Customer Complaint

That's all well and good but it wasn't just a little store policy the manager was over-riding him on, it was the law.

It was clearly a sale for a minor and now that ____ is going to expect it every time. What happens when he comes back and the manager isn't there? Should the employee sell it to him? Too bad if there is a cop in the store cos bam! he's got himself a fine.

And do you think if he got caught selling to minors that the store would say "well I'd rather you did that than have him leave angry". ____ No, they'd drop him like a stone and he'd have trouble getting work in another bottle-o. The don't take people with a record of serving minors.

I was in Torquay Safeway just before New Years and they did the exact right thing.

I had a woman behind me with a trolley full of Cruisers and Breezers and one of the young counter staff said to her "I can't sell those to you because you were with the two girls that couldn't provide ID earlier."

She said "But I'm buying them for myself"
Staff: "I'm very sorry but I don't believe that and I can't sell them to you"
Woman: "OK they are for the girls but they are overage and their IDs are at the caravan park"
Staff: "Well they can go and get them and come back"
Woman: "It's too far to go and get them"
(Caravan Park is all of a K and a half away)
Staff: "Well unless I see some ID from them I can't sell these to you, it's a $6000 fine otherwise"
Woman: "I want to see the manager"

Manager comes out and says the exact same thing as his staff member, woman leaves PO'd and probably buys her deliquent alcos booze somewhere else.

KUDOS TO YOU TORQUAY SAFEWAY!

I work at a cafe/restaurant and boy do you get some w***ers.

Now I must say that I work in a small town.. about 5000 people, and I work at the most 'upmarket' restaurant in the town, however it would just be a run-of-the-mill place if you went to Melbourne.

One of our busiest nights and we had this American w***er come in.
'Is the meat fresh?' he asks one of our waitresses. When she told the head-chef he was a bit pissed off and was saying 'oh for ____s sake, nah course not.. we go outside.. kick meat around like a footy, clean the floor with it.. its been in the back of the fridge for a month! what a w***er he is' etc etc to everyone in the kitchen. Anyway, he ordered a steak cooked medium. 10 minutes after ordering he was saying loudly 'well this place isnt very proffesional' and crap like that, when obviously you dont get your meal within 10 minutes. During the whole night he was clicking his fingers, coughing loudly to get attention etc and throughout the whole night, all of the staff were very nice to him although he was being the biggest pig.

I went out the front to hand out a few meals and he clicked his fingers at me, and i just looked at him. He said 'Hey Boy. I ordered a drink and it hasnt arrived yet.' I dont like being called 'boy' I must say with that attitude. Anyway I asked him what he ordered to drink as the waitresses were snowed under. He bellowed at me 'Well you should know hahaha what sort of place is this! I order something and no-one knows what I ordered' so I just walked off and said someone will be with you soon.

His steak came out, and he managed to eat all his salad and chips (Steak chips and salad wasnt actually on the menu.. it was steak atop mashed potatoes roast vegetables and jus or something like that so we were being nice) and atleast 3/4s of his steak, and then bellowed at the top of his lungs to a waitress who was about 5 metres away at the till 'This isnt Well done, I ordered Well done!' so she took it back.

By this time the head chef was furious. He asked the girls out the front and they were 100% sure he ordered medium. But as you know, the customer is always right. So the chef just threw the tiny piece of meat into the oven and cooked it till it was well done, popped it on a new plate without anything else and took it out himself. I must remind you it was one of the busiest nights I can remember and I have worked there for about four years. The american said 'I should get all the sides with it, you cant just give me that one piece and I am not paying for two either' and my boss leant over and whispeered something to him. To this day, none of us know what he said. But the American stood up, told his wife and child they were leaving. As he was storming out the door without paying my boss goes 'Oy, wheres my tip?'

Not really a customer complaint.. but a complaint about a customer.

Yes I should have waited but the thing is its not the first time shes told customers that we were wrong when she knows all along that we are right. She has taken the easy way out far too many times and I was sick of her doing it.
I was the only one who have ever stood up for themselves or others at that store. Everytime she would do something along these lines I would hear endless crying about it from other workers and it was about time she was told in front of a full showroom what was needed to be said.

