Carlton Intra Club Match??

• Thread starter Thread starter Wiggo34

Thanks for all the reports they are much appreciated. Couldn't get down to Visy due to work.

How did AJ go today?

and

Who is that young fella chasing Bret Thornton and chasing Grigg in the Getty photos?

Great to view footy back at PP. Here are my observations for anyone interested - call it like I see it.....

Standouts for me were
* Sauce (who may just make me eat my hat) - actually showing fabulous mobility and confidence and he honestly beat Warnock in most centre work. Got a bit of footy as well and awareness has improved out of site. Definitely big (and pleasant) suprise.
* Scotto - got heaps of it. Good leadership and looks insanely fit.
* Carrazzo - has some shocking clangers but for mine was BOG. Had it on a string and disposal improving - like his work in close.
* Warnock - again somewhat supriased. A lot more bulky in 2010. Sauce beat him in some of the centre work but his work around the ground was first class. Took a great courageous mark and looks the goods.
* Hampson - suprisingly efficient as a forward and hands seem to be a lot stickier.
* McLean - going to be a great get for us I reckon. Had heaps of it and good disposal.
* Robbo - got even more mongrel but contained nicely. Took a ripping mark but best thing was he never seemed to throw himself on ground as he did in 2009.
* Walker - are we finally going to see what he has? Good signs. Very fit.
* Grigg - one of the best players in first half. Reckon he will be great rebounder for us in 2010.
* Lucas - very good and will play most of the year if this hitout anything to go by. Reads play very well and suprisingly strong.
* Levi - big unit. Did a few good things and tackled very well. Could be a promising FF.

Disappointments
* Yarran - heard all the hype and I don't want to prematurely judge this guy but hanging for him to show some interest and passion to play.
* Hendo - excused due to knee but he was quiet.
* O'Keefe - waiting for a big one from him but didn't show much confidence in raking left foot. Reserve judgement however as he was designated kicker so Ratten obviously rates his disposal.
* Irish - lost weight where he would've benefit from an increase. Needed more from him.

All in all a great hit out and signs promising. As for that elusive No. 21 - soembody sign him up - he was great!!!!!

Hate to be the bearer of bad news, but I was really disappointed with today's game, including:
- really poor skills
- lack of free flowing football
- poor forward line entries
- the young big gun recruits I was waiting to see

Highlights
- we have a very strong ruck division

Player reviews from today

Best signs
1. Andrew Walker - plenty of it and looks fit
4. Bryce Gibbs - CLASS. Just knows what to do with it when he gets it
8. Matthew Kreuzer - First quarter was awesome. In for a massive year
11 - Robert Warnock - happy with both his ruck work and his work around the ground
12. Mitch Robinson - put on size and looks dangerous across middle and roaming forward
14 - Brad Fisher - posted a few weeks ago that he looks really fit. I think he is one of our keys for this season if we can get 40 goals from him. Looked good again today.

Servicable
2. Jordan Russell - solid across half back and gaining confidence
5. Chris Judd - good game. Not sure how we will go without him for the first 3 rounds
7. Brock McLean - good at stoppages but struggles when it becomes free flowing
10. Richard Hadley - composed in the middle. Fair game
15. Steven Browne - Average game and disposal not great
16. Shaun Grigg - did some really good things but fades in and out
18 - Paul Bower - best spoiler in the team but still needs a bit more size
19 - Eddie Betts - the most dangerous of the indigenous players
20 - Rhys Okeefe - sensational disposal and Im confident when he has the ball. Just doesnt seem to be able to find it during play
22 - Shaun Hampson - drops too many marks he should be eating up. If they stick, look out. Impossible for other teams to match up on him if he is playing forward
23 - Lachlan Henderson - really looking forward to watching him today but just did ok. Not sure if he can hold down FF
24 - Kane Lucas - did ok but dont expect him to have much of an impact in 2010
29 - Heath Scotland - looks really fit and is vital for our team. Kicked a goal off half back and had a bit of a run in the middle
31 - Marcus Davies - great build for a youngster. Played on Hampson in second half and did ok
33 - Ryan Houlihan - need his poise and experience in the team as evident today.
32 - Bret Thornton - as much as people bag him, he is solid. Did not get beaten in a contest today . Just cant play against the gorillas as he will physically get beaten
35 - Caleb Tiller - ok. Good skills but not sure his position
39 - Sam Jacobs - everyone keeps talking about Kreuzer, Warnock and Hampson. Dont forget about this guy. Did very well against Warnock and is good around the ground. Smart footballer.
40 - Michael Jamieson - very solid today. If he can stay injury free, we have a very good full back.
44 - Andrew Carrazzo - gets plenty of it but will never become elite due to his poor disposal. Some of his kicks today were comical
45 - Aaron Joseph - tried to get his own ball today as didnt appear to play a tagging role

Disappointments
17 - Setanta OHailpin - still not sure what his best position is. Just dont think he is up to this level
26 - Joe Anderson - will not make it. Kicking is terrible and lacks composure when coming out of defense

Lowlight
13 - Chris Yarran - I know we expect alot from him and we shouldnt bag him, but the main reason I went today was to watch him. I was thinking he was going to explode onto the AFL scene this year but I think I might be wrong. Barely touched it today, his tackling was poor, looked for cheap possessions and looks disinterested at times. Only upside is that he looks really fit.

