is getting next to no attention (other than from LemmingMaster) and that seems a big oversight to me. I even saw him being called a late round rookie pick just yesterday. But in all fairness, he didn't come into the season with a massive profile. He was looking good in his U16 days, but perhaps didn't light the world on fire as a 17 year old last year in the TAC Cup. But he looks to be back to that U16 form this year, and it might be time for some draft watchers to have a little rethink.

As I said, coming from some good U16 form, his 2013 season may have been seen as a slight disappointment. He played the 8 games in the TAC Cup, but they were probably split about 50/50 in terms of good and average performances. Even this year, I wouldn't say he has been consistently one of Gippsland's best players in the TAC Cup. But he has shown some good signs and some definitely draftable traits. And Webb is averaging around 17 touches from his 5 games, playing both through the midfield and across half forward. But in what I would argue is a good sign, Webb stepped up and probably played some of his best football for the year in the U18 Championships. He wasn't a massive ball winner, again only averaging around 16 disposals a match. But he showed a good mix in those games. In the first two matches, over half of Webb's 29 disposals were contested and he won 7 clearances. While in the next three matches, Webb took 13 marks and kicked 6 goals as more of a forward. And his best game came in the final match of the Championships - 16 disposals, 4 goals, 2 assists and 6 marks at 88% efficiency. Doing that in a televised match was perfect timing, and it showed exactly what he offers as a player.

Again, like so many others, Webb has that size that so many teams are looking for these days. A 186cm+ player with the versatility to play multiple positions is valuable to any team, and it's the sort of thing that will get you at least mentioned in draft talk before you even play a game. But luckily for Webb, he can actually play football too. He has a lovely left boot on him, particularly going forward and hitting up his leading forwards. But I suppose it is still a little inconsistent, because the difference between his last two matches at the Championships was noticeable. When he is on his game though, it is very good. Otherwise, I like the fact that he was able to step up his game when the level of opposition improved. Yes, you'd like him to be dominating in the TAC Cup every week, but it's still a positive that he gets up for the big games. I also just like the way he plays as a half forward, he has a bit of a presence to him in his attack on the ball.

One of the main determinants when it comes to his draft stock, will be just what position teams see him as playing. Midfielder or flanker? And at this stage, I think he will drop just a little as clubs see him more as a flanker. He has shown good signs in the midfield, but hasn't really had that one massive game which makes you really take notice. And for someone with his size, I'd like to see him impact the stoppages more than he does. His tackling game can stand to improve, and just in general I wouldn't say Webb is the hardest running player out there. He does seem to rather either getting the ball out to the runners, or have the ball delivered to him up forward. As for his goal kicking, I don't think it's a big issue - but, he has only converted on 3 out of his 10 shots on goal in the TAC Cup. Change that to 7 or 8 goals though and suddenly his season is looking a lot better.

So, is Webb underrated? I think so. But that doesn't make him a first round prospect or anything. He reminds me a bit of Brodie Murdoch from St Kilda. Pretty similar sized, and both can play through the midfield or at either end of the ground. And again, both can have an impact with their disposal with limited possessions. Murdoch was drafted at #40 in 2012, and I would imagine that is about the middle of Webb's draft range.