Preview Rnd 4 Carlton v Essendon @ MCG Saturday 21st April 1.45PM - Team post #990

• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

Re: Rnd 4. Carlton vs Essendon. Sat 21st. @ 1.45 pm @ MCG

Without even looking over their list these guys would comfortably make our side:

Fletcher, Ryder, Watson, Stanton, Zaharakis, Heppel, Crameri, Hurley and Hocking

We've won 3 games and suddenly we're invincible :o

It's unfortunate to see Carlton supporters who are just as delusional as the Essendon supporters.

We're not invincible, but we aren't comparing ourselves to Hawthorn, Collingwood, Geelong or West Coast here.

Fletcher, Ryder, Watson, Stanton, Zaharakis, Heppel, Crameri, Hurley and Hocking

Name the 9 Carlton Players that would be replaced. Ill even format it for you;

Fletcher -
Ryder -
Watson -
Stanton -
Zaharakis -
Heppel -
Crameri -
Hurley -
Hocking -

Right now, there's only 2 players on Essendon's entire list that would potentially break into the Blues starting 22.

#1 Hurley. Would be used in a Thornton type role i.e. KPF/KPD swing role

#2 Watson. Would be competing with Curnow, Robbo and Carrazzo for an inside mid gig. So by no-means a certain inclusion.

:)

You're kidding right mate? There's no way in the world Watson doesn't get a game ahead of any of those three you've mentioned. Carazzo is playing out of his mind, but Watson is still well ahead of him

Possibly the worst preview thread ever...

Agreed.

Probably because the result is acknowledged by all as a foregone conclusion and the only real debate seems to be about which Bombers players would break into our best 22 :rolleyes:

Whatever happens on Saturday, I don't think it will define either side's season.

Will still be great to get the win, and it will certainly put a lot more expectation on whichever side that does that to be a serious contender this season, but it's still very early days. Both clubs could win or lose and still go on to better or worse things.

The way the Bombers have been playing recently I expect it will probably be a good contest for at least two or three quarters, regardless of the final outcome.

Possibly the worst preview thread ever...

Yeh I said that earlier, incredibly, line pies posters last week where more up to discuss the match rationally, these gooses have no idea, and that,s saying something

Yes.

What's his tank like though? Stanton will run all day; if its close come 4th Qtr, he might start breaking free of the tag and cause some issues for Robinson.

Close come the 4th....

Fletcher - Jamison
Ryder - Kruezer
Watson - Judd
Stanton - Murphy
Zaharakis - Gibbs
Heppel - Yarran
Crameri - Walker
Hurley - Waite
Hocking -Carrazzo

CarltonFan, I am not sure how you didn't know that these Essendon players would keep our duds out... lol;)

Opinion are opinions, lets just move on. I for one think Essendon will be in the game until 10 minutes into the first.

Yeh I said that earlier, incredibly, line pies posters last week where more up to discuss the match rationally, these gooses have no idea, and that,s saying something

Close come the 4th....

Not exactly covering yourself with glory here mate.

For those Blue fans offering up the laughable chest pounding of "it wont be close", "Essendon have two players that would get a gig at Carlton", "different leagues" etc etc, wake up to yourself.

You SHOULD win, because you look like a better side ATM.

1) Clearly some of your fans are getting ahead of themselves, and having delusions of grandeur. A few Blue fans have quite rightly tried to correct that, in this thread and others. Is that attitude shared, even slightly, with your playing group?

2) BOTH sides are 3-0. No doubt Carlton have looked better doing it, but we aren't entering the game 1-2, or 0-3.

3) Ryder, Watson, Hurley and Fletcher are significant concerns for the Blues that need addressing.

4) It's Essendon. Some people have the memory of a goldfish. Enter this game thinking it is sewn up at your peril.

Cheers all, will happily respond to direct comments but I think after several dozen pages of mostly good natured back and forth I might take my leave. The whole Essendon has only two players bit got a bit rich - thats idiocy no matter which way you spin it.

Of course, I hope we completely smash you blokes. :D

OUT: Jeremy Laidler IN: Dustin Fletcher - surely speaks for itself
OUT: Shaun Hampson IN: Patrick Ryder - Having watched both teams this year, Hampson has come on in leaps and bounds, taking a lot of strong marks. But having watched Ryder, he's in another league right now, him and Kreuzer have probably had the two best ruckmen season's thus far. Definite in.
OUT: Zach Tuohy IN: Jobe Watson - Surely a given
OUT: Kane Lucas IN: Brent Stanton - Surely a given
OUT: Ed Curnow IN: Stewart Crameri - Crameri would play a massive role in your forward structure at present. When Walker comes back, may be a different story as they play a very similar role.
OUT: Dennis Armfield IN: Courtenay Dempsey - You guys wiill debate this, but if you have watched, unbiasedly, both teams this year, Dempsey is playing as well off half-back/wing as Yarran. Did I say he's as good as Yarran? No I did not, but his form this year has been equal to him, and with a choice of one you'd have to take Dempsey over Armfield.
OUT: Paul Bower IN: Heppell/Hibberd. Take your pick, whether you want a really good user of the ball coming out of half-back in Heppell or whether you want a shut-down in Hibberd. With guys like Yarran and Scotland already back there, I'd probably take Hibberd.
OUT: Nick Duigan IN: Michael Hurley - Bit of a positional one this one. In an ideal world you guys would have one more key forward, for a small. Your structure works brilliantly for you due to the fact you have gun small forwards, but just ideally you'd have another target.

