Clint Benjamin: Not too far to go now

I couldn't make it down to Princes Park this afternoon, but I did manage to catch the second half of the Bullants/Tassie game this arvo, and from what I saw of Clinton Benjamin, he looks as though he could be in the senior team in as little as 3 weeks! He was creating contests, attacking players, attacking the ball, going in at contests, the whole shebang!

I reckon' this bloke is the future of Carlton's defence if he keeps up performances like todays and keeps persisting the way he has, mark my words.

Thoughts? I'd like to hear some comments about those who got to the game today about his ground coverage and his first half.

He needs to improve his kicking, but he's a long term project and has the potential to be a bit like Walker after seeing a few glimpses of promise.

Benjamin took a brave chest mark backing back with the flight. :thumbsu:

I wonder if they're playing Benjamin down back to teach him to be accountable and develop a footy brain by watching the midfielders and forwards play footy.

I didn't see any of his alleged pace today.

He needs to improve his kicking, but he's a long term project and has the potential to be a bit like Walker after seeing a few glimpses of promise.

Benjamin took a brave chest mark backing back with the flight. :thumbsu:

I wonder if they're playing Benjamin down back to teach him to be accountable and develop a footy brain by watching the midfielders and forwards play footy.

I didn't see any of his alleged pace today.

For a guy who's supposed to be able to run 100m in under 11 seconds it was dissapointing to see him getting caught with the ball mid dash wasn't it?

what? was pants today unforetunately.

why have the coaches decided to play him in a defensive role?
it would been awesome to have him at HFF, running the wings and also getting forward causing havoc. doesnt seem like a defensive kind of player to me???

what? was pants today unforetunately.

why have the coaches decided to play him in a defensive role?
it would been awesome to have him at HFF, running the wings and also getting forward causing havoc. doesnt seem like a defensive kind of player to me???
Probably because of his leap and his size, those two qualities are teams need in defenders.

well its a shame he's not short and cant jump, cause then he could've played forward....
thats what you were getting at yeh?
Far from it, my friend.

I think this change with him in the backline is playing out like a 'Waite in Carlton' kind of thing for the Bullants. I really can't see what was so bad about him today.

I couldn't make it down to Princes Park this afternoon, but I did manage to catch the second half of the Bullants/Tassie game this arvo, and from what I saw of Clinton Benjamin, he looks as though he could be in the senior team in as little as 3 weeks! He was creating contests, attacking players, attacking the ball, going in at contests, the whole shebang!

I reckon' this bloke is the future of Carlton's defence if he keeps up performances like todays and keeps persisting the way he has, mark my words.

Thoughts? I'd like to hear some comments about those who got to the game today about his ground coverage and his first half.

you really know your football EBIAC

Give him the rest of the season to develop, and we'll see how we are then. At the time of the draft, most of the posters on here that had seem a bit of him in colts footy thought he would take a while to develop.
Alwyn Davey and his older brother didn't debut until they were 23 and 21 years of age.

Benjamin is ahead of them after being drafted as an 18 year old and has more upside.

Playing him as a defender will naturally teach him alot about defensive pressure and will make him a better player when he plays on the wing or forward at AFL level.

He was regarded as a good get for pick 57.

AFAIC he is not what we need. We need players to hit targets. We need players with good footskills. Until he can hit targets regularly I don't give a ____ how fast he is.

You're wrong Totti. Benjamin is potentially exactly what we need. Extreme pace is something we lack and Benjamin has that in spades... even if that wasn't entirely obvious against Tassie. We beat Collingwood but they also lack pacy mids. It's when he come up against the faster teams in the league that we get shown up and our defensive pressure crumbles. With a hard working, chasing, strong tackling Benjamin in our side we wouldn't be leaking nearly as many goals as we have of late.

Benji was fairly ordinary today I thought. Aisake was probably worse. Even Ackland played better footy.
Ackland was playing 'show pony' all day, going for silly marks and things alike. He's experienced, he should know better.

Clint Benjamin will never play regular footy at Carlton. I watched his game today and every time he got his hands on the footy i had to close my eyes. His kicking action is far from fluent and, he doesnt seem to have football smarts and generally his foot skills are horrible. Our game plan is to hold onto the football and its imperitive to not turn over the football, so if you dont have good foot skills you dont fit into the team.
Anderson on the other hand is something we can work on and personally id have Armfield, Browne and Anderson ahead of Benjamin, so he has a $hit load of work and improving to do.

Ackland was playing 'show pony' all day, going for silly marks and things alike. He's experienced, he should know better.

That says something about Benji's game then if Ackland was 'show pony'ing and was still a better player (I agree that Ackland was bad too, not saying he was good!).

I made the call during pre-season that he wouldn't make it after watching him train, his lack of coordination in a simple handball drill was apalling.

Clint Benjamin: Not too far to go now