Aug 28, 2011
Beyond Reproach
UAE Team Emirates
Australia day: Our day.

Australian rules: Our game.

Time we put the two together. How good would it be to knock back a few, singe your fingers on some chops and snags, watch the first half of an ODI and then spend an evening watching the game our sporting landscape was built on!

I reckon a Sydney v Collingwood blockbuster would be the way to go. Of course, it would be played at the SCG so perhaps a commemorative walk could be held by the players pre-game from Sydney Cove to the ground? Importantly these two clubs are the most supported in Australia so the league would no doubt jump at a chance to line the coffers. Such a popular club in a big city like Sydney should be able to rake it in.

It's a bloody shame there are no ideas men at AFL HQ to make something like this happen. Time for some new blood I reckon. I've got major question marks over Demetriou's loyalties. To me he would seem more at home playing Davis Cup doubles with Marcos Baghdatis than sporting the green and gold for our great nation. Vlad, give us an Australia Day game or piss off!

Australia Day is for celebrating the signing of the Declaration of Independence from England, so only cricket and tennis as English sports should be played on that day.

scottwade, age 8 and a half.

I like the idea but, to me, Australia Day is more synonymous with the Triple J countdown and cricket. Plus if we got an absolute stinker of a day it would be tough on the players, and their skills wouldn't be at a high level at this time of the year either, so it probably wouldn't be much of a match. Plus the clubs would probably rest a number of their good players.

Good idea but I don't think it's something that will happen.

To commemorate Australia Day and the arrival of the first fleet we could have indigenous vs criminals game! Think about the all star lineup; Gram, Lovett, Bennell, Hurley, Marley Williams, Cousins, Gardner, Chick, Fletcher all to come out of retirement! It would be HUGE!

I think I'd rather watch a competitive A-League game between two rivals and with one of the best players of the last 20 years knocking about for Sydney. But hey, considering modern Australia's stance on Australia Day, I'm a national disgrace unless I'm necking cheap Aussie piss, decrying anyone who wants to move here, and having flags on my four wheel drive.

We don't football all the time. And we don't need it to reinforce how Australian both football and Australia Day are.

It's a bloody shame there are no ideas men at AFL HQ to make something like this happen.

Au contraire.

There are FAR too many men at AFL HQ with FAR too many ideas on how they can put their stamp on things.

In fact. One left not so long ago. Probably the main offender.

If we can play a millenium game in december 31, we can play a game on Australia day. To be honest, Id rather a january 1 game on what should be Federation Day, and play the damn thing wherever the weather is suitable..like Darwin

That game was a terrible idea though.

wow just looked this up on wiki, i have no memory of it what so ever. Was it even televised?

It was.

I remember they had a shot of some woman in the crowd who was going hysterical and the commentators reckoned she had won lotto.

PS And how sad is it that I was watching a low key pre-season game on TV, featuring teams I don't follow, on the dawn of a new millennium. :oops:

I think I'd rather watch a competitive A-League game between two rivals and with one of the best players of the last 20 years knocking about for Sydney. But hey, considering modern Australia's stance on Australia Day, I'm a national disgrace unless I'm necking cheap Aussie piss, decrying anyone who wants to move here, and having flags on my four wheel drive.

We don't football all the time. And we don't need it to reinforce how Australian both football and Australia Day are.

You know, the only people I hear saying that are 'progressive' types like you pretending that Australians generally are bogan, racist scum in order to make yourselves feel superior.

On topic...Not sure the players would like losing one of their few public holidays, but I suppose you could move the indigenous all-stars game forward a week or two.

Expansion Time for an Australia Day exhibition game IMO