Resistance 2

• Thread starter Thread starter caMoGFC

Hired the game out
Campaign mode sucks, Co-Op and competitive mode is fun, but I feel that it is still kind of incomplete when playing and a bit overated. Still a good game but has more potential.

I was disappointed by the campaign aswell. Co-Op is great fun except doing the same thing over and over again gets boring after a while.

Competitive is great fun except I can only get a match of 20 people. I want ranked matches, the only ranked matches that have a lot of people are the ones that have 20 people and I want 60 for it to be fun.

I'm really wishing that I had a 360 :(.

I was disappointed by the campaign aswell. Co-Op is great fun except doing the same thing over and over again gets boring after a while.

Competitive is great fun except I can only get a match of 20 people. I want ranked matches, the only ranked matches that have a lot of people are the ones that have 20 people and I want 60 for it to be fun.

I'm really wishing that I had a 360 :(.

why are you wishing you had a 360??
what 360 game has 60 player multiplayer??
either way you're 16 now...maybe get a part time job if you don't already have one to buy the 360??
360's are pretty damn cheap for such an awesome piece of tech

and i dunno how you can only get 20 player matches...60 player games are easy as to get into.....any time i tried i always got one.
i don't know what's wrong with it for you...you are choosing the big maps and large game option right?

i couldn't really get into the multiplayer on this game, as much as i tried...
been cod4'ing it up getting tuned up for killzone 2 and if tonight is anything to go by i will be a flipping MACHINE for it BAM BABY!

Nah it's not that. I want ranked matches to get my XP up. You can only get ranked matches by choosing the "Play" option. Not choosing your custom settings. I look for large matches and there's never any ranked ones.

i thought it was ranked matches i was doing it with....:confused:

after you click play doesn't it give you the option??

i will look tomorrow or something maybe anywayz....i'm certain you can do it with ranked also...

Resistance 2 patch incoming, and news on the second player stat recording.

Source:
Now you may be asking, “But what about adding the option to save the second player’s character progress?” Truth be told, it required a certain PS3 firmware that wasn’t available at the time of Resistance 2’s release. We now have that firmware and are currently working to implement the feature. As soon as it’s ready, we’ll get it out to you.

Sweet, hopefully this comes soon. :thumbsu:

I still don't understand why they didn't just save player 2 as a guest (at least for offline) like every other co-op game.

Logging in under a second PSN id will be even better though. I'm guessing this will pave the way for all future games to do the same too - would be great for Rock Band. :thumbsu:

Should allow trophies for players other than player 1 too I would imagine.

I assume that's what they are talking about? - the inability to log in 2 PSN accounts at the same time on one machine.

1.40 is now live, the patch is 26MB, and just a recap of what is in it.

Multiplayer Progression
Some people have seen their competitive and/or cooperative characters reset to level 1. For several of those cases, this patch will not only bring back all the XP, stats, and attributes that you’ve lost, but it will also add to your character profile the XP/stats/attributes that you’ve earned since those levels were reset. For example, say you were a level 20 medic and after being reset to level 1, and you earned 5,000 XP. Thanks to the patch, you’ll return a level 20 medic and that 5,000 XP will be added to your profile.
This patch will also correct some medal and trophy issues, including the “Killing Machine” trophy (if you’ve already accumulated 10,000 kills but haven’t received this trophy, it’ll pop up as soon as you download the patch).

Here are some additional patch 1.40 details:

Trophy/Medal/Ribbons

• “Salute Me” trophy is not awarded until player reaches level 31 (Lieutenant)
  • “Berserker” trophy can be collected during non-ranked games
  • “Survivor” medal can be collected in cooperative games
  • “Sure Shot” ribbon is awarded if player has accuracy of exactly 50%
Clans

• Added clan support for viewing members, sending invites, and setting up clan tags
  • Default clan region is now USA
Match Balancing

• Unbalanced ranked games are cancelled in staging before the game is started
  • Parties are prevented from matchmaking into free-for-all Deathmatch games
Competitive

• Loadouts can be disabled in the “Create Game” screen in competitive games
  • Balanced the chance of dropping large ammo pickups in competitive games
  • Core Control scoreboard displays “Kills”
  • Improved scoreboard formatting
Cooperative

• Balanced the amount of XP gained by the Medic class in cooperative games
  • Stalker movement enabled in cooperative games
  • Small ammo pickups don’t give LAARK ammo in cooperative games
Weapons/Gameplay

• Splash damage on Pulse Cannon can damage the player firing it
  • Rossmore reticule better reflects its accuracy
  • Fire is easier to shake off
  • Players cannot swap weapons in the middle of a melee attack
Miscellaneous

• Localized text updates
  • Network message optimizations
  • EULA displays the correct language text for Norwegian, Finnish, Swedish and Danish

Resistance 3 to be re-imaged to a modern or futuristic timeline?

