juddsentant517

Jul 6, 2009
Carlton's own top 8
Northern Bullants
I try not to make threads and include my opinion in the review threads, however i reckon this warrants its own thread.

Posters touched on this earlier in the season, and it has been hidden under the carpet, but Jeffrey Garlett's confidence seems to be shot. There is a little bit of Lindsay Thomas about his game at the moment, he is doing the little things right, chasing hard, piling defensive pressure and tackling, however his decision making and kicking for goal has been fairly poor. His confidence is eroding rapidly.

This wouldn't bother me usually, as the form of small forwards fluctuate, but is there anything that can be done prior to finals by coaches. Hopefully they credit him on the positives of his game and ensure that he keeps persisting and keeps his head up

I think they should instruct him to just never, ever play on.

I fear he's gonna be the first player to do a disappearing act in finals.

I think they should instruct him to just never, ever play on.

I fear he's gonna be the first player to do a disappearing act in finals.

That would, without a doubt, be the worst message they could possibly send him. IMO, they should tell him the opposite. Keep taking the game on and don't worry about making mistakes.

Maybe, but not from 7 metres out on a slight angle :(

I think most of us acknowledge that his confidence is eroded. However, this thread was more intended for how the coaching staff can counter this lack of confidence prior to finals.

When he gets the ball, tell him not to move one with it. Marking inside 50 = a set shot at goal every single time.

If he's within 40m of goal, he's within range.

It should be the message for all our forwards, I hate seeing Waite mark it 45m out and look around for the pass.

Unless there is a clear option to pass then do not play on, if you make the decision to take the shot then GO BACK and take it.

It happened after the Collingwood game when he hit the post 4 times. Since then he lost his confidence.
I hope he gets it back before next week.

P.S to Ratt's
Setanta should of been in the side week's ago.

Confidence is everything - hopefully he will have a good week on the track and go out there with a bit of belief on Sunday. Being o/s I am not really up on the form (saw this last game on Sky) but if there was an example of the value of confidence it was Milne. He had less possessions than both Eddie and Jeff but to me he always looked like he believed he could hurt us and he did with 3. :(

One of several Blues players that has me worried as to when/how/whether we take the next step. Geez we've got some weak-minds/poor decision-makers.

Jeff's playing on reminds me of Motlop wincing when the siren went those years ago (at Launceston I think?). Can't handle the pressure right now.

It's part of the learning-curve, discovering the routines and confidence and preparation to produce one's best... but there are several players we have a long way from completing that journey.

Yeah, sometimes people don't realise it is just that - a journey and then when the player becomes really good they think the player just got really consistent overnight. That's not true at all, it takes time and experience before a talented player becomes elite and we as fans have to be patient.

Playing on 10m out on a slight angle makes me think he is playing with too much conficence TBH.

Just needs to do the basics before being flashy.

Nah reckon it is the opposite mate.

When I was real, real shaky with my kicking at goal and I had the opportunity to play on after a mark in or near the goal square I'd take it because I didn't want the set shot.

Confidence will return, hopefully it's sooner rather than later because quite frankly, he is a terrific user of the footy and set shot when up and about. One of our best IMO.

Jeffy has had a steep learning curve since being drafted and has played a lot of games early when his development quite clearly wasn't there. There is always going to be down patches, especially when you consider the kid is only 72kg or something wringing wet and is 22 years old!

Jeffrey's confidence