Thanks for all the reports they are much appreciated. Couldn't get down to Visy due to work.

How did AJ go today?

and

Who is that young fella chasing Bret Thornton and chasing Grigg in the Getty photos?

AJ followed Juddy for most of the day. Did OK on him

and that fella chasing Grigg is the elusive number 21 :)

Donaldson took at least one very good mark and kicked a goal in the second half.
If it was him I would say he looked like Henderson though

Henderson was defintely 42 yellow.

For those saying that he wasn't overly impressive, the times he was close enough for me to tell, it was actually Jamison that was playing on him. I've said before on here that Jamison is one defender who rarely gets beaten, so it would be a bit of an ask to expect Henderson to deal with him any better than experienced guys who've played plenty of senior AFL footy in the forward line.

I thought Lucas looked extremely poised and confident. If he can keep that up through the NAB cup, you'd expect him to get a seniors call up not too far into the season.

Loved that they camped Hampson at full-forward. Even though he was a head taller than his opponent, he moved well and was able to grab most of what came his way. Kicked a nice goal from a tricky spot wind-wise; allowed for it beautifully.

All three of the suspended guys went at it with plenty of vigour. Walker was the stand-out of these three, but all of them were hard at it and seemed keen to impress. Eddie passing off a set shot to someone in a better position was a nice touch.

I couldn't believe the number of 50's that were paid. It was a practice match for christ's sake! Most of them I couldn't even tell what they were for. I would have much preferred to just see the guys moving it round the ground more rather than shots set up by 50's.

I laughed when they chose to make Carlos the guy that had to change sides. I thought "damn, he finds the game confusing enough without the coaches making it harder for him!" :) But having said that, he ran straight back on got the ball and sent it nicely upfield (all this while he was still pulling on his new jumper). A few of his disposals today were excellent.

The Robinson and Warnock marks that have been referred to already were both pearlers but for different reasons. However, they both demonstrated the level of committment that these 2 guys are bringing to the table this year. Nice to see. Oh, and speaking of marks, Thornton's one hander was pretty special too. Man, I'm so glad we didn't lose that guy to the Hawks a couple of years ago. The stability he brings to our back six is vital.

I really hope that some of the poor disposal that was on display today was just cob-webs. Unfortunately, the ones that I could see, were the usual suspects (including I'm afraid to say, one CJ). Maybe he should spend the rest of the pre-season working on his disposal rather than his abs (which are impressive though). Maybe it was the quality work of the likes of Gibbs and Scotland that made the others look worse than they were.

Another encouraging sign was a confident Bower streaming out of the backline and looking for long kicks down-field. It didn't always come off, but he was loud and determined and completely lacking the "deer in headlghts" look that I'm more accustomed to. I really hope that he can carry that into the season proper. He looked considerably bigger too!

I really hope that Kreuzer isn't injured. Can't say that I saw him go down at any stage, but can't think of any reason for him not to be out there. I think he might have been the cause of the Carlos side-swap. Maybe he had something on tonight and the club let him out early? It's not exactly easy getting away from Princes Park after 5:00 on a Friday!

The only other thing I would say is that while Yarran may be the more skillful, Garlett is still ahead of him for endeavour and a damn sight quicker as well. His lead and mark into the pocket followed by threading the difficult shot, was really impressive.

For those wondering, I don't think Special K is injured. They may have just rested him for the 2nd half. Simpson, Murphy, Waite and Wiggins were the only ones I noticed who didn't play

Armfield didn't play either.

Really struggled with numbers. Donaldson impressed me - very skinny kid, but looks good on the lead. One to watch.

Think he was matched up on ROK? (#10 for the yellows - at least I thought I heard the boys calling out ROK).

What number was Casboult? 24 for the reds?

Also, think he was a Bullants player but #27 for the reds was a foot shorter than Eddie.

Did Simon White play and if so, what number? Davies, Labi, Tiller?

For mine, I thought Walker was BOG. He really is a phenomenal athlete and was linking all over the ground. Kicking was very good - if he can keep it at that level he could be in for a very good season.

His ban buddy Houlihan also looked good. Got a lot of the footy (and linked up with Walker a few times) and used it well as we've come to expect.

I'm extremely excited about Hampson. Kicked 3 goals from what I could gather today, two in the second. He always looks dangerous in the air - even if he didn't mark it, he made a contest of it and brought it down to ground.

But what excited me just as much is his ability at ground level. Unlike most blokes his height, he's always in the contest. Brilliant speed and agility and he picked up the ball off the ground a number of times. Kicked an excellent crumbing goal in the second.

Would have liked to see him use his speed more on the lead but when you're towering over your opponent, I guess you could forgive him for not doing so. Won't have it as easy in the season proper but showed very good signs.

Not sure where Kreuzer went after the 1st/2nd quarter.