Source: http://gamer.blorge.com/2009/01/31/resistance-3-modern-warfare-in-the-works/
RESISTANCE 3: MODERN WAREFARE IN THE WORKS?
Resistance 2
is one of my favorite games of 2008 with its stellar online multiplayer mode. The game was highly anticipated and went on to sell over a million copies. There is a new rumor doing the rounds that Resistance 3 may follow in the footsteps of Call of Duty and do a re-imaging of the game to a more modern warfare setting.

It is often difficult to find sales data regarding the privately owned Insomniac Games. The studio has been rated as one of the top 10 Best Small Companies to work for in America for 3 years in a row and has several proven franchises such as Ratchet & Clank, Spyro and Resistance.

The estimated shipment amount for Resistance 2, based on previous life-time sales, is around 3 million units shipped worldwide. However, without solid figures it is probably safe to say the sell through amount to-date lies somewhere between 1.5 and 2 million units.

The game went on to sell over a million copies but did not sell as well as other shooters such as Gears of War 2. The game was also rated highly by many of the veteran game critics such as: IGN (9.5), GameSpot (9.0), X-Play (5/5), and GameTrailers (9.1). However, despite being an excellent game some have started to question if Resistance is loosing its appeal?

There is word that some of the ideas that have been thrown around regarding the next installment of Resistance involveshifting the timeline to the present or near future. Instead of continuing the game in the alternate World War II timeframe, the game would move forward to modern times to blend weapons of today with the alien invasion.

Call of Duty is one notable series that came to the FPS forefront with its shift to Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. There is a strong indication that gamers have started to tire the World War II era and theme altogether. The big question on my mind is will we finally get to have an all out war with the pre-generative species to the Chimera virus?

It is difficult to say when Insomniac Games will announce plans for the next installment to the series as the company remains mostly elusive. Although, Insomniac fans can be almost 90% sure that a new Ratchet & Clank game will be released by the end of this year to hold you over till the next Resistance installment.

Modern setting is a logical next step i guess.

As for this...

Call of Duty is one notable series that came to the FPS forefront with its shift to Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. There is a strong indication that gamers have started to tire the World War II era and theme altogether.

I dunno about that. Pre CoD.WaW i might have agreed, i thought the WW2 thing was done to death, But then i bought it and loved it, and i'm not alone it seems. It's currently its the most popular game on both HD consoles by a fair distance.

And with good reason too, its a sick game. Just goes to show no matter what era a game is set in, or how often its been done, a good game is a good game. Its fair to say WW2 is to FPS what beer is to footy.

A lot of people who haven't played WaW will probably now say GTFO i'm guessing

Not really the next logical step, the game is set 50 years ago, so the next logical step is really to continue on as would have been the first thought.

But for the whole storyline they have got together so far it would be a really cool step to move the timeline to present day and see what the world is like once the whole invasion has had a long time to settle in and see what's left of the human race trying to still defend it, it could have a Terminator type vibe to it.

As for this...

I dunno about that. Pre CoD.WaW i might have agreed, i thought the WW2 thing was done to death, But then i bought it and loved it, and i'm not alone it seems. It's currently its the most popular game on both HD consoles by a fair distance.

And with good reason too, its a sick game. Just goes to show no matter what era a game is set in, or how often its been done, a good game is a good game. Its fair to say WW2 is to FPS what beer is to footy.

A lot of people who haven't played WaW will probably now say GTFO i'm guessing

Not me, COD 1 and 2 were massive games for me. Love WW2 setting, I bought and played through BiA!

DLC and patches to come soon for R2, to be announced properly during GDC(March 25th to be exact).

Source: http://www.ps3center.net//news/2521/insomniac-confirms-dlc-and-patch-for-resistance-2/
INSOMNIAC CONFIRMS DLC AND PATCH FOR RESISTANCE 2
Insomniac has been unusual lately when it comes to support for the hit title Resistance 2. Normally they are extremely fast to getting questions answered about their games and even adding awesome new content rather fast. Not being the case with Resistance 2, many fans have been rumoring a DLC and new patch coming soon for months without any confirmation or input by Insomniac.

