AFL Canberra - Season 2011

Re: Afl canberra part 3

Love and York are not Magpie juniors and I think there may be a couple of others but they have played a lot of footy for Belco and more loyal than some junior players.

York Played all of his junior Footy with the Magpies.

From afl.com.au

FORMER Adelaide Crow Robert Shirley has effectively announced his retirement after contacting the League on Monday night to withdraw his nomination from both the NAB AFL Pre-Season and Rookie Drafts.
There had been suggestions the run-with midfielder was to be strongly considered by Gold Coast with one of its first five selections in the rookie draft.
Shirley, 29, reached his 150-game milestone this year and managed 11 games with the Crows.
In recent years, he was identified as one of the competition's toughest taggers by both Gary Ablett and Chris Judd.
It is thought Shirley may accept a coaching role with Ainslie in Canberra.
Follow the NAB AFL Pre-Season and Rookie Drafts LIVE on afl.com.au on Tuesday, December 15

from what i understand neil irwen and johny elias where both tuggers juniors to, so that would be a qtr of the tigers first grade squad most weeks

also isnt love from albury way and ithought york was interstate as well so at least half or more of belco s grandfinal team came from outside interesting
icon7.gif

Billy Ray, thanks for heads up on Queanbeyan stealing tug juniors. Why don’t guys stay at Tugg?

love was born in albury but played u/18’s at Belco so we would think he is considered BMFC junior.
His brother played Belco under 16’s & 18’s so probably considered belco junior also.
Beerdawg33 (or as you call him yorky) played west Canberra juniors after his parents immigrated from Israel.

Billy ray can you assist with Ainslie team and locals vs foreigners ratio? Or no one cares because they lost and heaps of guys leaving, and corey isn’t paying out like he used too?

The following is an interesting comment by my good friend A Bit High.

"My question is how long does a player have to be at a club to be considered a local?? Surely guys like Merv & Bones must now be locals as they aren't going anywhere else to play. They have been at Qbn longer than they played junior footy in Wagga (which is hardly interstate)" Like 17 years with the Tigers !!!!

Happen to know a couple of the players mentioned above who "apparently" played for Tuggers. Elias and Thompson possibly played for Tuggers for two years (at the most) yet the above mentioned Qnbo players have played for 17 years and not regarded as locals ? Dont Irwin and Thomson have a family connections to the Tigers hence their desire to play there ?

Love and York are not Magpie juniors and I think there may be a couple of others but they have played a lot of footy for Belco and more loyal than some junior players.

I think the whole junior crap is crap !! Get over it and make sure your juniors stay with your club, if not bad luck. In saying that I would be interested in the Eastlake junior / senior conversion at the moment beering in mind the Marist connection and where those players originally eventuated from.

Come up with a plan then Foot in Mouth – what constitutes a local? 3 years service 5 years service 10 years service?

Both Loves played under 18’s at BMFC so basically juniors

Still notice no takers on the Ainslie make up from last year. I guess 18 of 22 non locals.

How does this sound???
* Junior - someone who has only ever played at your club, or played junior footy at your club from at least 12yrs and up
* Local - someone that has played 100 games or 5 years at your club

Using this formula, Most of the BMFC premiership side would meet these criteria, and the of the few that dont (Ainger, Curtis, Joyce, LeFort, McAlister, Henning -has he been around for 4 or five years??) these are good young players that will probably be around the club for a while.

Any more news on Sydney Swans Reserves leaving Canberra after 2010 season to follow GWS reserves team to Queensland comp that would also include Brisbane Lions and GC17 reserves teams??? If this happens to AFLC it would be a devastating loss. If AFLC could get GWS reserves (and Sheeds) though it would be huge, and with their catchment including Southern NSW would that mean that a team from down there would ever be considered again, given Wagga unsuccessfully tried a few years ago??? Currently at 6 teams, getting GWS and a riverina team would be awesome for the comp, along with Gungahlin in the next few years

i doubt that a riverina team would consider heading to the ACTAFL considering the recent restructure of the competition there. But i guess at the same time some clubs may see it as an option to abandon the restructure as there are fears it may not work well. Riverina clubs would get scared off a bit by the money factor too, recent posts say tuggers wont ever be a force until they get some more cash.. Interesting comment though

Billy Ray, thanks for heads up on Queanbeyan stealing tug juniors. Why don’t guys stay at Tugg?

love was born in albury but played u/18’s at Belco so we would think he is considered BMFC junior.
His brother played Belco under 16’s & 18’s so probably considered belco junior also.
Beerdawg33 (or as you call him yorky) played west Canberra juniors after his parents immigrated from Israel.

