2012 SEQAFL Division 3 Thread

Where's proof of these blatant bad decisions. A 50m penalty was paid when a player failed to give the ball to the player to the player who received the free kick. There are other umpires in the league who would have paid 2x50m penalties and yellow carded your player. The free kick for holding your team blew up claiming he was over the ball even though he was standing up and sheparding the player off. If you don't have the ball and your not lying over it, your not in possession and cant be held on to.

Don't blame umprining for your clubs lack of discipline, you didn't see any Caboolture players carrying on like pork chops when Coomera players ducked into tackles and and got free's no did you.

I'm not going to have an argument over each decision. You have your view and I will have mine which will obviously be biased to respective clubs. The concern isn't over 2 incidents (as I have stated) it is about the entirety of the day.

It is not just our club who has noticed this so it appears to be a concern. Anyway the 4 points are yours. Enjoy them.

Well earned.....

I watched the first 1 and a half quarters of the Cab/Coomera game and it appeared that Caboolture had control. Very surprised by the final result. Despite the efforts of some of the coomera blokes on here, the umpiring really was undeniably poor.

I caught the second half of the redcliffe/ipswich game. When I got there, there wasn't much in it at all, but Redcliffe ran away with it in the last quarter, playing some impressive footy. #15 who I think is up there in the goalkicking is uncannily good at reading the play. #18 was also great to watch, and one of his goals was probably the best one I've seen all year. Still unsure where Redcliffe sit, because they got done by the two top teams. Next week will be real interesting when they take on Logan.

I watched the first 1 and a half quarters of the Cab/Coomera game and it appeared that Caboolture had control. Very surprised by the final result. Despite the efforts of some of the coomera blokes on here, the umpiring really was undeniably poor.

I caught the second half of the redcliffe/ipswich game. When I got there, there wasn't much in it at all, but Redcliffe ran away with it in the last quarter, playing some impressive footy. #15 who I think is up there in the goalkicking is uncannily good at reading the play. #18 was also great to watch, and one of his goals was probably the best one I've seen all year. Still unsure where Redcliffe sit, because they got done by the two top teams. Next week will be real interesting when they take on Logan.

The Coomera blokes on here agree with you about the umpiring. In both grades but the Ressies was blatant.

Agreed Kp, 2 massive games this week, the Logan v Beenleigh battle continues, albeit at 2 different venues! Time is running out to make the 5

Agree with that. Think it's going to be a battle for 4th and 5th. Coomera, Beenleigh and Logan games will be very crucial from here on in.

Devastated about the loss yesterday. IMO we were the better team, but every time we hit the front we took the foot off and Calamvale would come back hard, which cost us in the end. They just clearly wanted it more than we did.

I can see why you might think what you are implying based on ladder positions. I can also categorically state that it is not the case. All 4 teams are picked in order of best to least best player. Though I'd like all 4 of our teams to be experiencing the same success, as a 3rd strongest team competing against other clubs' strongest outfit our Div 3 Seniors tend to struggle. The positive is that the drop off from 3rds to 4ths is a lot less significant than the difference between any club's strongest 22 and their next best. That has always been the case as I'm sure you've all seen over the last few seasons. Thanks to the amazing conditioning work our 4ths coach has been doing over the last year the entire Div 3 squad has developed greatly, and in my opinion both teams are more competitive than in previous seasons. It does seem to have had a greater effect in the Reserves, I would say because most other clubs' Reserves sides are quite a bit less fit than their Seniors. I hope that helps explain the success our Reserves have been having of late, and further hope that it continues through to September!

Personally I think the problem here is that either UQ or AFLQ wrongly imply that reserves footy and Div 2 is stronger than senior footy in Div 3. Funny how their 2nd team dominates the ressies in Div 2 yet their 3rds struggle in Div 3 seniors..

hahaha it's actually embarrassing. Buffs always will get better in second half, always have injuries zzzzzzz. You blokes are not even in the contest. Its us, Nambour, Redcliffe and coomera. Maybe Logan if lucky that is it. Buffs no chance

should be an easy win for caboolture this week PIES 11
against the "no chance" buffs who arnt even in the contest ? looks like u guys miss peeky hes trained everynight at robina.

Personally I think the problem here is that either UQ or AFLQ wrongly imply that reserves footy and Div 2 is stronger than senior footy in Div 3. Funny how their 2nd team dominates the ressies in Div 2 yet their 3rds struggle in Div 3 seniors..

Mate us in the lower div seniors have been saying that for years but the powers at be wont have it.. hence our 2s are gun and our 3s struggle. It doesn't make a whole lot of sense to most but it is what it is and we deal with it the best we can. In saying that, the div 3 seniors have made a big improvement this year, just hasn't been reflected in the win/loss column.

I can imagine managing your club with so many teams would be a nightmare! Hats off to any one involved. I can imagine the frustration you blokes feel. Good to hear your seniors are on the improve!

Yea it is tough at times, as it is always the better players that get taken out of the 3s and moved up, and often between thursday night training and the game on saturday with injuries, work etc. Selection is always a mission for the coaches that's for sure.

I bet it is a mission. It's hard enough picking 44 blokes each week let alone your numbers. Still baffles me though how blokes can be available on Thurs night then all of a sudden not on a Sat. We have a good core group here though so were fairly lucky.

Should be a good game this week between our respective mobs. We've never played at St Lucia before so will be a new experience for all. Make sure the beers are plenty cold after the game for us :)

Agree with that. Think it's going to be a battle for 4th and 5th. Coomera, Beenleigh and Logan games will be very crucial from here on in.
Swoopa I reckon something drastic would have to happen to dislodge any of the top 3 sides but also if ur list remains solid & after last weeks win I reckon Coomera will be in the 5. Beenleigh still have to play 1st & 2nd whereas Logan play 2nd this week & have already played Nambour twice...some great battles ahead

Let me just say this. We Met the Caboolture umpires today. Cost our reserves the game. Has anyone else experienced this blatant issue? Calling players by first name and visa versa and that last quarter. Diving, 50s for having the ball knocked out of our hands when trying to return it, holding the man for grabbing a guy who is over the ball. It ruins the game.

Anyone else had this? It was plain as day.
I only saw the first 1/4 and a bit of the reserves but i know thew guy you're talking about. He's been doing it for years up there and i believe he is a sponsor of the club as well which is why he knows everyone. It is about time something was done about this bloke and yes it was plain as day when we had him in 2010 ..... still the same now

Swoopa I reckon something drastic would have to happen to dislodge any of the top 3 sides but also if ur list remains solid & after last weeks win I reckon Coomera will be in the 5. Beenleigh still have to play 1st & 2nd whereas Logan play 2nd this week & have already played Nambour twice...some great battles ahead

Yeah it will be a tough job to break into the Top 3 now but the last 2 finals spots are up for grabs. Good healthy competition.

I only saw the first 1/4 and a bit of the reserves but i know thew guy you're talking about. He's been doing it for years up there and i believe he is a sponsor of the club as well which is why he knows everyone. It is about time something was done about this bloke and yes it was plain as day when we had him in 2010 ..... still the same now

Not sure what can be done about it really. The sponsorship part is interesting. I won't judge as I don't know the facts but I was there Saturday so I got to see it all first hand. Sounds like many have gone through the same pain.

Pity.

interesting that no one considers UQ to be a real treat for the ressies flag

Not true. I certainly do. The outfit we played was well drilled with good run. Probably deserved of being flag favourites at this stage or close to. What are your thoughts?