Murray Football League (Part 2)

• Thread starter Thread starter tuckylives

Re: Murray Football League - Part 2

i am an outsider to this league, but did play all my juniors and 2 years in the seniors, i totally agree about the ribbing nathalia got, off course they would be paying a shit load of money to win 4 flags, they were lucky to field a team when i was playing mid eighties to early nineties, we beat them with our eyes closed, the juniors were pathetic and there purple and yellow jumpers were an embaressement, i guess they dont have them anymore, if i was to be paid to play there i would want double what other clubs pay just to wear thet jumper, and their nickname was the purps. what the hell is that , anyway back to my point, they must pay heaps because why else would players want to stay their, i would doubt they had performance enhancing drugs because i dont think they would be that clever, or have enough money left after paying the players, a lot of small towns have bought a premiership just to give them glory for a year and some pleasure, but things must still be bad at nathalia for them to need to buy 4. cant believe brendan parker is still playing full forward, i beat him in league goalkicking many years ago then i realised that full forward was a place for lazy attention grabbing pretty boys so i moved on to the ball to become a team player. I thought the murray league was better than that so for heavens sake, someone knock those nathalia in breds off their bloody perch. :mad:

You have a very bad case of sour grapes, Jason. Bugger off back to where you came from. We don't need d*ckheads like you on here.
You obviously have a long standing grudge against Nathalia. You had this to say early last month.
Hi , is big hawk john o'dwyer who played for sydney uni back in the early 90's, just popping in to say hello, at 37 just finished my career with a senior premiership at yass in the canberra districts comp, first flag for yass , we went through undefeated untill first final then recovered to win gf by 45 points, not many posts from any finley supporters, i bumped into tony scooter scoullar in west wyalong a few weeks ago and nuts coventry at the mcg, go larry ryan and the strathmerton twos, also a big hello to brendan parker, who i happened to beat for 3rds murray league goalkicking many years ago, i think he has probably kicked a few more goals than me now but probably not as many hard ball gets. Have nathalia changed their ugly purple and yellow jumpers yet, if not maybe they should, change is sometimes a good thing, and i think violet crumble sales are not as big as they used to be, to anyone else who remembers me hello and go the hawthorn hawks
I'm thinking maybe Brendon Parker may have given you a bit of a flogging back in the day and that you fancied yourself as a bit of an awesome player. I bet when you're standing in the pub talking about footy with someone, you always mention how back in the day, you beat Brendon Parker in the thirds goalkicking. Woopy do! If that's all you have your hat to hang on, you obviously didn't have a very accomplished football career.
And also, Brendon is also 37 years old. I bet you didn't kick 100 goals for three seasons in a row. Remember, he's still going and has been playing at a high standard for the past five years. You, however, have been playing in division four of AFL Canberra. Awesome effort there.
Perhaps you also have a soft spot for the colour purple. Not good enough to get a game for the Purps maybe? Or just didn't want anyone to know your little secret?

i am an outsider to this league, but did play all my juniors and 2 years in the seniors, i totally agree about the ribbing nathalia got, off course they would be paying a shit load of money to win 4 flags, they were lucky to field a team when i was playing mid eighties to early nineties, we beat them with our eyes closed, the juniors were pathetic and there purple and yellow jumpers were an embaressement, i guess they dont have them anymore, if i was to be paid to play there i would want double what other clubs pay just to wear thet jumper, and their nickname was the purps. what the hell is that , anyway back to my point, they must pay heaps because why else would players want to stay their, i would doubt they had performance enhancing drugs because i dont think they would be that clever, or have enough money left after paying the players, a lot of small towns have bought a premiership just to give them glory for a year and some pleasure, but things must still be bad at nathalia for them to need to buy 4. cant believe brendan parker is still playing full forward, i beat him in league goalkicking many years ago then i realised that full forward was a place for lazy attention grabbing pretty boys so i moved on to the ball to become a team player. I thought the murray league was better than that so for heavens sake, someone knock those nathalia in breds off their bloody perch. :mad:

You have a very bad case of sour grapes, Jason. Bugger off back to where you came from. We don't need d*ckheads like you on here.
You obviously have a long standing grudge against Nathalia. You had this to say early last month.
Hi , is big hawk john o'dwyer who played for sydney uni back in the early 90's, just popping in to say hello, at 37 just finished my career with a senior premiership at yass in the canberra districts comp, first flag for yass , we went through undefeated untill first final then recovered to win gf by 45 points, not many posts from any finley supporters, i bumped into tony scooter scoullar in west wyalong a few weeks ago and nuts coventry at the mcg, go larry ryan and the strathmerton twos, also a big hello to brendan parker, who i happened to beat for 3rds murray league goalkicking many years ago, i think he has probably kicked a few more goals than me now but probably not as many hard ball gets. Have nathalia changed their ugly purple and yellow jumpers yet, if not maybe they should, change is sometimes a good thing, and i think violet crumble sales are not as big as they used to be, to anyone else who remembers me hello and go the hawthorn hawks
I'm thinking maybe Brendon Parker may have given you a bit of a flogging back in the day and that you fancied yourself as a bit of an awesome player. I bet when you're standing in the pub talking about footy with someone, you always mention how back in the day, you beat Brendon Parker in the thirds goalkicking. Woopy do! If that's all you have your hat to hang on, you obviously didn't have a very accomplished football career.
And also, Brendon is also 37 years old. I bet you didn't kick 100 goals for three seasons in a row. Remember, he's still going and has been playing at a high standard for the past five years. You, however, have been playing in division four of AFL Canberra. Awesome effort there.
Perhaps you also have a soft spot for the colour purple. Not good enough to get a game for the Purps maybe? Or just didn't want anyone to know your little secret?

Another great reply Tucky- magic work mate:thumbsu:

Mate, Sorry you would have none when you talk crap like you do.:thumbsd::mad: B Parker is a legend,:thumbsu: He is what all clubs would love to have as he is there helping the juniors or serving at the canteen or giving someone some advise or as most would agree giving everyone a stitch from laughing when he is doing the awards after the game. I go on to read that you play Division 4 at Canberra, Wow that is a great achievement but just remember that this is also the place that a lot of people meet and make decision for this wondeful country but i think you have the same issue,s they do and that is you all talk sh*t and know nothing about the real world. I hope you enjoy your retirement but remember the older you get the bigger the story gets but you will be telling it to yourself as no-one likes to listen to c&*% heads like you.:p:p:p

Why would i have a grudge against nathalia, since i never lost a game to them in 6 years, never even came close, i was just backing up what a lot of people are thinking, nathalia have spent too much money and it is hurting a lot of other teams, money isnt everything, i have been payed to play but if i had to pay to play i would. As for my undistinguished career, well I have been senior coach at 4 clubs and assistant coach at 4 as well, I have won 5 grand finals, sydney football league div 1 , cairns fl , ,edwardstown in the south australian football association all of these much higher standard than murray league, also one at batemans bay, i have my level one and two coaching certificate, also 37 years old and to finish with a premiership at yass was great fun, as for canberra div 4, lets put it this way canb div 1 is sydney swans 2s, ainslie etc, div 2 is ainslie, belconnen reserves, also stronger than murray league, then div 3 is belco 3rds then div 4, we only have one team at yass so div 4 it is, but could easilly defeat a lot of div 3 teams, so to put it in perspective for you, ovens and murray div 1, goulburn valley etc div 2, murray league div 3 picola league div 4. as you probably know act won the country championships against vic, came runner up two years ago and won the one before that, dont think too many nathalia players or murray league were in that, so dont go bagging canberra footy till you know the facts, and little old yass won the premiership without spending a cent on any players, fancy that. And also the murray league was playing in the bottom div country footy championships this year didnt they, they actually went into top div the 10 or so years ago, so dont bag other leagues out till you have some bragging rights, as i was saying earlier, i agree with a lot of comments against nathalia and was just putting it out their to see if any bites, and yes i was astounded, pull your head in and stop spending so much money at nathalia and as for your foul mouth, well i guess that is expected, yes i have been paid to play and coach, and still playing and coaching the juniors, now retired and going to umpire, i am giving back as much as i can, not bragging but also forgot to mention gained all australian selection for two years in a row at the australian uni games, but as you put it my only claim to fame was to beat parker in 3rds goal kicking. grow a brain mate and no you would never see me where a bloody purple jumper, with yellow yuuuucckkk. hope barooga win both grades next year

You got it in one YOUR AN OUTSIDER AND ALWAYS WILL BE !!.
You would NEVER be good enough to pull on a purp's jumper, get back under your rock.