That changed lately as on the official MyReistance.net boards, Insomniacs EGMBrian has confirmed that the rumors are now finally true. So maybe the moments of silence from Insomniac was due to their hard work on the upcoming patch and download content, yes both are confirmed to be coming. On March 25 Insomniac will reveal all the details on the upcoming content along with further details by Insomniacs Jake Biegel at GDC via the PlayStation Lounge. Good to see Insomniac has been up to something this whole time.

Who knows maybe a little something else will come about along with the announcement of this content on March 25? They did just announce a new game and im sure Ratchet is running around somewhere. It is GDC after all....

Resistance 2 patch details, includes a new mode(Meltdown mode from R:FoM), a new co-op difficulty(Superhuman) and the ability for a 2nd PSN user to log into a split-screen game, also news of DLC all to arrive tomorrow.

Source: http://www.justvideogames.co.uk/resistance-2-150-patch-details-1825.html
RESISTANCE 2 1.50 PATCH DETAILS
Who doesn’t like a good patch every now and again? Well, I do anyway. Especially when the patch is for a great game like Resistance 2. A video which details some of the changes we get to see in the next R2 patch has been released. For those of you who can’t be bothered watching the video, here are the key changes:

• Meltdown Mode added - Apparently, we will be getting to play in a remake of the classic Resistance 1 multiplayer mode.
  • New co-op difficulty - Superhuman has been added as a mega, ultra-hard mode for the co-operative campaigns.
  • Second player PSN login - The split-screen second player can now login to their own PSN profile and their information, gaming XP, etc. from that session will be saved.
The last point is the most impressive as it is the second game to support such a feature on the PS3, the first being LittleBigPlanet. Hopefully, this means more games with a co-operative split-screen will support this feature in future.
RESISTANCE 2 PATCH AND DLC DETAILS:
[youtube]y0TzvSwH7T4[/Youtube]

I have to say that I didn't end up going back to R2 as much as I did R:FoM which I absolutely adored.

The co-op was great but was a bit tedious having to beat it 10 times to unlock the next level.

Would love the customisability back that R:FoM had as that was what I felt R2 missed most of all. Somerset in a slightly different form would be good too.:p

Yep, hardly played r2.

STILL play R1 nearly every day.
Good game tonight, morell. :thumbsu:

I've been smashing R1 so much the last couple of days..... my uni exams will have to wait.

Somerset (40p) has got to be one of the best FPS maps ever. R2's maps were so unimaginative in comparison to the likes of Somerset, Manchester and Rooftops.

Not to mention - it only has the slightest hint of auto-aim, whereas R2 basically plays the game for you. R1 is as hardcore as KZ2.

Good game tonight, morell. :thumbsu:

I've been smashing R1 so much the last couple of days..... my uni exams will have to wait.
haha, yeah it was fun. Especially the bit where I had to explain how I sort of knew you.

"I know him from BigFooty"
"WTF?"
"umm, it's like a football message board"
"Like Soccer?"
"No. nevermind"

I have to mention you had a fair old lag there for a while. I would shoot you and you would die like 3 or 4 seconds later.

Somerset (40p) has got to be one of the best FPS maps ever. R2's maps were so unimaginative in comparison to the likes of Somerset, Manchester and Rooftops.
Playing Resistance 1 Hit on Somerset for Capture the flag is the most fun I have ever had playing a video game. On an system at any time. Ever.

Simple. Easy to learn. Difficult to master. Fun for all skills types. Fair. etc etc

Perfectly balanced.

Not to mention - it only has the slightest hint of auto-aim, whereas R2 basically plays the game for you. R1 is as hardcore as KZ2.
R1 still has heaps of hardcore guys playing. Untouchablle was playing last night with us from SomersetsMostWanted ]S[ - pretty much the best 1 hit clan - although that is always contentious. SMBTY is a gun as well.

xXChuckXNorrisXx is a bit of a melon but I have been playing with him for a few years now. Funny, funny guy.

I have to mention you had a fair old lag there for a while. I would shoot you and you would die like 3 or 4 seconds later.
My sync speed has turned to crap ever since the storms a few days ago.
I noticed that a few other guys were lagging as well (one guy I shot fell over, stood back up and then fell over and died. It may just have been a dodgy host.

Playing Resistance 1 Hit on Somerset for Capture the flag is the most fun I have ever had playing a video game. On an system at any time. Ever.
I had always been a 32p TDM Rooftop player, but i've made the switch to Somerset and i'm loving it. It's good to see that a lot of people are still playing (there is always at least one Manchester map with over 30 people playing).

Easy to learn. Difficult to master.
I always have a hard time choosing what path to take when I have the flag. Whenever i'm playing with people who would rather rack up the kills instead of trying to capture the flag, I just run through the bushland in the middle because it's the shortest path.

