LA Lakers
The big clash against our arch rivals. they've beaten us the last five times we've played them. Since last season they've lost Lloyd, Lucas, McPhee, Lovett and Skipworth, a fair bit of experience and they've brought in Mark Williams. The good news for Essendon is that David Hille is back, Scott Gumbleton is finally up and running and although he hasn't fired for them yet he's a very talented player. They will also be without Michael Hurley who is out suspended.

This was Carltons round two team.

B: Aaron Joseph, Michael Jamison, Bret Thornton
HB: Joe Anderson, Dennis Armfield, Jordan Russell
C: Bryce Gibbs, Andrew Carrazzo, Heath Scotland
HF: Chris Yarran, Lachie Henderson, Eddie Betts
F: Jarrad Waite, Setanta O'hAilpin, Matthew Kreuzer
Foll: Robert Warnock, Brock McLean, Marc Murphy
I/C: Ryan Houlihan, Mitch Robinson, Kade Simpson, Andrew Walker

Possible inclusions could be Paul Bower, Jeff Garlett, Simon Wiggins and Kane Lucas.

This is the team Essendon has named for round two

B: Heath Hocking, Cale Hooker, Henry Slattery
HB: Tatye Pears, Dustin Fletcher, Ricky Dyson
C: Courtenay Dempsey, Jobe Watson, Brent Stanton
HF: Jason Winderlich, Scott Gumbleton, Brent Prismall
F: Alwyn Davey, Patrick Ryder, Angus Monfries
Foll: David Hille, Mark McVeigh, Andrew Welsh
I/C (from): Mark Williams, David Myers, Jason Laycock, Kyle Reimers, Jay Neagle, David Zaharakis, Ben Howlett

They probably won't need to go as tall against us in the backline but they may keep Laycock and neagle in the team and try and stretch our defence, especially if Bower doesn't come back. We should have their midfield covered even without Judd on current form but their leg speed, even though Lovett is gone, is always dangerous. Sam Lonergan could be considered to help combat McLean and Scotland at the clearances.

Key Match ups

Brock McLean v Jobe Watson - Whoever out of these two can give their outside mids first use of the ball more often will go a long way to determining the result. Should be a great clash and Watson will have to be more accountable than usual because if McLean starts feeding it to Murphy, Gibbs and Scotland too often Carltons mids will tear the game apart.

Matthew Kreuzer/Robert Warnock v David Hille/Patrick Ryder - Two quality rucks for Essendon and they may use Jason Laycock as well. Hille, despite coming back from a knee reconstruction has started the season in great form. Kreuzer claimed probably his biggest scalp to date last night with a great performance against Mitch Clarke and looks set to be one of the best ruckman in the league as early as this year. Ryder is also a quality opponent who lays a lot of tackles, good all round player.

I don't really believe in tips because as we know in footy anything can happen at anytime but if we can get on top again in the midfield and not let their runners such as Winderlich, Davey, Zaharakis, Dempsey and Reimers get too much of it we will give ourselves a good chance of a win.

Come on Blue Boys, come out firing and flog these bastards!

Geez, you started early Sin.

They still play a quick movement style of game, so we put a lock on Winderlich, tag Prismall and have Mclean and Watson go head to head.

Armfield to Reimers or Zaharakis.

Blues by 24.

Whens hurley coming back for the bombers??
i reckon there will be a few changes to the blues:
OUT: Anderson and Warnock
IN: Bower and Hampson or Jacobs

Should be a good game struggled against the bombers in the past. Its always a great feeling beating them:D

How long for Bower he is huge for us in terms of flexibility. Carlton favorites you have got to be kidding, we havent beaten Essendon in yonks. Actually Essendon looked good against the reigning premiers, had them on toast.

No excuses, yes there were positives for the brisbane game, but we LOST. We could easily be 2 and 5 in a few weeks time, we are inconsistent during games as i predicted, bc of the inexperience of the team in terms of games played. And turnovers, 6 to 7 of our palyers continually turn over the ball good teams will punish us. Its going to be a frustrating year!

I know this didn't really help this week
but we have the 9 day break compared to Essendon's 6 day break
considering they play a running style of play...
Anyway i think we will come out of the blocks firing and hopefully beat Essnedon for the first time in a long time

Essendon like to use the middle of the ground alot with their speed which could put alot of pressure on our defenders as the ball will come in their pretty quickly and could catch our blokes out . .. on the coaching side of things ..I believe Knights has Rattens measure .. I will be very surprised if the blues get up and win . ...6 in a row for the bombers

Bower is out by reports for 4 weeks so should be back
Only other change I can see is maybe Lucas or Browne for Anderson
Betts will retain his spot. Was just one of those nights
Don't think Wiggins offers enough to replace anybody in the 22
Maybe unchanged again but hope Lucas gets his debut done

Recent form Bombers have to be favourites, but the Blues were pretty impressive last night after a crappy start

Bombers have beaten us because of their pace through the middle, and we probably haven't manned up like we should. They've lost Lovett who has always starred against us and tore us up with pace, but I reckon we're quicker than when we last played them. However, the Bombers tend to fire up for certain clubs, and we fall into "certain clubs"

Rus is now using his pace, AW is quick (although he's still searching for form, although his skills were god last night), and when we're going we move the ball well, AJ is quick, Simmo, and the Yaz. Also, don't know how the Bombers will handle our unpredictable forward line, then again our forward line probably questions their own unpredictability at the moment.