Doesnt matter if its the first or the 50th time shes done it. Shes been appointed manager by the higher powers and on the showroom in front of customers you would be expected to show respect and certainly not yell and swear at her as its a poor advertisement for the company.

I believe you when you say shes a joke and she doesnt sound competant at all, but when it comes to what the big bosses expect, going off at her like that just isnt appropriate. If you do get your job back (and i hope you do if its what you want) I would advice to immediately sit down with her, apologise (even if you dont mean it) and discuss why you are so angry, clear the friction.

I wasn't referring to that incident. And it wasn't mentioned in the post i replied too.

If rules are set, they should be adhered to all the time or never.

For example, when I worked in a servo, once it got dark we would cease using the furthest out pumps as they were not visable enough and to use them was just begging for a drive off.

So one night those pumps are closed off and a guy comes in, regular customer ask if he can use it. I tell him no, and explained that those pumps are not in use at night. He starts up with 'come on, you've seen me around, I come here all the time etc' I stand firm and apologise but explain that I cannot. He keeps going and eventually the girl I was working with gave in and let him use it.

While he is pumping people start to line up behind him. Now we shouldn't have let anyone use the pump and now how do we have authority to tell these people lining up that they need to change to another pump? The first guy goes off his nut about me thinking he is going to drive off. (He has seen us let the guy before him use an 'out of service' pump and so is understandably pissed that I have applied the rules unevenly). The girl gives in again and lets him use it too.

Now the next car in line is a beaten up commodore with (and I apologise for stereotyping) bogans driving it. Surprise, surprise, they fill up and drive off with a tank of premium.

The next week the first guy comes back again and expects to be able to use the pump again. He cracks the shits when told no.

Other times when I have had other people over-rule for bad consequences:

We had a fuel card where people were routinely allowed to put down other purchases as fuel. Mostly cigarettes and there are 2 reasons they could be doing this -
A) They are scamming the ATO and claiming their other purchases as fuel on their tax.
B) They are scamming their boss and making him pay for their smokes.

I would refuse to do it and only put things through as what they were. Most of the people I worked with had no problem with it.

Pity when an angry boss comes in demanding to know why we have been letting him employee steal off him in this manner. - Not my problem I did the right thing.

Also people who want to use someone elses credit card or have their own but sign it incorrectly.

I've got one from the other side of the counter.

A friend of mine has recently (last week) remarried. All of her identification is in her maiden name. Her bank accounts and credit card are all in her former name.

She has a new CC in her new name.

Using the old CC she went to pay for goods at the supermarket. CC wouldn't work. (It expired on the 1st of June - her replacement card was in her new name). So she pulled out her new CC.

She hadn't signed the back of the card though, so signed it (with her new married name).

The signature didn't match the name on the card.

She had no ID to state that she was the same person as listed on the card, nor to state she was the same person as she signed.

I walked into the supermarket as she was (almost) in tears arguing with the checkout chick, front end manager and a 'mini-me' businessmen (you know the types - the "got here by hard work assistant store manager).

She called out to me, and I offered to vouch for her (not good enough) so I paid for the goods.

It was $10.42 - for a packet of toilet rolls, a loaf of bread, and a carton of milk.

If you were the register operator - what would you do?

I used to work in a corner store - if someone couldn't pay for 'necessities' we'd give them to them, and catch up next time. 95% of the time they'd pay up the next day/visit.

I've got one from the other side of the counter.

A friend of mine has recently (last week) remarried. All of her identification is in her maiden name. Her bank accounts and credit card are all in her former name.

She has a new CC in her new name.

Using the old CC she went to pay for goods at the supermarket. CC wouldn't work. (It expired on the 1st of June - her replacement card was in her new name). So she pulled out her new CC.

She hadn't signed the back of the card though, so signed it (with her new married name).

The signature didn't match the name on the card.

She had no ID to state that she was the same person as listed on the card, nor to state she was the same person as she signed.

I walked into the supermarket as she was (almost) in tears arguing with the checkout chick, front end manager and a 'mini-me' businessmen (you know the types - the "got here by hard work assistant store manager).

She called out to me, and I offered to vouch for her (not good enough) so I paid for the goods.

