Rumour Player Rift at Pies(Rumor from Wayne Carey)

100% CORRECT

I think this whole issue has upset a number of us. I know EM went for broke in getting DJ and LB to the club so Mick could go out on a high. It worked and everyone should be grateful.....incl MM.

I'm personally gutted that MM is not still our coach. To me he is the best in the business by a long way. And feel that we committed to Bucks too early based not on his coaching credentials but on romanticism. I personally don't think that he is smart enough or flexible enough to make a good modern coach. Hopefully time proves me wrong.

I think in reality I would have also liked things to pan out differently. I actually believe that there weren't too many dissenters when the plan was announced but it seems that the success since then has made plenty of people see it differently. I personally believe that the plan was put in place for the right reasons and had it gone to the script we could have seen an amazing era for the club. That it hasn't worked out the way it was intended is unfortunate but I think as supporters we have no option but to support the new coach and hope that the faith shown in him pays off. Round 3 is probably way too early especially with available personnel to make any assessment of Bucks at all.

It would be hard to believe that where there's smoke there is no fire but let's just hope that the fire gets doused fairly early. If players are not happy with an increased workload then in my experience a bit of sooking is par for the course. If we have a fitter and more committed group come seasons end I won't be complaining.

The people saying the deal was a mistake are pissing me off.

The question that begs asking is, would we have won the flag if the deal wasn't in place?

Nick Maxwell himself said he doesn't think so. Our recruiting strategy the draft after the deal was announced doesn't suggest so.

In other words, the deal was not a mistake.
Bingo.

Would we have won the flag in 2010 without Jolly and Ball? No ****ing way.

And we only went out and got those two because Mick realised "Oh shit, if I don't win a flag in the next two years, all my time at Collingwood would be a failure." That's how I see it anyway. I don't believe we would have gone so hard for Jolly and Ball if it wasn't for that deal.

I don't want to buy into any "rift" because all the players seem to want to stay based on their intentions to re-sign with the club.

However, (and those you on here know I've never started "rumours" or "whispers" with sources) but I too have spoken to someone who I clearly rate and trust and he works in the TAC Cup development system and he is pretty well connected with people in the industry.

He too has heard that some players just aren't responding to Bucks and it is showing on-field with complete disinterest. He was told of such unrest 6 months ago too and looking at it on Friday night, it's hard to just dismiss the claim. The reality is, the industry as a whole has this perception that Bucks is just a very poor communicator with the players and that his style is having a negative and significant impact on the playing group.

I'm not prepared to buy into it but I do trust this man. I will re-assess by round 12 bye and see where we are at because we look all over shop at the moment.

I worked at TAC cup level and regardless of connections, it is also a cesspool
of poorly informed rumour, decisions made due to biased opinions, outright prejudice against hated clubs, opinions based on media reports and the list goes on. My point is, when it comes to rumor/opinions it's a glorified Big Footy. Just as many knuckle dragging trolls involved at TAC level as there are here.
TAC officials are not immune to the ills of Chinese whispers. Your mate could easily be sucked in by convincing people who peddle bullshit stories.

Bingo.

Would we have won the flag in 2010 without Jolly and Ball? No ****ing way.

And we only went out and got those two because Mick realised "Oh shit, if I don't win a flag in the next two years, all my time at Collingwood would be a failure." That's how I see it anyway. I don't believe we would have gone so hard for Jolly and Ball if it wasn't for that deal.

We were going after Jolly regardless, he nominated us very early and we were in desperate need of a quality ruckman, and since when did us getting luke ball have anything to do with mick?, mick wouldn't pay what lyon asked for and they way the cookie crumbled meant we ended up getting him for free (pretty much), both recruiting decisions were absolute no brainers no matter what the coaching situation was.

Did Eddie get the two players just for Mick? And would we have won a premiership without them? Was the winning of a premiership only about giving Mick success? Should we have forgone the premiership and not done deals for those two players? Do I need to provide answers to these questions or do readers think they know the answers already?

Malthouse destroyed the pies in 2011 His coaching in the GF was a disgrace, i could of coached the pies to victory that day. Buckley recently retired as opposed to a Grey fossile entering walking stick age, I think i will take the young hungier coach. Sooner buckley takes out the broom and starts his own list the better, I think that buckley has the smarts will make a awesome team,, And to all the so called pies fans that are undermining your great club, when these times come around, piss off and follow the tigers because you all sound just like them.

If there are players 'uninterested' and not trying because they don't like bucks I hope they're playing VFL this week, and if their disinterest continues I hope they're traded out at years end. There's absolutely no excuse for not putting in 100% no matter what the problem is.

A coach isn't picked on who the players like the most, and no player is bigger then the club. Shape up or ship out.

If there are players 'uninterested' and not trying because they don't like bucks I hope they're playing VFL this week, and if their disinterest continues I hope they're traded out at years end. There's absolutely no excuse for not putting in 100% no matter what the problem is.

A coach isn't picked on who the players like the most, and no player is bigger then the club. Shape up or ship out.

The problem with your theory (whilst the intentions are good) is that you cannot trade out or sack a shitload of players, particularly if all of them are thinking down the same line.

Unfortunately, though, you can sack one senior coach and that is what will happen if such a rift exists.

The problem with your theory (whilst the intentions are good) is that you cannot trade out or sack a shitload of players, particularly if all of them are thinking down the same line.

