Wimmera Football League

Liam Newell the youngster from the burras carved up for his 1st game of senior footy!

too bad the rest of his team mates didn't turn up. What's the storey down at Burra land? R they really that bad? Who's running the show there and how come they don't seem to be able to attract any outside tallent to the club?

Ahk so it is a lot even playing field this year so up sets a plenty.

My tips

Nhill by 30 points
Demons by 10+ goals
Ararat if played there..
Dimboola to accont for min murt depending on if Mcfarlane plays margin could vary

Is Everett still coaching Dimboola?
Don't think Noodles will line up for them tis year as he has an Apprenticeship in Darwin!
Karl Lohde also staying in Darwin!

Is Everett still coaching Dimboola?
Don't think Noodles will line up for them tis year as he has an Apprenticeship in Darwin!
Karl Lohde also staying in Darwin!

Where do you get ya information from???

Noodles is flying in every 2nd week
And Lohde is driving up from geelong every week... not in Darwin

You would have him in your team due to his height. Does talk the talk about himself tho

I see you got in the best yesty tige. you guys would of been disappointed to lose after beating united last week. looking at your selected side you still have a couple of blokes out as some regular reserves players were in the side. What is the go with your Ass Coach from Last year Trav Lannin. Has played the first 2 games in the reserves. Surley a bloke getting paid the amount he was last year and with his abilitiy should be playing in the seniors. How did you rate the eagles tige?

I see Dimmy had a great start to the year, the burras might be in for a long old year and the horsham saints on a roll early with a big win over ararat. Horsham still looking strong with Johns looking good for another 100 goal season.

The young sainters have started really well. Again opposition average, but a better test this Friday in the Anzac Day clash with the Diggers. Broady and Pump have all the kids playing with great confidence.

The sainters have stunned me again. I got word through Saturday night they demolished Ararat by 93 points and nearly fell off my chair. A top effort by the boys. Anyone catch the game? Standout performers? I heard Pumps made a difference?

Kelm was cleary a dominant force and stood out in my eyes. Not sure who saints onballers were but they carved it all day. Credit to aarat there mids are still very wet behind the ears with none being over 20 years old. The score board definatly reflected how the saints dominated all day and ararat seemed to have no flare. How can old pal say, "the young sainters started well" when they got there behinds handed to em on a pletter by the under 17's. Look forward to seeing the saints horsham match:thumbsu:

Do u mean Heater Kelm, or Gavo? I heard Heater has been dominating since he returned home, and with Hoey, Pumps, and i think Cloughy too running through the middle, it's not a bad young midfield.
The Saints v Horsham sounds like it should be a good match, but i think it may just be a reality check for the Saints, and they will have a tougher test this week on Anzac Day too.

It's an interesting start to the WFL season for sure.

The "young saints" being the senior team. Not too many blokes over 22. Heater, Pump and Patty Knott have made a difference, plus a bit more fitness and experience from Hoey, Cloughy and Couch etc.
I don't know about pushing Horsham & Stawell, but should be a great match Friday againist the Diggers!

I see you got in the best yesty tige. you guys would of been disappointed to lose after beating united last week. looking at your selected side you still have a couple of blokes out as some regular reserves players were in the side. What is the go with your Ass Coach from Last year Trav Lannin. Has played the first 2 games in the reserves. Surley a bloke getting paid the amount he was last year and with his abilitiy should be playing in the seniors. How did you rate the eagles tige?

I see Dimmy had a great start to the year, the burras might be in for a long old year and the horsham saints on a roll early with a big win over ararat. Horsham still looking strong with Johns looking good for another 100 goal season.

Yeah was very disapointing RT didnt play there Rd1 but from all reports the boys ran and carried well and got over the line. There was a simple reason for the loss saturday.. ya cant hide behind the "we had a heap of kids playing" excuse anymore, all WFL teams do. Our skills were terrible and that was the difference in the to teams. Wasnt a pretty game. Eagles were ok, hard to say reckon they played under themselves a bit as well. Trav done his shoulder bowling a cricket ball. Out all year i think. Not sure when he goes under the knife.

Yes seems like an even comp this year always interesting early on in the year though.

Where do you get ya information from???

Noodles is flying in every 2nd week
And Lohde is driving up from geelong every week... not in Darwin

Who else do Dimmy have aside from these two that can have them challenging Horsham again?

Lost Clugston obviously, but have they brought anyone else in?