It was $10.42 - for a packet of toilet rolls, a loaf of bread, and a carton of milk.

I used to work in a corner store - if someone couldn't pay for 'necessities' we'd give them to them, and catch up next time. 95% of the time they'd pay up the next day/visit.

Probably the same as the store staff. You can never to to careful with CC theft and the fact there she had no either ID I think its fair for the staff to play it safe. I also commend the staff for actually checking the signature, it doesnt happen that often.

You vouching for her doesnt really cut it as an alternative either.

Probably the same as the store staff. You can never to to careful with CC theft and the fact there she had no either ID I think its fair for the staff to play it safe. I also commend the staff for actually checking the signature, it doesnt happen that often.

Not wrong, bought petrol sunday night with my C/C and because i very rarely use it i put the card away after i swiped it, signed the slip and left without my sig being checked. Didn't realise til i was in the car... bit dodgy by the bloke at the servo!

Yeah it's kinda like the

"It's my wifes card, I'm ALLOWED to use it"

or

"It's MY card, you don't need to check the signature"

or when the signature has degraded beyone legibility and you ask for a licence and they have a go at you. They would be the same people complaining if their card was stolen and you authorised a fraudulent transaction on it.

Not wrong, bought petrol sunday night with my C/C and because i very rarely use it i put the card away after i swiped it, signed the slip and left without my sig being checked. Didn't realise til i was in the car... bit dodgy by the bloke at the servo!

I had a guy put his card away once, I asked him to take it back out to verify the signature, his response was to sigh and tell me I was being pedantic. Then trying to be a smartarse he signed with a short squiggle when his signature on the card was a detailed name.

Needless to say I asked him if he could please sign it as the signature is on the card and he wen't off about customer service this and his rights that.

If you don't know how to use a credit card or don't like the system of signature and verification then get an eftpos card.

I had a guy put his card away once, I asked him to take it back out to verify the signature, his response was to sigh and tell me I was being pedantic. Then trying to be a smartarse he signed with a short squiggle when his signature on the card was a detailed name.

Needless to say I asked him if he could please sign it as the signature is on the card and he wen't off about customer service this and his rights that.

If you don't know how to use a credit card or don't like the system of signature and verification then get an eftpos card.

Know that all to well, i'm in a bank and sometimes we need to use the sig on the card as a form of i.d. and if they sign it differently i will ask them to resign like on the back. 50% of the time they get narky, i love it though.

Happens all the time.

Gets to the point where I just write "Insert Signature Here" on the slips. Very rarely is it looked at.

Well this is my job at Coles, and I would refuse the purchase. I've done it before, because we get in big trouble if we don't check.

I always check the signature, and if they put it in their wallet I just ask them to take it out again and make sure the card is the right colour. Frequently I have to check it with their drivers license, and the amount of people that get cranky with that is ridiculous.

The funniest ones are the cigerette customers though. Often you ask for ID and they are 28 or something and they get cranky (seriously, take it as a compliment). The best ones though are those that have their ID out ready to go, but you don't think they need it. You often don't see it ready to go until late into the purchase, and you don't want to hurt their feelings so you ask for it at an incredibly late time (like when they're signing their credit card slip). I always feel like an idiot asking for it that late.

I often screw it up as well, I'll ask someone for ID when they look 26ish but have a feature or two that looks youngish, so just to be sure I ask for ID. When they don't have it on them they get really desperate, pulling out every card with their name on it. Unfortunately, even though I realise that they are far from 17 years old I can't back down, and that leaves some very cranky customers.

i dont know why so many people dont check it, seriously its not that hard. when i hand them the receipt to sign i hold their card with the signature facing me and just watch them sign it because once ive packed their meal theres usually not much else to do, a quick glance at each and i hand them their card and their receipt back, most of the time its obvious they match so its not like they need a full examination, so at places like coles and petrol stations where they really have nothing else to do while the customer signs, i seriously cant understand why people dont even do this.

although i spose its possible that maybe a lot of people do it like me so you dont notice them checking it because your looking at the paper your signing and not what the staff are doing... but i dont have a credit card so i cant really comment....

