Is Carltons 2012 Season Over?

Over? Lol.

They just pushed the Eagles at subi, I agree top 4 is gone though, i reckon they"ll make the 8 and if they get a few players back they could do some damage.

Doesnt have anything to do with them being easy beats. A final is a final, and there is no way in any finals of recent years were the blues easy beats.

Last year they were beaten by West Coast who got flogged by Geelong.
Hence Carlton were easy beats.

Or perhaps easy beats is the wrong way to describe it. A better way would be to say that they were not premiership calibre and had no business aiming to win a premiership.

A bit like this year.

The real problem is the coach and PR have talked them up way too much. Rats is a supporter, and the 'they know we're coming' membership campaign I always thought about 5 years too early.

It is the coach though, but shhhh Kernahan might get upset with the bleeding obvious.

this is just arrogant our injuries list was as much as 15 players 2 weeks ago and it was wide spread although the majority where defenders, eagles have had some big out up forward but nothing to serious anywhere else besides the likes of embley and nat missed 1 or 2 games. back on topic we must beat hawthorn! play like we did against westcoast besides the 1st QTR and we can win . if we can make the 8 have murphy back around round 20-21 and judd rested and ready for finals we may win 1-2 games but wont do any serious damage .

Are you kidding me?, have you not noticed a team like Collingwood being riddled with injuries, to players who have big impact too unlike the Carlton bit part player injuries, we had 3 of our best defenders out at many games, only last week got Tarrant and Brown back... But of course Pendles, Shaw & the like were out, our Injury list is huge... The difference is in the depth and the recruiting of the right players who can be the fillers for injured stars but yet they come out and play damn well, something Carlton doesn't have..

Thread is not about the Eagles. Nor was this a one off game.

Carlton were tipped for the flag and have been in abysmal recent form. 2 incredibly tough games coming up and finals will be a stretch.

Of course questions need to be asked.

As for WC we still have no Kennedy, LeCras, Nicoski, Embley, Butler out, Waters suspended and Schofield sustained a calf injury in the match. All best 18 players.

Had 10 more scoring shots and should have been a flogging, we are also sitting 9W 2L. Still wasn't a great display from, us though, kicking at goal was poor and we went to sleep in the 3rd.
And West Coast have been tipped for the flag by quite a few this year, yet you got rolled by Brisbane and scraped past the finished Blues?

If 4 points is a rolling then we obliterated Carlton.

Seriously i've thought its culture for a very long time. I'm an old Collingwood supporter and seen it all. Collingwood has changed their culture, some will say they haven't but they'd be wrong. I'm pretty sure Kernahan and the board is the key. (he needs to go or change).

Nah, we have hesitantly been mentioned as favourites a couple of times but no one has seriously backed us for the flag. We didn't get rolled by Brisbane, it was a narrow loss and only our second for the season. This week we should have won by a lot more.

I would say sitting first on the ladder at 9W 2L, we are a chance at top 4 but need to get a full and healthy list back to challenge for the flag.

Thread is not about us. Your attempts to derail it and attacks on our supporters are both hypocritical and not relevant to the thread. There are plenty of anti-WC threads you are already posting in, which attack our fans and players surely that is enough. This is an honest thread about a pretty big issue.

Carlton potentially slipping out of finals contention is huge and warrants legitimate discussion.

Not a good sign that in the last couple of months they have only beaten GWS and Melbourne.

I guess that they have a blame every one and every thing else culture at the moment. This really doesn't help. Fremantle had something similar but I think Lyon is ridding themselves of that and puts the onus back on the playing group & coaches. You need to be ruthless with your playing group and try to eek out as much improvement as possible.

It is embarrassing watching Ratten cheering from the sidelines as well.

Nah, we have hesitantly been mentioned as favourites a couple of times but no one has seriously backed us for the flag. We didn't get rolled by Brisbane, it was a narrow loss and only our second for the season. This week we should have won by a lot more.

I would say sitting first on the ladder at 9W 2L, we are a chance at top 4 but need to get a full and healthy list back to challenge for the flag.

Thread is not about us. Your attempts to derail it and attacks on our supporters are both hypocritical and not relevant to the thread. There are plenty of anti-WC threads you are already posting in, which attack our fans and players surely that is enough. This is an honest thread about a pretty big issue.

Carlton potentially slipping out of finals contention is huge and warrants legitimate discussion.

You are kidding aren't you ??? Do you anything about flag betting at all? The Weagles are a $7.00 3rd favourite to take out the premiership. Of course they have been backed to win it ... they aren't this price because the punters like the colour of their jumper. They are this quote because there is a very good chance that they are going to have at least one or maybe two home finals, which should give them a 2nd to none chance of making the GF.

Its funny how some supporters turn you off teams. Over the yrs. I have always had a soft spot for the Eagles but after reading your obvious troll, I am hoping that they go out in straight sets !!!

