Trav Varcoe

• Thread starter Thread starter Vegas.

Re: Travis Varcoe shines for the Aboriginal All Stars

I think a few posters are a bit blinded by the 'Joel Selwood' and 'Rioli' factor. They are exceptional cases. Players rarely come in and dominate/realise their potential from the word go.

Think about Wells and Tambling at North Melbourne and Richmond respectivley. Both were rated highly coming into their drafts, yet both are still to really impose themselves on the competition. It's obvious that this type of player can take a little longer to develop. They come from playing under age football to being knocked around by bodies much bigger then them. Its inevitably going to take a while for them to become comfortable enough to get into top gear.

Not sure how Rioli's first year can be up there with Selwoods.

He wasn't that big last year though.

This gets back to what I was suggesting in my earlier post...

Varcoe wasn't small last year by any stretch, especially relative to other indigenous forwards. He was listed at 179cm and 78kg at the start of 2008. Rioli, for example, was 177cm and 78kg.

Varcoe just isn't that strong, power to weight ratio etc...

Of maybe it just gets back to going in hard. There is a technique to tackling, and it requires a player to really throw their own torso at their opponent. Some of the best tacklers I've played with were small guys - they just had a lot of fight in them. I've noticed on occasion that Varcoe seems to be reluctant when approaching a player front on.

Yeah the thing is that added size does not automatically mean added toughness. Guys like Jim, Selwood etc. have been throwing themselves at the ball since they were 9 years old (Selwood playing in the u14's or something ridiculous). It's not easy to teach a guy to do this if it doesn't come naturally, it's an instinct thing.

However, Travis did look a bit more 'hard at it' in the AAS game, so hopefully he is working on it.

Probably because he isn't used as a genuine goal sneak. Varcoe has always been groomed to be an attacking wingman / midfielder.

This is where I would like to see one of our smalls function. We do not have a clever crumber in the forward line. With big blokes like Ottens and Hawkins contesting the ball you would think that a crumber would have some good opportunities when the ball hits the deck

Not sure how Rioli's first year can be up there with Selwoods.

Your right, not sure myself. I mean, Selwood won the rising star, Rioli the dud only scraped in to second spot for the same award. They were also first year players that played in premiership sides....... What a foolish parallel to make!

Trav is like Michael Clarke.

Rubbish
Shit
Overrated.
Drop him
Should never play again.

P.s. theyre both awesome.

Nice to see Varcoe have a good game. However, if the selectors are doing their job and we are lucky with injuries, Varcoe should be making way for Gamble.

Gamble is hard, a great contested mark and has true match winner potential. I think Varcoe is a solid performer but goes missing, relies too much on others to create his chances and (in my opinion) will never have the potential to win us games.

As a forward, I just see too much potential in Gamble and not enough in Varcoe. Gamble's contested marking is the key, something our other forwards really struggle with.

These are the 2008 stats that count:
Gamble 21 goals from 13 games
Varcoe 14 goals from 16 games

Gamble: Height: 184cm Weight: 78kg Position: Forward
Varcoe: Height: 179cm Weight: 78kg Position: Forward

Regardless of how many times you want to split a hair, these two guys are playing for the same spot and (at full strength) both wouldn't make most people's best 22, but 1 of them most likely would.

Gamble is a better marking target, yes, but lets get not get too technical about what type of players they are. Theyre both small forwards but Gamble has the ability to play taller because of his marking ability. Forward line pressure is great but Varcoe's output of goals is below par.

In response to your 'possessions inside 50 stat' , a criticism of Varcoe is his lack of ability to read the game as a forward and get possessions in scoring zones. He often tends to drift out of the play and appears lost..

hmmmm logic... :)

Sucks to have put all that effort into writing all those words trying to form an argument only to be trumped by a quick "he's not a forward."

This is where I would like to see one of our smalls function. We do not have a clever crumber in the forward line. With big blokes like Ottens and Hawkins contesting the ball you would think that a crumber would have some good opportunities when the ball hits the deck

Johnson, Stokes, Chapman??

Geelong haven't actually been that good at applying forward line pressure since since '04 and '05. Back then their specialty was a water tight defence, and great pressure in the forward line to keep the ball in for long periods.

What the !!!!!!!!!!! Our forward pressure was excellent. How many times did the opposition concede rushed behinds due to there being no one free for there team. You dont need to lay tackles to apply pressure. And even when Trav doesnt lay a tackle, his smarts and quickness allow him to apply pressure on the oppsosing team.

Im certain if Gamble and Varcoe were offered as trade bait, Varvoe would be the one who would have more chasers.

I think its more down to Lonergan and Gamble playing for the same type of lead up and mark position. If Tomahawk plays FF then you cant have Lonergan and Gamble both play forward with Mooney.

What the !!!!!!!!!!! Our forward pressure was excellent. How many times did the opposition concede rushed behinds due to there being no one free for there team. You dont need to lay tackles to apply pressure. And even when Trav doesnt lay a tackle, his smarts and quickness allow him to apply pressure on the oppsosing team.

Im certain if Gamble and Varcoe were offered as trade bait, Varvoe would be the one who would have more chasers.