Why would i have a grudge against nathalia, since i never lost a game to them in 6 years, never even came close, i was just backing up what a lot of people are thinking, nathalia have spent too much money and it is hurting a lot of other teams, money isnt everything, i have been payed to play but if i had to pay to play i would. As for my undistinguished career, well I have been senior coach at 4 clubs and assistant coach at 4 as well, I have won 5 grand finals, sydney football league div 1 , cairns fl , ,edwardstown in the south australian football association all of these much higher standard than murray league, also one at batemans bay, i have my level one and two coaching certificate, also 37 years old and to finish with a premiership at yass was great fun, as for canberra div 4, lets put it this way canb div 1 is sydney swans 2s, ainslie etc, div 2 is ainslie, belconnen reserves, also stronger than murray league, then div 3 is belco 3rds then div 4, we only have one team at yass so div 4 it is, but could easilly defeat a lot of div 3 teams, so to put it in perspective for you, ovens and murray div 1, goulburn valley etc div 2, murray league div 3 picola league div 4. as you probably know act won the country championships against vic, came runner up two years ago and won the one before that, dont think too many nathalia players or murray league were in that, so dont go bagging canberra footy till you know the facts, and little old yass won the premiership without spending a cent on any players, fancy that. And also the murray league was playing in the bottom div country footy championships this year didnt they, they actually went into top div the 10 or so years ago, so dont bag other leagues out till you have some bragging rights, as i was saying earlier, i agree with a lot of comments against nathalia and was just putting it out their to see if any bites, and yes i was astounded, pull your head in and stop spending so much money at nathalia and as for your foul mouth, well i guess that is expected, yes i have been paid to play and coach, and still playing and coaching the juniors, now retired and going to umpire, i am giving back as much as i can, not bragging but also forgot to mention gained all australian selection for two years in a row at the australian uni games, but as you put it my only claim to fame was to beat parker in 3rds goal kicking. grow a brain mate and no you would never see me where a bloody purple jumper, with yellow yuuuucckkk. hope barooga win both grades next year

I must say I haven't seen you at any of the club meetings, you dont know the facts but your still shooting your mouth off. Grow up or shut up!

You got it in one YOUR AN OUTSIDER AND ALWAYS WILL BE !!.
You would NEVER be good enough to pull on a purp's jumper, get back under your rock.
hey barnzi read my last post you twit, you barrack for nathalia and collingwood, sort of feel sorry for you......

I must say I haven't seen you at any of the club meetings, you dont know the facts but your still shooting your mouth off. Grow up or shut up!
not hard to work out you are spending heaps, because as i said 10 years ago nathalia were embarrisingly bad, now powerhouses, you do the sums

You are obviously one of those shit footballers that has to talk himself up because you can't get a kick! Jealous non achieving bullshit artist. Go to Nathalia and see parker give to the club before the game and after the game. He even does the awards. Yeah and yass is a powerhouse in country football right in the middle of rugby country!!!!! Goulburn Valley is the premier league in country vic and you deserve to never be responded to on this post again-YOU ARE AN UNDERACHIEVER BUDDY-A NEVILLE NOBODY!!! If you are so good tell what your name is. Seeing you are such a legend we would all know you and be in awe of your achievements. You are the TOOL OF THE YEAR-Goodbye as I will never respond to your absolute crap posts and I hope others join me! Piss Off you lemming:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:
PS-Check the new thread loser

not hard to work out you are spending heaps, because as i said 10 years ago nathalia were embarrisingly bad, now powerhouses, you do the sums
You are a dead set idiot. 90% of Nathalia's four-peat team all played with Nathalia from juniors, right through to seniors. They worked their arses off, and although their under 14's and under 17's may not have been very competitive, they certainly had two or three quality players within each side over each group of three or four years. Do you think that the Nathalia Football Club paid their so called 'poor quality' players lots and lots of money, making them absolute super stars and capable of winning four premierships in a row?