It was good playing with a couple of pros like yourself last night, because whenever someone got the flag, we would all form a big convoy behind them to provide cover fire and pick up the flag if he was killed.

It's probably the most tactical FPS i've ever played.

SMBTY is a gun as well.
That guy was raping me... :(

My sync speed has turned to crap ever since the storms a few days ago. I noticed that a few other guys were lagging as well (one guy I shot fell over, stood back up and then fell over and died. It may just have been a dodgy host.
Yeah it’s been getting worse and worse. Still very playable though. You can tell the people that just have a crappy connection compared to the pro laggers.

I always have a hard time choosing what path to take when I have the flag.
haha, that old chestnut. It’s not the path you take but the path your team mates have taken that is most important. For mine it’s the opposite of AFL, you always want to try and take the skinny side and use your team mates as a screen. If everyone is spawning in the forest, go long forest, if everyone is spawning canyon, go long canyon.

There are all sorts of tips and tricks. Things like if you’re the only one of two or three on offence and there is no-one or a noob in the enemy base it’s very handy to stall and hold onto the flag in their base. It throws all their offensive players timings out. It’s also good to swap it up mid-run, if someone sees you going to canyon, hide with it for a bit (wait for the death cam to go if you’ve killed someone, about 7-8 seconds), then swap it up and go forest.

Then there is ensuring one side of the map is sealed off. If the players in front of you are spawning canyon, make sure your team mates have the cross over (big concrete part that joins the Canyon to the forest) Canyon-Cat entrance (where the Cat walk enters the big dusty slope near base), the first and second Canyon entrances (the first little houses when you get to the top of Canyon) all sealed off whilst you run up Catwalk.

Many players when they get the flag tend to panic and just run bat out of hell towards their base. Like a good punter not out kicking his runner, a flag carrier should never run ahead of his support, it’s usually best to have a point man in front of you and one man behind you. If your point goes down without trading then wait for the guy behind you to take point and then keep going. Often the good defensive player takes point when you’re getting close to the base.

The good clans and players have set plays and specific spots and timing techniques to best run the flag. It’s one of the main differences between the good and great players in Somerset.

All this on just running the flag! Then there is offensive techniques, defensive techniques, killing glitchers, camping spots etc etc Talking about it is making me itch for a game.

Whenever I'm playing with people who would rather rack up the kills instead of trying to capture the flag, I just run through the bushland in the middle because it's the shortest path. It was good playing with a couple of pros like yourself last night, because whenever someone got the flag, we would all form a big convoy behind them to provide cover fire and pick up the flag if he was killed. It's probably the most tactical FPS i've ever played.
It takes 40 seconds to run short forest flag to flag. 40-45 seconds to run high catwalk. About 45-50 seconds through short Canyon and long forest, 55-60 seconds through the junkyard, about a minute through long Canyon. Just depends on the game and where everyone is spawning, what your team mates are doing etc etc. Judging it all up within the 5 seconds it takes to get out of the enemy base is a talent. It’s why communications are so important, often you will hear the offensive squad ask the defensive squad where the enemy offence are spawing so that they can seal off and prepare the flag run.

That guy was raping me... :(
haha, yeah, he’s a very good player. Nowhere near the best though, some guys are absolutely insanely good.

The thing I like about it so much though, is no matter how good you are, if you’re a Rambo or a dumbass or not a team player, you’re still going to get ****ed over in Somerset. You have to use your brain. I’ve lost count how many times someone has come into a Somerset CTF game with awesome stats, great accuracy, big mouths and a bigger ego and have been taken apart. Team work, communication and tactical nouse are far more important than a good shot.

Thanks for the tips.

I can't say that i've hung around in an enemy base whilst holding the flag very often, but it makes sense. When i'm defending and someone takes our flag, I usually piss bolt to the boardwalk near the centre of the map to try and intercept them. If the flag-bearer were to wait, he could just run through my back.

I'll be on later this arvo if you're up for a match (HBK, you have to come show us your CTF skills as well).

Don't know why people thought Resistance 2 was a disappointment. I didn't have FoM but I thought Res:2 was fun. The maps weren't great but I liked the speed of the game along with the 60 player online battles which are huge.

R2 was alright, but it's disappointing that Insomniac took out so many features that made R1 a great game.

They removed the creepy atmosphere, replaced the unique weapons, got rid of all of the online server customisation (including region filtering and one-hit kills) and the R2 level designs lacked imagination.

R1 had a style of its own and was a really different game. I think Insomniac tinkered with the original formula too much.