I'm quite speechless after this portion of your post.
Maybe quite a few stubbies will make me forget I ever saw this post.

:eek: :rolleyes:

ahh parrot's yapping off again, always a good sign for an Essendon win.

On a serious note, we will have to be at our best and convert the chances we have been given. Something we have not done thus far this season.

Tipping Jetta to be the one to watch, could bag 5. Yarran is a very good player but i have doubt about his ability to negate a seriously good player. Don't get me wrong he is as damaging as anyone streaming off your half back line.

He'll be lucky to bag 5 kicks, let alone 5 goals.
Jetta won't get near it on Saturday, neither will that other downhill skier Davey.

These blokes were useless in the EF last year, and you can't tell me 3 games later they have improved that much.

3) Ryder, Watson, Hurley and Fletcher are significant concerns for the Blues that need addressing.

Ryder - He'll be matched against Hampson and Kreuzer in the ruck. When he pushes forward, Jamo or Hendo will take him leaving Lailder to take Crameri

Watson - Carrazzo will go to him for sure. Carrotts is in career best form, and Pendlebury barely got near the thing on Friday night.

Hurley - Jamo or Hendo will go to him. I'm a massive Hurley fan, so our backs will need to be on their toes.

Fletcher - Not a chance we'll let him roam about like he has done in recent weeks. Robbo is the obvious one, but Gibbs could be given that role as well.

I see your Ryder, Watson, Hurley & Fletcher, and raise you a Judd, Murphy, Betts, Garlett, Gibbs and Kreuzer/Hampson (when forward)

None of those blokes would get a gig at Essendon.

Whatever happens on Saturday, I don't think it will define either side's season.

Will still be great to get the win, and it will certainly put a lot more expectation on whichever side that does that to be a serious contender this season, but it's still very early days. Both clubs could win or lose and still go on to better or worse things.

The way the Bombers have been playing recently I expect it will probably be a good contest for at least two or three quarters, regardless of the final outcome.

Really - if you get smashed by 10 goals I think a lot of people will be questioning your capabilities having struggled for wins over very poor clubs, however Carlton will have cemented their position - wining over strong opposition.

Can't see how that wont happen.

the game will be a real test of whether Carlton wants to smash teams for four quarters or whether they give up leads - like they did last year all too often.

I dont like the too casual approach too often in front of goal and our low percentage scoring rate goals to behinds ratio so far - that is an arrogance we wont be able to afford all the time. The fist quarter against Collingwood set the standard for effort and accuracy last week and Collingwood were allowed to get as close as 9 points at one stage later on because we missed a few too many easy shots.

Have to learn to totally smash teams and look forward to it.

I hope Essendon puts up their best team whatever that is these days - so that there will be no excuses from them - but they will come look out for all the screaming about a 4 day turnaround...Paddy has to be shut down he is their key player. Fletcher has had a good start - put Robbo on him again - and rotate Robbo with Gibbs - work him over make him feel every day of his age and we get more than a 10 goal win.

Collingwood should be thanking us.

Reckon we're a fair bit stronger than when we smashed them in the EF. Waite, Kruezer, Hampson, plus others like Touhy, Lucas and Curnow. So we've boosted the talls, and mid rotations significantly. Losing Walker is the only negative. Really looking forward to Zac's game. Liked his attack on the footy, and enjoyed that 40m bullet pass down the wing to Waite at the G. He's turning into an awesome footballer. We're building a fantastic team.

:)

For those Blue fans offering up the laughable chest pounding of "it wont be close", "Essendon have two players that would get a gig at Carlton", "different leagues" etc etc, wake up to yourself.

1) Clearly some of your fans are getting ahead of themselves, and having delusions of grandeur. A few Blue fans have quite rightly tried to crrect that, in this thread and others. Is that attitude shared, even slightly, with your playing group?

2) BOTH sides are 3-0. No doubt Carlton have looked better doing it, but we aren't entering the game 1-2, or 0-3.

4) It's Essendon. Some people have the memory of a goldfish. Enter this game thinking it is sewn up at your peril.

Cheers all, will happily respond to direct comments but I think after several dozen pages of mostly good natured back and forth I might take my leave. The whole Essendon has only two players bit got a bit rich - thats idiocy no matter which way you spin it.

Listen, I ain't your mate, this is ou board...not bay 13 where I suspect you post, what glory what are you on about

The standard og postinng from these essendon clowns and discussion is as mentioned by another poster, the worst pre match thread ever, and I agreed, lst week was healthy discussion with the collingwood guys, nd banter

You lot are just agro, chest pumping ... Little men syndrome, second rate like your team.

We will win this E A S Y

Actually, every team has been flying until we play them, and then they've been rubbish (apparently) after we've dismantled them.