Yeah it's kinda like the

"It's my wifes card, I'm ALLOWED to use it"

or

"It's MY card, you don't need to check the signature"

or when the signature has degraded beyone legibility and you ask for a licence and they have a go at you. They would be the same people complaining if their card was stolen and you authorised a fraudulent transaction on it.

my sig is screwed up on the card so i always pull my licence out to show them. Hardly anyone ever checks the sig and when they do most times they don't even question it.

I appreciate it when staff do check and then question the sig.

i dont know why so many people dont check it, seriously its not that hard. when i hand them the receipt to sign i hold their card with the signature facing me and just watch them sign it because once ive packed their meal theres usually not much else to do, a quick glance at each and i hand them their card and their receipt back, most of the time its obvious they match so its not like they need a full examination, so at places like coles and petrol stations where they really have nothing else to do while the customer signs, i seriously cant understand why people dont even do this.

although i spose its possible that maybe a lot of people do it like me so you dont notice them checking it because your looking at the paper your signing and not what the staff are doing... but i dont have a credit card so i cant really comment....

Yeah some people have questioned me for not checking their card. They don't realise that I have been watching their card since they pulled it out of their wallet and am looking at it as they sign. In the time it takes them to put the pen down I have checked their sig and processed the transaction (unless of course it doesn't match).

Same with the silly discounts. I am just too efficient, I have scanned their voucher any products and even swiped their card if they have handed it to me and they just stand there dazed telling me they have given me a discount voucher "yes, I have already scanned it."

As someone who works in finance, I get this often. The line that often helps me out is "Nothing personal, I just find it easier to ask you to verify your signature, than explain to you where your money has gone."

Bit like the other day how there was a shoplifter who came through my register.

Me: 'Did you have a receipt for those goods'
Her: 'Oh, umm nah, we bought it at the reject shop, lost the receipt'
Friends standing outside the shop: 'Yeah, we were with her when she bought it, it's from the reject shop'

Called my supervisor over but since it was only a packet of chips and a bottle of soft drink we just let them out with a warning and a 'make sure you bring your receipt next time'

Yeah, I always do that too.

I think half the time the people don't think I'm checking it, but I figure you don't have to make it ridiculously obvious.

The annoying thing about management giving in to ____head customers unwarranted complaints is that not only do they make you look stupid, but it makes the customer think that if they act like a tosser and complain and whinge then they will eventually get what they want. Which IMO is giving the wrong message.

Don't get me wrong, often customer's have reason to complain and should be compensated, however other times there is absolutely no reason for complaint.

I do understand that it is important to keep customer's happy, however if they are being extremely rude and obnoxious you should be able to lay down the law and refuse their requests. Who cares if they tell their friends. Trust me you are better off not having D grade customers who cause 80% of your headaches.

The annoying thing about management giving in to ____head customers unwarranted complaints is that not only do they make you look stupid, but it makes the customer think that if they act like a tosser and complain and whinge then they will eventually get what they want. Which IMO is giving the wrong message.

Don't get me wrong, often customer's have reason to complain and should be compensated, however other times there is absolutely no reason for complaint.

I do understand that it is important to keep customer's happy, however if they are being extremely rude and obnoxious you should be able to lay down the law and refuse their requests. Who cares if they tell their friends. Trust me you are better off not having D grade customers who cause 80% of your headaches.

Exactly right. Management should back the employee when a customer is being obviously obnoxious. They might go and tell a couple of mates (who are probably tossers as well), but at least your staff have faith that their bosses are looking out for them, and would help morale no end.

True- worst comes to worst the customer will go and say to their friends (in my case)- 'I tried to buy booze for my daughter and they didn't serve me because she didn't have id.' Their friends decide not to try and buy booze for their daughters there- is a good thing.

As other posters have mentioned as well the secondary purchase rule is the law- not really a policy that a manager can overrule. And even with store policies you'd want to think very very hard before bending them for a customer becasue that customer will tell friends and they all will expect the same treatment- rendering the policy useless.

:DBet he would'nt knock back one million dollars worth of worn out dirty old $2 coins? he needs to get a life, what a LOSER.
Here is the email he sent through:

I also love the fact how he couldn't even get the date right in his complaint. (Speaking of, I was bored working on Sunday so this is how I stumbled across this old complaint.)