YOU do the sums.

You are obviously one of those shit footballers that has to talk himself up because you can't get a kick! Jealous non achieving bullshit artist. Go to Nathalia and see parker give to the club before the game and after the game. He even does the awards. Yeah and yass is a powerhouse in country football right in the middle of rugby country!!!!! Goulburn Valley is the premier league in country vic and you deserve to never be responded to on this post again-YOU ARE AN UNDERACHIEVER BUDDY-A NEVILLE NOBODY!!! If you are so good tell what your name is. Seeing you are such a legend we would all know you and be in awe of your achievements. You are the TOOL OF THE YEAR-Goodbye as I will never respond to your absolute crap posts and I hope others join me! Piss Off you lemming:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:
Ringo1, our good friend dj_ando's real name is Jason Anderson. Didn't you know he was an absolute superstar footballer.........

that never was. :p

hey barnzi read my last post you twit, you barrack for nathalia and collingwood, sort of feel sorry for you......
She barracks for the most successful club in the AFL and the most successul MFL team of the past five years. I reckon she's on a winner, Jason.

ringo , open your eyes and smell the roses, act beat vic in country championships yoo idiot, you are just upset because you live in nathalia and had to marry your sister

She barracks for the most successful club in the AFL and the most successul MFL team of the past five years. I reckon she's on a winner, Jason.
and you barrack for nth melb. why dont you get a real coach. worst coach in the afl and worst team to make finals, might as well not made them though. go the purps

Ringo1, our good friend dj_ando's real name is Jason Anderson. Didn't you know he was an absolute superstar footballer.........

that never was. :p
yes ringo, i have nothing to hide unlike you and your sister, perhaps your in bred kids will be the next superstars for nathalia, big hawk was very right with your arrogance, if you are so good and gv fl is the best why dont you step up, seems you have the money or drugs

So the Finley thirds were the powerhouse team back in the day when you were kicking a million goals, and Nathalia was terrible and couldn't win a game with Brendon Parker struggling to get a kick and you kicking a million goals up the other end of the ground. Oh, what do ya know, look what has happened now! Nathalia has won the last four premierships and the Finley Football Club finished on the bottom of the ladder this year and is about to leave the MFL to join the much weaker PDFL. Bummer...

You said it, pal. Money isn't everything and the Nathalia Football Club and its players know that too! Hence why they have spent no-where near the amount that clubs such as Barooga and Mulwala have in previous years. And look where the money got those two clubs... one runner-up two years in a row despite spending mega dollars and another stumbling at the post four years in a row and now struggling to fill a reserves side.

And you've played for eight clubs or more. Any reason for that? Surely you don't move around that much. And if you're such an advocate for clubs not spending money, why did you accept it. Doesn't sound like it was just petrol money you were getting.

Only one club in Yass, so division four it is..? Well that sounds like the club is strong enough to compete at a higher level. Why doesn't it?

Also, I think you have your league standards arse-about. I think you would find it would go 1. GVFL, 2. O&MFL, 3. MFL etc, 4. PDFL etc. Interleague is not a consistent indication of the strength of a league. So many of each league's top level players make themselves unavailable for representative football due to a range of reasons, so depending on any given year, some leagues may have close to its strongest team represented, while others may have many quality players missing. It all comes down to the type of players competing. For example, the past few years has seen many players enter the MFL from higher leagues including the GVFL and O&MFL, yet they don't want to play interleague because they usually have already been there and done that when they were at the higher standard. Hence, lots of either younger or older players taking part, meaning not the strongest team!

You're probably right. Barooga's seniors and reserves will probably win premierships next year. The thing is, Nathalia will be without some of their key premiership locals due to the fact that many of them are over 30 years of age and may retire. I certainly don't think a senior premiership will mean much to the Barooga boys. Kind of like this, they come runner-up two years in a row, waiting for Nathalia's best players to get old and retire, then they come through in 2009 and win a flag that means nothing. They don't share the mateship Nathalia do.

Oh, and one last thing. Keep your little eyes on Nathalia in the next 5-10 years. Their under 14's and under 17's of the last eight years have struggled to win a game, but they have some brilliant players who have developed in the senior ranks in the last couple of years and will ensure their team is back up winning premierships in the not too distant future.