An issue may be pace of our onballers, Gibbs, Murph & McLean, and whether the Bombers can exploit then. Then again, the way McLean & Murphy have been playing you don't want to be too loose on them. Gibbs has also been doing well.

Will be an interesting game. Don't think we'll make many changes, other than to bring Bower in.

have Mclean and Watson go head to head.

20060912120223-mr-burns.gif

its going to come down to controlling the tempo of the game. if the dons get a run on, they will murder us with their pace, however we showed last night that we can dominate play at stoppages.

dont play bower if he is anything less than 100%, essendon dont really have a tall forward worth worrying about. otherwise pray that anderson can do a shut down job on a davey or monfries.

blues by a point in a thriller :D

I am never confident playing Essendon, or Collingwood for that matter. If we play to our abilities and kick straight i cant see why we wont win. Our midfield even with no Judd is still better than Essendons. The players that have ripped us apart in the last few years are gone in Lovett , Lloyd , Lucas etc and Jetta is also out for the Dons with an injury.

Will be a massive game and you cant beat playing the Bombers at the G in front of a packed crowd. :thumbsu:

Monfries is the key matchup for us. If Anderson goes to him we are rooted!

The Dons don't have a midfield or any KP forwards, so it should be a straightforward win. They look like a bottom 4 side to me. Very average. In terms of the certain changes:

Out : Anderson
In: Bower

Other players I'd like to be considered are...
1. Lucus - has class and speed
2. Davies - much better option than Anderson
3. Hampson - would prefer him to Warnock, but I doubt they'll change
4. Garlett - has to be in contention with the other 2 smalls bad game

Think Robbo's on shaky ground. Has made a few crucial errors, and Lucus might take his spot, or even Davies at some point. With Judd comming back soon, the competition for spots is going to be red hot

Blues by 44 points.

:)

Anderson will be the only change one would think. We may get away with not having bower this week.

Grigg or Browne to replace Anderson.

Anderson will be the only change one would think. We may get away with not having bower this week.

Grigg or Browne to replace Anderson.
No chance as he is under suspension from the reserves game last week, not sure we need another hard nut midfielder with ordinary disposal anyway!

judging by last night it looked like we lacked one more midfielder to run thehard lines. i agree grigg doesnt have a great disposal and he currently runs all one way but he is a level above anderson. nonetheless, maybe a player like davies, lucas or browne will come in.

FB: Joseph, Jamison, Thornton
HB: Armfield, Bower, Russell
C: Gibbs, Scotland, Carazzo
HF: Yarran, Waite, Henderson
FF: Betts, O'hAilpin, Robinson
Foll: Kreuzer, Mclean, Murphy

I/C: Walker, Houlihan, Simpson, Warnock

Points of interest:

- Carazzo vs. Watson: Carrots to play more defensive on Watson and try to counter when we have the momentum

- Cant let Winderlich have too much of it, can be damaging.

- Head to head match up for Prismall and Stanton should suffice

- Kreuzer has taken a step up to the next level and should keep Hille in check

- Setanta vs. Pears will be tough for Carlos, Lachie should do well against Hooker/Fletcher and Waite should dominae whoever doesn't take Hendo

- Hocking and Dyson may hav a tough night against Betts and Yazz

- Ryder is a tough match up and might stretch us if Bower doesn't get back.

- Gumbleton is still learning and one of our talls down back should account for him

- Monfries finds a way to kick goals so hopefully Armfield is played on him and rebounds off him

- Russell vs. Zaharakis should work in our favour

- AJ on Davey, we know how AJ handles bidness ;)

From that summary, we should win by 100 points and the bombers kick nothing at all....however expect the unexpected.

Blues by 20, please God. Going to the game with 4 Dons supporters and taking my chance that i can rub it in the whole train ride home :D

After being in a winnable situation last night, I just wonder how much pressure that loss adds to the players.

I'm sure no one would be wanting to point it out necessarily, but I think a lot of us know, players included, the importance to have come away with 2 wins from the first 3 rounds.

I'm not saying season over if we lose the match, but if we're under-achieving against the beatable teams, a negative mindset can easily carry on into the horror run, and things could take a bad turn pretty quickly.

The bombers have the edge over us recently, and it is as close to a must win game for us as you can get at this stage of the season. All the pressure is on us really, and I hope we are mentally focused and switched on as much as anything.

Is Austin a chance to come back in?!

AFL website lists him as a week with a groin injury.

In my opinion, he's as good, if not better key position defender than Thornton, but his real value lies in allowing Thornton to play loose and intercept incoming I50s or just fill the hole.

We missed having both our 2nd and 3rd choice tall backs out last night - hopefully if he can make a return, we will return to our preferred structure that IMO creates a pretty decent young backline.

I doubt Bower will get up for this game, seems everbody knew about his quad injury except our MC.:confused: Hille will spend a lot of the game drifting forward of centre trying to exploit our lack of height in defence. If Hampson is fit I would bring him in for 206 who needs a couple of years in the gym as he gets pushed aside by players 20cm shorter. I would like to see Gibbs play forward of centre more as he is probably our best kick at goal. Maybe one last chance for Anderson. And lastly we should stop kicking it above EB's head.