Billy ray can you assist with Ainslie team and locals vs foreigners ratio? Or no one cares because they lost and heaps of guys leaving, and corey isn’t paying out like he used too?

With out going over ainslie with a fine tooth comb they have been known for years as being a brought product, i think it is great that clubs like the tigers and belco have been able to attract players and keep them for more than a year or to.

was merely pointing out where a few players started out. if its money or something else why tuggers cant keep there juniors its for them to try and stop mainly because if some of the names who been mentioned that started in the valley stayed there they would be a better side.

how many years to be considerd a local, how longs a peice of string, i like seeing people come through juniors and into seniors for the one club, in saying this recruits bring a new dimension and interest to the comp as well as lift standard and is why teams will recruit as best they can.

The following is an interesting comment by my good friend A Bit High.

"My question is how long does a player have to be at a club to be considered a local?? Surely guys like Merv & Bones must now be locals as they aren't going anywhere else to play. They have been at Qbn longer than they played junior footy in Wagga (which is hardly interstate)" Like 17 years with the Tigers !!!!

Happen to know a couple of the players mentioned above who "apparently" played for Tuggers. Elias and Thompson possibly played for Tuggers for two years (at the most) yet the above mentioned Qnbo players have played for 17 years and not regarded as locals ? Dont Irwin and Thomson have a family connections to the Tigers hence their desire to play there ?

I think the whole junior crap is crap !! Get over it and make sure your juniors stay with your club, if not bad luck. In saying that I would be interested in the Eastlake junior / senior conversion at the moment beering in mind the Marist connection and where those players originally eventuated from.

That's Bullshit, you cannot criticise Tuggeranong for their lack of success and being a basketcase, but then have no problem with your club pinching all their good players, that's just hypocritical claptrap.

The wimps that have been in charge of the ACTAFL over the years, have pandied to the likes of the big money clubs in Ainslie, Eastlake, and even Manuka going back over a decade or more.

To prevent what is happening at clubs like Tuggeranong, some form of zoning should have been introduced, similiar to what they had in the old VFL comp.

There was enormous potential in developing our great game down in the Valley back in the 80's and even 90s. But there there were some in the club and also on the ACTAFL exec, who chose to put themselves and others ahead of the games development here.

:thumbsd:

That's Bullshit, you cannot criticise Tuggeranong for their lack of success and being a basketcase, but then have no problem with your club pinching all their good players, that's just hypocritical claptrap.

The wimps that have been in charge of the ACTAFL over the years, have pandied to the likes of the big money clubs in Ainslie, Eastlake, and even Manuka going back over a decade or more.

To prevent what is happening at clubs like Tuggeranong, some form of zoning should have been introduced, similiar to what they had in the old VFL comp.

There was enormous potential in developing our great game down in the Valley back in the 80's and even 90s. But there there were some in the club and also on the ACTAFL exec, who chose to put themselves and others ahead of the games development here.

:thumbsd:

Zoning is an interesting concept. As we all know it was the old way to do it when the AFL was the VFL. It has been reintroduced somewhat in the AFL with GWS being given first crack at Riverina/Southern NSW and I think Brisbane and CG17 have similar up there (not 100% sure).
I doubt Belco would have a problem with it due to the population pool in West Canberra. Ainslie also has a variety of suburbs on the northside. ABH, how is the Queanbeyan Juniors set up?? If/when Gungahlin come in they will also have a large local population to choose from, and Sydney Swans reserves obviously dont count. This leaves Eastlake and Tuggeranong - Eastlake geographically (based on home ground and Sports club) have a population mostly made up of business people (and polititians) but there are a couple of schools nearby. Tuggers has the majority of the suburban area and a large pool of kids to choose from. As I am unfamiliar with the south side, where would a zone of some sorts be allocated? And even if these kids get zoned to Tuggers, can you stop them from leaving after a year or so of senior footy???