I think its more down to Lonergan and Gamble playing for the same type of lead up and mark position. If Tomahawk plays FF then you cant have Lonergan and Gamble both play forward with Mooney.

Sounds ok to me! Tommi, mooms and Gamble where Varcoe plays after that is your call, maybe HFF or opposie FP?

Meto.

Sounds ok to me! Tommi, mooms and Gamble where Varcoe plays after that is your call, maybe HFF or opposie FP?

Meto.
I have been super critical of Varcoe, maybe he could be the next leon davis, sneek up on the competition & become an imortant midfielder/forward.

MH,

Wouldn't that be nice, after what we saw of Leon last Saturday.

Meto.

Sucks to have put all that effort into writing all those words trying to form an argument only to be trumped by a quick "he's not a forward."

Varcoe isn't a forward? He has played most of his recent footy as a forward so I don't know where I got that idea from.. :confused:

I'd rather see Gamble in the forward line than Varcoe in the midfield or wherever else on the ground you think he plays.. They are both on the cusp of the best 22 and like i said, most of you will have either one in your best 22 but not both.

Varcoe isn't a forward? He has played most of his recent footy as a forward so I don't know where I got that idea from.. :confused:

He never played as a forward until he hit geelong as a junior he was a midfielder and his style of play is more suited to being a midfielder. The reason he is up forward is he is a fair bit behind ablett, bartel, ling, corey etc as a midfielder and when drafted had not played in a while and was too slight to go in there. He was chucked up forward as we needed his pace at times.

I still think he will develop into a wingman and play better up the ground than he ever would as a stay at home forward.

I'd rather see Gamble in the forward line than Varcoe in the midfield

Now this is a completely different statement, and one i'd probably agree with given our strengths and weaknesses in the midfield and forward line.

His best is yet to be appreciated, & that is exciting. We have not had any dud no. 5's & they wouldn't have given that no. away lightly. I'm confident there is room for both Varcoe & Gamble in best 22. Varcoe replaces Byrnes, Gamble replaces NABLETT somewhere on the forward line, looking at our best 22 from 07, and there is nothing more certain than the reality of injuries determining our best 22 in any game in 09 anyway, so we don't need to exclude anyone really.

I am a fan of Varcoe, I would like to see him further up the group maybe on the opposite wing to Selwood. His game against the dogs were he was getting the footy between the wing and half forward was pretty impressive. I think too many people forget that he is still only 20 years old with plenty of development and consistency hopefully still to come.

Didn't like much of what I saw from him last year, but true he's only 20 and was a bit light framed in 08. Most indiginous players need time to fill-out, and when they put it on, its always muscle not fat.
I've heard he's put on size for 09, will do wonders for self-confidence.
Played a ripper for the all-stars so we have high expectations.

Meto.

Seems like I'm not the only supporter who can actually appreciate T Varcoe. Did you watch the game by any chance? There were many gun players & Varcoe was a standout. If you're bitter a bout his GF game, the Prelim. should not be dismissed either. Gamble & Varcoe are probably not even vying for the same spot, as others have suggested. A criticism was that Varcoe can't hold his feet & falls a lot, but that didn't occur once last pm, despite the rain.

I'll put my hand up - I'm very, very fecking bitter about his GF game. He was rubbish and went missing on the biggest possible occasion. In case people have forgotten, we lost the Grand Final we should have won, and the non-existent forward line was directly responsible for it. So I'll refrain from exhibiting gerbil-faced optimism about 2009 just yet. Thompson might not be blaming individuals, but I am. Because it's true.

However, he wasn't quite the worst (Stokes took that honour), and he wasn't the only one. And Varcoe did absolutely play a great game in the prelim final. The question now is how he responds. If he has a ripper pre-season, he deserves a spot in round 1. But for me, out of Varcoe, Stokes and Byrnes there's only room for one. Because Lonergan makes way for Hawkins, and someone else has to make way for Gamble.

But for me, out of Varcoe, Stokes and Byrnes there's only room for one. Because Lonergan makes way for Hawkins, and someone else has to make way for Gamble.

That is a little too cut and dry I reckon. With Chappy and Kelly having roles up forward last year if a few of the younger forwards step up these players may be moved into the midfield rotation putting pressure on depth players such as rooke. Also there could be a flow on effect with rooke, smithy etc able to play a 1/2 back the pressure switches to woj, enright, hunt.
If players perform then there is room for them in the AFL team but if they dont then we got them covered. A good place to be in where there is competition for spots and depth to cover in the small man division.

The real interest will be in the forward key positions with Mooney and Lonergan under pressure from Simpson, Hawkins and Brown (if he keeps impressing).

In my opinion is set for a big year. Was a stand out in the Indigenous game, and i thought was senational today too.

Its great to see him coming along - whats pleasing me is i'm able to say he been 'tough'. He is keeping his feet, has good hands, etc.

To me, his early season form has proved he is best on the wing, as i've always thought.

Look out for him this year.

In my opinion is set for a big year. Was a stand out in the Indigenous game, and i thought was senational today too.

Its great to see him coming along - whats pleasing me is i'm able to say he been 'tough'. He is keeping his feet, has good hands, etc.

To me, his early season form has proved he is best on the wing, as i've always thought.

Look out for him this year.

yeah quite agree he is looking good and looks fit!