Footy is sturggling in the Grampians area! How can Ararat get thumped by Horsham Saints? Swifts are no good and can take the wooden spoon home now if they like. Great Western are average, Ararat Eagles are useless again and further south down the Grampains Rd even Moyston/Willaura and Glenthompson/Dunkeld are looking for the bottom of the ladder again. Thank goodness for Stawell & Tatyoon and it seems Navarre are on the way up finally but not strong enough to do well in the geographically stupid Lexton Plains league. Where have all the footballers gone??? Only in the mid 90's we had Warriors and Swifts and powerful Stawell Redlegs all doing well, strong teams out of Ararat such as St Mary's and Caledonians along with Prestige, Trinity & Miners with Ararat being a force, Navarre doing well and even Marnoo and Landsborough fielding sides along with Moyston & Tatyoon getting fed by Ararat and Great Western pulling palyers from the district. Now in 2008 the Ararat & District league is gone, the Lexton league gone, heaps of mergers and then mergers with mergers (Ararat Eagles) with probaly more to come (Swifts & Geat Western merging to become the 'Western Swifts' or the 'Deep Lead Dung Beetles' and now only two teams in the region any good (Stawell and Tatyoon with the generous wallets) with Navarre maybe pulling a game in the finals. Footy in the Stawell and Ararat region is on the big slide downhill unless they can get more players on the grass.

Agree with most of you post Nardoo it is hard to believe the change in under 10 years!!
But, IMO it would be a sad sad day if the mighty Lions ever merged with Swifts.. But in saying that i don't have a hands on knowledge of what happens anymore, but i would hope that GW could stay strong and keep its identity!!

Definitly agree with the two posts above-and it is not just the football struggling around the Stawell/Ararat area. As the population in and around Stawell continues to decrease, this problem will only get worse-it can be seen now that the stronger clubs are those which have the $$ to recruit from larger centres like Ballarat and Melb. Would a restructure help this problem at all?

Interesting to see the Rats top Dimmy over the weekend who would've been a favorite going in. Dimmy must've slipped quite a bit this season or has Ararat improved? Top effort by the young Sainters on Anzac Day as well as they keep marching on. They sit on top of the ladder after 3 rounds, who would've thought?

Nardoo, you do have some valid points there but as for your statement about Great Western and Swifts merging, what a crock of sh!t. If you were at the first game you would have seen (or read) about the brawl that took place, what a disgraceful exhibition by one of the younger Swifts players that instigated the fight and then to have their officials blaming Gt Western players for baiting him, if it wasn't for his dad things would have gotten worse. Also that Knobhead Joiner throwing a can into the crowd and hitting a bloke in the head, and Swifts doing NOTHING at all to address this crap. There is certainly no love lost there and the feeling around Swifts (by insiders) is that they will only have a short future within ANY league. They have few helpers and those that are there now want everything done their own way (2 people in particular, and they're a married couple). Anyway, being a member of Gt Western, I can tell you that hell will freeze over before we merge with Swifts. If by any very, very slim chance it does, they will have great difficulty getting the long serving members of the club to support the merge.

Cheers.

The Saints win again and on top of the ladder. It's a stunning start to the season for the boys, nobody would have thought it after the last couple of years. It will be interesting when they play Horsham, to see how close they can get. That will be their real test.

Nardoo, you do have some valid points there but as for your statement about Great Western and Swifts merging, what a crock of sh!t. If you were at the first game you would have seen (or read) about the brawl that took place, what a disgraceful exhibition by one of the younger Swifts players that instigated the fight and then to have their officials blaming Gt Western players for baiting him, if it wasn't for his dad things would have gotten worse. Also that Knobhead Joiner throwing a can into the crowd and hitting a bloke in the head, and Swifts doing NOTHING at all to address this crap. There is certainly no love lost there and the feeling around Swifts (by insiders) is that they will only have a short future within ANY league. They have few helpers and those that are there now want everything done their own way (2 people in particular, and they're a married couple). Anyway, being a member of Gt Western, I can tell you that hell will freeze over before we merge with Swifts. If by any very, very slim chance it does, they will have great difficulty getting the long serving members of the club to support the merge.

Cheers.
Great to see the passion remains, oh lover of all boobs!!

Cheers.

Couldnt agree more! Having pulled on the Lions jumper, and having been involved at the club for a couple of seasons, I would be amazed it ever happened. Considering that GW were on the brink of folding (financially) back around 2000, and how hard they have worked to survive, and the great people invloved, I just couldnt see them handing that all over to someone else. A merger of this type would take many years to gel, and there would forever be underlying niggles between the 2 (has taken Stawell & the Warriors many years, and not sure if its ever really become the complete cohessive club it was when it was just the Redlegs).

If only the GW boys could lift each week and play with the intensity and passion that they do when they come up against the Baggies, they would be a definate top 5 each year!

Sounds like the same old crap continues at North Park!!

Boobluva, how is Sonny going with the coaching role? I heard talk over the summer that he was looking to pull the pin but havent heard anything since?

minyip-murtoa get down there and help them out. great club with great people, its a shame to see such a quality club winless after much promise shown throughout thr pre-season. Get down there and help out the Kik Kookaburras

Sorry mate but the kik kookaburras will fold this year. Lost the plot winless and will stay like that id say poor minyip o well.