Unfortunately, though, you can sack one senior coach and that is what will happen if such a rift exists.
No it wont Buckley will see out the list changing 5/6 times over, the same grace Malthouse was given, and during his reign buckley will drive the club to being the best once again. Footy is a game of averages and the pies over the journey are than likely to succeed more than any other club.
It wont take long.
During Eddies time one thing is for sure, He couldnt give a shit what media or fans think, all the player **** ups the ten years it took Malthouse to deliver a flag, he stuck to his plan. Reality check The biggest member base, The best training base, the best administration, the best recuiting, whatever happens short term, will not mirror the long term.

I love Rodney Eade's response to the Wayne Carey crap when asked about it on AFL 360 tonight.

He had a one sound response, it went something like "Pffthuh".

He basically just scoffed at any suggestion of it at all, and said Bucks waved it all off and said he wanted to concentrate on the players as of today.

Edd would go on a diet before sacking bucks, if edd had his way bucks would still be captain, and would sleep in the same bed as him.

If coach had been in place for a few years and the squad were not listening then by all means think about moving the coach on, but after 3 rounds? IF there were an issue at this stage of the journey then Bucks would need to pull rank and ensure he has a squad full of lieutenants ready to carry out his instructions.

Not that I'm buying any of this sh*t floating around anyway....

I remember a friend of mine lived next to a lions trainer and he said when Leigh Matthews first started coaching the lions the players didn't particularly like him. Some people don't like change, but they eventually get over it.

Swan knew bucks was going to be the coach, if he didn't like him that much he could've taken the money and gone to GWS

No one has mentioned the almost complete change over of our assistant coaches.

I love Rodney Eade's response to the Wayne Carey crap when asked about it on AFL 360 tonight.

He had a one sound response, it went something like "Pffthuh".

He basically just scoffed at any suggestion of it at all, and said Bucks waved it all off and said he wanted to concentrate on the players as of today.

I loved it too and shows what a Moron Carey Is

We should take wayne careys word as gospel...Just ask anthony stevens. :rolleyes: Yeah wayne you might have thought we'd forgotten but we haven't. You're a scumbag who cannot be trusted.

Guys, we have a tendency to dismiss rumours instead of consider the wider problem.

Last year, we ignored the fact that MM was pretty pissed, and said it was the media blowing it up.

The media turned out to be right.

It's clear that there's a significant gap between our performance of last year and this year so far.

The gap is too wide in the space of 8 months to blame it on injuries.

A lot of our senior players aren't playing with effort, or the interest, or the drive that we had in 2010 to win a flag.

Something isn't right at Pieland, and we need to be honest with ourselves to deal with the problems that are surfacing.

Just like any new boss, they have a different perspective on things that might get up the nose of some of the employees. If MM was "soft" on the players as has been suggested, and with Bucks being a disciplinarian, you could see how some players who have had it "easy" in the past would try and resist the change. In the end however, once they get used to the new philosophy and see how they look like fools acting as they are, things will change and they will get back to playing good footy.

Exactly Visions. That's the way I look at it. It's a new coach. Not everything is going to be the same and players who adapated to a certain way will be resistant to something else that is being introduced. They'll get used to it in time and I'm sure Bucks will be an amazing coach.

Just like any new boss, they have a different perspective on things that might get up the nose of some of the employees. If MM was "soft" on the players as has been suggested, and with Bucks being a disciplinarian, you could see how some players who have had it "easy" in the past would try and resist the change. In the end however, once they get used to the new philosophy and see how they look like fools acting as they are, things will change and they will get back to playing good footy.

I'm on board with this statement, and it's most likely the case.

Especially Swan who was known as being a lazy trainer probably now has to actually train and isn't happy about it.

From where I was sitting on Friday night we looked much more cohesive going wide than through the corridor.

In saying that though; for me its hard to blame just the game plan when basic skills seemed to be more the issue. We had three gettable inside 50 marks bounce off Trav's chest in front of me alone.

Based on the skill levels we know these players can perform at, a game plan of using the corridor is not outside their skill range. It may not be what they are used to, but we have seen them do some amazing things on the footy field... I just didn't see any of it against the Blues.

Maybe fitness load is a bigger priority to skills reinforcement or something at the moment. The level we are performing at the moment, I'm not even sure digging up the old kick & hold it wide game plan will save us from the other top 4 sides.

Dont know about "six or seven players" but I do know that Swanny has never been a big fan of bucks, as a team-mate and now coach. Personally, I've seen a difference in the way he's played this year in both NAB cup and the first 3 rounds of the season. He just seems to be doing his own thing.
That could be the result of signing a long term deal though, were he's going to be paid mega-$$ for four years regardless of his performance

I sincerley hope that Collingwood doesn't sign up anyone else for anything more than 3 years as otherwise their output is almost certain to drop for the 2-3 year period until the time is coming to start negiotiating a new deal.

No it wont Buckley will see out the list changing 5/6 times over, the same grace Malthouse was given, and during his reign buckley will drive the club to being the best once again. Footy is a game of averages and the pies over the journey are than likely to succeed more than any other club.
It wont take long.
During Eddies time one thing is for sure, He couldnt give a shit what media or fans think, all the player **** ups the ten years it took Malthouse to deliver a flag, he stuck to his plan. Reality check The biggest member base, The best training base, the best administration, the best recuiting, whatever happens short term, will not mirror the long term.

FFS the list Matlhouse inherited was a disgrace. The list Buckley has inherited is at top form premiership winning material. If Buckley was to dismantle the current list becasue the players are 'not listening to him' then its he that has to go not half the bloody playing list.

Considering the competition, we have had a blistering 10 or so years. 4 grand final apperances and winning one and losing the other 3 to teams that will go down in history as being amongst the greatest of all time!

Why the hell should we rebuild to attain a list that listens to Buckley? Joke of the highest order.

Rumour Player Rift at Pies(Rumor from Wayne Carey)