Canberra times just loving AFLCanberra, Stephen Shirley:eek:.

Good get by the tri colors, now its only a case of who they lose, because each year with every gain, there are always losses at Ainslie. I stand to be corrected...........gains Shirley.............losses Lewis, Pratt and Young Tutt?
I know a lot of x AFL players have come to ACT with tickets on themselves, only to fail, but ive a feeling Shirley may be different as he's hunting down a premiership medallion.

Straight out of the heat of the AFL and into AFLCanberra seems like a winner to me. Nice bloke to, no arrogance about him at all.

Canberra times just loving AFLCanberra, Stephen Shirley:eek:.

Good get by the tri colors, now its only a case of who they lose, because each year with every gain, there are always losses at Ainslie. I stand to be corrected...........gains Shirley.............losses Lewis, Pratt and Young Tutt?
I know a lot of x AFL players have come to ACT with tickets on themselves, only to fail, but ive a feeling Shirley may be different as he's hunting down a premiership medallion.

Straight out of the heat of the AFL and into AFLCanberra seems like a winner to me. Nice bloke to, no arrogance about him at all.

Not knowing Robert Shirley as we don’t, what is he on about in that article? Surely he hasn’t a clue regarding Ainslie premiership credentials other then what the drunk football manager would be telling him.

the fact is that he is chasing money! Pure and simple we don’t need to spell it out on here but Ainslie are the only club in Australia that will pay big bucks for that type of limited effort i.e. 3 nights a week.

Anyone have the word on his contract? $60k?
does he have any other role other then tag?

Cant wait for his first trip to Greenway in june/July

Key Position: How is your favourite coach going to handle him?

If Shirley bends AFC over for cash then fair play to him.

Some players are great negotiators of contracts and some aren't bothered.

We cant blame the players just the clubs stupidity as it is only football after all.

Not knowing Robert Shirley as we don’t, what is he on about in that article? Surely he hasn’t a clue regarding Ainslie premiership credentials other then what the drunk football manager would be telling him.

the fact is that he is chasing money! Pure and simple we don’t need to spell it out on here but Ainslie are the only club in Australia that will pay big bucks for that type of limited effort i.e. 3 nights a week.

You're wrong Codola, if he wanted money he would have accepted terms with the new GC franchise instead of withdrawing himself from the draft and going with Ainslie.

He has a <1 year old child and is looking at putting more time into his trade. As the article states, its a change in environment and a step back from 24/7 football to a more suburban style that will free up some time to spend with family and pursue other interests that he is chasing.

Anything Ainslie could offer him would be a significant reduction on his pay packet with the Crows after nearly a decade on their list.

Good luck to Shirley. He's probably on good coin with AFC, but has a trade certificate and a young family. There is plenty of work for carpenters in Canberra - and the contacts through AFC could set him up for a while too. Who knows, Canberra may become 'home' (although he'll never be a local...)

He seems a decent bloke who has interests outside of footy, but will bring something to Ainslie. He was never the best player on the crows list, but he was hard at it and made life hell for his opponents.

On to TFC - Tuggeranong will never succeed wtihout a licenced club, and they had their chance and missed it. The Gungahlin Jets need to have a home club - Gungahlin Sports and Social club incorporating a licenced club with 50 pokies and a chance to expand. You can't have the resources you need in Canberra without poking bringing in the income...

And you will never get a united Wagga/Riverina team. Far too many vested interests to make it happen. The Wagga Tigers should have worked but didn't as everyone that isn't Wagga Tigers hated them and failed to support and help them. Wagga United FC (?) still wouldn't have the backing to make it happen.

What a load of rubbish! Shirley was told GC were not going to pick him up because of his age. He had little choice but to get the next best on offer which is AFC. It is rumoured to be $75k package which would be about right. It wouldnt suprise me if the grand plan is to make him captain coach 1n 2011.
He will be will be a great asset for AFC and for the ACTAFL and will bring some excitement into the AFC games. He was a solid and consistent player with the crows, a hard worker with a high level of fitness. It will be interesting just how AFC use him on the field.