Tiges - pre-season darlings, best chance in years to start with a win, tall forwards would rip our weakened defence, Blues no answer for Cotchin/Martin/Lids........ 45 pts later the Tiges apparently aren't ready and Carlton were unconvincing.

Lions - came to Melbourne, fantastic ball movement, Black in vintage form, Rockliff one out of the box, lookout for these highly skill halfbacks and young gun midfielders.............. 15 goals later who did the Blues beat anyway?

Pies - honourable loss whilst undermanned against Hawks, took care of the Tiges in a short burst, now to see how the Blues tackle a REAL premiership contender. Who would stop Cloke? Swan/Pendlebury/Thomas > Judd/Murphy/Gibbs ............. 10 goals later, apparently the Pies are in turmoil, were riddled with injuries, and who did the Blues beat anyway?

At some point, possibly after Saturday, people might have to admit the Blues are legit and we're making reasonable opposition (which Essendon no doubt is) look very poor. The Bombers are OK. Possibly even good. They have plenty of players/weapons I worry about. Let's see what happens, but I think the Blues favouritism is well-deserved, and a blow-out is not out of the question. The past two results between the clubs have been 62pt Carlton win in the final (44 scoring shots to 22) and a 74pt Carlton win in Rnd 18 (33 scoring shots to 19).

1) Clearly some of your fans are getting ahead of themselves, and having delusions of grandeur. A few Blue fans have quite rightly tried to correct that, in this thread and others. Is that attitude shared, even slightly, with your playing group?

In all your games you have severely struggled - absolutely nothing convincing. Whats more these wins have been against teams like Port and Gold Coast - to make matters worse GC had the better of.

Im really not too sure what your comments are regarding past games, but blues have beaten by at least ten goals on the previous two occasions - blues are now looking like one of the most improved sides in the competition being equal flag favourites while bombers have not done anything - so how is this ten goal difference being made up by your team in three games when you have looked considerably poorer than us ?

Seriously - you're going to get pumped.

Hibberd has been their best small defender, that's not a compliment.

Their Starlets haven't fired a shot either, especially Heppell but he's very young so is worth persisting with. He needs to learn composure doesn't mean holding it then eventually kicking it backwards. Zaka and Melksham would be rotting in our 2s :)

Fletcher - Duigan
Ryder - Hampson
Watson - Curnow
Stanton - Lucas
Zaharakis - Armfield
Heppel - Tuohy
Crameri - Thornton
Hurley - Bower
Hocking - Emergency Misses out because he plays the same role as Carrazzo, he's better than McLean who will play soon enough

There you are, easy.

I think a lot of Carlton posters are bias toward potential of our players. Hampson could be better than Ryder, but right now he is not. etc

Really - if you get smashed by 10 goals I think a lot of people will be questioning your capabilities having struggled for wins over very poor clubs, however Carlton will have cemented their position - wining over strong opposition.

Can't see how that wont happen.

Huh? You have beaten three sides with a collective 3 wins - those three wins being melbourne (no wins), melbourne (no wins), and richmond (who has only beaten melbourne).
We have beaten Port, North and GC. North has beaten Geelong & GWS, Port has beaten the Saints (and lost to Sydney, who is undefeated).

So if you smash up and "question our capabilities" you will just add another dud side to who you have defeated, proving nothing. If we beat you we will add another decent side to who we have defeated.

Essendon can't really lose, whatever the outcome.

Fun read. I think the concerns are still more on the bombers side of the ledger.

1) Murphy, Judd, Simpson, Betts, Garlett, Kreuzer/Hampson, Carazzo, Robinson

The ruck battle might have been epic if Carlton werent possessing two in form ruckmen, one who rucks well and does the midfield stuff, and one who rucks well and does the forward stuff. They'll run Ryder off his feet. Oh and thats before I get to the guys at the drop of the ball, some of them are in league best form atm - and you can only play so many taggers.

Essendon should be more concerned with the Carazzo match up than the Blues are with the Watson one. We know Carazzo will likely take Watson.

Essendon should be concerned at Robinsons ability to bug the hell out of Fletcher.

So much of the Blues success in 2012 is based on the fleetness of its forwards, and midfield work - and the ability to interchange between the midfield and forwards without it hurting the team. You only have to look at any match this year to see that. If Kreuzer and Hampson keep the delivery like they have been to our midfielders - and bear in mind Ryder may be able to get the jump on Kreuzer, but Hampson is another story - then you could have batman at full forward and it wouldnt matter.

Doesnt matter who you play forward if the ball doesnt go there. Ask Travis Cloke or Jack Riewoldt how they went against Henderson while you're at it. The Jamison/Henderson/Laidler tandem will trouble many sides, but should account for the bombers talls in the end.

Both sides lift for these matches, but Id have to question whether the bombers are quite at the Blues level at this time.

They barely got over North, beat Port (in Melbourne) and damn near lost to the Suns. Thats not the most awesome of form lines. They are winning games, but barely. Still a win is a win.

On the other hand, Carlton havent won a match by less than 44 points, including the tigers, the Lions at the Gabba and the Pies. Its a reasonable form line. We're not just winning, we're smashing teams.