Warnock surprised and impressed me. Having not played AFL footy for well over a year, I thought he'd struggle but he looked very good. Definitely not the stick he once was - big boy who took a excellent mark against the flight and went for another later on in the match. Doesn't lack any courage, very good in the ruck as you'd expect and was more mobile than I thought he'd be. :thumbsu:

Judd was sloppy on occasion with his disposal I thought, both hand and foot. Only a practice match and I'm sure he'll be at his brilliant best come round 4 (hopefully he swings on his right when he can, though).

Fisher started off very well with two first quarter goals. Don't think he kicked any after that but got a few touches up around the flanks and was moving well. Match was fairly low intensity and I'm very interested to see how he'll go in the real stuff after a very good preseason.

Robinson was very good as mentioned by others. Took that ripper mark 15 metres away from where I was sitting. Got a lot of the ball and likes to move it on quickly. He really is a massive kid and could do serious harm with his body if he chooses to (and I'm betting he will).

Setanta was quiet. I'm not as sold on him as others are. He'll no doubt be given a shot in the forward line this season but there are a number of guys vying for the position.

AJ followed Juddy for most of the day. Did OK on him

and that fella chasing Grigg is the elusive number 21 :)

Thanks. :thumbsu:

I really think we did well in picking up both Casboult and Donaldson.

Read on TC that # 21 was the former WCE, Ashley Arrowsmith,.

t987lx.jpg

Who the hell is this Ashley Arrowsmith?? :confused:

By all reports he did well today and i have never heard of him or anything he did at West Coast!!! Any W/C supporters around! lol

O.k after my post i did a search on Ashley Arrowsmith and a few W/C threads came up and he didnt exactly set the world on fire while there, but everyone deserves a second chance and i hope he makes the best of it and good luck to him.

I noticed not many players new the name of #21. They kept yelling 'yep' or 'yep mate' when they wanted the ball. Probably just a topup player for the game.

Game plan seemed to be coming out of the backline, switch until we can get a run on with a chain of handballs. They didnt seem to concerned with bombing the ball in deep to the forward line.

Fisher - started well, then disappeared a bit
Kreuzer - as above, looks huge
Robinson - running around the centre a fair bit, even started in the middle on occaision...typically lethal often flying at the ball...one time he got smashed to the ground and i feared an injury, but he rolled over and once i knew it was robinson and that he'd be okay
Carrazzo - was alright, played an average game for him

Warnock - really impressed me...he moved more than i thought warnock would
Judd - had joseph taking him on, spent time both in defence as the first target from the kickout and some rest time up forward
McLean - ran all day, but at judd jogging pace...looked pretty good when amongst it, some slick handballs.

Browne - impressed me when he turned around and i saw who he was.
Scotland - a lot of space, and a lot of easy possessions

O'Keefe - body on the line and dished a big tackle which made the crowd cringe, but got back up and took a lot of the kick-outs. I'm assuming this was him as at the kickout straight after players were shouting out "Rock" - which seems to fit right?

Anderson - tough job on hampson i think

Red Team

Thornton - as normal
Bower - liked to run up to the wing
Jamison - all the red defenders pushed right up the ground and he and thornton had a few words about defending to each other

Jacobs - impressive...definitely our 4th ruck, but he's as good if not better than most other teams 2nd rucks.
Gibbs - panicked when i couldnt find him early, but he looked good
Joseph - tagged judd...typically annoying pushing and nudging him over the ground
Grigg - impressed me a lot as well, very solid in the midfield, often the one to kick it into the 50, but probably bombed it one too many times later in the game

Walker - player of the day for mine...worked hard, kicked a couple to leads and weighted them well. very vocal
Lucas - impressed me, looked the best of the new faces.

O'hailpin - decent game, worked hard
Betts - i don't know if it was just me but he ran a lot more than usual. up the ground, back to the forward line trying to lose his opponent and then got pushed into the midfield
Yarran - ****ing frustrating...did one good handball, missed 2, dropped 2 marks, then tried to chest mark another with the defender right on him and the crowd started to get pretty pissed!
Garlett - great goal from the boundary, did his job though!
Hampson - loved him...right up there with walker...presented well, 2nd, 3rd even 4th efforts were awesome. He had this one passage on the wing where he chased and tackled two or 3 times before reinforcements came to lock it down for a bounce.

Anyone notice the large number of frees? They seemed to not let anything slip. Which is good i guess.

Game was a tad disappointing. Poor skill level i thought. Only a few worked hard enough. Not enough attacking football, and the long-bombing to forwards annoyed me a bit. Inaccurate kicking for goal worried me too.

#27, the small darker/tanned guy who surely was no bigger than Joseph - he better not be on our list...he was shocking.

Arrowsmith definitely looked like the blonde/shaved head guy who was doing well up forward.

Hope that helps!

To continue on yarran...

he really didn't try for a lot of the time. 2nd efforts were shocking. I really want to like the guy, and all the pre-season work should've helped, but i left the game feeling like i did after seeing his first game last year.

levi looks ready for seniors football. took some great contested marks and always follows up contests with 2nd and 3rd efforts. his kicking for goal wasnt great however

It was pretty sound last year....unconventional action, but conversion rate was good at TAC