Now, go away.

and you barrack for nth melb. why dont you get a real coach. worst coach in the afl and worst team to make finals, might as well not made them though. go the purps
Thanks mate! I just gave Dean Laidley a call and told him to resign as coach and sent a memo to all of the players to never make finals again. Does that make you happy?
I bet no-one even knew you were a Hawthorn supporter until you went down and bought yourself a Hawks jumper after the grand final. If I really must stoop as low as you, I would like to say that I used to think Geelong supporters were the biggest bandwagoners in the league. Well, I'm happy to say that not only did Hawthorn take the premiership from Geelong, they also claimed the title as the biggest bandwagon jumping supporters in the league.

So the Finley thirds were the powerhouse team back in the day when you were kicking a million goals, and Nathalia was terrible and couldn't win a game with Brendon Parker struggling to get a kick and you kicking a million goals up the other end of the ground. Oh, what do ya know, look what has happened now! Nathalia has won the last four premierships and the Finley Football Club finished on the bottom of the ladder this year and is about to leave the MFL to join the much weaker PDFL. Bummer...

You said it, pal. Money isn't everything and the Nathalia Football Club and its players know that too! Hence why they have spent no-where near the amount that clubs such as Barooga and Mulwala have in previous years. And look where the money got those two clubs... one runner-up two years in a row despite spending mega dollars and another stumbling at the post four years in a row and now struggling to fill a reserves side.

And you've played for eight clubs or more. Any reason for that? Surely you don't move around that much. And if you're such an advocate for clubs not spending money, why did you accept it. Doesn't sound like it was just petrol money you were getting.

Only one club in Yass, so division four it is..? Well that sounds like the club is strong enough to compete at a higher level. Why doesn't it?

Also, I think you have your league standards arse-about. I think you would find it would go 1. GVFL, 2. O&MFL, 3. MFL etc, 4. PDFL etc. Interleague is not a consistent indication of the strength of a league. So many of each league's top level players make themselves unavailable for representative football due to a range of reasons, so depending on any given year, some leagues may have close to its strongest team represented, while others may have many quality players missing. It all comes down to the type of players competing. For example, the past few years has seen many players enter the MFL from higher leagues including the GVFL and O&MFL, yet they don't want to play interleague because they usually have already been there and done that when they were at the higher standard. Hence, lots of either younger or older players taking part, meaning not the strongest team!

You're probably right. Barooga's seniors and reserves will probably win premierships next year. The thing is, Nathalia will be without some of their key premiership locals due to the fact that many of them are over 30 years of age and may retire. I certainly don't think a senior premiership will mean much to the Barooga boys. Kind of like this, they come runner-up two years in a row, waiting for Nathalia's best players to get old and retire, then they come through in 2009 and win a flag that means nothing. They don't share the mateship Nathalia do.

Oh, and one last thing. Keep your little eyes on Nathalia in the next 5-10 years. Their under 14's and under 17's of the last eight years have struggled to win a game, but they have some brilliant players who have developed in the senior ranks in the last couple of years and will ensure their team is back up winning premierships in the not too distant future.

Now, go away.
C'mon Tucky. Don't make silly comments like that! The feeling between the Senior playing group this year was fantastic! A flag would mean everything to our proud club! Why do you think our win in the Ressies felt pretty hollow without the Senior and B Grade premierships as well! The boys had a bad game in the GF but don't going saying that we're not close and that a premiership wouldn't mean anything! Obviously you didn't see how gutted our blokes, girls and supporters were! Yes we have to live with it but don't go making generalisations like that.:thumbsd:

hey guyss. im 17 years old. and coming on to my leagues 1s thread (i look up to these guys as heroes) and reading the stuff dj dick head is saying it makes me sick! dj andy please go back to your own footy leagur thread, we dont care if your a coaching super star. but as old mate tucky said most of the purps players are locals who have left and become awesome footballers. now they are back and gettin a bit of $$$$ every club pays players. i hope the purps keep playing great footy. fot there younger fellas. also dj andy. dont come on the thread and talk about players! and if you have never been to a clubs meeting then you wont know what goes on there... please p$ss off

Can you honestly say that the reason for losing this year's grand final was due to the team having a bad game, after the coach came out in the media the following week and said that Nathalia won because they were getting cheap kicks out the back and playing tiggy touch wood football. If this was the case and he was any sort of a coach, he would have been able to identify this earlier and rectify the situation and possible resulting in a win.

