Nationality of supporters?

Port have a lot of Italians I think mainly because of the black and white stripes association with Adelaide City and the fact that the Port has always been a pretty multi cultural area.

I reckon more Greeks go for the Crows as a lot are ex West Torrens supporters.

I would prefer to keep nationalities out of disccssion because overseas they just attack each other due to who they are , where they are , religion and tradition and wars and i would hate this to creep into our society any further . We see it in soccer here in Australia and it has to stop ASAP.
Its good people from overseas adopt our footy and our way of life and i dont care where they are from as long as they keep the peace and dont force their views / religions onto Australians .

I agree with Strategy. I lived in Europe for 3 and a half years and attended a lot of big soccer matches and the behaviour and violence is pathetic. Thats why our country and our sport is special because we all go to the game, sit together and have a good time with so many different nationalities and cultures. Everybody should take pride in that.

Tamil Tigers are a Terrorist group. That explains a lot about Richmond:thumbsu:

Come on, mate. The Kanga's would gladly take people from Al Quaeda, the Taliban, IRA - whoever they could if it sold another membership or two. I believe that Osama Bin Laden, Jack Thomas and the Una Bomber have all been sent coterie application forms already.

I agree with Strategy. I lived in Europe for 3 and a half years and attended a lot of big soccer matches and the behaviour and violence is pathetic. Thats why our country and our sport is special because we all go to the game, sit together and have a good time with so many different nationalities and cultures. Everybody should take pride in that.
Unfortunetly it is starting to slowly change! More and more i am seeing 'intimidation' between fans and even brawls in the crowd. It may not be too far away that we start to see segregation like in Soccer. The new trend of Grog Squads and the like is pushing this even closer. Recently some members of the Richmond Grog Squad stormed the Hawthorn members enclosure looking for a fight.

Always preferred to sit with Hawk supporters anyway because my mates and i have been known to not look too kindly on opposition supporters bagging our players!

I know alot of British Eagles supporters, kost of them merely moved from the UK to Perth and ended up supporting the local team.

Unfortunetly it is starting to slowly change! More and more i am seeing 'intimidation' between fans and even brawls in the crowd. It may not be too far away that we start to see segregation like in Soccer. The new trend of Grog Squads and the like is pushing this even closer. Recently some members of the Richmond Grog Squad stormed the Hawthorn members enclosure looking for a fight.

Always preferred to sit with Hawk supporters anyway because my mates and i have been known to not look too kindly on opposition supporters bagging our players!

Fair enough, but were a long way too go to reaching the level in Europe. My mates over there used to tell me that they would walk around the streets at night looking for opposition supporters to beat up on. Fights before the game are common and after the game as well. I used to live in Thessaloniki Greece. I barracked for a club from Athens. If i mentioned who i barracked for to people i didint know i would be dead, let alone wearing my clubs jumper or anything like that. It can be deadly. Going to games you were stripped searched, armed guards with semi automatic weapons lining the path to the entrance of the ground. Very intimidating stuff.

Sounds like Victoria Park in the old days or AAMI stadium at a Crows game!:D

Seriously though, i hope that it never comes to that here and i don't think it possibly could!

Can we keep the thread on topic and not turn it into an AFL>Soccer thread.

I've spent a great deal of time in Europe, living in both Paris and London for stretches and in that time I got behind the local game. Went to a lot of matches between varying teams in different divisions and your overplaying the violence by a fair stretch. It is no longer the 1980s hooligan firms don't run the streets beating up scarves and disasters such as Hillsborough are a thing of the past. Police have a firm handle on things and most arrests these days are for people being drunk and disorderly (much as they are at AFL games). I've worn an Arsenal shirt down the 7 Sisters Road and haven't been chased by a Tottenham mob. I've worn a PSG shirt down to Marseille and took in the sites before the game with no police escort (got a few funny looks though).

The violence in Australian soccer is talked up by the media and in reality is a bunch of 14 year old kids throwing flairs and running around trying to be hardcore. There are more arrests made at the cricket and there is no outcry. The whole ethnic tensions debate has run its course, the VPL gets pathetic crowds and the A-League generates less arrests than the AFL.

We all need to get a bit of perspective. The AFL is safer now than it has been for a long time and I am of the firm belief that this is an issue that is quite similar to the recent spate of footballers behaving badly. If anything there is less of it than there has been in the past but it is reported far more widely due to the increasing sensationalism of our media.

To get this back on topic, I'm from a Greek background and find that there are a great deal who support Richmond, Collingwood and Carlton. I've also noticed the increasing numbers of Sudanese, Ethiopian and Eritrean supporters attending Dogs games. Both Carlton and Melbourne traditionally have strong Jewish support.

Finally Verbeek your comments are pathetic and reflect the kind of ignorant, bigoted, short sited miscreant that you really are. It's people like you that this nation is better without.

Exactly right. My family are originally from Sri Lanka and the Tamil Tigers are a terrorist group. Would worry a bit about Sri Lankans who support the Tiges because of the Tamil Tigers.
btw I'm a Crows supporter. I think the ethnicity of supporters is probably more relevant in Melbourne. In 1 or 2 team towns you're probably going to get a fairly multicultural mix of supporters.

obviously terrorism is bad and i dont support it, but i thought that the Tamil tigers could have a political arm that may be supported by the people of that area

sort of like how the IRA also had some political arms and parties that believed in the same core ideals as the military part of the organization but were obviously more centered on achieving aims via peaceful and political means

Greeks follow Richmond Carlton and Collingwood. Due to when they migrated here. They went and lived in Collingwood Richmond and Carlton. Even Fitzroy had a big European base.

I know a lot of Greeks follow the clubs you mentioned, im Greek too and i can tell you a lot of us barrack for Essendon as well :thumbsu:

I'm Sril Lankan, but most of my family (there are heaps of us in Melbourne) go for the Kangaroos... so yeah... I'm not Tamil though so I dunno about the Richmond link...

Certain locations attract certain ethnic groups which in turn influences football teams. i.e lots of italians gather in lygon street, carlton...which influences them to support carlton.
I think it is largely influenced by geography rather than a superficial by chance connection (tamil tiger thing seems to be an interesting exception though)

Nationality of supporters?