You're wrong Codola, if he wanted money he would have accepted terms with the new GC franchise instead of withdrawing himself from the draft and going with Ainslie.

He has a <1 year old child and is looking at putting more time into his trade. As the article states, its a change in environment and a step back from 24/7 football to a more suburban style that will free up some time to spend with family and pursue other interests that he is chasing.

Anything Ainslie could offer him would be a significant reduction on his pay packet with the Crows after nearly a decade on their list.

No shit J-train, our comment was that he is on more then he will get anywhere else in Australia for 3 nights a week and a kick on a weekend. We cant wait until he has to tag Donald Dunyan at Belconnen. Clean pair of heels coming up!

Between 65 and 70 k and he thinks ainslie will let him shoot nails,i dont thik so.:D

Sure codola, love to answer your question buddy. For starters Shirley isnt a kid, so he wont be grabbing him by the throat and secondly if Mr Rourke keeps his temper in check on the p!ss at social functions, then i dont see any problems.

Abh, i would have thought Shirley still would have had a manager to sought out his Ainslie deal, as in other cases it is the player himself that wheels and deals his contract?

As for a team coming out of Wagga, they have to drop the WAGGA out of the name. Id be thinking if that area had another crack at it, it would have to go by the name of the Riverina Cats, Dogs, Roos or something of that nature. No one that way wants anything to do with the name Wagga other than the Tigers themselves.

If AFLCanberra got off its ar$e for once and gave Gungahlin a hand, then maybe they could fill the void that the Swans will leave, because ive grave fears for the comp when Swans go. Maybe they could be called Gungahlin Creek;).

My source tells me the deal is $100K!!!!!!!!!!!

I also believe he wont be doing a lot of carpentry.

No shit J-train, our comment was that he is on more then he will get anywhere else in Australia for 3 nights a week and a kick on a weekend. We cant wait until he has to tag Donald Dunyan at Belconnen. Clean pair of heels coming up!

Pfft. I wouldn't think Shirls would have to tag anyone in your comp and even if a job needed to be done, I'm pretty sure he wouldn't be quaking in his boots at the thought of Donald Dunyan when he's been chasing around the likes of Judd, Ablett, Dal Santo etc for the past decade. :D

What's your problem anyway, all your posts are so aggressive?

J- Train i can help you with that question mate. Codola is Belconnen and has a major dislike for the Ainslie FC and anyone who's apart of it, just human nature.

J- Train Ainslie are the Collingwood of AFLCanberra, you either hate em or you hate em. If Ainslie had of won it this year, you woulnt have heard the end of it, people would have jumped out of the shadows, all got aboard the wagon and never shut up.

Where as a club like Eastlake are very modest:thumbsu:.

J- Train i can help you with that question mate. Codola is Belconnen and has a major dislike for the Ainslie FC and anyone who's apart of it, just human nature.

J- Train Ainslie are the Collingwood of AFLCanberra, you either hate em or you hate em. If Ainslie had of won it this year, you woulnt have heard the end of it, people would have jumped out of the shadows, all got aboard the wagon and never shut up.

Where as a club like Eastlake are very modest:thumbsu:.

Ahhh, I see, it makes sense now. But no need to get shirty with me, I'm not affiliated with any Canberra club, was just interested in the league and how Shirls might fit in after coming straight off the Crows list.

Lot of speculation about the size of the contract - my mail was $75k and assistance with accomodation. I'll get the true story from the horse's mouth in a couple of days anyway! ;) :):thumbsu:

Eastlake should be modest.

Spend a shite load of cash on players to not make a GF since 2001!

They have nothing to sprook about.

The only person who use to brag about them has suddenly dissapeared since I posed a particular question.

Ahhh, I see, it makes sense now. But no need to get shirty with me, I'm not affiliated with any Canberra club, was just interested in the league and how Shirls might fit in after coming straight off the Crows list.

Lot of speculation about the size of the contract - my mail was $75k and assistance with accomodation. I'll get the true story from the horse's mouth in a couple of days anyway! ;) :):thumbsu:

Honestly it doesn't really matter what he is getting J-Train.

A few people on here get their nickers in a knot when a player comes in that may make a difference to their teams agenda.

Get over it some of you it is only football afterall and AFC paying great coin has always and will always be the case so move on.