I did see how gutted the Barooga supporters were after the game. But the fact that the seniors were able to defeat Nathalia by 55 points in round eleven of the home and away season, yet come out in the grand final and not give a sniff would have been what hurt the most.

I'm sure a flag would mean the world to your club, but I just don't feel that the club is going about it the right way. Football clubs aren't meant to win all of the time. You have your years at the top, and after those years have passed and you're back with the pack, you use the leaner years as a chance to develope younger players as regular senior footballers.

It probably does sound like I'm having a big dig at Barooga, but I reckon if you didn't worry about throwing bundles of cash at big name recruits and focussed on getting senior experience under the belts of your Sam Ryan's, your Nye boys, your James Hazelman's and even your Thomas Currie's, the future will become a lot brighter for the club as a whole.

Just imagine what your young kids in the thirds and fourths are seeing. Their beloved football club disregarding the locals and grabbing blokes from a high standard in an attempt to win a premiership. It certainly doesn't foster a good culture within a football club and most likely makes these kids think "Oh well, when I'm too old for juniors, I might go and play for a PDFL club for money, because my club Barooga didn't look after me when I was a junior."

Just look at clubs like Deniliquin, Tongala and Cobram. All experiencing leaner years, therefor, giving their junior players and faithful locals the chance to evolve and grow as part of a healthy culture and eventually getting results. I bet they could all easily go out and spend up big on top-line players and try to gain success overnight, but I would guarantee they wouldn't win a premiership.

Can you honestly say that the reason for losing this year's grand final was due to the team having a bad game, after the coach came out in the media the following week and said that Nathalia won because they were getting cheap kicks out the back and playing tiggy touch wood football. If this was the case and he was any sort of a coach, he would have been able to identify this earlier and rectify the situation and possible resulting in a win.

I did see how gutted the Barooga supporters were after the game. But the fact that the seniors were able to defeat Nathalia by 55 points in round eleven of the home and away season, yet come out in the grand final and not give a sniff would have been what hurt the most.

I'm sure a flag would mean the world to your club, but I just don't feel that the club is going about it the right way. Football clubs aren't meant to win all of the time. You have your years at the top, and after those years have passed and you're back with the pack, you use the leaner years as a chance to develope younger players as regular senior footballers.

It probably does sound like I'm having a big dig at Barooga, but I reckon if you didn't worry about throwing bundles of cash at big name recruits and focussed on getting senior experience under the belts of your Sam Ryan's, your Nye boys, your James Hazelman's and even your Thomas Currie's, the future will become a lot brighter for the club as a whole.

Just imagine what your young kids in the thirds and fourths are seeing. Their beloved football club disregarding the locals and grabbing blokes from a high standard in an attempt to win a premiership. It certainly doesn't foster a good culture within a football club and most likely makes these kids think "Oh well, when I'm too old for juniors, I might go and play for a PDFL club for money, because my club Barooga didn't look after me when I was a junior."