You are kidding aren't you ??? Do you anything about flag betting at all? The Weagles are a $7.00 3rd favourite to take out the premiership. Of course they have been backed to win it ... they aren't this price because the punters like the colour of their jumper. They are this quote because there is a very good chance that they are going to have at least one or maybe two home finals, which should give them a 2nd to none chance of making the GF.

Its funny how some supporters turn you off teams. Over the yrs. I have always had a soft spot for the Eagles but after reading your obvious troll, I am hoping that they go out in straight sets !!!

This makes me happy.

Over the years, I've always hated Carlton.

Truly a cesspool.

See I agree to an extent, but that dosn't explain the selfish unaccountable footy they have been playing.

There is enough speed and scoring power there to trouble most teams, but they got flogged by Port and just seemed to give up. Seems to be as much attitude as depth of talent.
Selfish unaccountable football goes almost hand in hand with no proper forward structure. Basically, if you're going to play fast-break football, you're going to have to run forward of the ball away from your opponent into space in order to score. If it doesn't come off, you're badly exposed on the other side and made to look unaccountable.

And it's not that Carlton don't have the resources to have a make a reasonable, if makeshift, forward line - when Henderson started taking marks in the 3rd they were back in the game - it's that their coach was unwilling to cop the difficult and painful losses in attempting to build one when they started their ascent up the ladder.

Selfish unaccountable football goes almost hand in hand with no proper forward structure. It's not that Carlton don't have the resources to have a make a reasonable, if makeshift, forward line - when Henderson started taking marks in the 3rd they were back in the game - it's that their coach was unwilling to cop the difficult and painful losses in attempting to build one when they started their ascent up the ladder.
That is an interesting point.

Though it doesn't explain how their midfielders operate around stoppages though. Lack of tackling to lock the ball in, likewise shepherding and blocking for other players. Surely this is something that is drummed into the players at training, so it is either poor stoppage coaching or an attitude issue. I tend to lean towards the latter.

That is an interesting point.

Though it doesn't explain how their midfielders operate around stoppages though. Lack of tackling to lock the ball in, likewise shepherding and blocking for other players. Surely this is something that is drummed into the players at training, so it is either poor stoppage coaching or an attitude issue. I tend to lean towards the latter.
Think about it - when West Coast are in congestion and there are no uncontested short options, what do they do? Priddis, Kerr, et al, put it to a forward position with a medium-long distance kick. Why? Because they have faith in their forwards winning the ball in a marking situation or winning the contest at ground level.

Carlton can't do that. They have to hold onto possession until they find a guy in miles of space. That means setting up at the stoppage with a very uncontested style - Carlton players try to get on the outside and receive because that is the only way they can hold onto possession and distribute up forward with any confidence.

Think about it - when West Coast are in congestion and there are no uncontested short options, what do they do? Priddis, Kerr, et al, put it to a forward position with a medium-long distance kick. Why? Because they have faith in their forwards winning the ball in a marking situation.

Carlton can't do that. They have to hold onto possession until they find a guy in miles of space. That means setting up at the stoppage with a very uncontested style - Carlton players try to get on the outside and receive because that is the only way they can hold onto possession and distribute up forward with any confidence.
Yes but that does not explain their play when the ball is in dispute, too often I saw players last night ball watching in close when the could have been blocking for a team mate.

Likewise in the first half their pressure around stoppages was appalling.

I would agree with your point being the sole determinant as well, if they ran into space and spread from the contest more effectively.

The stats and observation simply do not support the argument that they came unstuck with a lot of short uncontested ball, crumbling when pressure was applied.

Generally it was players unable to find free options on the wing or HB, when the ball was in our forward line leading to turnovers from kicks to poor options or from direct pressure.

Part of this was a tactical issue, part was work rate and support. Players were not running hard enough to get into space and team mates were not offering enough physical support to help work the ball out from stoppages in our forwardline.

Yes but that does not explain their play when the ball is in dispute, too often I saw players last night ball watching in close when the could have been blocking for a team mate.

Likewise in the first half their pressure around stoppages was appalling.

I would agree with your point being the sole determinant as well, if they ran into space and spread from the contest more effectively.

The stats and observation simply do not support the argument that they came unstuck with a lot of short uncontested ball, crumbling when pressure was applied.
When you're laying a shepherd, you generally can't receive. When you're putting pressure on through tackling or corralling you're generally out of position to receive. That's the point. They don't do those things because it is not in their strategy to win.

They may not have looked like they were spreading much, but that's because in the guts they weren't getting their hands on the ball at all. There was no opportunity to spread, and as they aren't taught to run both ways, they just watched as the Eagles midfield blitzed them.

They are a side that structures up very offensively because they have to, else they will not score. They back their talent in to win it, but when it does not go their way, they look diabolical.