Just look at clubs like Deniliquin, Tongala and Cobram. All experiencing leaner years, therefor, giving their junior players and faithful locals the chance to evolve and grow as part of a healthy culture and eventually getting results. I bet they could all easily go out and spend up big on top-line players and try to gain success overnight, but I would guarantee they wouldn't win a premiership.
How the hell are you the moderator of this forum?????? Some of your comments are indicating absolutely no knowledge of our competition at all.
I'll start with Byso's comments. They were in the heat of the moment and rather than berating his own players, he had to find someone to blame. Our guys were bad!!! END OF STORY! Are you forgetting that Nathalia had about 6 top liners including A Gemmill, Snelson, Butler, Barnes out when they played us in Round 11! That particular game was exactly how I thought the GF would be played out. We ran over the top of them in the last after 3 very tight quarters but it wasn't to be BECAUSE our blokes played probably their WORST game of the year. Not taking anything away from Nathalia as the pressure they applied was incredible.
As for blooding our younger players, I think you'll find (if you knew anything about the MFL) that Hazelman and Sam Ryan played the majority of the year in the 1's. As with the Nye boys, both were in the Seniors until injured and as for Tom Currie coming up and playing seniors........you've got to be kidding!!! It is his first year out of the Fourths!!!!!! He is developing nicely and definitely could become a Senior player. You forgot to mention the likes of Mick Connors, Sean Connor, Rhys Holt, Ben Ryan and the likes who all tasted Seniors this year!!! They all have the potential to become very good players for the club and will so in due time. Sorry but we don't feed our young to the lions like the Spartans in Vic!!!!
HOW DARE YOU SAY THAT WE DISREGARD OUR JUNIORS!!!!!!!!
What we really need is to get our Senior players more heavily involved with the Juniors (which we do through Senior players being involved in Junior training) more effectively and try to get them thinking footy 24/7. Difficult to do in current times but obviously will get everyone to respect us more.
And yes we do face the prospect of losing many of our younger players to PDFL clubs but that is the nature of the beast! MONEY! It's getting out of hand and as I've mentioned we're no role model in this regard but for us to be competitive in the competition, we require the services of more experienced players. If the kids really want to play, they will look for that advice from senior players, they will work extremely hard on the training track and they will do those extra things to get them in our football side. Unlike Nathalia, with the Barnes and Butlers of the world, our upcoming crop of youngsters are still developing these attitudes and ethics. Matt Byers went a long way instilling this into these young blokes. If they don't want to work that hard, then there is the option of PDFL. That's their decision. So hopefully, rather than getting a game handed to them on a silver platter, our young blokes have to WORK to get a game. It's harder to give something up when you've worked your arse off for it!!!!! Hard to instill!
The other thing our young blokes are missing is success!! During our successful period in the 90's, our LOCAL CONTENT had come through a very successful Junior era. Our current bunch haven't experienced that and it is an acquired ability because you know exactly what is required to reach the ultimate prize. Hopefully with the success some of the kids had in the Ressies, we will see a few of these young fellas running around at 2pm next year.
Frustrating but don't need you sprouting off about how our club is operating when you are only looking at it through blinkers. Like everyone else, we're just trying to be as successful as we possibly can!

How the hell are you the moderator of this forum?????? Some of your comments are indicating absolutely no knowledge of our competition at all.
I'll start with Byso's comments. They were in the heat of the moment and rather than berating his own players, he had to find someone to blame. Our guys were bad!!! END OF STORY! Are you forgetting that Nathalia had about 6 top liners including A Gemmill, Snelson, Butler, Barnes out when they played us in Round 11! That particular game was exactly how I thought the GF would be played out. We ran over the top of them in the last after 3 very tight quarters but it wasn't to be BECAUSE our blokes played probably their WORST game of the year. Not taking anything away from Nathalia as the pressure they applied was incredible.
As for blooding our younger players, I think you'll find (if you knew anything about the MFL) that Hazelman and Sam Ryan played the majority of the year in the 1's. As with the Nye boys, both were in the Seniors until injured and as for Tom Currie coming up and playing seniors........you've got to be kidding!!! It is his first year out of the Fourths!!!!!! He is developing nicely and definitely could become a Senior player. You forgot to mention the likes of Mick Connors, Sean Connor, Rhys Holt, Ben Ryan and the likes who all tasted Seniors this year!!! They all have the potential to become very good players for the club and will so in due time. Sorry but we don't feed our young to the lions like the Spartans in Vic!!!!
What we really need is to get our Senior players more heavily involved with the Juniors (which we do through Senior players being involved in Junior training) more effectively and try to get them thinking footy 24/7. Difficult to do in current times but obviously will get everyone to respect us more.
And yes we do face the prospect of losing many of our younger players to PDFL clubs but that is the nature of the beast! MONEY! It's getting out of hand and as I've mentioned we're no role model in this regard but for us to be competitive in the competition, we require the services of more experienced players. If the kids really want to play, they will look for that advice from senior players, they will work extremely hard on the training track and they will do those extra things to get them in our football side. Unlike Nathalia, with the Barnes and Butlers of the world, our upcoming crop of youngsters are still developing these attitudes and ethics. Matt Byers went a long way instilling this into these young blokes. If they don't want to work that hard, then there is the option of PDFL. That's their decision. So hopefully, rather than getting a game handed to them on a silver platter, our young blokes have to WORK to get a game. It's harder to give something up when you've worked your arse off for it!!!!! Hard to instill!
The other thing our young blokes are missing is success!! During our successful period in the 90's, our LOCAL CONTENT had come through a very successful Junior era. Our current bunch haven't experienced that and it is an acquired ability because you know exactly what is required to reach the ultimate prize. Hopefully with the success some of the kids had in the Ressies, we will see a few of these young fellas running around at 2pm next year.
Frustrating but don't need you sprouting off about how our club is operating when you are only looking at it through blinkers. Like everyone else, we're just trying to be as successful as we possibly can!

Big Hawk it doesn't feel good does it havng to justify yourself to people who aren't from your own inner sanctum, who make generalised statements that you feel have no merit to it. Before you go bagging Tucky have a look back at some of your posts regarding our club to me it seems a bit hypocritical of you

But you said the team had its worst game of the season. Why wouldn't you put it back on the players and himself? He didn't have to find someone to blame. Just probably the easier option.

The players who you have mentioned have played only a handful of games in the seniors this year. There is nothing wrong with throwing those boys into the senior side and letting them learn and grow with their real mates. I know you have been around football a long time, so I would think you'd know that the only way those boys will learn the ropes is to let them make mistakes and develope as senior players. I mentioned Cobram, Deniliquin and Tongala. All have less than 5 players who are paid, Tongala for instance have only one. Yet, they have their local boys, many under 25 years of age running around. In three years, they were able to make finals without paying big dollars for players they didn't need. Deni almost the same, Cobram on their way. This might upset you, but I reckon in the next few years, those three clubs will experience more success than that of the Barooga Football Club.

I never said your club disregards its juniors. I said it desregards its locals. I'm talking about the blokes who have left the club to play in the PDFL.

You're not telling me anything I don't know. Too right it's getting out of hand, but as I said, why is your club so concerned about being competitive all of the time. Do they not realise money does not equal success? Look at Mulwala. Look at Moama. Look at yourselves! Success is not only measured by premierships and winning games. It's also measured by how well the club can retain its players over the years and push those players through to the senior ranks. I still feel that there are a number of other clubs within the league ahead of your own club on that front.

Big Hawk it doesn't feel good does it havng to justify yourself to people who aren't from your own inner sanctum, who make generalised statements that you feel have no merit to it. Before you go bagging Tucky have a look back at some of your posts regarding our club to me it seems a bit hypocritical of you
Summed it up in one, BB.

Thanks mate! I just gave Dean Laidley a call and told him to resign as coach and sent a memo to all of the players to never make finals again. Does that make you happy?
I bet no-one even knew you were a Hawthorn supporter until you went down and bought yourself a Hawks jumper after the grand final. If I really must stoop as low as you, I would like to say that I used to think Geelong supporters were the biggest bandwagoners in the league. Well, I'm happy to say that not only did Hawthorn take the premiership from Geelong, they also claimed the title as the biggest bandwagon jumping supporters in the league.
I used to barrack for melbourne because my pop played for them in the thirties and he got me a jumper when i was born, my uncle got me a hawthorn jumper when i was five and i changed. For those who know me they all know who i barrack for and all of canberra that listens to 104.7 know as well from my footy radio show, so again spruking off without knowing the truth, big hawk was correct in saying how can you be moderator if you are so one eyed. also everyone knows the ovens and murray is stronger than the gvfl, just accept it and actafl is also stronger than gvfl, not hard to work out, 4 out of the five teams beat the swans reserves in home and away games and belconnen stumbled in grand final by a point, how many gvfl clubs would beat the swans. im guessing not many. yass are only in div 4 because they have only been going 7 years and this was their first flag, building juniors now and will stay in div 4 till they are ready to go up. as i said we payed no money and we had two guys travel from wollongong and 6 from canberra, just because they wanted to, thats what i call mateship. Also tucky, i just read pdfl thread and where did you get your comment on finley joining, no mention on there only rennie, just another lie is it.